Take Dublin Out of Leinster?

Wayno

Agree 100%,just remember though it is a minority that are moaning,most Meath fans know otherwise..

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 21/07/2014 18:52:47    1623331

Jack_Goff

TheFlaker

This is getting really annoying lads, they aren't going to dominate forever, just stop this rubbish. Thread after thread. A lot of people were tipping Meath pre match, and now we are on to this crap? Get a grip.

So what you're saying is Meath/Kildare could possibly win 1 title in the next 10 years. Well I'm really looking forward to that now you mention it!!! NOT.

What about the other 8 counties in Leinter that will never beat Dublin? Surely they deserve a championship that is worth playing for...

The reality is we need a 2 tier system. That will prob take 10-20 years to come in because GAA people are like cavemen when it comes to innovation... very slow. A quick fix until then is my proposal above.

I take it we need to take Mayo out of Connaught and Kilkenny out of Leinster?

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7902 - 21/07/2014 18:53:25    1623332

Why arent China or India winning the World Cup in soccer

Why aren't Honduras or Latvia or Ireland if its nothing to do with population?

realman2 (Kildare) - Posts: 464 - 21/07/2014 18:54:04    1623333

Jackgoff

I would rather Meath NOT win a leinster(with Dublin in it) than winning leinsters without Dublin in it.. Surely if we win Leinster one day,it owuld mean more with Dublin in it?!

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 21/07/2014 18:54:37    1623335

ged
County: Louth

I understand where you're coming from but we won Tommy Murphy and Div2 but it meant little apart from a semblance of progression. If the saga thing had not happened in 2010 it would have been heaven. If Dublin were removed from the equation would it not belittle the whole thing knowing that all the deck is not present.

ged did you beat dublin in 2010? NO. SO how would Dublin not being in Leinster change that? Louth will never in your lifetime beat dublin. Never. SO take them out of Leisnter and all of a sudden every player in your squad will believe it's possible for louth to win leinster and the fans too.

How do you think all counties like yourselves will react to dublin destroying meath? It will make them feel even more hopeless and their standard will drop even further for next year.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 21/07/2014 18:55:00    1623336

The reason Dublin where so convincing yesterday was a combination of us being excellent, And Meath being an absolute disgrace with no heart or guts for the fight like your teams of the past. Maybe if people stopped moaning about Dublin and tried to do something about closing the gap, disasterous results like yesterday wouldnt be happening. At least Wexford and Laois had a bit of guts about them.

Hang on a minute now Wayno, I'm in agreement with the crap about take Dublin out of Leinster but don't tar us all with the one brush, our players had a bad day yesterday but that didn't warrant labelling them an absolute disgrace or having no heart or guts, it's not that long ago either that the "heart and guts" you describe was referred to by many Dubs and others as dirty tactics!!!! We are trying to close the gap but we don't have oceans of coaches or piles of cash or a major international corporation for a sponsor, we don't have a merchandise officer or a fleet of Toyota's under our arses but all that to one side we are trying but are not able to develop at the pace of Dublin for some very real and specific reasons, does that mean we are a disgrace or have no heart or guts??? No it doesn't and the suggestion you make otherwise shows an immaturity I thought had left your posts, and if you think Wexford or Laois had any more guts than Meath then you have a different understanding of heart and guts that I have. Yesterday was a bad day for Meath but I for one will be top of the que for tickets to see them play Armagh and cheer them on, one bad day doesn't mean a team is finished overnight and it certainly doesn't mean their gutless, heartless or a disgrace.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 21/07/2014 19:00:45    1623342

Jack Goff - "Louth will never no matter what you do beat Dublin" - We were close before and can compete again. There's no guarantee that Meath will be competitive or at a high standard in the future either.

