Devenney guarantees Donegal would beat Dublin

ah clondalkin get over yourself. no doubt dublin have a good team but success in any era is all relative. down and particularly galway revolutionised gaelic football in then sixties. we all know about the great kerry team of the seventies and eighties. even armagh and tyrone in the noughties brought their own stamp onto the game. dublin will be considered great if they first put 2 back to back but cannot be even considered the greatest until they at least record a 3 in a row. its amazing how we forget the great achievements of teams in the past. you would want to tone down on your arrogance. I respect dublin for their style of play but add in humility and thats when the neutral public will judge ye on greatness. in fairness your manager practices this so maybe some of your supporters could learn a thing or two.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1947 - 25/07/2014 11:15:34    1625724

I was in Ballybofey the day Devenney scored 0-14 in a county final.

Seriously talented footballer. But on the biggest stage, he didn't produce the goods. We were often reliant on Big Aidy (Eddie) who pulled us out of the sh1t time and time again. Never found wanting. A brilliant footballer with a heart to match.

Dev is a great guy though.

Samsforthehills (Donegal) - Posts: 1072 - 25/07/2014 15:23:14    1625883

Navy n blue
Forget about last year and if you watched last Sundays game against Monaghan, did you see any difference between Donegal this year and Donegal 12 months ago. ?? I'd love your answer.
As regards Donegal game plan Men who played the game, Danny Hughes, JohnMcEntee and even J Brolly are really impressed by Donegal.
J Brolly said that if the Donegal players do what JMcG wants them to do on the field of play then very little can go wrong Now he is talking about their Defensive setup and how they go about it.
If it does happen Dublin v Donegal ( and it's what I want and what Iv been waiting for ) would be a hard game to call
I think the longer a tough hard low scoring game goes on the more I think it would favour Donegal. On the other hand if Dublin got a good start , a goal or so Donegal could be in bother

But I want to see this game ,what with Donegal's defensive system in full flow and I like to see J Galvin/Dublin's reaction. But first we must beat another team and that might not be easy. But I liked what I saw about Donegal last week and only for Frank slipping we would have won by more. It was a mistake that could happen to anybody but we survived. Now go back and think of S Gerrald slip against Chealsea. And what it cost Liverpool

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 25/07/2014 19:32:51    1625979

At it again today in the Indo!

GUARANTEES Dublin would not beat Donegal!

I'd say Jim is fit to kill him

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 06/08/2014 09:31:24    1632234

Tut tut tut *shakes head

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 06/08/2014 09:41:24    1632242

This was posted as a new thread but as the subject matter is similar it has been incorporated here.

rover08
Longford

06/08/2014
10:00

Brendan Devaney

"And I think Dublin have their own problems in defence. Outside of Michael Darragh Macauley, they don't know who to be playing alongside him in midfield. - I am not one to criticise or question th eopinion of ex greats! But to say, Dublin have their own problems in defence?? What 6 of that the Dublin defence have struggled? They have the best full back in the country arguably! The option of 3 corner backs, all who would make the starting teams of the remaining in the Championship. Oh, and Cian O Sullivan, is McAuley´s partner for the last two seasons now! And a vital cog to the Dublin machine.

I am actually hoping for an upset in the championship as a neutral, and not a Dublin supporter! But I do think that is anothe routrageous comment by another Donegal man.

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2274 - 06/08/2014 10:03:42    1632255

A Donegal man, living in Mayo, was sat in front of me in the Hogan on Sunday. To say this man was a Jim McGuinness fan would be a huge understatement. We were discussing Michael Murphy, both agreed a class act but I had to question McGuinness playing him in midfied as he' s such a class forward. The man's eyes lit up when he said two word 'Michael Dara', he wants Murphy on Michael Dara, he knows Michael Dara is Dublin's driving force. Murpy can stifle him and give him something to think about. But he also thought, this man not necessarily McGuinness, that Murphy could still make a good contribution in the forwards. Optimistic to say the least. McAuley is a midfielder, through and through. Himself and Murphy will relish the battle but why risk your best forward in a midfeild battle he probably won't win. Monaghan and Armagh still have a big bearing on this game even happening, particularly a resurgent Armagh. The Dubs have a lot more forward options than Donegal and even if Donegal go blanket they won't beat them if their best forward is in a midfield slugfest, he'll probably too far from goal. As much as McGuinness has this though out he should have a plan B, C, D and beyond for McAuley, that doesn't involve Murphy marking him, cos the Air Corps man has plenty of counter-measures planned for his top guns to get them to September.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7363 - 06/08/2014 10:46:40    1632278

Was talking to a neighbour of mine from Donegal yesterday, big Gaa head, goes to all of Donegal's games even though he lives in south east county Meath (fairplay to him) and he knows Jim McGuinness pretty well. He reckons he was talking to Jim recently and Jim's very confident that he has a plan to stop Dublin, a plan he didn't divulge of course, but apparently he's super confident, doesn't say much for Monaghan or Armagh mind you.

