Ticket fiasco- Hurling quarter finals

It's settled then. May leave the little one at home

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2673 - 22/07/2014 21:25:34    1624526

Dublin got less than 2,000 stand tickets if that is any consolation to people!

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 22/07/2014 21:28:02    1624527

Will you stop Doyler! There are plenty tickets around. You'll get one for your daughter no bother.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 22/07/2014 21:29:37    1624529

Does that mean Tipp and Limerick got about 19,000 stand tickets.

lochgarmanabu (Wexford) - Posts: 1020 - 22/07/2014 21:32:29    1624530

No it means people bought tickets online or in centra or SuperValu for the stand .

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 22/07/2014 21:37:52    1624537

this thread is hilarious.

first of all, how is it unfair that Tipp get to play in thurles? Hurling quarter finals have been played in Semple for the last number of years. its just fortunate for tipp that they have one of the biggest venues in the country. Maybe then it could be argued that the Dublin footballers should have a few games outside of croke park!

in terms of old lads not being able to stand in the terrace for a match and deserve a seat. Surely these lads, being such loyal supporters, have season tickets! these tickets wil get you a seat in the stand. they are great value for money. they get you into all league, club and championship games and guarantee you a ticket if your team get to the final,
depending on your attendance record for that year. but being such great supporters ye prob know all this.

people giving out about the problems of bringing youngsupporters kids into the terrace. i.ll just say best of luck to ye trying to get that child a seat in croke park if Wexford get to the all-Ireland final.

centre.spot (Mayo) - Posts: 3 - 23/07/2014 09:01:26    1624587

this thread is hilarious.

first of all, how is it unfair that Tipp get to play in thurles? Hurling quarter finals have been played in Semple for the last number of years. its just fortunate for tipp that they have one of the biggest venues in the country. Maybe then it could be argued that the Dublin footballers should have a few games outside of croke park!

in terms of old lads not being able to stand in the terrace for a match and deserve a seat. Surely these lads, being such loyal supporters, have season tickets! these tickets wil get you a seat in the stand. they are great value for money. they get you into all league, club and championship games and guarantee you a ticket if your team get to the final,
depending on your attendance record for that year. but being such great supporters ye prob know all this.

people giving out about the problems of bringing youngsupporters kids into the terrace. i.ll just say best of luck to ye trying to get that child a seat in croke park if Wexford get to the all-Ireland final.

centre.spot (Mayo) - Posts: 3 - 23/07/2014 09:09:49    1624590

hurlingdub

I've been at league games in Limerick where there weren't 1,000 there and yet they claim to be the greatest supporters ever!
WHAT GAMES WERE YOU AT WHERE THERE WAS LESS THAN 1000 PEOPLE - WHAT OTHER COUNTIES WOULD GET BIGGER CROWDS AGAINST THE SAME OPPOSITION IN LEAGUE HURLING

I know some of them and they would be as happy watching Munster or Man U as Limerick.
IS THERE SOMETHING WRONG WITH FOLLOWING MORE THAN ONE SPORT OR DO YOU HAVE TO SUPPORT HURLING AND HURLING ONLY TO BE A HURLING FAN - I AM SURE SOME DUBLIN FANS WOULD BE AS HAPPY WATCHING CELTIC AS WATCHING DUBLIN AND THAT DOES NOT MAKE THEM LESS PASSIONATE ABOUT DUBLIN

There was about 4500 limerick fans at minor hurling replay last night - dont think many other counties would bring that sort of crowd to a minor game- i think we have very good support in hurling usually bring around 12-15k per munster championship game - we have brutal football support though would love to see footballers getting better support

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 23/07/2014 09:29:27    1624598

hill16no1man

limerick of all can hardly class hardcore support levels as they get nobody until the rugby season ends.

that would be because the sports generally dont clash - hurling is by far the stronger sport in the county - rugby and soccer more so in the city - given that we usually get a rugular 12-15 k per munster championship game i would class this as hardcore -