ged (Louth) - Posts: 296 - 21/07/2014 19:01:13    1623343

My comments on things aren't published but this rubbish is. Jack you either having a joke or totally over reacting.
Please close this thread as its insulting to meath players of which I am one at club level and the supporters as a whole.
Its not dublin we should worry about its ourselves. Lack of underage structures , lack of top class management lack of anything to be done by cb over decades and it has not changed. Its not dublins fault that next year marks the 20 anniversery of the last leinster meath match in navan. No all of that is totally our fault well those at top anyway.
Let's sort out our own house first.

foreverroyal (Meath) - Posts: 349 - 21/07/2014 19:07:02    1623349

im not from dublin jack im from a smaller county who has suffered countless beatings over the years..i have no sympathy for meath who have far greater resources than my own county..there was numerous meath fans on here before sunday tipping meath to win and bigging up their tradition and how they 'dont fear' dublin and so on. Donegal won the all ireland jack?..they beat the best the competition had to offer and they may do so again...and have dominated in recent years what has been seen as the most competitive provincial championship over the last 20 years or so..they may also win the all ireland again..your post is a complete overreaction to a bad defeat..focus on why the team was not prepared correctly and why they found themselves so outclassed

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 21/07/2014 19:09:17    1623352

waynoI
Take Dublin out of Leinster ?

Are ye for real ?

Look, Dublin are miles ahead, But teams set benchmarks. Why should Dublin be punished of winning their provincial crown because they are too good ? Qualifiers are for losers.

You get out of sport (and life) what you put into it.

Who said Dublin are being punished? Leinster is not any great reward and when you are winning your 19th in 20 years you might agree with me. Although I've read from you on here before you don't care about it as long as you win Sam. Dublin in Munster would mean you have 2 teams capable of giving you a game and Ulster 3. It would be more exciting for Dublin fans and you'd get to play your real rivals before the AI series. Win win for Dublin and the Leinster Minnows.

Donegal and Tyrone aren't huge counties in terms of population and income compared to the Dubs, But they put the effort and time into their sides and made a break-through on the Ulster and national scene (Tyrone 03-08 and Donegal in the past few years too)

It's up to Meath, Kildare etc to get the finger out.

This Dublin dominance didn't just happen, There where days not so long ago when Laois and Westmeath where beating us in Croker. It is US who had to get our house in order, Change things around. Develop the young talent through development squads etc, And now all that hard work is coming off in Leinster, You want us to be dropped out ? No i'm sorry. It doesnt work like that.

No team stays at the top forever. Dublin wont be at the top in Leinster forever, It's up to you guys lacking behind to get on a par with us. If you can't do that, Well then thats not our problem. It's yours.

Wayno were talking about Leinster here and not the AI. Meath/Kildare beating Dublin once every 10 years is not worth waiting for and I wouldn't expect either panel to give up their lives for that. Especially when the other 8 counties will be getting terrible hidings. ANd cry be a bloody river please. I love how Dubs say you had down periods too. Jesus christ for my whole life you were AI contenders and even when not winning them you were winning leinsters or a least competing in finals. 2002 you won leinster and almost made the AI final.

2005/2006/2007/2008/2009/2010 I've seen dubs come out and say you were crap for most of those years. Well here's some news for you. You won Leinster in all except one of those years and made the AI semi's in a lot of them too. That's unbeleivable and every other county except kerry would give their right arms for a run like that.

But in Dublin it's considered crap and it is compared to what you will produce from now on, now that you've gotten your house in proper order. So those crap leinster titles will continue with serious ease and the AI semi's will continue if not turn into AI wins every second year. BORING.

I am SICK to the back teeth of this population point being brought up again and again, Utter tosh. If Population is such a big thing in sport, Why arent China or India winning the World Cup in soccer or even competing in the tournament ? Why haven't Dublin been dominating in football and Hurling on a national level the past 130 years? Explain that one to me cause i am at a loss ? If Population was that big a deal, How come Kildare and Meath, Both of whom have a bigger population than Mayo, Can get crushed by Dublin, Yet Mayo with a lower population can make it to two All Ireland finals in a row ?

