Monaghan v Donegal

prideof85
County: Monaghan

Gary in fairness the league final was a ten point hammering for Donegal as the penalty was outside the box and the ulster final was also a ten point defeat as the Donegal defender handled the ball on the ground in the square also the inside forward line is not scoring as two two macs could have been taken off

The 2013 Ulster final was a proper hammering, but I didn't really get that feeling in the Division 2 final.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 08/07/2014 21:41:32    1616068

Donegal are not the team they were in 2012. I expect Monaghan to win by 5/6 points. It's a crying shame Derry didnt make it to final as we wouldnt

be pushed around by the Monaghan bully boys like Donegal are!

oakman (Derry) - Posts: 87 - 08/07/2014 22:03:14    1616080

We may be neighbors Oakman but you're on another planet.

On Derry's championship form they'd struggle to win an u/12 blitz and being from Donegal I know what I'm talking about.

Cleatus (Donegal) - Posts: 125 - 09/07/2014 08:11:20    1616084

Oakman,
The less bull & bluster from Derry men, after the fiasco of your summer, the better.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 09/07/2014 09:31:27    1616125

oakman, what are you on about?

Like the Derry full forward line stood up to the McGees in June is it you mean? They were like 2 wee mice against the boys men from Gaoth Dobhair!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9151 - 09/07/2014 09:37:00    1616126

Oakman
Can't agree with you Oakman. Now you saw (that's if u were at the game) yourself how Derry coped in the second half v Donegal. When Donegal set up the road blocks Derry had not a clue. Joe Brolly admitted that last week in the Gaelic Life. Derry failed completely against the blanket defence. In last years decider Donegal were all over the place and as regards the Div 2final I would not read too much into it. I can see a very tight physical game Sunday and our forward line could consist of CToye 6-3, o McNellis 6-2 C McFadden 6-2 PMcBrearty 6-2 and MMurphy 6-1. The only small forwards we have :::RMcHugh:::: DO'Connor. Around 5/6. 5/7. We also can play Leo McL in the forward line :::again around 6-0 So we are not a small team ,we won't be bullied ,this team has not been bullied and we played desperate hard games against Tyrone (3) I the last 3years plus last year against Down was a right war. But we came out on the right side and won on each occasion. Since Jim took over We have only lost one championship game in Ulster so I should think that says enough about being bullied. Plus do you not think Donegal are'n able to do a bit of bullying themselves. ???
All this don't mean that Derry could not give Monaghan a game. Off course they could but not at present with the state of the Derry county team.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 09/07/2014 09:41:40    1616128

Monaghan for me to win this one.

The lack of pace in the Donegal side was really shown up in the Div 2 Final.
Although maybe they were over-trained at that stage in the season, only the Donegal lads will know for sure....

I was also surprised at how well Monaghan stood up to the Donegal physicality.

I was also taken aback at how easy McManus gave the 2 McGee brothers the run around.
They couldn't handle him at all - although in saying that, not many defenders can.

I just feel Monaghan will have the measure of Donegal this year.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 09/07/2014 16:58:20    1616480

Monaghan to beat Donegal in Ulster Final. Jimmy Mac to take over at Parkhead.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1745 - 09/07/2014 17:47:40    1616504

Hard to beat the neutral view

prideof85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 851 - 09/07/2014 17:53:20    1616508

Thoughts are beginning to turn to the line ups for the final.

Now I am the first to admit that JMcG's thought processes are a wonder to behold & I am also sure that the team that lines out will bear no relation to the team named but it might look something like this.

Durcan
Mc Gee
Mc Gee
Mc Grath
Mc Glynn
Lacey
Thompson
Gallagher
Kavanagh
McLoone
Toye
Mc Hugh
McNiallais
Murphy
Mc Fadden

I would see McNiallias out in the middle of the field leaving Murphy & McFadden inside.

