Take Dublin Out of Leinster?

This is getting really annoying lads, they aren't going to dominate forever, just stop this rubbish. Thread after thread. A lot of people were tipping Meath pre match, and now we are on to this crap? Get a grip.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7902 - 21/07/2014 18:16:26    1623282

Dublin have one A.I. in a row. People are getting carried away with this as a "problem" It is the opposite actually. Croke Park is filled for more occasions. Even if they won 5 in a row in Sept. it is just reward for the hard work and commitment of the whole Dublin set up. Kilkenny seem to win more Leinster titles in their code, do we send them someplace along with the Dubs? Thank you to Dublin for raising the standards.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 21/07/2014 18:21:53    1623287

lilywhite it's a waste of money investing in the rest of leinster. The money isn't infinite and it's not fair on other counties just to bring the likes of kildare/meath to dublins level.

We need a tiered system and if you want to keep the provinces for a while longer the only way to do that is move dublin to another province. leinsters loss will be munster/ulsters gain.

Imagine Muunster with Cork/Kerry/Dublin or Ulster with awhat they have and Dublin thrown in. They'd be great championships and at least all us minnows in Leinster would have a competitive championship despite the standard not being super high.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 21/07/2014 18:24:08    1623289

Ah lads,this thread is a farce..

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 21/07/2014 18:26:01    1623291

21/07/2014 18:16:26
TheFlaker

This is getting really annoying lads, they aren't going to dominate forever, just stop this rubbish. Thread after thread. A lot of people were tipping Meath pre match, and now we are on to this crap? Get a grip.

Agree 100%

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 21/07/2014 18:26:05    1623292

well said flaker..where are all these confident meath fans now?..take your beating like the various smaller counties in leinster have

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 21/07/2014 18:26:32    1623293

It's not that long ago that we were told Kilkenny were unbeatable. We were told Dublin would dominate hurling as well due to all the underage success. Nothing short of embarrassing the attitude on here. They won't dominate for the next 10-15 years, get a grip. For all their undoubted brilliance, they have an average full back IMO and their goalkeeper is the most important player on the team. They are top dogs at the moment and deservedly so but give it a rest. They must be having some laugh reading this nonsense.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7902 - 21/07/2014 18:27:37    1623296

I wonder do people think St Mirren and Hearts and Dundee united need to "get their act together" to win the league in scotland over Celtic. Perhaps western Samoa and fiji just need to "get their act together" to beat new zealand at rugby. Hell maybe Ukraine would win the war vs the Russians if they could just manage to "get their act together".

realman2 (Kildare) - Posts: 464 - 21/07/2014 18:28:12    1623300

Jack_Goff

MuckrossHead

I can't understand this defeatist attitude. Both Meath & Kildare have a population at least the equal of Donegal & yet people here feel that there is no prospect at all of themm ever giving Dublin a game? Give me a break. When Leinster counties break every blood vessel in the bid to reach the standard Dublin have set and are still being walloped then come back & talk to me. What I have seen from ye this summer has been weak, defeatist & embarassing. Get your house in order & man up a bit!!

Don't be so insulting to the meath players please.

This is not down to the players, they are being sent out ill prepared for the task.

In 2010 Cork beat Donegal by 1-27 to 2-10, a beating similar to what Meath got yesterday. Two years later Donegal were AI champions with the same players. Figure it out man.

If your argument held true Kilkenny would ever win a hurling championship not to mention Clare.

You want to see what is wrong in Meath take a look at your attitude, it's all there.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 21/07/2014 18:28:52    1623301

Christ. What a whinge!

If you don't wanna watch then don't! That's grand but seriously cop on. The opening post is ating like he is being fored to follow his county. If you're not willing to follow them just because they're not winning regularily then fine but no need for the hysterics. Call it like it is. Don't try and dress it up as anything other than that.

We've a good team at the moment. That's it really. Hopefully we'll win a few more titles over the next few years and keep building so we an be competitive in the future.

