What's the game everyone wants to see in 2014?

Dublin v Donegal, both teams hopefully injury free and at their best, what a contest it should be!

and

Kilkenny v Tipp, fierce rivals with serious talent on display, these matches usually gives us everything we could ask for

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 22/07/2014 13:53:00    1623965

Semi-Final I'm told

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2151 - 22/07/2014 13:57:19    1623968

Would love to see us get a crack at Dublin just to see how we would do against the best attacking team in the country, so let's hope we can get over Kildare to set it up.

Pukefootball (Monaghan) - Posts: 377 - 22/07/2014 14:08:27    1623981

I notice none of the dubs would look forward to meeting Donegal!

Why would we ?

In terms of entertainment and a spectacle, I would look forward to us playing Kerry and Mayo before playing Donegal.

But we all know the way Donegal play (As is their perogative to play however they like), I personally would rather see an open attacking game of football, Especially against Kerry as the rivalry between the two sides has re-emerged thanks to the success of both sides recently.

Dublin v Donegal would be the most intriguing, But its not "the one we want to see".

I mean, If we did come up against Donegal, Grand - We aren't scared of anyone.........

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 22/07/2014 14:17:31    1624002

Dublin v Donegal in football, potentially game of this decade in football.

The game of the decade is already wrapped up in a pretty little ribbon, It took place in HQ on the 1st of September last.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 22/07/2014 14:18:50    1624005

PukeFootball +1 It's amazing how we have gone from people discussing our all Ireland credentials as little as a week ago to being completely dismissed as also-rans after 1 poor performance (where we still only lost by 3 points!) Would be a perfect lead up to a quarter final for the players with nobody giving us any chance against Dublin. (As long as we get over Kildare of course, who are a bit of an unknown quantity at the moment)

SomeLad (Monaghan) - Posts: 9 - 22/07/2014 14:38:56    1624047

In terms of entertainment and a spectacle, I would look forward to us playing Kerry and Mayo before playing Donegal.

Kerry for sure. Mayo not a good pairing. does not bring out the best in either team.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 22/07/2014 15:13:04    1624111

The game of the decade is already wrapped up in a pretty little ribbon, It took place in HQ on the 1st of September last.

Absolute horse - it was an absolute thriller but there was so much wrong with that game it was unreal - was like a 5 4 in soccer - a real proper intriguing battle would be Dublin v Donegal.

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 22/07/2014 15:29:05    1624148

Very true Naysayer.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 22/07/2014 15:31:31    1624156

lot of naive defending in that game...type of game from the same ilk as mayo dublin in 2006

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 22/07/2014 15:32:07    1624159

Meath v dublin semi final. If meath regroup as I expect them too they will disperse both armagh and donegal . Wouldn't it be great for the lads to put last sunday right rather than having to wait another year. The game would have plenty of bite in it! lads chomping at the bit to get stuck in.

foreverroyal (Meath) - Posts: 349 - 22/07/2014 15:51:00    1624177

I'be be surprised if anything topped, Donegal V Cork in 2012. Best played game Ive seen

joeteor (Donegal) - Posts: 218 - 22/07/2014 15:53:46    1624182

Dublin v Donegal Oh pleas not another repeat of 2011 tactics. After looking at the Ulster Rugby league Final I fear the same could happen as 2011 and the same result but by a much wider margin.

dubarra (Wicklow) - Posts: 541 - 22/07/2014 15:54:43    1624185

Naysayer

1624148 The game of the decade is already wrapped up in a pretty little ribbon, It took place in HQ on the 1st of September last.

Absolute horse - it was an absolute thriller but there was so much wrong with that game it was unreal - was like a 5 4 in soccer - a real proper intriguing battle would be Dublin v Donegal.

Why wouldnt you want a free flowing game of football would loads of brilliant scores.
You'd rather another 8 points to 6 instead?

Id like to see Tipp v Kerry in the quarter final (but I think we'd come up short). Donegal v Dublin in the semi final but Dublin and Kerry in the final with Gooch making a miraculous recovery and enter the fray with 20mins to go!

Cork v Tipp, KK v Wex in hurling semis with Tipp and KK in the final and hopefully we finally get over the line!

I cheated and picked 6 games Id like to see!

Joe_Bloggs (Tipperary) - Posts: 186 - 22/07/2014 15:58:32    1624189

If I picked 1 game it would be Dublin V Donegal. All out attack v all out defense.

Other close ones would be:
Meath v Donegal. I want to see how we fare against them in championship.
Kerry v Mayo. Can Mayo get over the Kerry Curse.
And the final will be a great pairing regardless
Kerry/Mayo v Dublin/Donegal

Championship has been shocking this year but at least the semi's and final will be great.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 22/07/2014 16:06:12    1624201

foreverroyal

Meath v dublin semi final. If meath regroup as I expect them too they will disperse both armagh and donegal . Wouldn't it be great for the lads to put last sunday right rather than having to wait another year. The game would have plenty of bite in it! lads chomping at the bit to get stuck in.

I am looking for irony in this thread and I cant find any. Meath to come back from a 16 point defeat, win 2 games on the trot in 3 weeks, and then go out the following week and give the team that beat them by 16 points a close game. Not in my wildest dreams is this going to happen.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 22/07/2014 16:15:09    1624213

it is quite amusing...no fans quite like meath in terms of baseless confidence

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 22/07/2014 16:18:33    1624215

Mayo v Dublin in the Final. It would be some craic if Mayo lost another Final. Chances are if they meet Dublin again they will. Hope not, but they need all their big players to hit form starting against Cork. Although I could see 2 good performances in the Quarters and Semis and then bottling it again.

proevo (Meath) - Posts: 296 - 22/07/2014 16:19:10    1624217

Meath aren't a 16 point worse team than dublin or a 20 point or whatever. Even spillane said this yesterday. And if we are then god help donegal if they meet them. As I'm sure your aware donegalman , this is the same meath team you were lucky to draw with only a few months ago.

foreverroyal (Meath) - Posts: 349 - 22/07/2014 16:24:06    1624228

Dublin in the final V An other

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 22/07/2014 16:25:08    1624229