Galway v Mayo

That was a poor game. I can see Tipp defeating Galway in next round.

naharcs (Limerick) - Posts: 59 - 13/07/2014 16:27:26    1618320

Jesus am I the only one who thought Mayo were good, they won comfortably what more do people want? Poster saying there not great yet they won easy what do people want? Ok it's basically the same team that hasn't been good enough before but there not that far away , my only complaint is there consistent diving but tbf every team does that nowadays. I for one hope we beat Meath so we stay away from Mayo.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 13/07/2014 16:42:08    1618334

I would be inclined to agree with you clondalkin!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 13/07/2014 17:13:27    1618370

We're really sorry we didn't provide enough entertainment for the rest of ye. Hard to please everyone. Well done to our Minors too.

Maigh Eo Abú!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7364 - 13/07/2014 17:19:00    1618376

This is exactly doublehop's point in his thread. Mayo were as good as they had to be and not poor.

http://www.hoganstand.com/forum/MessagePage.aspx?TopicID=89280

People are too harsh on Mayo. They were better today than the Dubs were against Laois for example but nobody's negative about them.

If Mayo face the Dubs before the AI final I'd fancy them to beat them. I think that's motivation enough for Dublin to beat Meath and make sure there's no upset.

As of now the top 4 is Dublin/Kerry/Dublin/Mayo.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 13/07/2014 18:03:34    1618417

Mayo did very well today & won comfortably in the end.

There hasn't been much noise from The Mayo camp this year & a low profile campaign might suit them more than the high octae stuff of previous years.

Even on HS the Mayo lads have been quieter more measured with Masters dissertations absent & 51longago nowhere to be seen.

I'd be very wary of them.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 13/07/2014 18:09:06    1618422

Jaysus, I know some reckon the Dubs are supposed to be twice as good as the rest but that's ridiculous.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7364 - 13/07/2014 18:12:35    1618426

What is ridiculous GreenandRed?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 13/07/2014 18:28:18    1618443

What is ridiculous GreenandRed?

According to JackGoff the top 4 are Dublin/Kerry/Dublin/Mayo

Not even the most rabid Dub has endowed the blue maestros with the gift of bi-location, I suppose it was only a matter of time.

Will they come up against themselves in the final?

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 13/07/2014 18:56:14    1618470

of course we made basic errors etc etc but it is not all doom and gloom for our young team. in the last 12 and 50 50 chance of beating a good tipp team. as for the cavan poster about us a 13-20 team I would love to know your basis for making ridiculous statements like that. mayo far more experienced and played well. remember we missed a few easy chances in the first half and missed a penalty. if we tighten up the full back line and become more clinical in front of goal we might surprise a few.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1947 - 13/07/2014 19:41:49    1618505

I enjoy watching this Mayo team.I dont think they get the credit they deserve in some quarters.They will be hard beaten this year.I wouldnt begrudge Mayo winning the All Ireland.In fact,i would embrace it.It would be good for the game.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 13/07/2014 19:52:14    1618514

If they did surely twice as many begrudgers would complain about both teams having home advantage! Hard to see past The Dubs in fairness though Meath will test their credentials.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7364 - 13/07/2014 19:57:55    1618517

For me this was a no win situation for Mayo. Anything other than a comfortable win they we going to be criticized.

They did what they had to do without ever extending themselves.

Can't really ask for any more.

Cleatus (Donegal) - Posts: 125 - 13/07/2014 20:11:01    1618522

Well done Mayo on another Connaught title. I reckon our close game re-focused you lot. If any team bar ourseleves(well you have to dream) win it I hope ye can do it. We are going to be the force to be reckoned with out West in the future though.

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1080 - 13/07/2014 20:25:19    1618528

If i was James Horan i wouldnt be too happy they won by 7
Had Galway a few Decent fowards and someone capable of taking
a penalty we could be looking at a different result the few
times when Galway ran at the Mayo backs they were in all kinds
of trouble. Galway should have varied there kick outs Mayo are
very beatable if they make it to the Ai Final which i doubt all
they can expect is another beaten from the Dubs

wfkerry (USA) - Posts: 933 - 13/07/2014 20:33:41    1618532

13/07/2014 16:42:08

Jesus am I the only one who thought Mayo were good, they won comfortably what more do people want? Poster saying there not great yet they won easy what do people want? Ok it's basically the same team that hasn't been good enough before but there not that far away , my only complaint is there consistent diving but tbf every team does that nowadays. I for one hope we beat Meath so we stay from Mayo .

clondalkindub,
win or lose against Meath ye can only meet Mayo in final...

HeadButter (Monaghan) - Posts: 282 - 13/07/2014 20:45:06    1618539

Why where do we end up if we lose? I've no idea what way the draw works this year?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 13/07/2014 21:02:53    1618554

one of Round 4b winners...

HeadButter (Monaghan) - Posts: 282 - 13/07/2014 21:07:57    1618564

13/07/2014 21:02:53

Why where do we end up if we lose? I've no idea what way the draw works this year?

Roscommon, Armagh, Kildare or Clare....

HeadButter (Monaghan) - Posts: 282 - 13/07/2014 21:10:48    1618569

I don't think it was a poor game. It wasn't flawless from either side, but Mayo look like their later preps this year have them just beginning to hit their stride. Galway have certainly made progress and didn't fold, making a game of it in the second half. It's shaping up to be a good year for the West. Looking forward too to seeing if Meath can ruffle some blue feathers next week, with the Dubs having been on cruise control so far.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 13/07/2014 21:17:38    1618575