DCB has thrown as much money/coaches at Hurling in the last decade and a half and we've won one Leinster title. You didn't see these hystrionics from hurling people from other counties last year. No they knuckled down and the Cats beat us out the gate this year. A lesson there I think.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13710 - 21/07/2014 18:28:53    1623302

Jack_Goff

OK so we form a province called the Greater Leinster Championship or the Leinster minus The Dublin Region Championship.

"the Leinster minus The Dublin Region Championship" is the funniest thing I have ever seen on this site!

white.n.blue (Monaghan) - Posts: 249 - 21/07/2014 18:30:38    1623303

TheFlaker

This is getting really annoying lads, they aren't going to dominate forever, just stop this rubbish. Thread after thread.

It's embarassing for the lad really.

We're talking about a team that had to use all its experience, skill and bottle to grind out two All-Ireland final victories by a single point in the last 3 years.

We whallop the Royals and suddenly it's over reaction central from some Meathmen.

It can't be that Dublin are just muh better than Meath at the moment! It must be that Dublin are some unstoppable force of nature. Some people need to get a grip.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13710 - 21/07/2014 18:33:43    1623305

fabio8
County: USA

if this was from a county like westmeath or longford or carlow than fair enough but to have this attitude from somebody like meath or kildare is a complete overreaction considering the population these counties have..focus on ensuring this hammering does not happen again ..look at donegal

Oh yeah with a population 1/6th of Dublin meath and Kildare should be competing every year. Look at Donegal me arse. You're in a privince where the top teams like Armagh/Tyrone/Monaghan have at most an equal footing to you.

And tell em why have an 11 team province if as you say only 2 teams (meath/kildare) should be able to compete with Dublin. That's a joke and if so the Leisnter championship needs to be split into an A and B championship.

ged
County: Louth

1 hammering from Dublin and the meath man wants to get rid of the problem, Dublin because they're too good. If The game was close it would have been another great battle and long live the rivallary. The problem is with everyone else in Leinster and now including Meath. The rest need to buck up. It's not good enough that Dublin are steamrolling it every year. I'm not saying that it is great that Meath were hammered but this result may shake Leinster council in to some action like moving Dublin around the province as suggested already.

At this stage Dublin down the country will only turn 15/20 point defeats into 5 or 10 point defeats. It's already gone to far even if you take away their home advantage.

And as a Meath man I openly called for change long before this final. Even if meath had won what's the point of it when only meath/kildare have a slight chance of winning.

Louth will never no matter what you do beat Dublin. SO why would you support the current system? Are you happy to see louth lose for the rest of your life? If Dublin went to Munster/Ulster I guarantee counties like yours will win a few provincial titles and give you the best days of your life. You seen how close Louth came the one time Meath knocked Dublin out. Thy are a cancer to the GAA in Leisnter outside of the Dublin region.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 21/07/2014 18:34:03    1623306

TheFlaker

So what you're saying is Meath/Kildare could possibly win 1 title in the next 10 years. Well I'm really looking forward to that now you mention it!!! NOT.

What about the other 8 counties in Leinter that will never beat Dublin? Surely they deserve a championship that is worth playing for...

The reality is we need a 2 tier system. That will prob take 10-20 years to come in because GAA people are like cavemen when it comes to innovation... very slow. A quick fix until then is my proposal above.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 21/07/2014 18:37:20    1623309

Take Dublin out of Leinster ?

Are ye for real ?

Look, Dublin are miles ahead, But teams set benchmarks. Why should Dublin be punished of winning their provincial crown because they are too good ? Qualifiers are for losers.

You get out of sport (and life) what you put into it.

Donegal and Tyrone aren't huge counties in terms of population and income compared to the Dubs, But they put the effort and time into their sides and made a break-through on the Ulster and national scene (Tyrone 03-08 and Donegal in the past few years too)

It's up to Meath, Kildare etc to get the finger out.

