Take Dublin Out of Leinster?

Jesus Hill! That's inconvienent.

A.

Aido69 (Dublin) - Posts: 381 - 22/07/2014 20:27:39    1624468

Sundays hammering has obviously hurt Jack Goff badly, for a guy who says he doesn't care anymore, he obviously cares a lot. Was he so worried about the 7/8 teams who will never win leinster when Meath were winning leinster titles, I think that his pride has taken a mortal blow.

Dublin have put the work in over the last decade and are now reaping the benefits,and playing great football and have rescued football from the defensive road on which it was going down.

The problem with Leinster is other teams such as Meath, Kildare, Laois, Wexford, Odffaly have fallen behind, as one poster pointed out already Dublin will be the only leinster team in Div 1 next year.

Kildare are trying (albeit we had a disappointing performance against Meath this year )but we have put structures in place the past few years which are slowly bearing fruit, winning leinster minor and u21 last year and back in minor final again this year. Dublin are setting the bar and by doing so are forcing other teams to raise their standards.

I would be in favour of an end to the provincial system, so that fixtures can be streamlined and every team gets the same number of games, An A & B championship with 16 in each and promotion and relegation would give everyone something to aim for

NorthKildare (Kildare) - Posts: 197 - 22/07/2014 20:44:40    1624481

Fabio

I'm not the one talking about other counties population's and player pick the simple fact is people keep saying Dublin have1 million to pick from and that is rubbish as we don't even have the largest pick to choose from cork do so population means nothing

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 22/07/2014 20:48:52    1624490

I know not to mention the fact 5 of Sundays players are sons of former players and one a brother that makes it really inconvenient I'd imagine haha

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 22/07/2014 20:52:27    1624492

i would like to see the stats where it says cork have a bigger pick than dublin?..i remember hearing before that there was more clubs in cork but you would imagine a lot of them would be hurling...population does matter hill..to say it doesnt is ridiculous..why do the likes of longford westmeath leitrim and so on never compete if population didnt matter?..there is certainly huge interest in football in these counties...its not everything by the way but it does matter to a certain degree as counties with big counties will invariably do better than those with smaller picks of players

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 22/07/2014 21:00:31    1624499

Good post north Kildare.I have proposed the two tier championship on here before.Two championships run parallel with each other with both finals played on the same day.Promotion to the following years top tier for the second tier finalists also.No offence to the likes of Carlow,Leitrim,Waterford,Fermanagh etc but why should these teams be entitled to mix it with,in the main,vastly superior teams,just because its what the GAA have done since its inception.For every one memorable win they have,they suffer numerous hammerings,which does nobody any good.The populations are just not their.The mindset of people has to change,whereby they dont feel shame or disinterest,just because their playing in a second tier championship.Unfortunately i cant see anything changing anytime soon.As a result well have to endure many more totally lopsided games every year.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 22/07/2014 21:01:09    1624500

Hill your point about player sons proves my point further those lads fathers stayed in Dublin while other former counties players moved away from there home county so now there sons are playing for other counties. For example with my own county You would have Dermot Early playing with Kildare, O'Connor playing with Donegal and Regan playing with Galway hurlers all 3 had good Roscommon footballing fathers. Plus you have the benefit of other counties sons playing with the Dubs for example Coggins a ex Dublin captain whose both parents came from Roscommon and Brain Carty's son who was goalie for Dublin all Ireland under 21 winning team. Every county has issues for example Roscommon has the oldest population in Ireland which means most Dublin clubs would have more minors in there area then would be in the whole of Roscommon

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 22/07/2014 21:55:24    1624559

Crude what an arrogant approach a second tier championship would kill football in smaller counties and 2 of the worst beatings have been handed to 2 of the biggest counties Cork and Meath.

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 22/07/2014 21:58:35    1624564

Haven't read through the last few pages but I will add this for one or two of the last ones. I said before the final that even if Meath were to win the Leinster championship is still a joke. Even if Meath were as good as the dubs it would still be a joke.

Brendan Hackett hacket wrote in the paper that they've won 9 out of 10 and he thinks they will win 9 out of the next 10. These 16 point beatings are annual now and the attendances will suffer. The total Leinster attendance is already 80-90% Dublin fans and will soon be 90% plus. As you can see most people are already staying away and the die hards like me will soon follow. The sooner Leinster Council suffer the better.

Meath were literally the last county to care and that's changing now. Kildare supporters this year on their forum were saying how little they can get up for it this year and they're not looking forward to it. Meath will be like that next year and it's officially the Dublin Region Exhibition Championship.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 22/07/2014 22:00:41    1624570

Ros1,at least im on here trying to propose different solutions to the current structure of the championship.With people like you id say nothing would ever change.Ive already proposed the amalgamation of counties,so as to everybody a fair chance at winning an All Ireland.I think its reasonable to propose a two tier championship.Only a couple of weeks ago didnt a top Leitrim county board official say that theyd be better off playing in the Junior championship?Did that not set off any alarm bells with you?I dont see the sense in having Carlow,Leitrim etc competing for the same prize as Dublin,Kerry etc.They are light years apart in so many ways.They just dont have the populations,the clubs or the finances.There are clubs in Dublin that would beat these counties now.Do you really think that one big win every ten years or so,should gloss over the reality staring us in the face.A second championship of 16 competitive teams,with the final to be played on the same day as the A final,and also with the bonus of promotion to the following years A Championship for both finalists.At least im coming up with ideas Ros1 in the interest of equity and fairness.To see Leitrim getting hammered by 20+ points in the qualifiers every year is sad,but predictable.Also the provinces are lopsided.Weve 12 counties compared to yere 5(6 with the window dressing that NewYork is).What other sport in the World do teams have to play unequal amounts of games to try and win that tournament?All is not well ros boy,so lets have your tuppence worth and less of the arrogant jibes.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 23/07/2014 09:38:55    1624603

I left out London also.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 23/07/2014 10:03:27    1624625

Dublin are grand where they are......GAA has bills to pay and they are an awesome force to watch and eventually Meath, Kildare etc will improve with demographic changes and other variables.

