Monaghan v Donegal

I suspect discipline will be the order of the day, as both sides are fairly efficient at converting free kicks and 45's.

Essentially this will come down game will be down to the middle 3rd of the field.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 12/07/2014 13:45:11    1617748

Lockjaw

I wonder will we see Donegal employ the same tactics as they did against Tyrone's Niall Morgan last year? Every time he took a long range free/45 three of Donegal's bigger players stood in front of him with the arms raised explaining politely how he was about to miss the upcoming kick!

That sort of stuff can get you a black card nowadays. I'd far rather see no frees being give in the danger area.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 12/07/2014 14:10:54    1617758

Not long to go now boys and with all the talk about Ulster teams getting beat at the hands of teams from outside the provience , it's Monaghan /Donegal's turn to show Ulster football in a good light. Going back for the game and hope we all have a great day out and that the weather is fine .. STILL THINK THESE TWO TEAMS ARE RIGHT IN BEHIND DUBLIN IN THE PECKING ORDER AND WHAT I SAW IN MUNSTER /CONNAUGHT OVER THE LAST TWO WEEKENDS FULLY CONVINCED THAT DUBLIN IS THE STUMBLING BLOCK TO SAM GOING BACK TO ULSTER THIS YEAR. MASSIVE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN THE DEFENSIVE STYLE OF SAY CORK/GALWAY COMPARED TO WHAT YOU SHOULD SEE IN CLONES ON SUNDAY.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 14/07/2014 13:42:17    1618951

This game will be something along the same lines as Donegal v Tyrone in 2012. This will be a tactical battle, physical and bruising but with plenty of discipline. Both teams will want to keep their first choice on the field so I would be suprised to see black cards especially in the opening encounters. The ref will be waiting to stamp his authority on the game so both sets of players will be hitting hard but fair.
The middle third of the field will be a slugfest and whoever wins that battle will have the platform to win the game IF the conversion rates improve. Both teams have been guilty of some wayward shooting in the recent games.
Both managers will have headaches going into the game.
Monaghan have a very good inside line so Donegal will want to limit the space between full back and half back line to give them some cover but if they retreat too much the will be picked off with long range scores.
Donegal have a very good inside line who are normally double marked but as was seen in the game v Antrim it left room for the half forward line to shine and they are well capable of causing problems scoring 2-6 that day.

If both teams play to their potential I feel that Donegal will just have enough but it will really be all on the day. I just hope this game won't be remembered for a bad ref call or incident, ala Tyrone v Monaghan last year, and that it is really the better team on the day that wins Ulster!!

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 14/07/2014 15:07:17    1619037

SamOnErrigal

Not long to go now boys and with all the talk about Ulster teams getting beat at the hands of teams from outside the provience , it's Monaghan /Donegal's turn to show Ulster football in a good light. Going back for the game and hope we all have a great day out and that the weather is fine .. STILL THINK THESE TWO TEAMS ARE RIGHT IN BEHIND DUBLIN IN THE PECKING ORDER AND WHAT I SAW IN MUNSTER /CONNAUGHT OVER THE LAST TWO WEEKENDS FULLY CONVINCED THAT DUBLIN IS THE STUMBLING BLOCK TO SAM GOING BACK TO ULSTER THIS YEAR. MASSIVE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN THE DEFENSIVE STYLE OF SAY CORK/GALWAY COMPARED TO WHAT YOU SHOULD SEE IN CLONES ON SUNDAY.

I dont really care where ulster football is or isnt at. The craic for me this year rests on sunday, about 90% on sunday to be honest. After that we are in bonus territory.

People might actually be right, that ulster football is at a low ebb at the moment. Possibly so, but people have to be mindful that we prepare for the ulster championship to win it, all counties in ulster do. It is very disappointing to go out of it and into the back door. It is not such a big deal for the longfords, tipps, roscommons etc etc to lose in their respective provinces, provided they have learned from their match and showed well in it. If you get knocked out of ulster on the other hand, it is tougher to overcome the disappointment. That is my reading of it anyway. Still no excuse for not giving it the big one in the back door, but as I said, I am not too bothered about ulster showings in the all ireland series this year. If monaghan have a good run in it, great, so too armagh. After that, it is up to donegal to keep the thing lit for as long as possible.

But the dubs wait for us all. That is why sunday is a big game for me personally.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 14/07/2014 15:41:45    1619077

It's great to see the Ulster final getting the main slot (4pm) on Sunday, instead of Leinster decider(no disrespect to Leinster). Down the years with the advent of LIVE TV, the Ulster final was usually on the "early" slot. Yes, I am aware that it had the prime slot last year too, but the other final that day was the expected one-sided connacht final , Mayo v London.

I really feel Sundays game will be a great game, with intensity, fair but hard hits & good scoring. Hopefully the Farney will get our 1st back-to-back titles since the early 30's.

Monaghan Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 442 - 14/07/2014 18:37:32    1619247

this game is too close to call , both have their injury concerns , its delicately poised , cant ait for it , Monaghan by a point , wouldn't rule out a draw

stekhli (Dublin) - Posts: 3121 - 14/07/2014 18:50:36    1619258

No post for 3 days on this thread.
Getting cagey lads.

