Monaghan v Donegal

Have to say the original post by Oakleaf must be the most ridiculous post ive read on here in a Good while.
Maybe he should ask himself Why Derry are not in the Ulster Final..? Simply not good enough' Thats why..!!
Crying and Shame are two words well suited alright' The crying that was done after we beat youse in the 1st round and Shame for the basically Empty Celtic park for the Qualifier against Longford.

There was some turnout for the 1st game when all the hype was about' and youse expected a win' Then the reality Check'
Speaks volumes about the Derry supporter.

And Donegal being bullied..? We are one of the most physical teams in the country' Even one of the Brogans mentioned this fact in 2011 after the game of puke.Then the semi in 2012 against What Where probably the Squad of the biggest physical men in the Championship in the Shape of Cork...Didnt see us getting Bullied that day.

Physicality is all well an Good 'but at the end of the day it is not going to Win matches. Laceys outdoing of Lynch in the 1st round game is testament to this. Lacey being a much smaller and faster operator.

Oakleaf is right about one thing though' lets get back to the Donegal v Monaghan Ulster final because Derry have no longer any relevance in This years championship and it is time they Got over this fact.

They only exist and are mentioned in this thread due to Oakleaf's Hypothetical,lamenting Fantasy.

InishowenMan (Donegal) - Posts: 216 - 10/07/2014 19:33:54    1617034

A lot of Donegal people on here seems to have "2012" syndrome, fact is Donegal have there belly full and the hunger is gone whereas monaghan have won frig all and are ravenous to win more and that includes doing a back to back in ulster hunger is a mighty ingredient in championship football and imo Donegal don't have it plus everybody is saying Donegal have a clean bill of health what about r kavanagh k lacey and n Gallagher and no m mchugh sure thats no 6 , 8 , 9, 11 the spine of the team and jim has put out his strongest 15 since February which could come back to bite him in the ass

prideof85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 851 - 10/07/2014 19:34:59    1617035

RightFull
County: Monaghan

Have been to quite a few Donegal matches the last few years including the last 3 against Monaghan. They're a formidable outfit when they click, no question. This was very evident in the Letterkenny league match, though Monaghan were very flat that day. However, they seem to win all their matches foraging ahead on the scoreboard in the first half then turning up the heat in the 3rd quarter when the opposition tries to chase the game. Not sure how good they are when they've to chase a game themselves like with the Monaghan and Mayo defeats. Really difficult match to call and will definitely be a contest to savour.

Donegal rarely go in ahead at half time, if you look at this season's championship Derry were ahead of them at half time, while Antrim were level with them at half time. Look back to 2012, and Tyrone were ahead at half time.
And if they do have the lead, It is normally by a point or two at most before upping their game in the 3rd quarter. However they didn't do that against Mayo in the 2012 All Ireland final which they won.

Monaghan on the other hand tend to push in front in the first half, and then keep the score board ticking over in the 2nd half.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 10/07/2014 20:46:43    1617076

Every man to his own opinion pride But I don't agree with you about Donegal's lack of hunger. I don't think there is anything between them on that score.
They have also announced a clean bill of health so here's looking forward to a great occasion between two well matched teams.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 10/07/2014 21:04:11    1617083

royaldunne

Anybody know the odds for monaghan minus 3?

It's about 650/1 royal. I would pile in if I was you.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 10/07/2014 21:07:16    1617085

Samsforthehills

There's a lot of rubbish being spewed here by both sides and is adding fuel to an unneeded fire. Twoc ounties get on well, no need to start s**** talking.

I agree 100% sam. There is a lot of oul guff being spokes about previous games and such as well.

This is a one off game which stands on it's own merits. Last year's final, Letterkenny & the League final have no bearing at all on this occasion.

I think it is going to be a great game between two well matched sides, the rest is just willy waving.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 10/07/2014 21:15:24    1617089

Actually hope both teams are at their best Sunday week, no excuses, and let's see who comes out on top. The winning team should go into the quarter-finals in pretty good shape after a tough test.

RightFull (Monaghan) - Posts: 74 - 10/07/2014 21:15:42    1617090

Muckross

I do believe Royal Dunn will be retiring after this game. But how is he getting it so right with his -3
To all Monaghan posters on here :::at the end of the day let's hope one of us can get to the All Ireland final. I'm sure we will all have a great day out , would think we will bring IRO 15/20 thousand hillsders and would expect a mighty Monaghan crowd. Both teams at full strength and a good day for football not forgetting last year was some day out for Monaghan winning both minor/Senior and this year we will be trying to pull off the same double
What time is this game at Is it 4o clock

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 10/07/2014 21:51:01    1617125

SamOnErrigal
Muckross

at the end of the day let's hope one of us can get to the All Ireland final

Ulster will probably be leading a two pronged attack on Dublin in the Q/final and S/Final. So no point killing each other, we will be taking it easy. Promise

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 11/07/2014 10:00:30    1617199

well said Headbutter, don't think Ben will ever be over it god love him

Spiderman you're dreaming lad, and don't you worry Monaghan won't fear the "real" Donegal, makes no difference to us which Donegal turn up on the day, we'll go about our business as normal

farneyfriend (Monaghan) - Posts: 37 - 11/07/2014 13:45:20    1617343

Plenty of talk from both sides. With regard to the "real Donegal". Can you let me know what is that........Donegal in 2011 when he played a dogged defensive style or in 2012 which we have been reminded about from every DG poster on this thread?

Monaghan will have a battle on their hands but I have no doubt that what ever team is more hungry to win, will!!!

