Monaghan v Donegal

Anybody know the odds for monaghan minus 3?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 10/07/2014 09:21:08    1616640

I don't like this talk that Donegal 'underestimated' Monaghan last year. It's derisory and insulting. We don't underestimate anybody under Jim and on another point every single Donegal person worth their salt knew what that game was going to be like. Monaghan have recent form in Ulster and had a group of players there who would fancy themselves against us. We we're struggling for form, never got going (were not allowed get going) and rightfully got beat out the gate.

Samsforthehills (Donegal) - Posts: 1072 - 10/07/2014 11:25:21    1616715

Samforthehills
Good point in what you say but Donegal people probably did not take the warning signs from the previous game. I was not at the game , saw it on TV and really speaking Donegal just prevailed.
On the other side of the coin we had not been defeated under Jim, there was a lot of talk of three in a row in Ulster so it was hard to see it coming ( defeat in last years UF))
Don't think JMcG would ever send out a team taking the other side for granted. The main thing is we are back in the UF ,all to play for but it would be nice to regain the A-C

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 10/07/2014 12:45:32    1616765

Samsforthehills

I don't like this talk that Donegal 'underestimated' Monaghan last year. It's derisory and insulting. We don't underestimate anybody under Jim and on another point every single Donegal person worth their salt knew what that game was going to be like. Monaghan have recent form in Ulster and had a group of players there who would fancy themselves against us. We we're struggling for form, never got going (were not allowed get going) and rightfully got beat out the gate.

You's didnt have in mind that we would beat you's by 6 points, there was not much a plan B so to me it didnt look like you's put much thought into what to do if you's fell behind,

MonaghanGlory (Monaghan) - Posts: 738 - 10/07/2014 12:50:12    1616770

Anybody know the odds for Donegal minus 4 points?

ben1977 (Donegal) - Posts: 364 - 10/07/2014 13:09:49    1616782

MonaghanGlory
County: Monaghan

You's didnt have in mind that we would beat you's by 6 points, there was not much a plan B so to me it didnt look like you's put much thought into what to do if you's fell behind,

I meant Donegal gaa folk knew fine rightly it was going to be a very, very tough game. Nobody knows the result of a game before the event. And you don't plan on being 6 points down. You plan on trying to impose yourself as best you can to give yourself the chance to win the match.

Donegal have a Plan A. Nothing else. When that malfunctions like it did against Monaghan we are in bother. That's been drilled into the players for 4 years. Stick to the plan. Stick to the plan. Stick to the plan. If you lose, you lose but that's down to on the day and at least you've prepared honestly and as best you could.

It's failed 3 times in 3 years.

Samsforthehills (Donegal) - Posts: 1072 - 10/07/2014 13:22:31    1616795

Monaghanglory
If we had no plan b or did not put much thought into last years UF then we then we must have put less into the following game vMayo
As you say Monaghan won by six points:::with the domination they had should they not have won by more. ???
Well that's what Donegal did in the two previous Ulster finals.
Plus Monaghan fail to raise a green flag against us but when Mayo had us on the ropes they really finished us off
We were well beaten last year but the signs are good so far this year, we look a team on the up again and I'm confident enough Jim will have all the plans you want Monaghan glory on Sunday week.
What happened last year does not stick with me, could give you lots of examples::a few years ago Cork beating Kerry in the M final , then in August/sept Kerry beating Cork in CP. That happened on two occasions
What Donegal proved in 2012 , when at their best they could beat anybody. We still have all those players today (-2) plus the ACE in the pack ::JIM MCGUINNESS

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 10/07/2014 13:24:46    1616797

There's a lot of rubbish being spewed here by both sides and is adding fuel to an unneeded fire. Twoc ounties get on well, no need to start s**** talking.

Monaghan previous results over Donegal (UF, League final) are a plus for Monaghan as it will give them belief.

The same result have little bearing on Donegal because they are far better prepared this year and have a clean bill of health.

It's going to be a slobberknocker between two evenly matched teams. I think Donegal are the better pound for pound team but Monaghan, probably more than anyone else, have their measure to take them on at their own game and beat them.

It's very much going to come down to on the day and I wouldn't be surprised to see this one go the 70 and into a replay (or is it extra time?)

Samsforthehills (Donegal) - Posts: 1072 - 10/07/2014 14:32:27    1616840

I have got to say that there was over confidence last year among the supporters. It is not unusual in Donegal. It probably was not there among the players, as they are too professional and well looked after to lose the run of themselves. But the reality of it is that a division 3 team waited for us in the final, and we thought that we would win. Its not the end of the world to listen to jimmys winning matches blaring out over the diamond, it is a bit of craic for kids. But I would be careful not to count chickens before games. It is the best motivation the opposition can be given.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 10/07/2014 14:36:50    1616844

Lacey to revert to corner back to pick up McManus?
Or leave him at CHB dictating counter attacks?

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9151 - 10/07/2014 15:46:03    1616903

Definetly leave him at CHB, hopefully they won't do a Mc Hugh on him..........

ben1977 (Donegal) - Posts: 364 - 10/07/2014 15:59:25    1616910

Lockjaw

1616903 Lacey to revert to corner back to pick up McManus?
Or leave him at CHB dictating counter attacks?

I'd bring him back.

