Dublin v Meath

Are you sure you even want to turn up, JP??

The inevitable Armagh v Meath tread will be good craic. Armagh will surely be favourites now?

Very disappointed with Meath today. Dublin are awesome but expected Meath to at least put up a fight.

We'll get a better idea of how unstoppable Dublin are in the quarter and semi finals.

JP91 (Armagh) - Posts: 316 - 20/07/2014 15:31:08    1621912

MichaelO - was very quick to recognise the injury to the Meath forward, signal for attention from the side then attend him til physio got on.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 20/07/2014 15:32:40    1621915

The standard in Leinster is not as bad as you think Dublin are awesome they will beat any team in the country.

lilywhite28 (Kildare) - Posts: 68 - 20/07/2014 15:33:28    1621916

Nonsense, Kerry74. Dublin would've done that to anyone today

Count_Awesome (Kildare) - Posts: 736 - 20/07/2014 15:34:23    1621917

They should present Dubs with Sam today along with Delaney Cup. very poor from meath.

Miler (Mayo) - Posts: 1015 - 20/07/2014 15:36:35    1621919

To be fair - Dublin are phenomenal.

No matter what the opposition Dublin would have destroyed them

Today Meath didn't show up. .they are better than what we have seen

Royalio11 (Meath) - Posts: 757 - 20/07/2014 15:39:20    1621921

Complete embarassment. Just as I thought and just as I said. Dublin played it down and Meath thought they were better after beating a shocking Kildare team.

batterburger (Cork) - Posts: 161 - 20/07/2014 15:40:28    1621923

Mayo, Kerry, Donegal or Mon would be there or thereabouts

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1197 - 20/07/2014 15:43:31    1621924

Lilywhite - the problem is, from a neutral spectators point, is gauging where Dublin are at. Today was a non contest as probably was the Leinster campaign. You can't blame Dublin for this but they haven't really been tested and were getting space afforded to them that they probably won't get from this point in. Its similar to Mayo and Kerry in that they can win their Provinces without showing their hand whereas most people will know the strenghts and weaknesses of the Ulster finalists as you don't have the same luxury of playing in a lower gear or not showing your hand. This is not a dig before anyone accuses me as such. Just an observation/opinion.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 20/07/2014 15:45:02    1621926

Very sad to see the Meath folk claiming that Dublin would of done that to any team today.

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 20/07/2014 15:47:22    1621927

Congratulations to the Dublin Region. Fair play on retaining ye're Leinster title!

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7871 - 20/07/2014 15:53:52    1621931

Mayo wont see sam before Dublin thats for definite

Royalio11 (Meath) - Posts: 757 - 20/07/2014 15:54:09    1621932

Meath never allowed to find any kind of rhythm.. Dublin were excellent..they play exciting , direct football, the rest are playing catch up !

sob (Meath) - Posts: 492 - 20/07/2014 15:54:15    1621933

@Royalio11

'Meath didn't turn up'

That's just plain & simple denial.

The gap is getting wider, if Dublin hadn't of taken their foot off the gas the winning margin could have been much greater.

Denial is just a way of covering up what is truly a real gulf in class between Dublin and Meath at the moment.

There's no shame in taken a hiding from Dublin, it happens to a lot of teams and Meath haven't shown anything of any substance to suggest they'd be capable of competing with Dublin for 70 mins of football.

THE_SNAPPER (Louth) - Posts: 2019 - 20/07/2014 15:54:24    1621934

The Dublin supporters who describe this team as the greatest ever to play Gaelic football are being proven right. Gavin's invincibles just destroyed the second best team in Leinster without getting out of second gear. Amazing performance by a phenomenal team.

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 20/07/2014 15:58:23    1621937

Royalio11

Mayo wont see sam before Dublin thats for definite

You may be right there and we may have left it behind us last year but Meath were so naive it was beyond belief. Don't forget the amount of Meath people backing a Meath win pre game for no reason bar the fact that Meath are afraid of nobody apparently, I can admit to Mayo's faults but at the moment I can only see Mayo, Donegal or Kerry beating Dublin.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 20/07/2014 16:01:47    1621938

Meath lads were on for the last three weeks trying to convince us they'd put it up to Dublin. All this talk of G Reilly etc all came to nothing. All this talk of Meaths 'never say die attitude'. They put in no big hits at all today and then tried to get tough when the game was over.

All well and good playing a defensive game but you have to have an attacking plan as well.

batterburger (Cork) - Posts: 161 - 20/07/2014 16:04:56    1621941

The 25 pages or so about the great Dublin/Meath rivalry which
is wheeled out every year is the great comedy of HS! LOL

The scoreline of...

Dubs 3-10
Meath 1-10

...would suggest otherwise that it is anything but a rivalry!

Dublin played well today; and did what they do; but they were up
against nothing! The next day will be different!

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 20/07/2014 16:05:27    1621942

I don't get this Dublin region reference can anybody explain ?

lilywhite28 (Kildare) - Posts: 68 - 20/07/2014 16:05:47    1621943

Congratulations Dublin, you's are best Gaelic football team I've ever seen, MOD got the tactics wrong today because we played with fear unlike last year but that wouldn't have mattered either way today.

Ps, anyone driving the boot into us today, congratulations also, I hope yous feel big.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 20/07/2014 16:08:54    1621945