Time to reassess Ulster's reputation?

Feeling nostalgic.

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 04/09/2014 18:53:45    1648096

Don't think Ulster is any better or worse than any other province. At the moment I would say that there is one decent team in each province. The others, no disrespect, are also rans but on any given day could take a top side if things went very right for them.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 04/09/2014 19:32:59    1648121

I was surprised by some of the early qualifier exits. Still though, while the capital hype built up, Donegal were the team I expected to come through the B side of the draw and they duly did. Tough opponent now no doubt.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7857 - 04/09/2014 19:39:56    1648124

I came across this thread but I was actually looking for the one where we all predicted every province and all Ireland for both football and Hurling - I was interested to see how we all fared but could only go 20 pages back.

Does anyone know how to drag a thread up for deep in the archives?

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 04/09/2014 20:54:26    1648164

Legendzxix
Back in the old days,, 15/07/14 to be exact you posted the following:::: I knew I'd smoke one of ye out or something similar.
Do you think you will smokes us out come Sunday 21/09/14 or will it be Kerry go up in smoke

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 04/09/2014 21:18:25    1648175

04/09/2014 21:18:25
SamOnErrigal
Legendzxix
Back in the old days,, 15/07/14 to be exact you posted the following:::: I knew I'd smoke one of ye out or something similar.
Do you think you will smokes us out come Sunday 21/09/14 or will it be Kerry go up in smoke

SamOnErrigal

That also shows how competitive Ulster Armagh TyroneDonegal got beat after winning the AI

I knew I'd smoke one of ye out! That's the exact same point I make regards Kerry. Hats off to Tyrone on raising the bar in 03. Kerry got beat in 05 after winning the AI and in 08 after winning the AI twice.

There is no need to misquote me Sam! You were making the point on Armagh, Tyrone and Donegal getting beat after winning the AI showed how competitive Ulster is.

I simply made the point that I often say fair play to Tyrone on beating us comprehensively in '03 and raising the bar. Kerry responded by winning 4 of the next 6 All-Irelands. Some people go on about the losses of '05 and '08. I simply make the same point as yourself that it shows how competitive Kerry were that they were beat after winning the AI. In '08 they were actually there on All-Ireland final day battling until the last to try and land a 3 in-a-row. I remember being in the Cusack after the loss in '08 and having nothing but immense pride in the lads for being in there battling until the last for a third title. It wasn't meant to be on the day and to the victors went the spoils!

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7857 - 04/09/2014 21:33:03    1648190