Of course it may well end up looking nothing like this with McBrearty, O'Connor, McElhinney & Molloy all possibly starting, who knows!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 09/07/2014 18:00:13    1616511

Hello my Donegal friends, I'm not saying Donegal didn't deserve to beat Derry..of course they did..far better team on the day. I just feel that Derry would relish the physical challenge that would come from Monaghan and we certainly don't fear them as history will show..

But I'm not so sure about Donegal having the stomach to face this current Monaghan team who I suggest are more tougher and physical than ever. I'm confident you would put it up to the likes of Kerry, Mayo or Dublin who are not so much in your face as this team..

Maybe I'm wrong but Sunday week will tell a tale..May the best team win!

oakman (Derry) - Posts: 87 - 09/07/2014 18:15:40    1616517

GaryMc82
County: Derry

The 2013 Ulster final was a proper hammering, but I didn't really get that feeling in the Division 2 final
. Obviously not since you insist for some reason on justifying your view with a Donegal penalty goal which was proven afterwards on TV as not being a penalty in the first place.

Donegal were well beaten in the league final and that was agreed by the RTE analysts afterwards !

If Donegal lose UF they are gone as a team whereas this Monaghan team have the ability to bounce back. However Donegal will not beat this Monaghan team...no way and they know it ...therein lies their problem !

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 09/07/2014 19:00:11    1616530

oakman

1616517 Hello my Donegal friends, I'm not saying Donegal didn't deserve to beat Derry..of course they did..far better team on the day. I just feel that Derry would relish the physical challenge that would come from Monaghan and we certainly don't fear them as history will show..

What history ?....Derry are woeful in physicality stakes. This current Monaghan team would blow away Derry and everyone accepts that ! Donegal much stronger physically and deserve our respect.

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 09/07/2014 19:09:57    1616532

Shelbourne...... Time will tell but I wouldn't be so confident from a Monaghan perspective, Donegal would have been waiting on this game and I can assure you they won't be beaten for lack of stomach...... If yous beat is it will have been a hell of a performance on your behalf and I'm not sure yous have it in yous if we are still on the game with 15/20 to go....... Law of averages points to a Donegal win the same way it applied to yous when yous faced Tyrone, 20 th July will tell us a lot about both teams

ben1977 (Donegal) - Posts: 364 - 09/07/2014 19:16:35    1616534

Fionn // Oakman

Don't worry about McGees v McManus ,, Don't worry about the Div 2final and don't worry about Monaghan/Donegal and the physical side of things.
Sundays week's game is just another meeting between DvM Both managers will have done their utmost to have both teams tuned up to perfection
I'm sure JMcG will have seen what he wanted and will act accordingly This match will be based on tactics I can see both teams giving it their all , there will be plenty of dirty ball to be won , but there are plenty of players on both sides capable of doing that.
I give Donegal at the very least a50/50 chance and if back to their best would expect them to win I am basing that on the fact that over the last three years the Donegal team have achieved more than the Monaghan team Now time could be catching up on them but I doubt it, not this year anyhow. I doubt if J McG would have stayed if he thought Donegal were finished plus he made sure that the championship in Donegal was shelved while we were still in the race for Sam Otherwise I doubt he would have stayed on

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 09/07/2014 19:27:28    1616539

Shelbourne

GaryMc82

The 2013 Ulster final was a proper hammering, but I didn't really get that feeling in the Division 2 final. Obviously not since you insist for some reason on justifying your view with a Donegal penalty goal which was proven afterwards on TV as not being a penalty in the first place.

Donegal were well beaten in the league final and that was agreed by the RTE analysts afterwards !

Well there you have it then, If the RTE analysts all agree on it, then its gospel.

But based on the full game I watched, I strongly disagreed with the other pundits on how strong of a performance it was.
Monaghan were without a doubt the better team on the day, but there were other things I watched that made me think Donegal would win this battle in the summer.

