Ticket fiasco- Hurling quarter finals

There will be plenty of tickets about, theres no need to panic. I reckon there wont be 50k there.

People who think that Tipp have an advantage are mistaken. Its not as if Thurles is a daunting place to go like Ennis, Cork, Kilkenny etc. If you ask any hurler his favourite venue, he'll tell you its between Croke Park and Thurles.
So why take it to Croke Park and only have it half full.
Tipp supporters will be well out-numbered because all Wexford, Limerick and Dublin fans will be calling for Dublin.

Joe_Bloggs (Tipperary) - Posts: 186 - 22/07/2014 15:26:58    1624142

Are Wexford people too good for the terrace? There are still a lot of terrace tickets on sale so stop wasting tie and buy them. If you've kids get in early and sit them on a barrier or down the very front.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 22/07/2014 15:30:40    1624154

The 2,000 figure refers to stand tickets, the terraces can take about 22,000 more. Come Sunday, I reckon the place won't even be full.

jerryp (Cork) - Posts: 104 - 22/07/2014 16:08:51    1624206

This Tipp home advantage thing is beyond a joke now. Any team left in the championship is more than capable of beating this current Tipp team in Thurles.

Limerick & Kilkenny have done it this year so why not anyone else.

If we were bringing home all Irelands year in year out I would say defo we should not have home advantage.

Dublin are gonna put it right up to Tipp and I am not sure Tipp will be on the right side of it come 6pm on Sunday.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 22/07/2014 16:19:50    1624220

What will be there Wexford 15k, limerick 10k, tipp 10k, Dublin 6k ... 2/3 thousand neutrals 43/4k tops

hurler32 (Limerick) - Posts: 867 - 22/07/2014 16:19:52    1624221

Jack_Goff, you're spot on there are still terrace tickets for sale for both ends. What they are complaining about I cannot understand? A nearly full Thurles is far better than Croke Park only having 50,000. I'll be shouting for Tipp and Limerick. A Cork v Tipp semi-final in Croke Pk would be some game

The_Bull (Cork) - Posts: 248 - 22/07/2014 16:22:51    1624225

What is all this rubbish about genuine fans missing out? There are plenty of tickets available for the terrace and if they were that genuine then they would have no problem standing on a terrace to support their team. Some have said that they want to sit down to watch a match. If thats the case just give me a ring and I will sell you a lovely comfy chair. You can then stay at home to watch the match on the lovely television with nobody distracting you

mike03 (Limerick) - Posts: 2000 - 22/07/2014 16:23:22    1624226

Hurler32 surely yourselves and Tipp will bring more than 10k each to the game. And I can't see us bringing 15k anymore as many of our ''supporters'' won't go unless they get a stand ticket. Can't understand how the gaa only gave us an allocation of 2000 having brought 15k to Kilkenny. Anyway I hope I'm wrong and the supporters do turn up as our young team deserves massive support.

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 22/07/2014 16:41:46    1624239

I have a terrace ticket. Can you two read ??
Terrace is not a safe place for a 5 year old girl. She's attended every game this year and is entitled to watch this game in comfort. If we'd received an equal share of stand tickets this would not be an issue. Why is that so hard to understand ?

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2673 - 22/07/2014 16:43:58    1624240

Are wexford not happy to just be in the 1/4 final? They should know their place..

mike03 (Limerick) - Posts: 2000 - 22/07/2014 16:56:02    1624248

What do you mean by that mike03? By God I hope Wexford show everybody their place on Sunday. This ticket controversy that counties like Wexford don't matter in the eyes of the gaa

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 22/07/2014 17:10:11    1624267

please there is nothing what so ever wrong with terraces for kids
i have been going to the hill and terraces all over ireland since before i could walk
i was sat on the bar with me da holding me on it till i was tall enough to see the game standing
never once had any trouble just make sure you get a bar for the child and thers no problems at all
peopl are gone to afraid to let kids experiance life these days

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 22/07/2014 17:51:15    1624309

I agree with Joe-Bloggs

Dealer (Limerick) - Posts: 835 - 22/07/2014 17:57:48    1624316

Terraces are fine???

So in my situation where I bring my 73 old father to the games, a man who has been going all his life along with my 5 yr old and 3 yr old. Sure it's grand, just get them in early, there ye are dad there's a steel bar for ye to lean on, yeah I know your 73 and have worked had all your life and the arthritis is painful but while your there leaning for a few hours standing around while helping me mind my 2 kids. It's grand dad, I know you've spent a fortune making the effort bringing me to games since I was a young fella yourself but apparently we should just should be glad to be there dad, ye know how we should just know our place and be glad of a game at all.

Sure the terrace is grand I mean the cheek of us in the first place to be looking for the same as everyone else.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1338 - 22/07/2014 18:54:04    1624368

Exactly Hill Man. Our hurlers will never be supported to same extent as footballers but it is a solid support that will have 5/6,000 there on Sunday. Same as we get for games in Parnell. I've been at league games in Limerick where there weren't 1,000 there and yet they claim to be the greatest supporters ever! I know some of them and they would be as happy watching Munster or Man U as Limerick.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 22/07/2014 18:54:37    1624369

Some whinging going on here about not getting stand tickets.Obviously those premium tickets are gone,so either get a terrace ticket,or stay at home with yere 5 year old daughters and 73 year old fathers and watch it from the comfort of yere living room.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 22/07/2014 19:27:14    1624396

There's at least 5 guys stand on the hill in the same spot as me for all dubs games league championship double headers hail rain and snow and they are in their 70tys and 80tys and love going to the hill they wouldn't sit at a match they would tell you

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 22/07/2014 20:05:34    1624445

Ok so… it's to the Terraces we go then…. Just 20 stand tickets allotted to each club in the county! What tickets did clubs get in Limerick, Tipperary & Dublin then?

http://www.wexfordgaa.ie/2014/07/new-ticket-information/

Per Ignem (Wexford) - Posts: 385 - 22/07/2014 20:43:45    1624479

Is it a guaranteed sell out? I've a feeling there won't be 53,0000 there for all the bickering going on.

centrefield99 (Galway) - Posts: 102 - 22/07/2014 21:08:39    1624513

It is what it is unfortunately, a bit of a fiasco to say the least.

I don't mind standing in the terrace on Sunday, but all this talk about how the terrace is fine for everyone is a load of bull.

There are plenty that it doesn't suit, myself included as I won't bring my father or my kids this Sunday. Again I know lads with 3 or 4 kids who would travel normally but can't stand with their wives for a couple of hours trying to mind kids. There is a sizeable following amongst the older generation in Wexford who this won't suit. Again I have another neighbour with a kid in a wheelchair who can't exactly leave him on his own while they go to the terrace. People need to look past their own little self centred existence "sure it's grand for me to stand at a game, what's all the fuss?" And realise that it isn't grand for everyone. The killing thing is I know for a fact come Sunday there will any amount of empty seating in Thurles.

The club is meant to be the heartbeat of the gaa yet every club in Wexford will receive only 25 tickets fir the stand. I know of one towns land in my parish that would gill our clubs allocation. Surely clubs should come first in my opinion.

Either way, looking forward to Sunday, should be a great day

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1338 - 22/07/2014 21:14:04    1624518