This Dublin dominance didn't just happen, There where days not so long ago when Laois and Westmeath where beating us in Croker. It is US who had to get our house in order, Change things around. Develop the young talent through development squads etc, And now all that hard work is coming off in Leinster, You want us to be dropped out ? No i'm sorry. It doesnt work like that.

No team stays at the top forever. Dublin wont be at the top in Leinster forever, It's up to you guys lacking behind to get on a par with us. If you can't do that, Well then thats not our problem. It's yours.

I am SICK to the back teeth of this population point being brought up again and again, Utter tosh. If Population is such a big thing in sport, Why arent China or India winning the World Cup in soccer or even competing in the tournament ? Why haven't Dublin been dominating in football and Hurling on a national level the past 130 years? Explain that one to me cause i am at a loss ? If Population was that big a deal, How come Kildare and Meath, Both of whom have a bigger population than Mayo, Can get crushed by Dublin, Yet Mayo with a lower population can make it to two All Ireland finals in a row ?

The reason Dublin where so convincing yesterday was a combination of us being excellent, And Meath being an absolute disgrace with no heart or guts for the fight like your teams of the past. Maybe if people stopped moaning about Dublin and tried to do something about closing the gap, disasterous results like yesterday wouldnt be happening. At least Wexford and Laois had a bit of guts about them.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 21/07/2014 18:38:49    1623312

These trends always amuse me.

Ye have the dubs who dont want any change because they are delighted they are winning everything and don't want it threatened and then you have the culchies on the other side who don't want anything changed either because that would be an admission of inferiority to the hated dubs.

Every poster on here is looking at the past and would suggest some of you need to look to the future and the fact that the Dubs are dominant at all levels, not just senior....this isn't a "phase" this is the new normal.

realman2 (Kildare) - Posts: 464 - 21/07/2014 18:42:27    1623315

I understand where you're coming from but we won Tommy Murphy and Div2 but it meant little apart from a semblance of progression. If the saga thing had not happened in 2010 it would have been heaven. If Dublin were removed from the equation would it not belittle the whole thing knowing that all the deck is not present.

ged (Louth) - Posts: 296 - 21/07/2014 18:46:58    1623322

Are people really that incapable of staying on topic?

this is about the Leinster Championship not the AI series. I never once said Dublin were dominating the AI although it's possible and similar discussions can be had about that if it happens.

Leinster was once the greatest championship equal to the munster hurling championship. It should be renamed the annual dublin exhibition.

Nobody has convinced me otherwise and the usual "stop crying your a meathman" brigade is not convincing me either.

I've pointed out the GAA brought Galway into leinster to shaken it up and pumped huge money into dublin hurling. That is why Leinster hurling is not dominated by kilkenny anymore.

What's wrong with something similar for the now dead football championship? Bring Kerry and Cork in to shaken it up? Fair enough but then you'd have too many in Leinster and too few in Munster. The easiest option is to move Dublin out and you have now given 10 counties something to instantly play for. Dublin in another privince ala Galway in Leinster would also increase the popularity of it big time.

Wake up and smell the coffee people!!

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 21/07/2014 18:48:09    1623326

The REAL reason why we were hammered yesterday is because the management made major mistakes on the day and the players threw in the towel.These aspects were out of Dublins control.Dublin would have won anyway,but its Meaths fault that Dublin won so easily..

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 21/07/2014 18:50:13    1623327

fabio8
County: USA

well said flaker..where are all these confident meath fans now?..take your beating like the various smaller counties in leinster have

I'm sorry. I'll be a good submissive culchie and just accept that my county is just another lamb to the Dublin farmer. I was not one of these confident Meath supporters you talk of and I'm on record on hoganstand as calling for change before this final. Lets say meath magically reach dublin's level it's still going to be a crap championship with 1 good fixture a year. The easy solution is move dublin to a province deserving of a team like them. Leinster is not an the 10 minnows need to see this sooner rather than later.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 21/07/2014 18:51:51    1623329