MuineachanAbu (Monaghan) - Posts: 640 - 11/07/2014 14:46:48    1617370

MuineachanAbu
County: Monaghan

Plenty of talk from both sides. With regard to the "real Donegal". Can you let me know what is that........Donegal in 2011 when he played a dogged defensive style or in 2012 which we have been reminded about from every DG poster on this thread?

Monaghan will have a battle on their hands but I have no doubt that what ever team is more hungry to win, will!!!

Muineachan
As long as it isn't Donegal 2013 I'll be happy enough!!

I suspect it will be more dogged defensive than anything especially in the first half, with Conor McManus the focus of most attention.
I'd say JMcG thinks if he can keep McManus under some sort of control & can keep the free count down so that Beggan doesn't do his customary damage the Donegal will have a good chance.

As for the hunger, I think myself that is overdone. I think both sides feel they have something to prove so hunger won't be an issue.

I'd say that whoever has their homework done & gets their matchups right will prevail.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 11/07/2014 14:57:52    1617375

Muineghan Abu

Now my dear man 2012 brought more than Sam to Donegal...it lifted a whole county in very difficult times so it's easy to see how most of us go on about 2012.
I do hope you. And your fellow Monaghan Gaels see the day that Monaghan lift the Sam Maguire, the joy of being in Croke park and then imagine the preparations for the homecoming.
I'd say if you asked any Donegal person the best moment of their lives, I'm sure a awful lot would say winning Sam ( well their sporting life ) 1992/2012 for me were standout moments especially 1992 as I watched on so many occasions men from different counties go up to recieve the Sam and at long last Antony Molloy made his way up the steps to recieve Sam So do excuse us and before long I hope all you Monaghan fans will understand as a Monaghan man goes forward to accept Sam on behalf of the county.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 11/07/2014 15:32:51    1617387

I think the point being made here is about all the Donegal posters talking about Donegal getting back to 2012 form. As a Leitrim man living in Letterkenny I thought it was a brillant year for Donegal in 2012 being in Donegal town on the Sunday and on Monday when sam arrived into Donegal town. As an outsider this is the way I call it, looking at games so far in Ulster not going to use League games as an example. Firstly with Donegal against Derry most of ye will agree that Donegal only played well for 15 minutes or so in second half to kill off game with goal. Against Antrim in the first half ye looked very ordinary Antrim fell to pieces once ye scored the goal in second half, with Antrim defense opening up compared to first half. Ye could score with ease. Now to Monaghan against tyrone they played very well great intensity some great tackling, for a team that had not played for 7 weeks. Next game Monaghan will say themselves they did not play well up with they way Armagh set up defensively, but the second day the got it spot on, the range of scorers was quite impressive, I know they will be more closely marked in Final but some of the long range shooting was top notch. A lot of things will have to go right for Donegal, Murphy will be well marked, Mc Fadden if he starts has a lot to prove, if he is not playing well/ or misses frees or chances he has to be taken off. Mc Breaty is not playing that well know hes only 20, but some of his shooting is poor. I know the younger players played well against Antrim, BUT they will not get that much room against Mongahan, Donegal to win will have to play well for a lot longer than they have in other Ulster games this year, a lot of improvement is needed.

aidan1000 (Leitrim) - Posts: 106 - 11/07/2014 16:24:11    1617419

aidan1000
County: Leitrim

It is worth noting that Derry gave Donegal a hell of a game, which has since been dismissed due to Derry's exit to Longford in Qualifier Rd 1 coupled with the League final loss to Dublin. I disagree that Donegal only played for 15mins, In truth they only stood out from Derry for about 15mins during a tough 70mins.

Then they beat Antrim, In a game that was never going to be easy in an unconventional way. Antrim are considered probably the weakest or 2nd weakest side in Ulster. Antrim were always going to really up their game and play above their normal level, while any big side would struggle to up their game against opposition who were much lower. The first half sort of confirmed this theory, however the 2nd half Donegal completely up'd their game and destroyed Antrim.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 11/07/2014 21:59:05    1617617

If Donegal can get back to the 2012 vintage they would beat the Monaghan of 2013. I still think this Donegal team have the hunger to play a big role in 2014 and I would take them to beat a very good Monaghan team who may lack enough quality forwards to overcome the defensive shield.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 12/07/2014 10:27:01    1617656

A hesitant nod to Monaghan based on their serious form in Clones and being more battle hardened going into this final, they know how to beat Donegal and are capable of doing so again

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 12/07/2014 10:47:40    1617667

Richieq.
Well richieq i also thought Tyrone knew how to beat Monaghan, they did so for a long time but that changed this summer. The Tyrone poster could be right , have Monaghan the forwards to break down our defensive screen Can't see C McManus getting too much room, he will probably end up being the best marked player of the whole GAA season. Lots of things can turn this game but the team that are going to win it will have to be on top of their game. Looking forward to this being the best final of the four provinces. Anyone with a weak heart would be advised to stay well clear.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 12/07/2014 11:17:29    1617683

I wonder will we see Donegal employ the same tactics as they did against Tyrone's Niall Morgan last year? Every time he took a long range free/45 three of Donegal's bigger players stood in front of him with the arms raised explaining politely how he was about to miss the upcoming kick!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9149 - 12/07/2014 11:30:27    1617692

Take more than that to put Beggan off I'm afraid, Cool as ice :)

MonaghanGlory (Monaghan) - Posts: 738 - 12/07/2014 12:03:36    1617707