Devenney guarantees Donegal would beat Dublin

Clondalkin......... Don't be rising to this bate that DV speaks about....... Sure as you say you yourself yous are the greatest panel that ever graced a football field,no need to be worrying about a minnow like Donegal................ Arrogance is not the nicest trait to have, and envitebly it always comes back to bite you in the arse

ben1977 (Donegal) - Posts: 364 - 22/07/2014 14:58:01    1624085

dublin have an excellent panel no doubt but its only early days..stephen o neill for 2005 crucially though best player in the country..brian dooher and mcguigan i would have as better players than the dubs when fully fit..connolly amazing talent but too wasteful a lot of the time...sean cavanagh?..the current dublin team just doenst have the stars that tyrone team had or kerry who had galvin gooch the 2 o sullivans donaghy and so on....remove the dublin bias before making an argument...bernard brogan is dublins best forward and his best season was 4 years ago

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 22/07/2014 15:17:49    1624119

if dublin dont win same this year it will be because they were beaten by a better side...if they have the greatest panel of players ever as you are suggesting they should win sam fairly comfortably..why are you trying to get in excuses like a team playing certain tactics?..great teams figure out a way to win no matter who they are playing as kerry and tyrone both did

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 22/07/2014 15:19:53    1624124

I disagree with Devenney on a few areas. Firstly, just because Dublin attack a lot doesn't mean their game isn't defensively minded. The last line has issues under high balls but they get players back better than any team in the game. Also, it's one thing to say defensive strategies beat attack minded one (and it's waaaay more complex than that) but Dublin's form of attack is a unique animal in the game today. DontFoul's fairly extensive research pegs the average number of shots per 70 mins from a team at 27. Dublin have been shooting 40+ pretty much as standard this season and averaged 39 per game last year through the championship. Donegal may be able to bring that down but it's hard to see a situation where Dublin don't have around 10 more shots than Donegal, which requires Dublin to be extraordinarily bad in attack or for Donegal to shoot at a considerably higher rate than they managed in 2012. It's not impossible but really unlikely.

emmetryan (Dublin) - Posts: 154 - 22/07/2014 15:20:34    1624127

The only way they will beat Dublin is if Dublin play Kildare in the quarters and give them a hammering. Dublin won't be tested and while I still think they will win it gives Donegal a slight advantage.

Still think Mayo/Kerry in the final will be Dublins only real test this year.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 22/07/2014 15:51:14    1624178

I wonder how good those Dublin forwards would be if they were put under pressure and were trying to score whilst surrounded by players.
that's the intriuging thing. I personally think James O' Donoghue is the best forward in the country at the moment.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 22/07/2014 16:01:53    1624192

i agree s goldrick..o donohue is the top forward in the game at present..dublin are more a team who are the some of their parts rather than star individuals as they break through teams at such frightening pace...in terms of top level star quality up front bernard brogan on his day is the only really proven capable week in week out top top level player while connolly on his day is as good as anybody..the rest are good 1 day and ordinary the next but all decent-good footballers who as a whole create a truly intimidating unit

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 22/07/2014 16:05:55    1624200

Im afraid the radio goes off when he comes on.Anyone foolish enough to guarantee any game,never mind Donegal beating Dublin,is not to be taken seriously.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 22/07/2014 16:08:53    1624207

Yeah DV loses the run of himself a wee bit at times. But sure he's good craic. Pinch of salt people.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 22/07/2014 16:20:37    1624222

Devenney is amusing all the same. His comment about Dublin never having met anything like Donegals defense is laughable. Try Dublins defense - it starts on the opposition goal line, there's no sauntering around on yer own 45.

