AI Hurling Quarter Finals

a rock .........Dublin haven't beaten Tipp since 1917 - at this rate of progrss it will be 2117 before they do.
Think you're being a little over optimistic there.

Miler (Mayo) - Posts: 1015 - 27/07/2014 18:43:07    1626706

Home advantage for Tipp in a quarter final, I think it might have been a different result if the game was played in Croker.

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 27/07/2014 18:55:41    1626715

27/07/2014 18:55:41
bryanadams

Home advantage for Tipp in a quarter final, I think it might have been a different result if the game was played in Croker.

Not in the same bracket. Tipperary are a class above Dublin.

Hoover78 (Limerick) - Posts: 865 - 27/07/2014 19:00:14    1626720

Yeah Miler he must have some Mayo blood in him!:)

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 27/07/2014 19:01:21    1626721

Its a defence mechanism Miler to soften the blow of a defeat.Guess what ?Its worked.Ching Ching!!

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 27/07/2014 19:03:44    1626724

This whole qtr final system of only 2 games been held in Thurles since 2008 with the exception of 2010 has been stale from the word go. Croke park is the national stadium and should be used!When you think back since they were held here has there ever been a decent game, I cant really think of any in fact none at all lived up to any expectations. The games were so unmemorable I cant think of any maybe with the exception of Waterford and Galway in 2009 when Waterford got galway with a late comeback.Also Tipp having the use of Thurles is kinda unfair too seeing as it is their homeground and they train there so they know it inside and out.

preddan (Kildare) - Posts: 738 - 27/07/2014 19:07:39    1626729

Really disappointed with Dublin this year, expected a lot more. They definitely have regressed from last year. Touch today and decision making were woeful. To be honest I think Dublin made Tipp look good, wasn't really impressed with Tipp that much. However I've no doubt their clash with us will be a belter.Bring it on...UTR!

bloodandbandage (Cork) - Posts: 277 - 27/07/2014 19:24:16    1626746

"There are hurling counties and football counties".

Really Miler? With your two All Irelands in 130 years when the traditional counties were poor, what are you :-)

Be a cold day in hell before we ever see a Mayo team in a proper hurling competition.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 27/07/2014 19:26:59    1626752

This whole qtr final system of only 2 games been held in Thurles since 2008 with the exception of 2010 has been stale from the word go. Croke park is the national stadium and should be used!When you think back since they were held here has there ever been a decent game, I cant really think of any in fact none at all lived up to any expectations. The games were so unmemorable I cant think of any maybe with the exception of Waterford and Galway in 2009 when Waterford got galway with a late comeback.Also Tipp having the use of Thurles is kinda unfair too seeing as it is their homeground and they train there so they know it inside and out.

What has the venue got to do with the quality of the game?? You think if they were in Croker the games would be any better?? And don't start the thing about home advantage, Tipp still don't have the kind of advantage that the Dublin footballers have with Croker or Monaghan have with Clones (although the latter pales in comparison to the former). Croke Park is the home of the GAA but places like Thurles & Tullamore, Portlaoise and Nowlan Park and Wexford Park deserve big games too, more atmosphere and more revenue spread around. If those games were in Croker today there would have been a much smaller crowd with all the top tiers and most if not all of the Hill closed, no thanks...

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 27/07/2014 19:30:02    1626755

If Tipp had played Dublin on O'Connell Street it wouldn't have made any difference!

As for the first game - sad to see Wexford's Championship end in such fashion. Fair play to Limerick - they put massive intensity into the first half which was a good plan considering the few weeks Wexford have had..

All in all a very disappointing afternoon! I do think we're in for two great semi's however! Both games could go either way

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 27/07/2014 19:34:38    1626761

You aren't half as disappointed as the Dublin hurling fans tonight bloodandbandage

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 27/07/2014 19:45:42    1626769

Hurling was very bad in both games as both Wexford and Dublin didn't show up. Worst preparation for Limerick and Tipp for semi. As for venue lets be honest the day of huge crowds are gone, they should be stand alone games in smaller venues, I think having four sets of different supporters just ruin the whole atmosphere.

