Devenney guarantees Donegal would beat Dublin

Still though... he does portray his county in a sort of arrogant light

I think that's just the unfortunate outcome of this... especially considering that both Dublin and Donegal are far from guaranteed their place

I presume that's why the Donegal lads are making so much noise to distance themselves from his comments

I don't blame yiz... I wouldn't be happy if one of our own was crowing and making so much arrogant noise

But as was mentioned he has no part of the current setup but his noise still attaches itself to it in a negative manner

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 06/08/2014 16:58:54    1632585

jimbo, the Ulster final margin may have been only points in the Ulster final, but in the overall scheme of things it was a heavier defeat than that margin suggests.

You're right to hold fire yet on any Donegal Dublin discussion though. We'll know all about Armagh and Monaghan come Saturday evening believe you me.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 06/08/2014 17:10:15    1632591

All this talk could seriously come back to bite Donegal in the ass....

Haven't even got to a semi yet and some are already talking about them beating the Dubs...

The mind boggles.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3738 - 06/08/2014 17:10:32    1632592

Fionn

All this talk could seriously come back to bite Donegal in the ass....

Haven't even got to a semi yet and some are already talking about them beating the Dubs...

The mind boggles.

Fades into insignificance beside Dubs posting about only having 22 more games to win 5 in a row & questioning why teams like Donegal would feel that they even deserve to be on the same field.

Fools everywhere.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 06/08/2014 18:40:34    1632637

Kind of echos many of their supporters on this site

Full of misguided confidence..

But jimbo, isn't misguided confidence part & parcel of following your county year in year out?

A quick scan of old threads shows confidence from some posters which would lead a dispassionate observer to believe that the poster concerned was on drugs. I have seen fellas making big cases for Cavan, Galway & Meath (royaldunne take a bow) despite there being zero evidence to support them.

Without misguided confidence the average GAA man would cut a sad & sorry figure.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 06/08/2014 18:52:30    1632645

It's a cliche but it's true, there is no easy games from 1/4s on so all sets of supporters would be best to keep a lid on it until the story unfolds.

Devenney's summary on why Donegal would beat Dublin was simple but speaks volumes about Donegal's game plan and why any team will have trouble beating it....'it's easier to lock down a 45 than it is to open it'. Of course he didn't mention how Donegal are going to rack up scores, against good opposition, bearing in mind the amount of players they are going to have trying to 'lock down the 45' but that's another days work.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 06/08/2014 19:45:09    1632655

Did this man and many other people that I have been chatting to forget something?
Yes, ARMAGH!

Never mind Dublin. I can say how great a team they are and all that jazz about 10 forwards who can score (bla bla) but we're not playing them and might not be even playing them.
Wouldn't surprise me if complacency kicked in to favour Armagh. Hopefully not.

fielder (Donegal) - Posts: 137 - 06/08/2014 20:22:55    1632664

If I were from Donegal I'd be irritated with him coming out with this stuff though no team is gonna be complacent at a semi-final stage anyway I guess. That's if the match comes to pass obviously.

MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 06/08/2014 20:32:43    1632666

All this béal bocht stuff from Donegal posters is setting my teeth on edge. It makes us look like we are from Kerry!!!

Yes Armagh have had a great year & fair play to them, I am delighted to see them back at the top table.

However, facts are facts. If we can't be confident of beating Armagh with a bit to spare then there is little point in looking forward to Dublin.

Nervous & worried my backside, Donegal by 6.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 06/08/2014 20:32:45    1632667

What BD says is ::: he is convinced that Donegal would beat Dublin WERE they to meet. Now He does not say they are meeting so Armagh /Monaghan people pay no heed to some of the things you see on here
I am also fairly confident of Donegal beating Dublin IF we meet ( now IF is in capitals ) aA game with Donegal would be completely different to the type of games Dublin have been playing all year.
Fair enough our system might not stop the Dubs and they could win easily enough But what if it's a similar game to 2011 and Dublin unable to play their free flowing football, how would it effect them;;?
On Sat evening I think Donegal will be more attacking and if we get over Armagh and Dublin beat Monaghan then I think on 31/08/14 that's when you all will see a blanket defence That would be the day that Donegal really turn on the screw.
Now after the Ulster final Kevin Madden ( ex Antrim player) said that Donegal's blanket defence that day against Monaghan was the most effective and most organised defensive he ever saw.

What I must add is :::Donegal are miles ahead of anyone using the blanket system. It has a purpose ( get Sam to the Diamond on the Mon after the AI ) , it's very well organised , it's been used over the last four years it has got results and most of all DONEGAL PLAYERS ARE COMFORTABLE WITH IT. THEY MAKEI iT SO EFFECTIVE.
The only downside I get is people complaining about DONEGALS style and so boring to watch. BUT IIF I THOUGHT THAT I WOULD NOT BE LEAVING LONDON ON SAT MORNING TO SEE DONEGAL PLAY.
But that is my view on DON v DUB if it happens. We have to get over Armagh first and Dublin must beat Monaghan.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 06/08/2014 20:47:15    1632681

GaryMc82
County: Derry

Whats next in National news

"Pat Spillane thinks Kerrygold tastes better than Connaught Gold"

Ridiculous comparison to make. Two completely different butters. I mean, KerryGold does taste better, but Connaught Gold can do things KerryGold could never do, especially when it comes to spread-ability straight out of the fridge.
The point is, these two counties don't need this sort of distraction just before baking season and back-to-school lunch season.