Samsforthehills (Donegal) - Posts: 1072 - 10/07/2014 16:03:33    1616913

Would PMcGrath mark him Like to see Lacy involved in breakaways. I'm sure JIM will put sone thought into this game. Bet on the day C McManus will think of the prayer:::Christ beside me,,Christ behind Me and Christ before me. Our defence has probably come up against better forward lines over the last few years but CMc Manus plus KHughes/P Finlay will have to be well watched
How it pans on the day who gets the better of who , bit of luck and let's face it ,,, would be lovely if the ref had a great game. We should have a game to be hold and let everybody see how good Ulster football is.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 10/07/2014 16:37:23    1616935

I'm really looking forward to this game, guaranteed hard fought intense battle. Very close to call but I'd give the edge to Monaghan, probably slightly more battle hardened then Donegal over the last few games.

JP91 (Armagh) - Posts: 316 - 10/07/2014 16:40:32    1616937

Have been to quite a few Donegal matches the last few years including the last 3 against Monaghan. They're a formidable outfit when they click, no question. This was very evident in the Letterkenny league match, though Monaghan were very flat that day. However, they seem to win all their matches foraging ahead on the scoreboard in the first half then turning up the heat in the 3rd quarter when the opposition tries to chase the game. Not sure how good they are when they've to chase a game themselves like with the Monaghan and Mayo defeats. Really difficult match to call and will definitely be a contest to savour.

RightFull (Monaghan) - Posts: 74 - 10/07/2014 16:46:17    1616942

SamOnErrigal

Monaghanglory
If we had no plan b or did not put much thought into last years UF then we then we must have put less into the following game vMayo
As you say Monaghan won by six points:::with the domination they had should they not have won by more. ???
Well that's what Donegal did in the two previous Ulster finals.
Plus Monaghan fail to raise a green flag against us but when Mayo had us on the ropes they really finished us off
We were well beaten last year but the signs are good so far this year, we look a team on the up again and I'm confident enough Jim will have all the plans you want Monaghan glory on Sunday week.
What happened last year does not stick with me, could give you lots of examples::a few years ago Cork beating Kerry in the M final , then in August/sept Kerry beating Cork in CP. That happened on two occasions
What Donegal proved in 2012 , when at their best they could beat anybody. We still have all those players today (-2) plus the ACE in the pack ::JIM MCGUINNESS

We might have only scored 13 points but it was how we went about it, it was like watching a new Monaghan team on the day , Not ever point goes over either but it's all banter lad, Donegal are a different Animal in the championship than the league and things are looking more positive this year for you's than last year so I have no idea how this will go, We'll leave it to the two teams, Goodluck on the day

MonaghanGlory (Monaghan) - Posts: 738 - 10/07/2014 17:05:38    1616949

Well this is it and would be my thoughts on Donegal as well. They motor along nicely till the 3rd quarter and then comes the turbo charge to win the game. Seen signs of it in the league final as well when in fairness they had a good 3rd quarter to draw level. Its as if they pace themselves and then hit you hard. A very formidable team when they click no question. Their displays in 2012 against Kerry and Cork were top class. Can we beat them again ? Yes absolutely but will take a mammoth effort and a lot of things going right. I don't buy into the argument that we have the indian sign over them. Every time we have beaten them we were the better side on the day and pressed it home. They could well do the same on Sunday week it happens thats sport and when you meet a team a few times in finals hard to win them all. One thing that would worry me is our midfield and our lack of alternatives to bring in especially in the last 10-15 minutes. One thing that should worry Donegal is the long lay off since the semi final and the paucity of opposition so far this year in Ulster for them. Monaghan will definitely crank it up a few levels from what they have faced so far.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1802 - 10/07/2014 17:45:53    1616982

RightFull
County: Monaghan

Have been to quite a few Donegal matches the last few years including the last 3 against Monaghan. They're a formidable outfit when they click, no question. This was very evident in the Letterkenny league match, though Monaghan were very flat that day. However, they seem to win all their matches foraging ahead on the scoreboard in the first half then turning up the heat in the 3rd quarter when the opposition tries to chase the game. Not sure how good they are when they've to chase a game themselves like with the Monaghan and Mayo defeats. Really difficult match to call and will definitely be a contest to savor

Well i wouldn't look at the results of last year v monaghan or mayo, as we were so off the pace it was no contest. I think that the league final is a more reasonable assessment of where the teams were or are at. We did a bit better, but were still well beaten. I think Derry were 3 ahead of us at one stage in the first half in derry 6 weeks ago, but we didnt panic, and looked composed even when chasing the game. So there is a few ways of looking at form, and none of it is consistent. Monaghan are a second half team too, and have tactical astuteness to back up the fitness and players. There will be a change in the donegal tactic on sunday week in terms of total reliance on the full forward line. I expect a lot of runners coming thru with the ball, which will pose Monaghan a good few questions about how to stop them. Intriguing.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 10/07/2014 18:23:05    1617000

10/07/2014 15:59:25
ben1977

Definetly leave him at CHB, hopefully they won't do a Mc Hugh on him..........

Good man Ben, you still have,nt got over last years defeat..You're are probably the only Donegal poster on here who is still harping on about that 50/50 challenge between McHugh and Gollogly. Get over it man!

On another note what does everyone think of Maurice Deegan as ref for the final? I think he is a fairly straight and fair referee but can be very fussy on his day. As far as I can remember I think he was referee when Donegal won the All Ireland against Mayo in 2012? So i,m sure the Donegal lads will be pleased with his appointment.

HeadButter (Monaghan) - Posts: 282 - 10/07/2014 19:02:07    1617019

Donegal will win by comfortable margin! Monaghan have not played the real Donegal yet and there now back!

Spiderman (Donegal) - Posts: 248 - 10/07/2014 19:07:09    1617024