Take Dublin Out of Leinster?

The point so obviously missed here is that in the last 10 years or so all of Meath, Kildare, Wexford and Laois should of knocked Dublin out of the Leinster Championship on numerous occasions yet they choked it. The couple of times we were beaten is wholly miss-representative of the state of play at the time. Those counties simply have to take collective responsibility for those failures. Poor Dublin teams won Leinster and what we have now is a situation where Dublin have an excellent side that would be expected to win Leinster. I can re-call plenty of occasions that Dublin should of lost and it certainly does not reflect Dublin's overall dominance. It reflects the overall poor state of the Leinster Championship over the last decade. This current Dublin side is superb, superb whether they win the All Ireland this year or not, but that has not been the case over the last 10 years. Quite frankly, it is not Dublin's fault nor responsibility that the rest have been collectively useless in the past 10 years...

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1658 - 24/07/2014 18:52:08    1625530

cuederocket

Muckross there have been a few proposing splitting Dublin in two.I could never see that happening.We are all proud Dubs.We love ALL of our city,and county.Instead of making us weaker and trying to divide us,wouldnt amalgamating other counties,to give them a bigger pick of players,and a better chance of winning,be more suitable?

Ah no cuede not in a thousand years.

I was trying to be funny about the splitting Dublin thing, must try harder.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 24/07/2014 19:00:46    1625536

Muckross there have been a few proposing splitting Dublin in two.I could never see that happening.We are all proud Dubs.We love ALL of our city,and county.Instead of making us weaker and trying to divide us,wouldnt amalgamating other counties,to give them a bigger pick of players,and a better chance of winning,be more suitable?

So every other county should change and Dublin should be left alone even though Dublin is the problem with it's population analomy?

To move on the debate the reasons the Dubs give that they shouldn't spilt is:

1- Dubs have only won 2 all irelands in 3 years. They aren't that dominant yet.
2- no one every proposed spilting Kerry or Kilkenny
3- Dubs are only in a phase of good players that will evantually end.
4- it would destroy the GAA in Dublin
5- Its up to other cunties to reach the dubs level
6- Dublin itself would have to vote in a spilt and a turkey doesn't vote for Christmas
7- Cork have more GAA players than Dublin so if anyone spilts Cork should
8- Dublin has more serious competition from other sports....sure down the country they've never heard of Rugby & soccer.
9- Dublin has 1.2 million but many of them don't have an interest in GAA
10- Its basically just Culchie begrudgery

All these reasons are very easy to argue against and to me the reasons for spilts & amalgamations are far more compelling than reasons to keep the present system. But there should be a spilt only if the present system where all but 4 teams can't compete with Dublin continues...Personally I believe it is going to get worst and Dublin will get better and the Mayos and Kerrys will fall away but I could be wrong..

realman2 (Kildare) - Posts: 464 - 24/07/2014 19:16:49    1625545

Look realman im giving up on coming up with ideas to help make it a level playing pitch.Well leave it as it is.See how it goes over the next 10 years lad.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 24/07/2014 19:33:16    1625553

OK Muckross im only in the door after a 12 hour shift driving a cab in this heat,im not thinking straight ha.No bother lad im just throwing it out there.Really i couldnt care less anymore,with the lack of interest,well leave it as it is.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 24/07/2014 19:35:26    1625555

cuederocket

If you think it's ok for counties to amalgamate then you should think it's perfectly OK for Dublin and Cork to split. My opinion is both need to happen. And you suggested Meath/Westmeath. If Meath keep going the way they are I'd actually be in favour of that. Luckily the names are not going to cause an issue but how would you name say liatroim/roscommon or carlow/kilkenny joining up? It would be a mess and I'd say the idea will break down here before it even got going.

Once again I haven't had time to read through the most recent posts but to answer one from a while back, I was suggesting after Meath beat Carlow this year, that footballers from Kilkenny should be allowed play with Carlow. Basically amalgamate for the football side of things. Carlow have a set up and Kilkenny have a lot of decent footballers that will give it a go if they've an actual structured team to play with.