If China had the structures compared to the rest of the world the way dublin does to the rest of the counties then yes they would dominate everything. And your points to back up the minnows competing is not realistic. Dublin have finally got their house in order and won't let up. Their new benchmark will be beaten but not by the leinster minnows. It will be raised higher by dublin themselves or maybe kerry before dublin again. EIther way the Leisnter championship will remain dead.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 21/07/2014 19:09:38    1623353

Wayno
The reason Dublin where so convincing yesterday was a combination of us being excellent, And Meath being an absolute disgrace with no heart or guts for the fight like your teams of the past. Maybe if people stopped moaning about Dublin and tried to do something about closing the gap, disasterous results like yesterday wouldnt be happening. At least Wexford and Laois had a bit of guts about them.

Don't forget the ref being poor and conveniently forgetting to play the advantage rule he used for dublin on numerous occasions previous. If that goal and dublins lucky goal that rebounded off the post didn't go in we could of been neck and nec at half time. However the Dublin region would have just steamrolled us in the second half. You would have still won by 10 points plus easy. I will repeat it for you. The Leinster championship is a non event and if the likes of you were born in carlow/longford you wouldn't even attend their matches like most in their county. These people see sense and I'm going to go join them. A lot of meath die hards agreed with me yesterday and they won't be going either. Waste of time and money.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 21/07/2014 19:09:55    1623354

My comments on things aren't published but this rubbish is. Jack you either having a joke or totally over reacting.
Please close this thread as its insulting to meath players of which I am one at club level and the supporters as a whole.
Its not dublin we should worry about its ourselves. Lack of underage structures , lack of top class management lack of anything to be done by cb over decades and it has not changed. Its not dublins fault that next year marks the 20 anniversery of the last leinster meath match in navan. No all of that is totally our fault well those at top anyway.
Let's sort out our own house first.
21/07/2014 19:09:17

Largely in agreement here, up until last year we had a very poor county board set up with an equally poor standard of club delegate all of whom stood by and watched the carnage develop, I do believe we now have a capable and forward thinking county board but it's going to take them time to sort out the mess that's been left, the previous incumbents put up no fight to Croke Park for a share of the financial pie Dublin now gorge on and that is one of the reasons we are lagging behind

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 21/07/2014 19:15:14    1623361

realman2

These trends always amuse me.

Ye have the dubs who dont want any change because they are delighted they are winning everything and don't want it threatened and then you have the culchies on the other side who don't want anything changed either because that would be an admission of inferiority to the hated dubs.

Every poster on here is looking at the past and would suggest some of you need to look to the future and the fact that the Dubs are dominant at all levels, not just senior....this isn't a "phase" this is the new normal.

I knew I'd get nothing from abuse for posting this year. Meath/Kildare and Dublin supporters with too much pride. Can't see what's good for the GAA.

When Dublin win the next 3 Leinsters and I repost a similar thread I expect a few more agrees. When they win the next 6 I expect a few more. I hope we don't make the final next year and they beat someone like wexford by 20 points and without hardly breaking a sweat.

And yes this is not respectful to the meath men giving it everything. But it's reality. ANd it's not just about meath/Kildare being out of their depths. It's the bigger picture. What chance have Longford/Carlow/Westmeath/Laois/Louth/Wicklow/Ofally etc. NONE. There is no point them entering the championship and wasting resources that could go to their clubs in their counties.

I'd have been against a two tier provincial system because you'd have laois/dublin/kildare/meath in the A championship and that's too few teams. But now you have all of us in the B championship as nobody can compete with dublin. SO my easy solution is to move Dublin and make leinster a b championship.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 21/07/2014 19:17:45    1623363

Jack Goff - "How do you think all counties like yourselves will react to dublin destroying meath? It will make them feel even more hopeless and their standard will drop even further for next year." What arrogant balderdash. It reminded me of days like Easter Sunday 2012 and made me smile. Div 3 we sent you to and odds are you will return to it and us back to Div2 next year. Our day will come too in Leinster. My dad has been chasing it since 57 and we will get there. It's what it's all about, it's what's championship is about. On day we might be the ones to beat and you the fodder.