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 23/07/2014 09:35:32    1624602

janesboro

sports do clash you see thats my point
in limerick they view gaa as a summer sport
but what about the national league?
it runs from feb to april which takes in the rugby season
look im not having a go at anybody but you cannot put limerick up on a pedestol as some are over last while
with looking at the facts that yes when they make finals or all ireland stages they get a good crowd
but i remember leitrim making all ireland football semi final in 1994 against ourselves
and id say over half of the county was in croker that day

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 23/07/2014 09:53:00    1624615

The Wexford County Board do seem to come across as whingers, when the SKY deal came out they were sending letters to Croke Park to protest that it would prevent old people etc from seeing the games, it appears now that all the old people go to games anyway! All I say its a good thing its on RTE otherwise there would have been war.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1805 - 23/07/2014 09:54:29    1624617

tearintom
County: Wexford

There are plenty that it doesn't suit, myself included as I won't bring my father or my kids this Sunday. Again I know lads with 3 or 4 kids who would travel normally but can't stand with their wives for a couple of hours trying to mind kids. There is a sizeable following amongst the older generation in Wexford who this won't suit. Again I have another neighbour with a kid in a wheelchair who can't exactly leave him on his own while they go to the terrace. People need to look past their own little self centred existence "sure it's grand for me to stand at a game, what's all the fuss?" And realise that it isn't grand for everyone. The killing thing is I know for a fact come Sunday there will any amount of empty seating in Thurles.

My point exactly, loads of tickets for everybody.
Come Sunday this thread is going to look a little silly.

I think that Sunday is going to be a brilliant day, savage athmosphere which will make for two exciting games, if they were in Croke Park, it would be half full with no athmosphere resulting in two dead games.

Joe_Bloggs (Tipperary) - Posts: 186 - 23/07/2014 09:59:09    1624619

Sure even Mick Wallace was getting in on the act yesterday, trying to hire a C130 aircraft to charter the Wexford fans to the match.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 23/07/2014 10:02:42    1624624

And with Clair Daly,it was gonna refuel and come back and pick us Dubs up at Weston Airport thereafter.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 23/07/2014 10:06:53    1624626

Hill16man Limerick get better crowds than Dublin for League games when they are in the same division. Obviously Limerick Carlow does not get the same crowd that Dublin Tipp would get but the Limerick Cork game this year got a better attendance than a lot of the 1A games.

Westfester (Limerick) - Posts: 944 - 23/07/2014 10:10:28    1624630

With a couple of prescious Willy Wonka styled Golden stand tickets for Doylers 5 year old kid and Tearintohims 73 year old father.Alls well that ends well lads.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 23/07/2014 10:12:59    1624633

cuederocket

Haha don't know what to do with that other than laugh :)

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2673 - 23/07/2014 11:18:10    1624677

Ha keep trying Doyler im actually as interested now in whether you get your two stand tickets,as in the two games themselves.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 23/07/2014 11:26:30    1624681

Tell me hillman what county gets big crowds for the lesser matches in 1b, if Limerick had the big 1a teams at home there would be no problem getting 10,000 for games.You love comparing Munster crowds to Limerick GAA crowds but Munster represents 6 counties, of which Cork gives the biggest support, and Munster gets a lot of small crowds too for it's lesser games or when it's not going well

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 817 - 23/07/2014 11:31:22    1624685

I find it silly to post something like this. You are a sitting duck for a hammering by other people. I also find it amusing how Wexford people are letting people wind them up. If it was Cork playing a qualifier in Wexford park they would also be lucky to get more than a few thousand down for the game despite their large population. Same would definitely apply for Limerick, Clare and most counties in Ireland. There was a time when Limerick wouldn't see one man and his dog going to games when they were bad. Cork generally have good teams so they generally get to the Quarter, Semi and finals sure they will get a crowd. (with setting the world on fire). But as I said stick them playing Wexford in Wexford Park when they have had a few off season and I would say they'd get no more than a handful.

Nick (Wexford) - Posts: 1100 - 23/07/2014 11:35:30    1624688