Devenney guarantees Donegal would beat Dublin

benjyyy

With all respect do Devenney for his many years of service, he never quite cut it in Championship football. But agreed that the conversation is irrelevant because there is more than a fair chance the game wont happen.

Have to agree here, I never thought Brendan Devenney cut the turf at the top Championship level. While Adrian Sweeney on the other hand, he was the real deal and possibly one of the most understated forwards of that time.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 23/07/2014 15:48:21    1624848

Yeah big Eddie was some operator around 2002 and 2003.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 23/07/2014 15:54:59    1624853

Devenney was a good player, but he didnt produce on the big day, partially due to the fact that he was double marked, and partially due to the fact that opponents could get inside his head. I remember players like dooher and bellew, they used to love playing against donegal and marking him. Back to the topic at hand. Dublin would be strong favorites whoever they play, and if it happens to be donegal, they would be very strong favorites. I would put them at 7/1 on as they are currently 6/4 on to win the series and donegal are only at 11/1. Do the maths, i cant! devenney is only marketing his broadcasting jersey.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 23/07/2014 15:55:24    1624854

benjyyy

Jesus lads the hype has really got to you this year. A few good performances (all against teams outside the top 8) and you are talking about greats of the game. Short memories. Connolly and the Brogans were playing when you got hammered by Tyrone in 2008, they were also playing when you got spanked by Kerry in 2009. They were playing in 2011 when you were outplayed for 65mins by a past-peak Kerry team, a Kerry team that in their prime could not get one over on Tyrone. And even last year in the final against Mayo you were lucky not to be 6 or 7 points down after 25 mins.

------
So you've picked two games from the 100 or so that these guys have played over the past 6 years to point out that they are not great footballers?? Please! Teams outside the top 8 like Derry in the league final and Cork in the semi or Tyrone in Omagh?? I don't think there's any denying the calibre of the team but take your point on hype. IMO Donegal and perhaps a team like Kerry or Mayo, if they catch Dublin on a bad day, could defeat Dublin in the championship. Will be an interesting run in. Donegal fans seem to have become very confident after that win at the weekend over a dire Monaghan team. Much tougher challenges outside of Ulster ahead though as they found out last year against Mayo.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 23/07/2014 18:46:01    1624969

Yeh Sweeney was a superior player to Devenney!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 23/07/2014 18:57:03    1624980

GaryMc82 23/07/2014 15:48:21

Have to agree here, I never thought Brendan Devenney cut the turf at the top Championship level. While Adrian Sweeney on the other hand, he was the real deal and possibly one of the most understated forwards of that time.

He had the potential to be one of the greats, but didn't produce it enough at the highest level. Devastating on his day though. I wouldn't pay much heed to what he's saying though, he just enjoys a bit of banter more than anything. Agree with you about Adrian Sweeney. And it seems as if he is still the real deal, in serious form for Dungloe this year

HandballRef (Donegal) - Posts: 520 - 23/07/2014 19:38:58    1625002

GaryMc82
County: Derry

----
Yeah Sweeney was top class. I remember him clipping over a few to bring the 2002 qtr final against the Dubs to a replay and he shaking his fist at us on the Hill. Fairly play to him but Ray Cosgrove put paid to his joy in the replay. Sweeney definitely a class player though. Don't think he won much with that Donegal team though did he? They came through the back door in 02.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 23/07/2014 20:13:55    1625022

Joxer, Dpnegal fans confident after Sundays game??......... Could we say the same about you Dubs, yous seem to be getting more vocal after every game you's have won in Leinster this year, but I suppose the opposition there was extremely strong so your right to be confident....... Yous will find out in a little over two weeks time how dire Monaghan are, they will give yous your fill of it, mark my words on that one.......

ben1977 (Donegal) - Posts: 364 - 23/07/2014 20:21:06    1625026

Dara O'Se and Devenney think likewise so it seems...

http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/donegal-back-to-2012-form-and-can-beat-dublin-1.1874815

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 24/07/2014 09:21:01    1625097

What did ye expect Devenney to say ?!!! Himself and Wooly are good craic on Off the Ball.

Dublin would, rightfully, be hot favourites if they meet. No team in 2014 or for a few years to come will out-football this Dublin team. Crowd them out and hit them on the break with some dark arts thrown in there for good measure.

Comparing 2014 Donegal to the 2013 is just lazy. McGuinness has shaken them up and some All Ireland winners have to be content with a place on the bench. A new and hungry breed.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 24/07/2014 10:11:59    1625120

ben1977

Joxer, Dpnegal fans confident after Sundays game??......... Could we say the same about you Dubs, yous seem to be getting more vocal after every game you's have won in Leinster this year, but I suppose the opposition there was extremely strong so your right to be confident....... Yous will find out in a little over two weeks time how dire Monaghan are, they will give yous your fill of it, mark my words on that one.......
-----
Division 2 teams like Donegal and Monaghan don't worry the AI champs. As for Leinster, the province's record against Ulster this year isn't bad when you see Derry and Fermanagh going out to poor Leinster teams.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 24/07/2014 10:36:17    1625128

Found that piece interesting realdub. I think Donegal showed some of their old characteristics alright but whether they're back to the 2012 level I'm not so sure yet. Just like Dublin shouldn't be getting ahead of themselves, Donegal might find the winners of Meath / Armagh tricky enough. I still think Donegal are limited in their options up front and were yet to see how good the system is when they fall behind - Mayo and Monaghan games last year asked a lot of questions of the merits of the system regardless of whether Donegal were tired or missing key players last year.

