What's the game everyone wants to see in 2014?

GaryMc82
County: Derry

I don't remember the last time Kerry lost to Mayo or Cork in the All Ireland series? Nothing to fear in that side of the draw for Kerry me thinks, you should make the All Ireland final without much hassle.

96 for Mayo, have lost in 97,04,06 and 11. Cork, never I think.

Alvin (Donegal) - Posts: 218 - 24/07/2014 11:41:02    1625184

Kilkenny v Wexford in hurling yes that has the potential to be a blockbuster on current form, in football I hope we get over Armagh is like to see Meath v Donegal, as a third choice I'd love to see any game where the referee is able to apply the rules properly and consistently (not a rant over last Sunday this problem is ongoing all year) I'm sick of hearing Croke Park defend what is rapidly becoming indefensible

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 24/07/2014 11:48:10    1625192

Honestly i dont think i could watch a dublin v donegal final
ohhh good god the negativity that would be on display that day. I know its all about winning but by god it would make shocking watching

Personally id like a crack at kerry and dublin again in the football but even if we got it they would both beat us cause cork football is all over the shop and certainly not as good as they thought they were

So here is my pick for the finals . A bit traditional i know but shur what can i do .

Kilkenny v Cork in the hurling

Dublin v kerry in the football

and after the display of paul flynn and the dub lads with molly last sunday i genuinely hope Dublin win

ritchie (Cork) - Posts: 346 - 24/07/2014 11:49:10    1625193

i think the whole country wants to see any game involving the super dubs! The saviours of FOOTBALL!

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 24/07/2014 13:23:34    1625288

Alvin

GaryMc82
County: Derry

I don't remember the last time Kerry lost to Mayo or Cork in the All Ireland series? Nothing to fear in that side of the draw for Kerry me thinks, you should make the All Ireland final without much hassle.

96 for Mayo, have lost in 97,04,06 and 11. Cork, never I think.

Point proven, Kerry have nothing to fear on that side of the draw. In reality Mayo will likely stick it to them but fall short, but i reckon it should be a walk to the final for Kerry. They really have a mental edge over Mayo and Cork at Croker.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 24/07/2014 17:44:01    1625497

If you go to the Kerry pages Gary you'll find a lot of lads down there who share your confidence about the Kingdom's prospects. Some even think that this year is like '75 all over again. One impressive win over Cork, who were tactically a shambles on the day, seems to have been some tonic! They're on the right road IMO, but they've still a distance to go, and the road's more congested now than in the past. We don't fear Kerry, they've just been better than us most years. Besides we won't be replaying those teams in 2014. If we do both make it to the semifinal, and that isn't to be taken for granted, it'll be on merit and the best team will win on the day.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 24/07/2014 21:22:11    1625615

The last game I want to see is Donegal and Dublin. Realistically Donegals only chance is a mass defence and wont be a good spectacle.

Would love to see a Tipp-Cork All Ireland and Tipp playing Kerry in Croker as part of a Double header with the Dubs! (Not sure if that's possible tho...)

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 25/07/2014 08:31:32    1625641

Wexford v kk kidare v Dublin

sallinsman5 (Kildare) - Posts: 8 - 25/07/2014 08:35:55    1625643

Here are some of the possibilities of quarter final games:

Kerry v Tipperary - Turkey shoot
Kerry v Galway- Turkey shoot
Kerry v Sligo - Turkey Shoot
Mayo v Cork - Contest
Mayo v Sligo - Turkey shoot
Mayo v Tipperary - Turkey Shoot
Donegal v Armagh - Contest
Donegal v Meath - Conest
Donegal v Kildare - Contest
Dublin v Monaghan - Contest
Dublin v Kildare - Turkey Shoot

Personally I would prefer tuning into a match I thought was going to be a contest than one that I thought was going to be a Turkey Shoot though for those that like a good old Turkey Shoot I respect your preferred taste.

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 25/07/2014 10:38:15    1625695

Kerry definitely have the easiest route.

Mayo v Cork
Donegal v Armagh/Meath
Dublin v Monaghan
would be interesting enough games though.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3738 - 25/07/2014 10:50:49    1625702

tiobraid
County: Tipperary

The last game I want to see is Donegal and Dublin. Realistically Donegals only chance is a mass defence and wont be a good spectacle.

I really do despair at times.......

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 25/07/2014 11:54:58    1625757

Naysayer

1625695 Here are some of the possibilities of quarter final games:

Kerry v Tipperary - Turkey shoot
Kerry v Galway- Turkey shoot
Kerry v Sligo - Turkey Shoot
Mayo v Cork - Contest
Mayo v Sligo - Turkey shoot
Mayo v Tipperary - Turkey Shoot
Donegal v Armagh - Contest
Donegal v Meath - Conest
Donegal v Kildare - Contest
Dublin v Monaghan - Contest
Dublin v Kildare - Turkey Shoot

Personally I would prefer tuning into a match I thought was going to be a contest than one that I thought was going to be a Turkey Shoot though for those that like a good old Turkey Shoot I respect your preferred taste.