Texas (Donegal) - Posts: 163 - 06/08/2014 21:24:41    1632706

Sam even if donegal do close down their 45 i still think dublin have the firepower to get enough scores to win the game i also think the dublin defence will be more than capable of holding the donegal attack which will be at a minimum because their players will be committed to defending and dublin are much better at counter attacking than donegal and that is where i think dublin will win the game! Dublin by 5 or 6 points! C.O.Y.B.I.B.

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 07/08/2014 12:40:23    1632915

I think a thread of this nature is very disrespectful to both armagh and monaghan. No guarantees in sport no matter what price the odds are with the bookmakers. Come saturday night whilst not probable it is possible that both Donegal and ourselves could be carrying out the post mortems. Always believe that you jump the hurdle in front of you before thinking about the next one.

Adamski (Dublin) - Posts: 339 - 07/08/2014 13:10:52    1632934

Still though... he does portray his county in a sort of arrogant light

I think that's just the unfortunate outcome of this... especially considering that both Dublin and Donegal are far from guaranteed their place

I presume that's why the Donegal lads are making so much noise to distance themselves from his comments

I don't blame yiz... I wouldn't be happy if one of our own was crowing and making so much arrogant noise

But as was mentioned he has no part of the current setup but his noise still attaches itself to it in a negative manner

Not sure if I agree. If it were Jim McGuinness or a Donegal team player coming out with statements like this, I would be worried. Devenney was a great servant in his time playing for us, and wont be forgotten. Certainly wont be forgotten now the way he is biging up our chances in a game that is only a potential clash at the moment. We have to look at where he is coming from. he is a media pundit, and is trying to get attention for obvious reasons. Whether people think that he represents the body politics of the average donegal person on the ground, that is up for them to decide. Most people know better.

this game needs a bit of entertainment and hype, if it wwernt for the analysis and the columns in the papers, and the radio and tv shows, it would be simply going to a game, watching it and going home. We need a bit of controversy now and again. Look at mayo over the last few years. Their county supporters at home are afraid to hang a flag outside their house let alone talk big about their prospects in case they are seen to generate hype. That is the other extreme, and give me the extreme dealt with in this thread any day.

Still dont agree at all with Devenneys comments, but do enjoy tuning into him especially if he is co commenting a match.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 07/08/2014 13:39:00    1632951

Looking forward to a good hard,tactical game,with two of the best forwards to ever play the game - Murphy and Clarke.I think Donegal might just have enough,but i wouldnt be surprised if Armagh saneaked it.Donegal by 2.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 07/08/2014 14:08:01    1632967

Good craic at work today. A Dub asked me if I was going to the Armagh game at the weekend. I said I wasn't.
"Waiting for the big game against us in the semi are ya" he asked.

I says, "No. Im waiting for the final!"

Obviously I was joking but his reaction was priceless!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 07/08/2014 16:32:17    1633075

Lockjaw

Good craic at work today. A Dub asked me if I was going to the Armagh game at the weekend. I said I wasn't.
"Waiting for the big game against us in the semi are ya" he asked.

I says, "No. Im waiting for the final!"

Obviously I was joking but his reaction was priceless!

----
As a neutral, who will you be cheering for at the final?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 07/08/2014 18:44:59    1633148

Joxer

----

Could be a big day out for monaghan, who knows?

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 07/08/2014 19:02:02    1633154

Donegalman

Joxer

----

Could be a big day out for monaghan, who knows?
----
Paddy Power knows!

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 07/08/2014 19:07:51    1633160

What I am saying here is based on :: WERE WE TO MEET I'm not saying we are meeting and neither did BD. So we have to play a quarter final and beat Armagh and likewise Dublin to beat Monaghan and if that is the case the stage is then set. But we could have Armagh v Mon semi, Don vMon or Dub vArmagh semi.
In reality Donegal v Dublin is the game an awful lot of people would like to see

Dublinjohn
As regarding Donegal and getting scores did you notice that M Murphy C McFadden did not get a lot of scores for Donegal in their last games , as a matter of fact MM played in defence for a while in the Ulster final. But we are getting scores from else where Have you noticed how the Donegal half back creates scores and indeed takes some theirselves ?? Noticed full back N McGee up on the Mon 21 line setting up a score for R McH When Donegal turns over the opposing player God knows who attacks for Donegal ::it could be No 2 or 6 even 4 or 7 ::it's not defensive all the time you know. But some players drop back to cover and rarely are Donegal found out.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 07/08/2014 20:30:18    1633190