Dublin v Meath

RoyalClass

Very surprised with Meath's tactics today. We should have been more conservative instead of trying to go toe to toe with Dublin.

Did we really go toe to toe with them though? A lot of the time Meath players seemed to just fall back without laying a finger on the dublin players giving them all the time and space in the world. Harnan in particular seemed to drop back in front of the full back line whenever his man had possession on the 40. Suicidal tactics really.

A lot of poor calls from the line today, Wallace is a fine young footballer but he clearly isn't physically ready for this level of football. Strange decision leaving Meade out with McDonagh in also, didn't really see the sense in it.

Dublin were typically brilliant going forward, but they also defended very astutely. Bray was our main threat vs. Kildare was marked out of the game and never got an inch.

Very disappointed with the attitude of certain players, one player in particular I wouldn't mind seeing him dropped from the panel.

Would be surprised if we could get a result against Armagh now. Hopefully the players show a bit of character because there was none shown today.

Hank_Scorpio (Meath) - Posts: 60 - 20/07/2014 20:48:01    1622325

19/07/2014 10:30:25
Former_Poster

Gamble starting Brogan

Bernard Brogan's 2014 season to-date:

League semi final vs Cork, 26 mins, 0-4 (0-3f)
League final vs Derry, 70 mins, 1-6 (0-3f)
Leinster championship vs Laois, 23 mins, 0-1 (0-1f)

A total of 119 mins competitive action coming up against a Meath defender, maybe Reilly or Keoghan, who have been training for this since last October and have played all the league games and the championship games.

I really can't see Brogan having much of an impact with that kind of preparation. He might make a sizeable contribution from frees and perhaps he'll get on the end of a few attacks if things pan out well for him.

However this is one-sixth of the attacking threat and I think Meath will cope with it.

Berno didn't do too bad scoring 1-6 :)

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 20/07/2014 21:06:18    1622351

Hank_Scorpio

The space we afforded Dublin every time they attacked was not that of a time with defense as their priority. You can't let Dublin run at you like that with the players they have at their disposal. Suicide mission in my opinion unless you have the caliber of players that can really penetrate them.

When you are clearly that inferior to the opposing team, defense must be priority. To me, we didn't shore up enough to keep ourselves in the contest.

RoyalClass (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 20/07/2014 21:08:40    1622356

20/07/2014 15:27:19
Count_Awesome

Dubs surprisingly slow to join the fight there. Darragh O Sé and Armagh will be taking notes

Suckvalley, that depends on your definition of "better". Meath wouldn't get a beating like this in Connacht.

Must have been the quickest the Meath lads moved all afternoon rushing in for a row 20 points down

HandyMoran (Roscommon) - Posts: 327 - 20/07/2014 21:12:26    1622366

20/07/2014 15:40:28
batterburger

Complete embarassment. Just as I thought and just as I said. Dublin played it down and Meath thought they were better after beating a shocking Kildare team.

as heartless as Cork??

HandyMoran (Roscommon) - Posts: 327 - 20/07/2014 21:13:40    1622371

20/07/2014 16:05:47
lilywhite28

I don't get this Dublin region reference can anybody explain ?

Must using a therapy to get over the dubs robbing Kerry in 2011?

HandyMoran (Roscommon) - Posts: 327 - 20/07/2014 21:15:31    1622375

yet again no sign of G Reilly in a big game for Meath

HandyMoran (Roscommon) - Posts: 327 - 20/07/2014 21:20:09    1622389

What a really pathetic performance ! Thought we might at least have attempted to stymie the Cluxton kick outs , but no effort made in this regard !
Will not be going to qualifiers , and would ask that Kevin Reilly stay away from all media until he and this team puts in a reasonable shift ! Wexford
Put up a better show than us . No player on our squad would make the Dublin top 34 . Really terrible effort all round .

noluso (Meath) - Posts: 164 - 20/07/2014 21:25:13    1622402

He expended too much energy pushing the Kildare boys around!!

Kildare30 (Kildare) - Posts: 603 - 20/07/2014 21:28:47    1622411

Not disagreeing with you there Royalclass, we gave Dublin acres of space all day. It looked a bit like the players were told to drop deep and play conservative when dubs had possession, but there was no pressure put on them out the field. A kind of half hearted effort to play defensively. Doesn't help when fitness is an issue and certain players just put in no effort whatsoever

Hank_Scorpio (Meath) - Posts: 60 - 20/07/2014 21:35:27    1622420

Great performance by Dublin & tough on Meath.

I never really saw Meath winning this but even I am surprised at the gulf between the two sides.

For the Meath lads, especially their flag bearer royaldunne, this must be a bleak morning but if it's any consolation I well remember only a few short years ago Cork putting 1-28 on Donegal in a All Ireland QF & I thought we were finished for years. The rest, as they say, is history.

Meath have had great years & will have them again. There is the nucleus of a fine side there & ye just have to keep at it & graft harder. What struck me about the Leinster final yesterday was the lack of intensity from Meath. Dublin players had acres of space in which to strut their stuff no better men to strut.
The contrast with the Ulster final was stark & while as a game it wasn't the greatest display for the neutral Meath could do worse than watch the video & ask themselves why they couldn't bring the same bite & make Dublin work harder.
Not having brilliant players in every position is something we all have to contend with. But what every team should aspire to is givine everything & leaving nothing behind on the pitch. Meath didn't do that yesterday.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 21/07/2014 09:31:07    1622513

Royal dunne, Htaem and the rest of the lads I expected to win but margin was surprising, Ye still have a big game against Armagh and I hope Ye do it. People slagging Meath posters for supporting their county and being optimistic before throw in would want to cop on. Interesting the culprits are the same that disappear when their county lose, at least all the Meath lads came on after a very hard defeat to take and took it on the chin. Best of luck in qualifiers lads.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 21/07/2014 10:03:27    1622533

Muckross do u still think Rory O Carroll is a weak link?

