Biting incident

Judging by the posts on here, saying that ogara was entitled to bite, I feel sorry for dubs. I'm glad I don't live in Ireland anymore. You are about fifty years behind the times at least. Dubs maybe seventy or eighty.

mightymeath1 (None) - Posts: 50 - 21/07/2014 20:55:43    1623477

Dermot Early was lucky to get away with dangerous play that resulted in Brian Menton going off with blood coming from his eyes in 2012.

The Sunday Game coverage was pathetic, Des Cahill wouldn't even mention O'Gara by name before showing the highlights, as if the whole thing was beneath him.
The sum total of the contributions of the other lads was if there's a finger near you, work away and have a bite of it.
They need the likes of McStay to have the guts to analyse these incidents properly, the recently retired boys weren't up to it at all. The incident itself needed to be analysed in isolation but instead was framed in the context of how soft Meath were throughout the game and how they shouldn't be even mentioning it due to there own poor performance.

Spreading misinformation about the Quarter-Final line-up at the end of the analysis was the cherry on top.

GloryHunter (Meath) - Posts: 136 - 21/07/2014 20:59:37    1623484

From the slow motion video
O'Gara instigated the melee with a ridiculous tackle on Reilly.
Meath lads ploughed in to give O'Gara a few thumps.
Burke went way over the top dragging O'Gara away, thumping while dragging
While being dragged by Burke, O'Gara put his arm around Burke's feet to trip him
Burke's hand only went to O'Gara's face when he was tripped
O'Gara bit Burke's finger

Hard to see the GAA taking any further action on this

BlastCalyle (Mayo) - Posts: 206 - 22/07/2014 08:49:58    1623614

22/07/2014 08:49:58
BlastCalyle

From the slow motion video
O'Gara instigated the melee with a ridiculous tackle on Reilly.
Meath lads ploughed in to give O'Gara a few thumps.
Burke went way over the top dragging O'Gara away, thumping while dragging
While being dragged by Burke, O'Gara put his arm around Burke's feet to trip him
Burke's hand only went to O'Gara's face when he was tripped
O'Gara bit Burke's finger

Hard to see the GAA taking any further action on this

A few thumps? Are ya serious? Tackle on O"Reilly was no worse than the tackle O'Reilly gave to Brophy against Kildare. At least O'Reilly was able to get up and walk away. Unlike Brophy.

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 22/07/2014 09:55:26    1623658

There is no excuse for biting. End of.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 22/07/2014 10:10:35    1623670

21/07/2014 20:59:37
GloryHunter

Dermot Early was lucky to get away with dangerous play that resulted in Brian Menton going off with blood coming from his eyes in 2012.

The Sunday Game coverage was pathetic, Des Cahill wouldn't even mention O'Gara by name before showing the highlights, as if the whole thing was beneath him.
The sum total of the contributions of the other lads was if there's a finger near you, work away and have a bite of it.
They need the likes of McStay to have the guts to analyse these incidents properly, the recently retired boys weren't up to it at all. The incident itself needed to be analysed in isolation but instead was framed in the context of how soft Meath were throughout the game and how they shouldn't be even mentioning it due to there own poor performance.

Spreading misinformation about the Quarter-Final line-up at the end of the analysis was the cherry on top

Excellent post. Lets hope sky take over completely .

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 22/07/2014 10:13:30    1623675

No excuse for fish hooking. End of!

The pictures are so clear that Burke was doing something shocking. If you try fish hook an opponent, try put your fingers in his mouth.......what do ya expect?

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 22/07/2014 10:23:20    1623683

……and all the furore and talk of whinging Jason Ryan because he mentioned tackle (if you could call it that) by O'Reilly. Tut, tut, not the Meath way. Indeed.
Fair play to O'Gara, despite the number of guys at him just got up and brushed himself down. The dubs way.

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1700 - 22/07/2014 10:26:07    1623687

If you were honest...

If someone was fish hooking me, the first thing I'd do is bite.. I say it's actually quite instinctive

You'd do it without thinking... an instinct kicks in to get that object out of your mouth for it not to cause you harm.

It would happen in a nano second.

You'd want to be some fecking holy Joe not to react.

In this case IMO biting is actually 100% ok...

I really mean that... 100% clear cut action to take

They teach biting in defense classes as a way to remove a possible danger. Look it up...

If Bernard Brogan did this,

I certainly wouldn't judge the player for biting Bearnard's finger... he would have 100% deserved it.

End of story... you deserve what is coming to you.

There is just as clear evidence that EOG was being fish hooked than there is of EOG biting just for the sake of it

A very clear photo of a Meath player forcibly inserting his finger / fingers into EOG's mouth exists

As a photo of fish hooking goes... it's pretty clear cut / as a photo of bitng goes it's pretty clear cut

BUT

What is very clear is that Meath lads lost the plot and were by far the more aggressive, with multiple Meath players completely losing control and throwing punches.

As O'se mused... twas a bit late to be acting like hard men.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 22/07/2014 10:49:06    1623719

St.Conleth

……and all the furore and talk of whinging Jason Ryan because he mentioned tackle (if you could call it that) by O'Reilly. Tut, tut, not the Meath way. Indeed.
Fair play to O'Gara, despite the number of guys at him just got up and brushed himself down. The dubs way.

EXACTLY... Two excellent points

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 22/07/2014 10:50:44    1623720

Realdub you will find very few meath people who'll agree with you on dermot after what he did to menton.

foreverroyal (Meath) - Posts: 349 - 22/07/2014 11:06:30    1623738

St.Conleth

tried to make this point on three occasions on Sunday night and post wasnt put up.

A69

Aido69 (Dublin) - Posts: 381 - 22/07/2014 11:08:12    1623740

So Royaldunne its OK to use o garas head as a punch bag and for him to put his fingers inside o garas mouth but if he happened to get some kind of nip on his finger o gara becomes the main culprit please

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 22/07/2014 11:48:57    1623798

Think it's fair to say that this thread has lost it's bite :-)

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 22/07/2014 11:51:13    1623800

Meath lads complaining is comical, of all the counties in Ireland. Saying this and that is disgraceful and the incident should be fully investigated because it's a very serious issue. That is shouldn't have been brushed aside by SG analysts etc.

Imagine everything you did on a pitch was analysed in the detail for every game, half the Meath and Dublin teams from the 70/80s would be doing time now, grow some lads, not the Meath I know!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 22/07/2014 12:16:13    1623833

Good man Htaem, retaining your sense of humour, fair play :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 22/07/2014 12:23:32    1623844

Realdub if ogara had bitten lyons or coyle his funeral would be today.

foreverroyal (Meath) - Posts: 349 - 22/07/2014 12:58:49    1623896

http://www.hoganstand.com/Dublin/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=221033

Says what a lot are thinking....

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 22/07/2014 13:04:42    1623900

foreverroyal

Realdub if ogara had bitten lyons or coyle his funeral would be today.

Correct!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 22/07/2014 13:28:37    1623936

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2014/0721/632096-o-se-backs-ogara-over-biting-claim/

Hope the admin lets this go through. It's a link to a page on rte that shows a pic of the incident. For me, it's clear cut.

O'Gara should be applauded.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 22/07/2014 13:30:22    1623941