ged (Louth) - Posts: 296 - 21/07/2014 19:19:30    1623365

fabio8
County: USA

im not from dublin jack im from a smaller county who has suffered countless beatings over the years..i have no sympathy for meath who have far greater resources than my own county..there was numerous meath fans on here before sunday tipping meath to win and bigging up their tradition and how they 'dont fear' dublin and so on. Donegal won the all ireland jack?..they beat the best the competition had to offer and they may do so again...and have dominated in recent years what has been seen as the most competitive provincial championship over the last 20 years or so..they may also win the all ireland again..your post is a complete overreaction to a bad defeat..focus on why the team was not prepared correctly and why they found themselves so outclassed

You are proving my point. You just said your from a county that can't compete with meath well here's news for you we can't compete with dublin so you and the other minnows have no chance of EVER doing it.

ANd to list off 3 or 4 teams that have won the AI besides Dublin proves nothing. It just proves most counties are wasting their time and were just here to make the numbers up for 3 or 4 teams. Now the next problem that will likely arise.

Dublin will dominate the AI like they do in Leinster. Maybe the 2 or 3 "big" boys from outside leinster will be a little more sympathetic then.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 21/07/2014 19:21:22    1623366

on a side point..i want an end to the provincial championships..i want an all ireland open draw system

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 21/07/2014 19:23:37    1623367

TheFlaker

I take it we need to take Mayo out of Connaught and Kilkenny out of Leinster?

If Mayo win the next 6 titles then what's the point of nothing being done with connaught? you've already won the last 4 so who knows. But one thing is for sure if you have dublin's vast resources you'd win the next 30 connaughts with your eyes closes. You can't deny that.

Kilkenny out of Leinster? There was a point where something drastic had to be done with Leisnter hurling and it was to the GAA's credit. They took teams like meath out of it and replaced us with Galway (from connaught) and antrim who remained in ulster too.

On top of this dublin hurling received huge funds a county like meath could never receive or raise. SO they caught up to the standard. Now you have a hurling championship with 4 competitive teams. Leisnter football can not be made competitive so easily and the only easy way to do it is o move dublin to another province.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 21/07/2014 19:26:12    1623371

I'm sorry. I'll be a good submissive culchie and just accept that my county is just another lamb to the Dublin farmer

The reason your county is just another lamb to the Dublin slaughter, Is all down to your own county board and the structures they have in place.

The reason you are so bad, Is cause of yourselves. Bottom line.

Not Dublin.

We showed your weaknesses up. Like any good side will.

Maybe if your county board took heed to this hammering and got off their arses and put in the effort like Mayo have in Connaught, Or Tipp in football (who only lost by a point against Cork this year), They could make sure this doesnt happen again.

Listen, You say you are talking about Leinster, fine.

The point i'm making is that outside of Leinster, there are counties with smaller populations than Meath and Kildare, Like Mayo, Who have been able to put it up to the Dubs on the biggest stage. They have beaten us in all ireland semi finals, And we have beaten them in the final.

If Mayo, A county with less population can put it up to the mighty Dubs, Then there is no excuse why Meath cant do it, And why Kildare cant do it.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 21/07/2014 19:27:52    1623372

What a thread! I thought it was while we were bored during the winter that we came out with all the silly stuff.

There will be one Leinster team in Division 1 next year and that's Dublin. Whose fault is that?

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 21/07/2014 19:28:44    1623373

Catch a grip Jack. We are one of the highest populated counties in the country, with Gaelic football the only show in town. Its not Dublins fault that we have buried our head in the sand for the past 20 years with regards underage coaching.

Hopefully this will finally be the wake up call the Co Board need, however, we have got a lot of them over the past 13 years (the first being the Galway match way back in Sept 01') Im not that hopeful we will heed the warning call this time round either.

One bad day at the office and your all out pointing the finger while ignoring the obvious failings.

NAIL_BAR (Meath) - Posts: 457 - 21/07/2014 19:35:26    1623380