Roscommon vs Armagh

kiloughter Ulster/Leinster I did indeed mean - thanks for pointing that out - well worn debate indeed but one that will just become clearer when we see teams in action rather than shouting about it during the week. Granted a lot can happen from one day to the next and Mayo may well have been saving their energies for further down the line when they were run so close by Roscommon.

Clondalkin I suppose it is all how you see it. Yes it is not two opponents going at each other toe to toe using only their face as their defence but if you can appreciate more than one aspect of the game then it was still a reasonable way to pass Saturday early evening.

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 19/07/2014 18:53:17    1621582

Can Armagh play Monaghan if they get beat tomorrow.Sice they've already played each other

snipingfredo (Armagh) - Posts: 45 - 19/07/2014 18:58:08    1621584

No armagh cant play monaghan and also kildare cant play meath assuming kildare beat clare and dublin beat meath so its probably armagh v meath and kildare v mon/don

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 19/07/2014 19:02:00    1621586

19/07/2014 18:58:08
snipingfredo
County: Armagh

Can Armagh play Monaghan if they get beat tomorrow.Sice they've already played each other

No, ye can play Meath, Dublin or Donegal.

oakman (Derry) - Posts: 87 - 19/07/2014 19:04:06    1621588

That first half was so bad I went to bed after 25 minutes and I love football.

The 25 minutes I did see I thought Roscommon were brutal and their short passing and defensive style on a wet day was exactly the thing not to be doing.They should have been spreading the play out and hitting it long not playing a running game against a team who were physically much stronger and playing into Armaghs hands.Although Armagh were defensive at least they played some direct football and looked capable of creating scoring chances.

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 19/07/2014 19:10:00    1621589

Oakman are you trying to tell me that was a good game of football to watch for the armchair supporter? Well done Armagh on a good win away from home but that game was terrible to watch.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 19/07/2014 19:18:58    1621590

clondalkindub. I don't think Armagh will give a toss whether it was a good game to watch or not..They're in the 4th Round and that's all that matters. They wont be concerned if our friends across the water liked the match or not!:)

oakman (Derry) - Posts: 87 - 19/07/2014 19:33:25    1621595

It's a wonder some people bother watching at all when they are continually looking for the negative in every game. Well done to Armagh. Honestly delighted for the Armagh players and management given the stick they were getting just a short time ago,McGeeney is clearly making an impact and the future looks brighter for Armagh compared with the outlook just a few months back. Well done Armagh and I'm sure the Arnagh fans are just delighted and rightly so. Good luck in next game.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 19/07/2014 19:43:23    1621599

Jeepers, the Dublin lads forget easily how they didn't count up until a few years back. Tyrone bate them out the door every year along with Kerry. Now it's all mock disgust at the poor quality of football. You boys need to be awful careful somebody doesn't get youse in the long grass. And if you lose once, then it can be downhill again quickly.

gaelantrim (Antrim) - Posts: 1616 - 19/07/2014 19:49:42    1621606

its the usual way seanie..everybody looking to be negative all the time especially when the team they wanted to lose..wins...invariably an ulster team judging by consensus

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 19/07/2014 19:49:54    1621607

Very good win for Armagh,I tipped Rossies to win.Armagh deserve a lot of credit,getting relegated from dv2.Wins against Cavan,Tyrone and Rossies.They obviously have character in their team,and deserve credit!

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 19/07/2014 20:01:52    1621614

great result for armagh....a lot of nonsense spoken and written about this team but they deserve their place in the last 12 and lets hope they ruffle a few more feathers...tyrone people will be delighted for them as evidenced by brian mcguigan on newstalk radio today

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 19/07/2014 20:04:44    1621616

Hopefully Donegal win tomorrow so we get a Meath in the draw!

snipingfredo (Armagh) - Posts: 45 - 19/07/2014 20:42:31    1621644

Well done Armagh the better team by a mile,hope ye go on and do well.Armagh full back line were outstanding.
We were caught out badly ,Cavan game was the worst preparation we could have got,whereas Armagh had two games against Monaghan and a good joust against Tyrone.Reality check for us.

salvador (Roscommon) - Posts: 439 - 19/07/2014 20:43:50    1621651

That Armagh team is improving by the week and have the momentum now to at least make the quarters. Dissappointing for us, made terrible unforced and forced errors. We were always second best. Still a long way to go but pointed in the right direction. Good no nonsense and very fair football from Armagh. Dead on supporters , know their football and best of luck to them from here.

facethepuckout (Roscommon) - Posts: 214 - 19/07/2014 20:50:09    1621661

Hopefully Donegal win tomorrow so we get a Meath in the draw!

Or if Dublin win the earlier game you are guaranteed Meath as far as I am aware.

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 19/07/2014 20:52:13    1621667

Ok lads I take it back great game in Roscommon probably the best game this summer well done to both teams. Sorry for the negative comments that was a classic.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 19/07/2014 21:01:10    1621679

Rossies needed a reality check , fans enthusiastic but some really naieve long long way off top table

theshamen (Mayo) - Posts: 129 - 19/07/2014 21:10:02    1621686

Agree Shamen.
There were a few Rossie posters looking forward to knocking out either Donegal or Monaghan in the next round

In truth Mayo beat them without getting out of second gear and Armagh were easy winners today.

Reality check.

Cleatus (Donegal) - Posts: 125 - 19/07/2014 21:22:54    1621700

Oh dear some very sour grapes causing a lot of bitterness out there in non Ulster land because Armagh won and they say there is no agenda against our province??? Anyway on to the game, Armagh looked in control right through and you could see the McGeeney influence. Armagh were fitter, stronger and better footballers for the entire match and they seem to be an improving side. They played direct football which is always the most effective football and they got the win. Some so called Gaels should really lose the chip about Ulster. Four green fields??? Aye right!

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 19/07/2014 21:25:04    1621702