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 27/07/2014 20:00:42    1626783

That was a right waste of an afternoon. I thought it was only football that produced borefests.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 27/07/2014 21:07:11    1626850

Thurles wasnt even a sell out like what what was expected and plus the Tipp /dublin didnt even come in for the first match and you'd hardly expect wexford fans to stay for the end of the tipp dub games, pretty crap hurling day, but the best teams won

sfoggy (Tipperary) - Posts: 145 - 27/07/2014 21:15:20    1626863

Did u enjoy Limericks masterclass Muckross?Was the one redeeming feature of a rather dull day.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 27/07/2014 21:17:32    1626869

Both games were awful. At least there was a bit of a game in the minor. Dublin and Wexford were miles off the pace. Keaney has not been himself in the last two games and he is the main man for Dublin in the forwards he didn't win any puck outs and he had been winning everything last year against Galway Kilkenny and Cork. The touch of the Dublin players is awful this year which I can't understand. I don't see Dublin winning an All Ireland with the way all our dual players stick with football. If Dublin had Costello Lowndes Brady Connolly Kilkenny they would have a far better team and it would increase the talent but they won't win an All Ireland without them and with certain lads starting. Some of which have been great servants to Dublin. I think Dalo will go as I don't see how he can do anymore and if the lads couldn't put in a performance with high intensity after the Leinster Final there isn't much more he can do to get lads motivated. Dublin have probably 5 good players in Rushe Kelly Sutcliffe Keaney and Carton ( Dotsy and Ryan can be good on there day but don't produce consistently) With Nolan and Maguire we have two solid keepers but apart from these 6 we are fairly limited hurlers who need to have exceptional work rate and intensity which just wasn't there.

dubshurling7 (Dublin) - Posts: 1017 - 27/07/2014 21:26:35    1626881

Cork Tipp in Croker will be some match...

First time they will have played their in the championship and third time by my reckoning.

1948 League Final: Cork 3-3, Tipp 1-2
1953 League Final: Cork 2-10, Tipp 2-7

Both in Croker, they didn't meet that often in the league final, and when they did was usually in the old Cork Athletic Grounds, or Semple. But the above were the two exceptions. Be some occasion

MURPHB33 (Dublin) - Posts: 166 - 28/07/2014 08:24:46    1626945

Well of course we are very very disappointed Wexford people today, while fatigue alone doesnt explain 27 points - I think Limerick would have won anyway - I thought Wexford were second to every ball, we looked slow and a tired team whereas Limerick looked fresh and had an intensity we couldnt match. The two goals just before half-time killed us off - I thought at 10 down when we got the wind in the second half we still had a chance, at 16 down it was all over.

Best wishes to Limerick now, would love to see them go all the way. But thanks also to the Wexford hurlers, yesterday was not a reflection on where this team is at, it has been a fantastic year following this team around and I am absolutely certain, unlike when we bowed out of the championship in recent years, that this team has a big future.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 28/07/2014 08:47:58    1626949

A gent Pinkie and I thought ye're support was a credit to Wexford. I would suspect Dunne needs to get some pace in that back line as it was exposed badly yesterday.

Hoover78 (Limerick) - Posts: 865 - 28/07/2014 09:12:32    1626962

cuederocket

Did u enjoy Limericks masterclass Muckross?Was the one redeeming feature of a rather dull day.

Limerick looked very good but it is hard to judge them. Wexford were poor & I can't imagine Kilkenny giving them the space they got yesterday.

Yesterday proved the point that if you go into a game nowadays at less than 100% you are going down & it doesn't matter who you are.
We can spend the lead up to games talking about this individual or that individual but if the collective will isn't there individuals won't make the difference.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 28/07/2014 09:27:10    1626970