Devenney guarantees Donegal would beat Dublin

Devenney comes out with some mad stuff on Twitter so not surprised.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 06/08/2014 13:20:18    1632402

06/08/2014 13:03:12
Lockjaw

There are certain players of a particular type who simply love their voice being heard. No harm in that. If you're a well enough known ex county player who can make a few bob on the side by offering an opinion of sorts then good luck to ya. I would put Colm Parkinson, Conor Mortimer and Brendnan Devenney in this bracket. They were all county players at one point who showed flashes of brilliance but who never dined at the top table the way a Tomas O'Sé or a Peter Canavan did for example.

Best to not pay too much heed to them.

Good post, especially regarding Parkinson. But all the same Brendan is entitled to his opinion. I'm starting to think he might know something we don't. If I had his mobile number I'd ask him for tomorrows Loto numbers!

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 06/08/2014 13:25:39    1632403

It is incredibly arrogant and Armagh will be seething and delighted at the same time!
Its pure trash talk tho and lads like Michael Murphy, the McGees and McFadden deserve better than to have him making a fool of himself on their behalf!
The whole country will be rooting for Armagh after this and if he keeps it up, they will want Dublin to beat Donegal aswell!
Imagine!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 06/08/2014 13:28:01    1632407

I don't see what all the fuss is about.

Brendan Devenney shared his personal opinion, which he is perfectly entitled to do.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 06/08/2014 13:41:55    1632419

Of course he is entitled to his opinion, he would have bean better saying it if Donegal get past Armagh.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 06/08/2014 13:50:58    1632428

Brendan Devenney shared his personal opinion, which he is perfectly entitled to do. He is outspoken in some ways, but I didn't see anything in his comments that were controversial.

Is it really controversial for a Donegal man and former Donegal player to say he thinks Donegal would beat Dublin if they were to meet?

I recently read articles by few sports journalists in the SW constantly backing Dublin to beat other teams, And some of these were former Dublin players.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 06/08/2014 13:52:18    1632429

Re:
GaryMc82
County: Derry

Brendan Devenney shared his personal opinion, which he is perfectly entitled to do.

Exactly. If he'd said, "oh I'd expect Donegal will give Dublin a good game but fancy Dublin to prevail by a couple of points" noone would have batted an eyelid.

All hypothetical in any case. There's a big orange machine to navigate around first!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 06/08/2014 13:56:53    1632432

Does Devenney not see comments like this could harm Donegal by firing up the opposition...but then again maybe he secretly wants them to fail...who know's....

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 06/08/2014 14:01:45    1632439

Cleatus 06/08/2014 12:37:38

No one in Donegal takes Deveaney too seriously. In 2012 he said we wouldn't be beaten for 3 years. The media love him because you just don't know what he will say next.
I really wish he wasn't from Donegal.

I wouldn't go as far as to say I wish he wasn't from Donegal, there were many day's when I was very proud that he was wearing a Donegal jersey. But completely agree that nobody here takes him seriously!! He is great for a bit of banter, coming out with complete and utter nonsense on a regular basis!! Anyone remember when he called Spillane Worzel Gummidge??? Devenney is a gas man

He knew everyone would be chatting about him after these new comments.. I'd say he's probably browsing these boards and loving it!!

HandballRef (Donegal) - Posts: 520 - 06/08/2014 14:03:16    1632440

He is good craic all the same. Marked him in a soccer match a few years ago and went on a right auld session afterwards. Good times.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 06/08/2014 14:13:02    1632452

Devenney is only voicing his opinion that he believes Donegal would beat Dublin, I think its great fair play to him ,at least hes not going along with the usual lines of , you cant compete with the Dubs because of their finances,population blal,blah blah.

Although i think he will come out with those lines after we win ;)

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 06/08/2014 15:31:58    1632510

Liamwalkinstown

It is incredibly arrogant and Armagh will be seething and delighted at the same time!

Seething & delighted at the same time is some trick. I tried it a few years ago but couldn't get the gurning right while I was smiling.

Those Armagh fellas are some men!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 06/08/2014 15:42:05    1632516

MuckrossHead
Seething & delighted at the same time is some trick. I tried it a few years ago but couldn't get the gurning right while I was smiling.
Those Armagh fellas are some men!!

Brilliant!

seanfinn (Monaghan) - Posts: 360 - 06/08/2014 16:01:30    1632529

Kind of echos many of their supporters on this site

Full of misguided confidence..

Although without question... this is really going to be quite a funny thread if Monaghan /Armagh have a say

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 06/08/2014 16:07:55    1632534

yew_tree

Does Devenney not see comments like this could harm Donegal by firing up the opposition...but then again maybe he secretly wants them to fail...who know's....

I believe he was asked for his opinion on the matter at a press event in Dublin, and probably didn't think it would become a headline. As the man has no direct Involvement with Donegal's management, I don't see any harm in him voicing his opinions as he clearly doesn't represent them in any official capacity.

I can't help but wonder how the hell did this make a National sports headline though?

I mean seriously "Ex-Donegal player thinks Donegal can beat Dublin If they meet".

Whats next in National news

"Pat Spillane thinks Kerrygold tastes better than Connaught Gold"

There is no shame in supporting your own, and believing in your own. The media at the minute are dying to jump on any little crumb, and turn it into something controversial. As long as his comments aren't nasty in nature, then I don't see an Issue.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 06/08/2014 16:15:38    1632539

jimbo, why is our confidence misguided?

We were All-Ireland champions two years ago and have won the province again with relative ease.
While we may still come second best to Dublin IF we get over Armagh, surely we're entitled to express a little bit of optimism and not the "misguided confidence" you speak of.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 06/08/2014 16:28:15    1632548

Last time I checked

1) Neither Kevin CAssidy or Brendan Devenney were members of the Donegal panel
2) Neither of them are members of the Donegal back-room team
3) They are certainly not elected representatives or elected spokespersons.
to
But hey if it makes Dublin fans think that their team will be heroworshiped from the Blaskets to Shankill Road fine !

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 06/08/2014 16:38:34    1632559

You still don't see any former Dublin players crowing about putting money on Dublin beating Donegal before we even play Monaghan

I mean... Monaghan reached an Ulster Final where they were only a kick of a ball away from getting something from the game

Surely they deserve a little more respect - they pushed a seemingly irresistible defensive force all the way

I'm sure Armagh will have a few things to say to boot...

Silly stuff from him but sure what does it matter

But I'd save my money if I were you lads... I certainly wouldn't be taking the word from this fella!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 06/08/2014 16:49:23    1632575

Shock Horror!!!! Media person says something controversial in effort to be noticed.

For media person you can insert the name of your choice.

If this stuff was coming from JMcG or Murph then I would say, fair enough, but for fellas to be getting on their high horse about guys trying to sell papers is silly.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 06/08/2014 16:52:53    1632578

And yet this is the very reason the dubs are regularly castigated on here because some muppets in the media have an elevated opinion of them. Donegal cant help what BD says about them no more than the Dubs can. Its all just opinion.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 06/08/2014 16:58:09    1632583