Monaghan were set up and basically playing exactly how they will play in the Ulster final on July 20th, however Donegal did not. McGuinness was trying a few things, and basically having a look at how certain players faired against the likes of Darren Hughes and Co. Don't buy that, then whats the chances of Luke Keaney starting in the Ulster Final?

McGuinness wanted to win the game, but the most Important thing was seeing what worked against Monaghan and what did not. Would you not do that if you had the chance?

Yes Donegal to win, and by 4 or 5 points I expect.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 09/07/2014 21:45:52    1616601

Shelbourne

oakman

1616517 Hello my Donegal friends, I'm not saying Donegal didn't deserve to beat Derry..of course they did..far better team on the day. I just feel that Derry would relish the physical challenge that would come from Monaghan and we certainly don't fear them as history will show..

What history ?....Derry are woeful in physicality stakes. This current Monaghan team would blow away Derry and everyone accepts that ! Donegal much stronger physically and deserve our respect.

Ah now Shelbourne, your must be sniffing your armpits there.

Derry are far from woeful in the physical stakes, in fact man for man we are as big and strong as any team in Ulster.

Derry's problem is how they set up, they enjoy playing open flowing games and flourish in those normally. But have constantly struggled against blanket defense sides. Not because they have been physically outdone, but because Derry have been tactically outdone. That is something that needs to be looked at, but man for man we have the quality.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 09/07/2014 21:58:53    1616609

Shelbourne

oakman

shelbourne. I don,t want to start a Derry v Monaghan debate here but just to refresh your memory does 24th May 2009 not ring a bell? Celtic Park, Derry 1-10 Monaghan 0-10? we gave youse boys one hell of a beating that day..not on the scoreboard mind you!!

Anyway back to the main topic. I still think Monaghan will be far too powerful and strong for this Donegal team once again. But that's not saying that Donegal wont go a bit further through the back door...

oakman (Derry) - Posts: 87 - 10/07/2014 08:32:45    1616616

Shelbourne
I have to disagree with you on what you say about Donegal knowing that they can't beat Monaghan. Now that's not the way J McG would send out a team to contest the Ulster final , if anything he wil have them convinced that they can beat Monaghan. He took most of those players over when Donegal football was at a very low ebb The way he turned that team around , went on to win 2Ulsters and the Sam was in my book a fantastic achievement as a manager. Monaghan might have players every bit as good as Donegal, some might be better, might not be better but M o' Roark has a long way to travel with them yet to match Donegal's achievements over the last 3 years.
Since 2011 we can judge Donegal on their showing against the top teams in Ireland and what we do know , when at their best Donegal were able for any team. We only have to go back two years to prove that.
On the other hand we have not seen this Monaghan team play any of the big boys down south Kerry, Mayo Dublin or even Cork( bad and all as they were last Sunday ). We have saw them in action against Tyrone /Donegal. Twice against Tyrone and once against Donegal in the championship.
As regards the league::: Cork hammered Kerry in the spring.... Did that defeat hinder Kerry last Sunday???? 2012 league:::: Kerry hammer Donegal :::: Fastforward to August that year,, Donegal beat Kerry in CP in the QF. What happens in the league does not always repeat itself in the championship.
As regards Sunday week any of the two teams can win it but I think that this is one game that JMcG /Donegal will be out to prove a point. We have no injuries that I hear of , all our players are advailable , according to reports training has gone well so all being equal we won't have any excuses and I'm pretty confident of JIM MC GUINNESS having us in the right shape to regain the Anglo -Celt.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 10/07/2014 08:45:08    1616622

shelbourne. I don,t want to start a Derry v Monaghan debate here but just to refresh your memory does 24th May 2009 not ring a bell? Celtic Park, Derry 1-10 Monaghan 0-10? we gave youse boys one hell of a beating that day..not on the scoreboard mind you!!

Anyway back to the main topic. I still think Monaghan will be far too powerful and strong for this Donegal team once again. But that's not saying that Donegal wont go a bit further through the back door...

oakman (Derry) - Posts: 87 - 10/07/2014 09:11:13    1616635