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 22/07/2014 16:30:10    1624234

Fabio yeah your right my friend we've no individual star players hahaha. Stick to the women mate

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 22/07/2014 16:37:07    1624237

Waynol, i'm glad you said it- wait and see if the 2 sides even meet for god sake. there's a lot of football to be played before the semi finals

farneyfriend (Monaghan) - Posts: 37 - 22/07/2014 16:44:25    1624241

Attacking football as displayed by this Dublin team will always beat what you get in Ulster. Can anybody see Donegal getting a lead on Dublin? As in a 3-4 point lead? Not a hope. They are too defensive for that. So for the first 10 minutes it will be tight, but once the Dubs inevitably go in front (they are too good up front not to) what do Donegal do then? Has anyone seen them with a plan B?

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 22/07/2014 16:51:44    1624244

i clearly listed examples of star players dublin have clondalkin..i was referring to the dublins forward line...most of dublins best players are out the field..mcauley flynn mccarthy and so on with bernard brogan being the only top top forward dublin have in terms of proven track record as alan brogan is now on the way down and connolly is inconsistent...this is in comparison to the tyrone and kerry sides you derided..the guys out the field cause havoc all breaking through at pace creating opportunities for the forwards...but of course just dismiss my points because you dont agree with them

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 22/07/2014 16:56:42    1624249

You'd know Devenney wasn't a Kerry man anyway.

MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 22/07/2014 17:04:04    1624263

For the sake of all the purists like myself I hope and pray Dublin beat Donegal. It would be a sad day for all of us if a brilliant team playing football the way it should be played is beaten by a decent team that have to play with 13-15 men behind the ball because they wouldn't beat teams otherwise!

manager5 (Galway) - Posts: 724 - 22/07/2014 17:11:46    1624269

And mulligan Mcguigan o Niell Dooher were always consistent? I notice in all sports when someone retires they become even better than they ever were and they never had a bad game, Connolly in the 4 biggest games of his career Kerry '11 outstanding in the end Kerry '12 in the greatest game if all time he was motm and for his clubs two all Ireland victories he was motm so please don't give me that rubbish. Fabio Alan brogan poty '11 Mulligan Mcguigan Have retired he's still playing great football.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 22/07/2014 17:13:13    1624271

Ned_Stormcrow

Attacking football as displayed by this Dublin team will always beat what you get in Ulster. Can anybody see Donegal getting a lead on Dublin? As in a 3-4 point lead? Not a hope. They are too defensive for that. So for the first 10 minutes it will be tight, but once the Dubs inevitably go in front (they are too good up front not to) what do Donegal do then? Has anyone seen them with a plan B?

Yes I have seen a plan B in action with donegal, it is called a sub bench Ned. Hopefully we will not need a plan C though.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 22/07/2014 17:16:21    1624273

Connolly in the 4 biggest games of his career Kerry '11 outstanding in the end Kerry '12 in the greatest game if all time he was motm and for his clubs two all Ireland victories he was motm

So the 2013 final wasn't one of the four biggest matches of his career but the semi-final was? He was good in the 2011 final but nothing more than that. He's an extremely talented player, not disputing that.

MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 22/07/2014 17:19:08    1624277

we are talking about the current dublin team clondalkin..be objective..stop being so biased..dooher always good for 3-4 points a game i suggest you look at his performances for tyrone in 2008..o neill when fully fit was consistent as shown by winning player of the year..what games are you talking about as regards connolly and try and get the years right at least please..nobody disputes that alan brogan used to be a brilliant footballer but he is now past his best..we are discussing the current dublin side...i agree that connolly has been superb for vincents and is starting to show encouraging signs that he has mattered and is beginning to play his best football..the best i have ever seen connolly play i would have to say is against tyrone in the quarter final in 2011...of course you regard it as the best game of all time and before that i imagine you called the 2011 final or mayo dublin 2006 as the best...those tyrone and kerry played mentioned showed over a period of years how great they truly were..my point was only bernard brogan and the old alan brogan have really done this out of the current dublin forward line so i would hold off on being the greatest panel ever for just the moment...you never answered my question on why you were getting in excuses about dublin losing?...you seem very confident in your side so why bother making excuses?

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 22/07/2014 17:27:12    1624285