However I think Fermanagh, Cavan, and Offaly should join Connacht as the GAA would only improve in these counties with such a move and it will spice up the west which is boring at the moment and the cross border idea is good for out country

NY and London could get a run in Munster just for a change

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 23/07/2014 10:14:56    1624634

I did say 3 years ago that domination was coming but no one wanted to listen to me.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 23/07/2014 10:49:50    1624649

This thread is just another one about the need to re-structure the championship. There have been lots of different posts with lots of different formats/opinions on how it should be done. Number of points being made by different people on here are quite valid.

Basically, standard of football outside of a handful of counties is to put it mildly, brutal. It's not just a Leinster thing, same in Mun/Con. I'd include Meath in this bracket as for the last number of years, the standard of underage and club football in the county really is that bad. All you have to do is look at Meaths underage IC record for the last 20years and it doesn't take Einstein to realise that if your not at least competitive at underage on a regular basis, your not going to be competitive at senior level on a regular basis. Likes of Laois/Westmeath won their Leinsters in the last decade off the back of good underage teams. Those players have moved on or are coming to the end of their careers and there is no follow on underage success to feed new players into the system, so these counties are less competitive.

As a Wexford poster pointed out there are 3-4 tiers in Leinster alone, same in other provinces, not as obvious in Ulster but the case could still be made.

As Joe Sheridan pointed out, Meath are approx. 10yrs behind Dublin in development. I'll not comment on other counties within Leinster, but from what I've seen the last few years, that could probably be said for most others as well. Kildare are probably best placed to challenge Dublin this decade, as they appear to have good underage teams coming through. It's hardly the Dubs fault everyone else are shite!

Last Sunday's hammering was coming, Meath people won't like to admit it, but it was.

moylagh (Meath) - Posts: 484 - 23/07/2014 10:54:49    1624652

moylagh - County: Meath.

Refreshingly honest post. Fair play.

Also, I have been saying for quite a while now that Under-Age success/competitiveness is a backbone for future Senior success/competitiveness.
In my view both are very much linked, although some posters strongly disagree for some reason.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 23/07/2014 11:12:20    1624669

If Dublin and Kerry were in Ulster they would only have a fraction of their success...........Time for an OPEN DRAW....every single county into the fish bowl......qualifier series could remain.....who would be the last 8 standing??

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 23/07/2014 11:28:52    1624683

And the difference with Kerry and Dublin also,is we have 11 competitors in Leinster,many being traditionally strong football counties,while Kerry have 5 competitors in Munster,with three of them combined(Waterford,Clare and Limerick)having won the sum total of 4 Munster championships in 130 years!!

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 23/07/2014 11:53:10    1624702

just make them play some games outside dublin, the last time they did, they struggled to a 2 point win over longford in 2006,

kerryluck (Kerry) - Posts: 2517 - 23/07/2014 11:56:02    1624707

maroondiesel

If Dublin and Kerry were in Ulster they would only have a fraction of their success...........Time for an OPEN DRAW....every single county into the fish bowl......qualifier series could remain.....who would be the last 8 standing??

The cream will always rise to the top no matter where it is placed.
Open draw would make no difference.

Where would Mayo be if they were playing in Ulster - no multiple provincial titles that is for sure.
Connaught is so one sided at the moment also you know...

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 23/07/2014 11:57:36    1624708

Just to re-iterate the point about competitiveness at senior being linked to underage. Last Meath team to be truly competitive at AI level was built on the back of regular underage success in the late 80's and early 90's, likes of Fay, McManus, GG, Giles etc came off those teams. Since then, bugger all to show at underage. This year was Meath's first appearance in a Leinster U21 final in a long while.

Number of players from last Sunday were off that team and it won't have done their confidence any good. If anything, it's a stark demonstration of the work that needs to be done.

I don't expect Meath to be winning Minor/U21 every year but with the player population I'd expect them to be competitive most years. The sad fact is, we haven't been competitive at these grades on a regular basis and I don't see that changing in the near future. It's not just a CB issue, but one that clubs are going to have to address.

On a general note, the championship outside of Ulster has rarely been competitive as long as I remember (late 70's). You have Cork/Kerry in Munster, Mayo/Galway, occasionally Roscommon, Leitrim/Sligo once in a blue moon in Con,, Dublin + A.N.Other in Leinster.

In Leinster since 1990, I think there have only been about 5-6 finals that Dublin were not involved in. Looking into the future, I can't see any Leinster final not involving Dublin unless they have an off day and someone else (most likely Meath or Kilare) have a very good day.

Aside from Dublin's dominance, the demise of Offaly (hurling and football) has had sod all comment and is one of the most disappointing developments in recent years.

If people want a Leinster championship worthy of the name, then you need at least 4 counties to be up there. At the moment you have Dublin and ... well just Dublin. Time for everyone to shut up and knuckle down to getting general standards up to a respectable level. It ain't going to happen overnight but it didn't happen overnight for Dublin either!

moylagh (Meath) - Posts: 484 - 23/07/2014 12:01:54    1624711