So it's not like I just started making noises after Meath got hammered. It's not a reaction to that and I've been banging this drum for a long time. People having a go at me for that and saying the meath men of old wouldn't go on like that are just being childish and petty.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 24/07/2014 19:41:50    1625560

cuederocket

The logic you use to not split Dublin is the same logic counties will use not to amalgamate. It needs to happen though so the sooner this train of thought is gone the better. As for Dublin it's a shame it wasn't split at the beginning of the GAA. The lads didn't really have much foresight in that regard. Imagine a North v South divide. It would be like Man city v Man united. Prob won't see it in my lifetime though or for a very long time at least.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 24/07/2014 19:44:09    1625562

Realman,one more thing,you mention the likes of Kerry and Mayo falling away?These counties will always be there or thereabouts.Im more interested in the likes of Leitrim,Antrim,Westmeath,Carlow,Clare,Limerick,Fermanagh,Louth,Wicklow etc.But as long as ye dont want anything to change,these counties will drift further and further away.Please dont any posters from these counties take any offence as i am trying to help yere plight.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 24/07/2014 19:47:41    1625565

Jack Goff my logic is not the same.Splitting any county just doesnt make any sense.But amalgamating two counties,although it would take a bit of getting used to,you still have your whole county,just another one added to make it stronger.Club teams in all counties,have broken down the inter parish rivalries,and amalgamated for the greater good of the parishes involved.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 24/07/2014 19:59:38    1625572

I wouldn't trade our Leinster of last year in hurling for ten if they were won without Kilkenny , to win something it has to mean something , you saw on sunday the motivation of the Dubs it obviously still holds value to them .
When Kilkenny were beating all in front of them what did their rivals do , they got off their backsides and tried harder .
This thread should be dedicated to the weak minded , the feeble and the perpetual moaners . Who back their arguments up with foresight and crystal ball permutations .
Lack of memory or inability to use it are the cornerstone of the weak arguments put forward here , how many have we won through superiority ? Well we've won quite a few through teams lacking killer instinct and ability to see a game out .
Thank god there are in every county kids dreaming of ending Dublin's reign , its those kids that one day will do so , as kids they still have the stones to dream and are not looking for an easy fix .
Funny in the hurling you have teams badgering hounding to play against the big boys , in the football you've a thread like this .
Id imagine any decent inter-county player worth his salt would throw up at the idea , obviously this the brainchild of a fan , certainly not a sports person .
As for the " we will lose fans argument" well I seem to remember following my team through thick n thin , not so long ago we couldn't buy a Leinster title , if fans are that fickle counties and teams are better off without them .
Putting this thread up for the Hoggies at the end of the year as daftest thread of the year .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 24/07/2014 20:12:38    1625574

Superb post damo! !!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 24/07/2014 20:26:03    1625584

Good post damo

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 24/07/2014 20:54:12    1625595

, Jack goff I'd suggest you should look at Donegal and see what a county can do when it doesn't whinge about other counties perceived advantages but puts structures in place and goes for it.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 25/07/2014 09:56:59    1625680

Excellent post Damo.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 25/07/2014 10:42:07    1625697

http://www.dublingaa.ie/news/dubstv-dunk-tank-1-4-final-team-bastick-vs-team-cluxton

the real secret behind dubs success

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 25/07/2014 11:01:03    1625710

Here here Damo!!

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 25/07/2014 11:50:34    1625753

Damo, a man talking sense!!!!

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 25/07/2014 12:23:03    1625783

Damo

Well put. it has occured to me during the week that I hope there isnt a lot of young lads from Meath, Kildare etc. reading this thread.
Looking forward to the rebuttals though.
A

Aido69 (Dublin) - Posts: 381 - 25/07/2014 12:26:23    1625785

I say, well said old bean, bravo!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 25/07/2014 12:37:20    1625791

Nail on the head, Damo, eloquently put

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 383 - 25/07/2014 12:43:06    1625793