I agree, it was incredible to hear the boys on RTE giving out at half time during the Ulster Final that it was a terrible game. The Leinster Final was over by half time and half of the country had switched over to the Golf. Give me a close game any day rather than Dublin steamrolling some poor gang of eejits in Leinster.

FWIW, I honestly don't believe Kerry v Galway would be a Turkey Shoot. Not that Galway are that great, but Kerry are crazily over-hyped after putting in one performance against a team that had no Plan B and looked like they'd rather be down in Rearden's after 20 minutes.

decky (Roscommon) - Posts: 384 - 25/07/2014 13:07:25    1625814

Hurling: Tipperary v Kilkenny

Football: Donegal v Dublin

I couldn't say who might win those, which is why I would like to see them; it's nothing at all to do with who I want to win.

Midleton (Cork) - Posts: 643 - 25/07/2014 19:19:02    1625971

Hurling: Tipperary v Kilkenny

Football: Donegal v Dublin

I couldn't say who might win those, which is why I would like to see them; it's nothing at all to do with who I want to win.

Midleton (Cork) - Posts: 643 - 25/07/2014 19:19:04    1625972

We could well end up with a semi final pairing of Cork vGalway. People are gone overboard about this Kerry team , no disrespect to the County or their football but to judge them on the Cork game is pure daft.
Would Kerry have won in Clones last Sunday taking that the game would be played like Donegal /Monaghan played last Sunday. ?? Mayo found Roscommon and their blanket hard to overcome , how do Mayo people think they would have played last Sunday with opposition playing like Donegal/Monaghan. ???

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 25/07/2014 20:13:01    1625994

Sam
Kerry mayo Tipperary Galway Sligo and cork we're all playing for the runners up spot , and unfortunately for Donegal Monaghan Meath Kildare and Armagh ye are playing for a quarter or semifinal spot and no more, Dublin for 2 in a row I'm afraid.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 25/07/2014 20:40:13    1626006

Kingdomboy1
I don't think JMcG would have you in his backroom team if you think like that Do you think Jim telling the boys they are playing for a semi final at best. Don't forget Dublin are like ourselves , Meath Monaghan Kildare and Armagh :::all trying to get to the semi final.
You know the watt JIM goes :::be competitive, give it our all , leave everything on the pitch and try and get over the line
Talking about last years semi final ,Kerry vDublin the reason Kerry stayed in the game so long was because of the brilliance of the Gooch He was the Man who set up the Kerry goals and in the first half Dublin found it hard to contain him. IMO he alone kept Kerry in the game and when Dublin got to grips with him in the second half Kerry's forwards became less and less dangerous.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 25/07/2014 21:02:23    1626010

Dublin vs Mayo for me.

MartinGerard (Longford) - Posts: 275 - 25/07/2014 21:29:25    1626022

Pericles

If you go to the Kerry pages Gary you'll find a lot of lads down there who share your confidence about the Kingdom's prospects. Some even think that this year is like '75 all over again. One impressive win over Cork, who were tactically a shambles on the day, seems to have been some tonic! They're on the right road IMO, but they've still a distance to go, and the road's more congested now than in the past. We don't fear Kerry, they've just been better than us most years. Besides we won't be replaying those teams in 2014. If we do both make it to the semifinal, and that isn't to be taken for granted, it'll be on merit and the best team will win on the day.

To be honest Pericles, I was actually saying what I felt the Kerry fans are thinking. This was by no means meant as insult to Cork or Mayo, It was me pointing out that what they say is very different from what they think.

At full strength Mayo are significantly stronger than the current Kerry team, and I would say Cork are probably a stronger squad.
But I sense the confidence amongst the Kerry faithful, that deep down they have a mental edge over Mayo and Cork that will see Kerry through.

I do think Mayo are not firing on all cylinders this season, however I may well be proved wrong on the matter. Cork just had a bad day in the Munster final, they may have trained heavy a little too close to the game. While I don't genuinely feel they can take Dublin this year, things are promising for the Rebels.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 25/07/2014 21:48:28    1626026

And had the referee been on the money Gooch might even have won that game for Kerry. Thing about Kerry is they believe they have some sort of God given right which means they never go out contemplating the prospect of defeat, they fear no-one and they have the added bonus that even when they are at a poorer standard the opposition often play the jersey.

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 25/07/2014 21:51:53    1626027