NavyNBlue (Dublin) - Posts: 1357 - 24/07/2014 10:42:04    1625132

Indeed, I certainly won't be getting ahead of myself. I think if we meet they'll cause us severe problems at least, it will be a whole new ball game for this Dublin team.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 24/07/2014 12:17:41    1625227

I always get worried when the hype machine goes into overdrive. The fact is that none of the other team in Leinster are at the level of Dublin and Dublin have had an easy walk thru Leinster again which wont do them any favors when they meet the better teams.
Donegal aren't playing as well as they were in 2012 however if they can keep their forwards fit they have a good chance of beating Dublin. The pressure is on Dublin as AI champions.

spmccann (Dublin) - Posts: 209 - 24/07/2014 12:55:08    1625266

I remember coming home from a Donegal league game some time in the early to mid 00's. Big Sweeney was suspended and there was no sign of him at the game. On the way home listening to Highland Radio the Ulster Senior League soccer results were being read out.
Keadue Rovers had won 4-0 and one Adrian Sweeney had bagged all 4 goals!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 24/07/2014 13:18:32    1625283

the hype is reaching 2006 levels at this stage...truly getting carried away badly..ya's would better hope dublin do the job as a lot of you are going to be looking very silly otherwise

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 24/07/2014 13:53:40    1625317

We are mugs for nostalgia, that is the issue here. People are ranting about tyrone 6- 10 years ago v dublin in the current format. It is a nothing argument, except that Tyrone have won 3 all irelands. Dublin will almost certainly match this, and perhaps stretch beyond it. Dublin and tyrone have both beaten kerry in croke park, and in an all ireland final. Dublin are playing savage football at the moment, and to say that they are not getting proper opposition is slightly disingenuous to their players, they can only perform and beat what is put in front of them. Serious team. I only saw them once this year, they were in 2nd gear, and they looked like a team who were just turning up to win as a formality. I feel that it is more important to come thru a campaign injury and suspension free, and not mentally or emotionally worn out, even if this means playing ties that are bordering on challenge matches. Many good teams leave the championship prematurely because of burnout and too many games. Dublin will be good enough come their next game, and it will be a tougher match, enough to steady them for the semis, and beyond most likely.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 24/07/2014 14:54:14    1625380

Donegalman

We are mugs for nostalgia, that is the issue here. People are ranting about tyrone 6- 10 years ago v dublin in the current format. It is a nothing argument, except that Tyrone have won 3 all irelands. Dublin will almost certainly match this, and perhaps stretch beyond it. Dublin and tyrone have both beaten kerry in croke park, and in an all ireland final. Dublin are playing savage football at the moment, and to say that they are not getting proper opposition is slightly disingenuous to their players, they can only perform and beat what is put in front of them. Serious team. I only saw them once this year, they were in 2nd gear, and they looked like a team who were just turning up to win as a formality. I feel that it is more important to come thru a campaign injury and suspension free, and not mentally or emotionally worn out, even if this means playing ties that are bordering on challenge matches. Many good teams leave the championship prematurely because of burnout and too many games. Dublin will be good enough come their next game, and it will be a tougher match, enough to steady them for the semis, and beyond most likely.

------
Fair post Donegalman and to be honest I was tongue in cheek with my posts about how much we would beat Donegal by if we met. I think they are a serious outfit and those Dubs of us who have been let down in the past by previously over hyped Dublin teams know only too well the dangers of talking up our own team. However this IS a formidable Dublin team so when we are beaten, and we will at some stage if not this championship, I'll be one of the first on here to congratulate the winners. As long as it's not Meath!

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 24/07/2014 18:25:11    1625518

Donegalman

------
Fair post Donegalman and to be honest I was tongue in cheek with my posts about how much we would beat Donegal by if we met. I think they are a serious outfit and those Dubs of us who have been let down in the past by previously over hyped Dublin teams know only too well the dangers of talking up our own team. However this IS a formidable Dublin team so when we are beaten, and we will at some stage if not this championship, I'll be one of the first on here to congratulate the winners. As long as it's not Meath!

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 24/07/2014 18:39:08    1625524

Joxer
Your being a poor sport. I'd love to be beaten by Meath. We could start a 'Take Meath out of Leinster ' thread.

On the topic at hand since Donegal won AI in 2012 I've been looking forward to the two teams meeting in Championship football. Donegal weren't finished article when we met in the 2011 semi. If we meet now there can be no excuses. The two Jims get a chance to pit there wits against each other. Great.
A.

Aido69 (Dublin) - Posts: 381 - 24/07/2014 19:46:52    1625563