Galway v Mayo

Gary Mc82,

It seems you made up your mind last winter that mayo have gone backwards this year based on nothing other than a preconceived idea that no team can come back from 2 all Ireland defeats to win. The fact is there are no hard and fast rules in sport. I'm very happy with mayos energy and sharpness. We are improving each game, and doherty, mc loughlin and o Connor (from open play) have improved significantly from last year. Oh and by the way I actually think Roscommon could beat either Donegal or Monaghan.

Mayostar (Mayo) - Posts: 40 - 13/07/2014 21:21:26    1618582

13/07/2014 21:21:26
Mayostar

Gary Mc82,

It seems you made up your mind last winter that mayo have gone backwards this year based on nothing other than a preconceived idea that no team can come back from 2 all Ireland defeats to win. The fact is there are no hard and fast rules in sport. I'm very happy with mayos energy and sharpness. We are improving each game, and doherty, mc loughlin and o Connor (from open play) have improved significantly from last year. Oh and by the way I actually think Roscommon could beat either Donegal or Monaghan.

No I got thinking back in the spring, and since then the thought has been reinforced.

Listening to Martin Carney today talk about how this year James Horan was planning more towards peaking in September, I couldn't help but wonder "What the hell was he planning for the past 3 years?".

Mayo are the same Mayo from the past few seasons. The same Mayo that Donegal beat by 4 points in 2012, and the same Mayo that Dublin bested last year by a point.

They will shake tactics up and try different things, but they don't have that sparkle this year. They master at beating All Ireland champions the year after they win the All Ireland and are no longer hungry.
EXAMPLE:
2011 - CORK
2012 - DUBLIN
2013 - DONEGAL

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 13/07/2014 21:48:25    1618613

Hungover but happy....I don't care what anybody says beating Galway still matters a hell of a lot especially when your not far from the border. Mayo never got out of third gear and upped it when they needed too. Gway were put are improving and I wish the well against tipp.

Surprised nobody has mentioned Colm Boyles massive FAIR shoulder bit on Comer. He sent him into the middle of las week. Rory Hickey though seems to believe that's illegal now.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 14/07/2014 09:56:27    1618701

Aye wouldn't read too much in to yesterdays final. Wasn't the most exciting game to watch as a neutral (as neutral as I can be with a Mayo wife :-) ) but I felt that Mayo weren't going full pelt and anytime Galway did claw it back to 4, 5 or 6 points Mayo upped their game again to pull away a few more. It was a bit like last years Final against London in that Mayo probably knew that there wasn't really that much chance of them not lifting the trophy though like last year there were moments of complacency from Mayo. However, I don't expect them to have the same issues come the QF and I think you will see them playing in a much higher gear throughout.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 14/07/2014 10:05:23    1618712

If i was James Horan i wouldnt be too happy they won by 7Had Galway a few Decent fowards and someone capable of takinga penalty we could be looking at a different result the fewtimes when Galway ran at the Mayo backs they were in all kindsof trouble. Galway should have varied there kick outs Mayo arevery beatable if they make it to the Ai Final which i doubt allthey can expect is another beaten from the Dubs

You're not James Horan who is very delighted that we won and he has plenty of room for improvement. The man doesn't deal in ifs, buts and maybes. Better to have the team like this than smashing the lights out.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7364 - 14/07/2014 10:13:33    1618721

Yeah Green and Red - actually was saying to the wife that if you added up the wides for each team and the penalty miss then I think it would have been a draw. Thing is though thats assuming all the wides would have been scored though in fairness Galways wides were a lot worse than Mayos in that they had quite a few from 30m and closer - was actually embarassing some of the misses they had at intercounty level. Still, I think had Galway scored a few of the wides to close the gap then Mayo would have upped it again.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 14/07/2014 10:24:07    1618742

From a Galway point of view i am proud of the players but disapointed with the manager.. ON a plus side we scored 16 points missed a pen, rattled the crossbar so on another day could have had 2 17 or so. Now Mayo could have had a bigger scoreline as well as Lee Keegan was given the freedom of the park at stages. We were cleaned out at midfield no changes from our sideline to try and pick upo the breaks, O neill was geting roasted by O Connor, no changes from our sideline! No Plan b at all , Cummins and Hoare had some terrible misses so i would expect Kavangh and Armstrong to start the next day.. I believe that Galway will come good in the next year or two.

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 14/07/2014 10:26:35    1618746

The one which rattled the crossbar was a bad decision in my opinion. He shot from a fair distance out (in goal shooting terms) when he had a man totally free to his right who was in a far better position to get the goal.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 14/07/2014 10:31:12    1618752

Yew tree savage hit and for me it was fair , I said the same a few weeks ago when Laois played Fermanagh the full back hit O
Loughlin the best shoulder I've seen in years then he did it again but the women on here thought it was to rough. Colm Boyle I salute you great shoulder and should never have been a free.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 14/07/2014 10:41:06    1618761

great shoulder indeed, the problem for the Galway lad was that the pass was given too far in front of him, didn't have anytime to prepare for the shoulder

Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 14/07/2014 10:59:18    1618788

Congrats on the 4 in a row, great achievement!! I think the improvement in Roscommon and Galway will make it a better championship next year and this can only help Mayo when it comes to later in the championship.
Some nice scores yesterday but in fairness Galways intensity in the tackle was fairly poor and you won't see any player from any county moving past 3 or 4 players from quarters on without getting dispossessed. Very impressed again with Cillian O Connor, had he been fully fit last September he could have had a bigger impact from general play.
Hard to know where Mayo are at for now but are certainly in the top 4 and only time will tell if the have progressed from last year.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 14/07/2014 10:59:37    1618789

Fair play to mayo. 4 in a row is a tough feat to achieve in Connacht so congrats. It'll take some team to stop them-hopefully us in the semi final!!!!

I personally think there are a lot of positives from us. Our defence and midfield need to tighten up a hell of a lot, but we scored well-the heads didn't drop and if we beat tipp we'll be in a quarter final for the 1st time in a long time.

At the start of the year I was looking at progressing, in my eyes a win next Saturday and we will have done that, and you never know what could happen. That's if we get past tipp though. They have shown some form this season and it'll be one hell if a challenge for the lads.

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 14/07/2014 11:48:25    1618821

Well done to Mayo and good luck against Cork in the qf

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1672 - 14/07/2014 11:50:23    1618826

I thought Galway played well yesterday,I know counties tend to play better in c'ship but we played dem in d league back in april and dey hav come on an awful lot since den.hard luck yesterday.

blueforever (Louth) - Posts: 14 - 14/07/2014 12:02:54    1618840

Rosineri1
County: UK

great shoulder indeed, the problem for the Galway lad was that the pass was given too far in front of him, didn't have anytime to prepare for the shoulder

Absolutely, it was a fair shoulder, according to the rules, & no fault at all to the Mayo player. But as Ros says the Galway player had no chance at all to prepare for it & to defend himself & that in my view is a problem.
Not much point in fellas wittering on here about player welfare if we can't offer basic protection to players from blindside hits which could do serious damage.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 14/07/2014 13:05:33    1618899