Monaghan v Donegal

Yeah well done Donegal,best team on the day..........We were poor,no hunger like last year for it,just hope we get it back for Kildare match.

hardcore (Monaghan) - Posts: 1366 - 21/07/2014 17:15:52    1623216

Congrats to Donegal.
I was quietly confident before the game yesterday that we could win, but I have to say I was very impressed with Donegal.
They look even better than in 2012.
A lot of "pundits" are obsessed about their defensive set up (which is very solid) but offensively they are also very impressive.
Of their 15 points yesterday, 9 came from play and some superb points at that.
As for us, we were quite flat and tactically naive at times on the day but a lot of that was down to Donegal taking control of the game from early on.
A bad day at the office but I will never be too critical of our team, we have made great progress in the last 2 seasons and the team has given us another day out in Croker! (and possibly 2 if we can squeeze past Kildare)

Monagael (Monaghan) - Posts: 99 - 21/07/2014 17:25:35    1623227

Firstly well done to donegal, they out outplayed us and looked like they wanted it more, If some of the subs had been made earlier I think that the game could have been turned around but we hit many wides and threw the game away,
I thought that we should have been awarded a penalty in the first half also but no point complaining about it now,
At the end of the day we have handed are title over but we are still in the running and will look forward to game vs Kildare,
Can't understand how Drew Wylie and McBrearty did not get on hogan stand of the week, Drew had a great game on McFadden and McBrearty played very very well with some great scores, thought these two were good ,
Anyhow , Onwards and upwards , Muineachán Abú

MonaghanGlory (Monaghan) - Posts: 738 - 21/07/2014 18:10:19    1623271

Ah the usual whiners from the likes of Cavan and Louth out in full force again I see. Must be tough being from a county where you don't see any success anymore.

Congratulations to Donegal, a thoroughly deserved Ulster championship. Great to see how much it meant to all involved, players management and the fans.

One game at a time and all the rest but it is shaping up for a Donegal v Dublin collision course.

Samsforthehills (Donegal) - Posts: 1072 - 21/07/2014 19:01:39    1623344

Congrats to Donegal on a great double, best team won, no doubt. Malachy deserves great praise for what he has done for Monaghan, but yesterday his tactics did not work, especially when we we're chasing the game.

Hopefully we can re-group for Kildare in CP. For Donegal, it's onwards & upwards!

ps; did any one of ye at the match, notice the cheer when Monaghan goaled. I think it was the loudest I ever heard there!..the Stadium literally shock!

Monaghan Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 442 - 21/07/2014 19:53:12    1623403

I was behind the goals, was an unreal feeling alright when we got it, great atmosphere,
genuinely asking, will casement offer the same ?

MonaghanGlory (Monaghan) - Posts: 738 - 21/07/2014 20:28:21    1623437

Just got back to London and at long last saw what I wanted, Donegal lift both minor /Senior on the same day.
But first I want to say thanks to the Monaghan supporters for their great posts congratulating Donegal on their victory. Also had a good day in among them , real class people and hope you do well in your next game , could yet meet us in the semi. Also I think this coming season in Div 1 wil help Monaghan and let's not forget they had a fantastic day last year in the Ulster final, winning both senior/minor finals.
I thought Clones again was brilliant and I don't think many people will want the final transferred to Belfast.
Well Donegal played fairly well and from an early stage looked up for the game. Good displays from the young lads and I would let whoever want run down Ulster football but I was happy with the game yesterday , hard hitting fairly dour tense struggle and yet some good scores from both teams.
I have a feeling if Monaghan get over Kildare they will give Dublin plenty to think about. :::: remember 2007 v Kerry ;;;;;; Monaghan unlucky that day.
Two different writers in the papers today:::K maddening the Irish News::::Donegal had the most organised,effective defence system the game has ever seen ( yesterday's game )

Teddy McCarthy in thr Irish Mail hates Donegals system, hopes Dublin if we meet hammers us for the good of football. Also says if he thought young lads were going to copy Donegal , He would tell them to stop playing altogether. Now if we look at the 3 other provincial Finals , they were all one sided , yesterday's Ulster was not.
Any Congratulations to both Donegal teams and best of luck to the Monaghan team against Kildare and May their great supporters see Sam arrive in the next few years. All the best Monaghan.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 21/07/2014 21:21:08    1623522

MonaghanGlory
County: Monaghan

I was behind the goals, was an unreal feeling alright when we got it, great atmosphere,

Will it f**k. Scandalous decision, days like yesterday sum up what is great about Clones. It will never, ever be anywhere near as good in casement.

It's not just the ground either, it's the town and everything else.

Samsforthehills (Donegal) - Posts: 1072 - 21/07/2014 21:31:16    1623544

MonaghanGlory

I would prefer Clones over Casement, but that ship has sailed mores the pity. I love the atmosphere in St Tiernach's park, real pity

Always maintain that any half witted Ulster Council would have said "Is it really a smart Idea putting a stadium for the 9 Counties of Ulster in the extreme east of the Province".

