Dublin v Meath

Another great performance by the Dubs. With both sides using the same kick out strategy it was like watching a training match at times. Meath just couldn't live with the pace and relentless movement of the Dubs, especially with so much uncontested ball. The question now is whether the Ulster sides can slow the Dubs down.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 20/07/2014 19:33:46    1622194

great win today
9th leinster title in 10 years is a brilliant achievment
and 3-20 again is some scoring
thats 11,16 and 16 point wins in this years leinster championship.
feel sorry for meath supporters nobody likes taking a hiding like that
and I think they believed the media talk all week that they were going to run dublin close
without actually going out and doing just that.
we were well prepared for this match today and had some great performers
kevin mcmannoman put in his best all round performance in a starting jersey for dublin
and be between himself and o carroll for man of the match as both were outstanding today.
we done really well around the middle of the park today which is great to see.
some achievment from jim gavin he has won all 5 competitions so far as dublin senior manager
two leinster titles two national leagues and an all ireland title

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 20/07/2014 19:41:20    1622204

RD, believe me, I am going easy on here.

If roles were reversed there would be some gloating going on by many many posters.

I was just referring to that particular hype that is all.

As I have said all along, this Meath team is still evolving and will be better next year.
I am sure of it.
Anyway, hard luck and good luck v Armagh.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3736 - 20/07/2014 19:45:45    1622211

I'm sure RD understands, I'm not being ungracious, it's Meath FFS, and we're Dublin, rubbing it in is what it's all about!
Someday we'll get ours, as we have before, but for now read'em and weep :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 20/07/2014 19:58:59    1622233

Very surprised with Meath's tactics today. We should have been more conservative instead of trying to go toe to toe with Dublin. We were terrible all over the field apart from a few players but listen, take nothing away from Dublin, they are just too good. As much as it pains me to admit it, there's no denying it. The system they have in operation with their kickouts, their variation in attack, their movement, their fitness etc. They are at their pinnacle in my opinion and today they never even had to get out of 2nd gear.

From a Meath point of view, I don't think we are that bad. The team played at 50% at best which only meant one thing, annihilation. At 100% we probably still wouldn't have had enough but we just didn't get going at all. I think MOD and the backroom team have a lot to answer for with the tactics they played and the way we went about our game. We could have played a lot more defensively and tried to stifle the Dublin attack but anyway, we live to fight another day. I'll not give up hope just yet. Today we were beaten by the All-Ireland champions who are at an elite level which we are just not at.

Back to the drawing board.

RoyalClass (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 20/07/2014 20:04:54    1622241

Fantastic win

I see a Meath lad broke a nail

So much for MOD slagging off Jason Ryan for whinging

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 20/07/2014 20:07:52    1622243

Royalclass

Spot on mate! best post I have seen from a Meath perspective so far..

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 20/07/2014 20:10:10    1622247

Could be wrong,but I heard Micko had Meade to play and in the last minute changed his mind.If true,that is baffling..

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 20/07/2014 20:13:27    1622251

Hard luck Meath I genuinely mean that I grew up on great Dublin/Meath clashes when there wasn't a kick of a ball in it and I hope them days return soon cause no one enjoys them one sided games. To Meath lads keep the head up we've been there it's not nice but your a coming team you'll be back.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 20/07/2014 20:25:37    1622277

Wayno

Genuinely thank you lad, I can't say enough about this Dublin team they're absolutely spectacular, best team I've ever seen.

I'm on the verge of breakdown here I'm that devastated but I have to acknowledge brilliance when I see it, well done wayno and all genuine Dublin fans, you's are a credit to the sport.

Fair play Htaem. Class act man.

Look it wasnt all that long ago you game us a hidin and i felt like it was the end of the world so i do know what you are feeling.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 20/07/2014 20:30:06    1622287

Also Royaldunne

We have our ups and downs here, all banter of course.

Thanks for your kind words regarding Dublin.

Fair play. Meath will be back. Poor today but Dublin where decent too.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 20/07/2014 20:31:23    1622289

Clondalkin

I very much enjoy one sided Dublin victories against Meath.

Long may they continue

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 20/07/2014 20:31:27    1622291

Proud county Meath keep your heads high ye will have better days

theshamen (Mayo) - Posts: 129 - 20/07/2014 20:31:28    1622292

Well done Dublin today. Dublin kept our key men and 'go to' players very well marshalled, Meath just weren't able to put the same quality of ball into Bray like the previous day against Kildare. I thought MOD has a poor day with his decision making. Graham Reilly, Harnan and Shane O'Rourke really disappointed. It will take a lot of character for this team to put this result behind them and get a result against a decent Armagh side in 2 weeks time. Will that game be in Navan??

pjgill (Meath) - Posts: 29 - 20/07/2014 20:35:29    1622302

Clondalkdub

Fair play,very sporting..Luck we were never gonna beat the Dubs the way they played today,BUT,we should have done an awful lot better,in terms of playing till the end and having a plan,I thought our management was clueless today and made a lot of mistakes.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 20/07/2014 20:41:59    1622312

I won't say unlucky because it was nothing to do with luck

I will say though that I thought it was terrible to see so many Meath fans leaving early

Your lads didn't deserve anything today but they do deserve your support

I'm not going to pat yiz on the head

I enjoyed every minute of it

But I will compliment the Meath fans that stayed until the end

It's the least your team deserved

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 20/07/2014 20:42:12    1622314

This Dublin team is a class act and certainly put us back in our box. Thought we might give them a game of it, did not expect to win but MoD knew what was coming and yet seemed to be totally caught off guard, not acceptable after so long in charge, management need to get act together for next game, owe it to both supporters and team, if the changes made before throw in are true this is a joke On the bright side all this chasing Dublin players may improve our fitness.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2150 - 20/07/2014 20:42:34    1622315

From a Dublin perspective.

Over the moon with the win. Its a fantastic day when you beat Meath, Even better when you put in such a good performance.

That said, Lets not get over carried away here. It was a good performance but you cant say Meath played well either.

At this moment in time its very difficult to judge Dublin and get a realistic knowledge of where exactly they are. That said, We can only beat whats infront of us and we have beaten the 3 sides with ease so far.

There will be bigger and tougher games ahead so there is no doubt we have to improve.

Very premature to see people label us the greatest side ever. Utter nonsense. A very talented and fit bunch of players, But still have a bit to do before they can rank alongside the Tyrone 03-08 and Kerry sides of the recent past.

As for the most impressive thing today. The work rate. It was ferocious. From the first minute we where brilliant. Meath lads, with the greatest of respect (and i know you where missing Eamonn Wallace) but them forwards arent great that played today, But our defensive display especially from Rory O'Carroll was immense. Even before MEath got their goal at 17 points up we where still putting pressure on them, forcing them into errors. Didnt stop all day.

Mick Fitz came in and was outstanding too. Brilliant

The strength of the squad amazes me more every time i see this side play, 15 points up, We take off connolly and bring on Eoghan O'Gara. Take Mano off at HT and bring on Costello. excellent to see.

And our minors where very impressive against Kildare too.

Finally, The hill today was brilliant, Atmosphere was much better than previous games.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 20/07/2014 20:42:59    1622316

Another bite allegedly?

Innocent again I suppose.

batterburger (Cork) - Posts: 161 - 20/07/2014 20:44:08    1622320

royaldunne

Great to see you back gatekeeper I was going to call psni when I hadn't seen you on since you got walloped by armagh.
20/

I won the right to post whenever I like after a certain bet regarding a certain game last year!
You on the other hand...

;)

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 20/07/2014 20:45:34    1622322