Cleatus (Donegal) - Posts: 125 - 17/07/2014 19:58:03    1620842

Three days to go and the nerves are frayed.

Shouted at Mrs MuckrossHead this morning & kicked Rover at lunchtime. Neither was very impressed.

I bloody hate these big games!!!!!!!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 17/07/2014 20:12:00    1620848

Serious quiet alright some ridiculous other forums up on HS, few days before Ulster Final can,t believe there,s no banter at all about game, going back to this time last year was all the chat about Donegal going for three in a row maybe things will get going from tomorrow. Was just chatting to someone today we were just saying that there was no hype about at all, no flags up, talking to people saying that they were going to watch game on TV instead of going to Clones.

aidan1000 (Leitrim) - Posts: 106 - 17/07/2014 20:20:06    1620855

anyone who would sit at home rather than go to the hallow ground that is clones has no earn near a game again! Really hard game to call. Match ups are key and we need to make sure not to give these Monaghan lads any excuse to hit the deck, which their found of!

DLlegends (Donegal) - Posts: 503 - 17/07/2014 20:46:03    1620869

This one is so difficult to predict.

Even Paddy Power can't call it. Monaghan are slight favorites but the handicap is only 1 point.

The fact that Derry went out to Longford makes some doubt where Donegal are at.

We are certainly way ahead of last year but will it be enough .........

Cleatus (Donegal) - Posts: 125 - 17/07/2014 20:46:47    1620870

Plenty of flags flying here in Inishowen..!!

InishowenMan (Donegal) - Posts: 216 - 17/07/2014 21:03:42    1620877

The team for Sunday

1 Rory Beggan
2 Ryan Wylie
3 Drew Wylie
4 Colin Walshe
5 Dessie Mone
6 Vinny Corey
7 Fintan Kelly
8 Dick Clerkin
9 Darren Hughes
10 Paudie Mc Kenna
11 Stephen Gollogly
12 Paul Finlay
13 Dermot Malone
14 Kieran Hughes
15 Conor McManus
16 Gerard Mc Caffrey
17 Conor Boyle
18 Kieran Duffy
19 Conor Galligan
20 Karl O'Connell
21 Gavin Doogan
22 Padraig Donaghy
23 Owen Duffy
24 Thomas Kerr
25 Jack Mc Carron
26 Chris Mc Guinness

Thoughts ? I'd say there will be a few changes

MonaghanGlory (Monaghan) - Posts: 738 - 17/07/2014 21:11:39    1620878

aidan1000
County: Leitrim

Was just chatting to someone today we were just saying that there was no hype about at all, no flags up, talking to people saying that they were going to watch game on TV instead of going to Clones.

Agreed there is no hype, which to my mind is a good thing.

What I don't agree with is GAA people aren't going to Clones. The word today is that the game will be a sellout with very few tickets to be had at this point.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 17/07/2014 21:20:32    1620883

Very hard game to call but I fancy monaghan by two. Difference between the two teams is t hat monaghan have plenty of men to mark donegals inside forward line but donegal are struggling in this department. The two mc gees are not fit to mark hughes and mc manus. That probably will be the difference between the two teams. Looking forward to Sunday .

room2 (Monaghan) - Posts: 96 - 18/07/2014 08:19:16    1620899

Monaghan are not as good as everyone says they are.They won't be able to survive Donegal's blanket defence they had to much room to shoot against Armagh.

snipingfredo (Armagh) - Posts: 45 - 18/07/2014 10:15:37    1620943

Room2
I would not look at things the way you look at them You go back to the drawn Armagh game , now some of the Armagh forwards caused Monaghan a lot of problems the first day. It was a different story the second day. Also the first day you could not say that C McManus was running riot, it fact will he was on the field of play he was well contained
As regards the Donegal inside line , what if they hit top form , they (mcb, McF Mm or D oC could destroy Monaghan. Just because they have been held once or twice or have been off form does not mean they can't shine on a certain day. Also don't forget MM ,CMcF have proved themselves on the big stage.
I'm sure JMcG will have well laid plans set out and I'm sure Monaghan will encounter one of the toughest games they ever took part in. I'm pretty sure K Hughes /C McManus will be well watched and space will be limited
I'm also looking to a big performances from C Toye a, a perfect link for the inside men.
There is a big possibility for one team to flop Sunday. It happens regular in sport But it's all to play for and I hope to see both Donegal teams Win Sunday.
All my faith in Donegal steams from " The Jim McGuinness Factor "

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 18/07/2014 10:23:16    1620947

Well we have a superior manager in malachy he is the reason for monaghans turn around.

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1928 - 18/07/2014 11:10:39    1620992

Well we have a superior manager in malachy he is the reason for monaghans turn around.

Come back to us again when ye have been in 4 Ulster on the trot and have claimed the All Ireland.
Honestly I get how a) people dislike McGuinness and b) how people can have faith in their own manager but some comments are hilarious.

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 18/07/2014 11:17:56    1620997