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 21/07/2014 10:04:07    1622535

I don't actually believe people are giving Dublin enough credit for this win. While Meath were naive to in a way match up to Dublin, Dublin were simply brilliant. If your going to matchup to Dublin on kickouts 1v1 then you'd better win your fair share, because you will not have time to bring 7 or 8 fellas back with the pace Dublin move the ball. If your going to concede possession 1v1 as easy as meath did, you've got to go plan B, let them have it, but drop back into a blanket. Every attack Dublin looked like scoring. Their pace and intensity is so second nature to all their players it looks simple, it looks like they're in 'second gear'. They aren't. When you look at their panel and lads they're missing or just didn't promote from u21 it's scary stuff. Most of the dubs all Ireland winning u21 team this year would start for 90% of counties yet some of them haven't had a sniff of the senior panel. Incredible strength. Everyone else is lagging behind. Donegal have the best chance of beating them as Donegal looked more like 2012 donegal yesterday, but other than that I wouldn't harbor much hope. Kerry and Mayo next best placed.

Juggernaut (USA) - Posts: 110 - 21/07/2014 10:12:14    1622547

Very Disappointing From a Meath point of View. Anyone could see after 20mins that the Meath tactics were not working. I would have rather gone toe to toe with the Dubs and got a moral victory losing by 5 or 6 points than the drubbing we got yesterday. Ok We tried something new and it didn't work. We need to bury yesterday and move on to Armagh in 2 weeks. People on here saying they won't be attending the qualifier are probably the same people who left Croke Park with 10mins to go yesterday. Support your county through good and bad. As for Dublin, Fantastic team all over the park. Congrats to them on a fine performance and best of look in the 1/4 finals. You will be hard beaten this year. Well done again

chriscart580 (Meath) - Posts: 376 - 21/07/2014 10:17:02    1622549

cuederocket

Muckross do u still think Rory O Carroll is a weak link?

The first salvo in what is going to be an interesting couple of weeks.

No cuede, ROC is a great player & I have always thought so. Any comments to the contrary were more aimed at winding up his greatest fan, clondalkin, than any serious assessment of his abilities.

Dublin are a super team, the best in the country & I really enjoy watching the., I do not however believe for one minute that they are unbetable. The truth is that the standard in Leinster is woeful & should both teams get that far I think Donegal really have a chance against them.

I know that yesterday's Ulster final wasn't one for the footballing purist but it was Donegal back to their best & with a full bench to call on. The contrast in styles is total & I can guarantee a full house & the whole country tuning in.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 21/07/2014 10:17:10    1622551

Ive always been a fan of Meath football.Not sure many Dubs would concur but i shouted for Meath in All Ireland finals in 87,88 and 99.Ive always respected the hard,fair direct way they play the game.I was obviously delighted with Dublins performance yesterday,but also felt a tinge of sadness for a proud county like Meath,to see how big the gap in standard was.Frightening really.At times it was like a senior v intermediate game.Really could have been over twenty points in it at the end.The way its going Dublin could win 9 of the next 10 Leinster Finals and thats no good for anyone.After yesterday ive decided to not go to anymore Leinster games.Call me a fair weather supporter or whatever but ill only attend All Ireland semi finals and final(if were lucky enough to make it).While admiring Dublins skill and stamina levels i didnt really enjoy the game.It was over as a contest after 10 minutes.I actually turnred to my friend then and predicted a twenty point win.Ominous for the rest of the country.Hope Meath go on a bit of a run now and put a bit of pride backin the jersey.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 21/07/2014 10:19:22    1622552

Yes i agree.Donegal,Mayo,Kerry and Dublin each have a great chance of winning the All Ireland.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 21/07/2014 10:21:42    1622556

proevo

tiobraid
County: Tipperary

Any Meath man that goes to Croker thinking they can compete with Dublin will get some reality check.

Unfortunately Meath are well down the pecking order and Dublin -12 points will be a safe bet.

With all due respect, you probably know very little about the Meath-Dublin rivalry. We always go to Croker with the hope of beating anybody we play, even with average Meath teams we will give anybody a game. There is a level of desire and commitment expected from Meath players. I don't think we have a great team but an improving one. Why would we go with a completely defeatist attitude like and no hope? Dublin are the best team around but anybody from Meath and Dublin know games between ourselves take on a life of their own. Dublin favourites certainly, but we've the ability to compete if the correct tactics are introduced by the management.

With all due respect most neutrals saw this coming. Maybe Tipp people know something about football after all. My PP account says I do anyway. Its no disrepect to Meath but they havent the players or fitness levels to compete with Dublin

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 21/07/2014 10:51:42    1622610

Ye very disappointing but what can you say, Dublin were unstoppable yesterday, if we went toe to toe like last year we might have gotten closer but the result was inevitable either way. We never really clicked on the day, the tactics weren't great either, I genuinely thought Meath played with fear yesterday and there was a distinct lack of passion and pride which was a bit bizarre.

Yesterday was a horrendous day for Meath supporters but look sure it, nobody died, it's not the end of the world although it might feel like it for a few hours. Congrats to the Dubs again, they're a joy to watch for the neutral and they're going to be hard to beat no matter who they play, certainly if the Dubs play the rest of their games like they played yesterday they won't be stopped.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 21/07/2014 11:09:21    1622637