Now you have to ask yourself 4 questions, 1) was Jim telling lies? 2) was my neighbour telling lies? 3) am I telling lies? or 4) who gives a toss, Dublin are going to win anyway! ok the last one isn't really a question granted but it's the one I'm going for.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 06/08/2014 10:56:37    1632283

3 out 4 I'd say !

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7363 - 06/08/2014 11:01:07    1632287

06/08/2014 10:56:37
Htaem

Was talking to a neighbour of mine from Donegal yesterday, big Gaa head, goes to all of Donegal's games even though he lives in south east county Meath (fairplay to him) and he knows Jim McGuinness pretty well. He reckons he was talking to Jim recently and Jim's very confident that he has a plan to stop Dublin, a plan he didn't divulge of course, but apparently he's super confident, doesn't say much for Monaghan or Armagh mind you.

Now you have to ask yourself 4 questions, 1) was Jim telling lies? 2) was my neighbour telling lies? 3) am I telling lies? or 4) who gives a toss, Dublin are going to win anyway! ok the last one isn't really a question granted but it's the one I'm going for.

Is this like the plan that Mickey had in Rocky 2? Box as an orthodox fighter to fool Apollo and then switch to south paw when he was tired?

So do you think that Donegal are going to go 15 on 15? Or maybe 16 on 15 if you count Michael Murphy twice? I reckon thats its! McGuinness and his cunning plans. Baldrick would be poud!

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 06/08/2014 11:02:02    1632291

McGuinness will sacrifice anything to neutralize the other team's biggest threat.
Brolly was right on Sunday, if Donegal were to face Kerry, they would double man O'Donoghue for the full game, no ifs or maybes.

If he considers McCauley to be Dublin's biggest threat, (a reasonable assumption), and believes putting Murphy on him will stop him, then that's what he'll do.

BlastCalyle (Mayo) - Posts: 206 - 06/08/2014 11:04:22    1632293

Baldrick was a handy corner back in his day!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7363 - 06/08/2014 11:05:40    1632294

I wonder what Grimley makes of Devenney's total dismissal of his team! Whatever you might say about Armagh teams over the years, I find it is best not to annoy them too much :-)

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 06/08/2014 11:10:11    1632299

Hate this talk of Donegal Dublin at this stage but if it does materialise I imagine Murphy playing both roles at differing times.
I don't think he will be marking MDMC anyway as that isn't Donegals style.

But he will be out around midfield at times. However and this is where playing Ulster teams differ. Murphy will go inside at some stages. The reason behind not doing it much in Ulster is that in Ulster teams Play with the blanket greatly reducing Murphys forward play. However against what I deem a suspect enough Dublin FB under the high ball This will be used at least once or twice throughout the potential game.

Right how do we beat Armagh - That is much more the type of question everyone should talk about. Sure we are favourites but Armagh wont roll over. They will come fighting and If all things aren't correct they could cause an upset.

Also there isn't much between Donegal and Monaghan if both play well. I wouldn't read much into the Kildare match as it was played in tight conditions but If Monaghan of Last years Ulster Final come out then Dublin could be in trouble.

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 06/08/2014 11:25:34    1632313

06/08/2014 11:05:40
GreenandRed

Baldrick was a handy corner back in his day!

Boom, Boom, Boom, Boom!

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 06/08/2014 11:33:49    1632326

Totally ridiculous to be talking about this game or even the possibility of it when there are 2 big matches to be decided over the weekend. It's fantastic motivation for the 2 teams being completely written off..

fire_in_belly (Donegal) - Posts: 59 - 06/08/2014 11:43:27    1632333

Devenney's talking through his hoop, there's one way you beat Dublin and that's go for goals and score 3 more goals than they do...since this is bordering on the impossible says it all.

realman2 (Kildare) - Posts: 464 - 06/08/2014 12:06:36    1632351

Devenney couldn't beat Armagh when he was on the pitch and could do something about it
So Guaranteeing a win against Dublin from a retired player (who never even won a provincial title) trying to increase his media profile needs to taken with fistfulls rather than a pinch of salt

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 06/08/2014 12:26:11    1632363

No one in Donegal takes Deveaney too seriously. In 2012 he said we wouldn't be beaten for 3 years. The media love him because you just don't know what he will say next.
I really wish he wasn't from Donegal.

Cleatus (Donegal) - Posts: 125 - 06/08/2014 12:37:38    1632369

There are certain players of a particular type who simply love their voice being heard. No harm in that. If you're a well enough known ex county player who can make a few bob on the side by offering an opinion of sorts then good luck to ya. I would put Colm Parkinson, Conor Mortimer and Brendnan Devenney in this bracket. They were all county players at one point who showed flashes of brilliance but who never dined at the top table the way a Tomas O'Sé or a Peter Canavan did for example.

Best to not pay too much heed to them.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 06/08/2014 13:03:12    1632392