But the mighty £££ wins in this case

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 21/07/2014 21:39:00    1623560

Monaghan glory
Can't see Casement matching Clones. It possible I'm old school but I have been going to Ulster finals in Clones for years. So I would prefer if they kept it in Clones.
It's where we won our first Ulster title and alough we often got beat still have happy memories there had great days there. Saw us play Monaghan ,Cavan, Tyrone, ArmaghDown and Derry in Ulster finals there.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 21/07/2014 21:52:34    1623587

Great post SamOnErrigal and well done on yesterday. Have always had plenty of time for Donegal fans proper GAA people who eat sleep and breathe the game. I wouldn't mind the media coverage of your county. Most of those lads would prefer teams like Donegal and Monaghan exited the championship back in May and June and their own counties reigned supreme so they can talk about the good old days. Best of luck in rest of championship.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1802 - 21/07/2014 21:54:41    1623590

It was a bit like watching association football played by Italians. Defensive, scores hard to come by. Not sure what some people are giving out about. Everyone who knows football knew what to expect. It's as if people were expecting performances like Mayo and Dublin Region after last year. While not the greatest of games within an Ulster context, it was still an absorbing battle.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7865 - 22/07/2014 09:00:35    1623623

I see DV has given us the nod against the Dubs should the game come to pass! It begins!!!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9149 - 22/07/2014 10:36:41    1623699

Well done to Donegal. Ye got the tactics right on the day, no complaints apart from one or two about the ref, but I still think better team won in the day.

Have to say last year donegal supporters around me we a credit to their county with more quite a number congratulating Monaghan supporters and patting us on our backs telling us to enjoy the day! So I have no trouble congratulating donegal this year!

Just hope we can chalk this down to a mixture of not performing and Donegal being hungrier. Hopefully we can regroup and take it to Kildare and then maybe give the dubs a crack after that.

Best of luck to Donegal for rest of year... You never know we may meet again!!

supermon (Monaghan) - Posts: 1073 - 22/07/2014 11:05:54    1623737

Haven't seen him posting in a few days, maybe he's still out celebrating but if your reading this Muck congrats, better team on the day

keep the Anglo Celt in good shape we will be looking for it back next year !

MonaghanGlory (Monaghan) - Posts: 738 - 22/07/2014 14:36:58    1624043

MonaghanGlory

Haven't seen him posting in a few days, maybe he's still out celebrating but if your reading this Muck congrats, better team on the day

Cheers Monaghan, I have a couple of posts here wishing ye well & noting the sportsmanship displayed by Monaghan lads which is in stark contrast to comments from other counties.

I'm not posting much at the moment partly because I am up to my eyes in work & partly because the threads at the moment are of a low standard. All people seem to want to do is witter on about "puke" & "negative" football & I'm not going to lower myself by getting involved in that bunfight.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 22/07/2014 20:04:17    1624442

MuckrossHead

MonaghanGlory

Cheers Monaghan, I have a couple of posts here wishing ye well & noting the sportsmanship displayed by Monaghan lads which is in stark contrast to comments from other counties.

I'm not posting much at the moment partly because I am up to my eyes in work & partly because the threads at the moment are of a low standard. All people seem to want to do is witter on about "puke" & "negative" football & I'm not going to lower myself by getting involved in that bunfight.

We can give out all we want about the ref and such but the better team did play better and some scores were a joy to see, McBrearty's being an example, good future for him,, hopefully we will have a better day out in Croke Park

If there is anyone other than Mayo who people think can an beat Dublin It's either us or Donegal , I think we would give them a good rattle, all the best in the rest of the championship

MonaghanGlory (Monaghan) - Posts: 738 - 22/07/2014 21:57:10    1624561

While I think most of the country would deep down like to see a Donegal v Dublin match, which left a lot of "What If" questions in peoples minds. In this era they have only played in that 2011 SF, and as the last 2 All Ireland Champions they have a certain aura around them. On top of that, they have the 2 most contrasting styles known to the modern game.

I reckon the hype of this potential clash could take attention away from Monaghan, who will definitely beat Kildare and enter the QF. This will guarantee they play Dublin.

Could you Imagine the national shock if Monaghan took Dublin in a All Ireland QF? They are well capable of doing it, and I believe capable of winning the All Ireland too.
Kevin McStay assured Pat Spillane, that any team that beats Monaghan will have proven their mental and physical strength to the core. He said he had spoken to players who had faced Monaghan, and McStay feels they offer a challenge like no other team, with the exception of pace.

Monaghan are power, they tackle hard, hit hard and have numerous long range kickers. Kieran Hughes is probably overshadowed by McManus, but he is an outstanding Inside forward.
Darren Hughes in my opinion rivals MD MacAuley and Aidan O'Shea as one of Ireland's top running midfielders, and Paul Finlay is superb and a man I was truely delighted to see winning a Ulster medal last year.

Defensively they are sound, and will no doubt be tweaking their defence in the aftermath of last Sundays game. Rory Beggan will need to change up his kickouts, as all the very top teams will target this. And the Monaghan bench didn't full me with confidence. However a lot of these things are on the day stuff, and are not major issues.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 23/07/2014 13:31:09    1624768