Dublin v Meath

I wouldn't be too worried about Kevin Reilly, it's his deputies at 2 and 4 I'd be far more worried about, especially if Keogan remains at 6 which I have a feeling he will.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 17/07/2014 14:01:31    1620631

I'm afraid to say but I for one am worried about KR lasting 70mins. Couple of years ago, he goes off injured and Dubs bang in 2 goals in as many minutes to put the game to bed, and that was before half time. Last day out against Kildare, he get's injured and defence goes to pot. Even allowing for players being exhausted for last 10 mins, his absence was crucial to Kildare's comeback. KR is more than a fullback, he holds the defence together and there is no obvious replacement for him. If there is one player on this current Meath side we can't be without, it's KR, hence the worry.

moylagh (Meath) - Posts: 484 - 17/07/2014 14:46:33    1620657

doublehop

Dublin are the best team around but anybody from Meath and Dublin know games between ourselves take on a life of their own

I think it's fair to say that this is the type of guff that annoys people from other counties. Such rubbish. In the 90's both teams were both at the top of the pyramid jousting for top spot and yes at stages little things made a huge difference due to the fine margins invol
ved. Since then, when has the form book been thrown out the window?

You talk a lot of rubbish considering you're from a county that has little to shout about. Counties with little aspirations and weak mentalities don't understand major rivalries and the atmosphere,intensity and spirt involved in these games.I never said both counties are jousting for top spot, I simply said that the game takes on a life of its own and the form books goes out the window with a desire, particularly on the Meath side to win. My point is we could lose to Kerry or Monagahan by 10 points one day but the next day, no matter what, a performance of a respectful standard is demanded against Dublin. That has led to poor to average Meath teams competing with the Dubs in the last decade. Since 2000 Meath and Dublin have met 8 times in the Leinster Championship. We have won twice, Dublin 5 times and 1 draw. 2001 we won by 3, 05 Dublin by 2, 07 draw and Dubs by 4 in replay, 09 Dubs by 2, 2010 Us by 11, 2012 Dubs by 3, last year Dubs by 7. All closely contested games due to our desire to put up a fight which I expect this weekend. No matter what levels either team are at it will be a tight one due to the resilience expected of Meath players.

proevo (Meath) - Posts: 296 - 17/07/2014 16:29:48    1620717

You talk a lot of rubbish considering you're from a county that has little to shout about.

You lost the argument in the first sentence bud. The minute you reject an opinion because of the county of the poster you're done as far as I'm concerned. As for the jousting for the top thing I never said that was happening now. I was comparing the unpredictability of the rivalry then as opposed to now. It isn't a fixture which is wildly unpredictable in my opinion but then as you said I am from Kildare so maybe I just don't understand the two teams we constantly play every year.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 17/07/2014 17:09:56    1620740

the seal

tiobraid
County: Tipperary

1620529 For me Kevin Reilly is an old style full back who won't cope well on Sunday. He has been a good servant but very over-hyped

stick to your hurling gosson,ye have alot of work to be doing down in tipp!

Stick to the hurling?? Good man, very original comeback! I'd be interested to know what level of football you have played at that you can suggest that you obviously know so much more about the game than me?? It's this kind of attitude that doesn't do you any favours.

I've great respect for Kevin Reilly considering his injuries but I think he could be exposed on Sunday. That's just a matter of opinion. There is no question of him under the high ball but then why would that be a question...Dublin aren't going to be hitting high balls in on top of him. I'd safely say he won't play the 70 mins whether thats an injury, a black card or a tactical substitution

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 17/07/2014 17:17:24    1620747

OLLIE
County: Louth

The Seal I agree with you one hundred per cent. Kevin Reilly is a fantastic footballer. Tiobard you should take a trip up to the home of hurling. You will see Cuchulainns birthday place up in the Wee County.

What's hurling got to do with this debate? How are responses like this even posted?

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 17/07/2014 17:19:50    1620751

A lot of childish nonsense going on here at the minute, people having a go at each other and their counties instead of talking about the game, not terribly constructive or interesting.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 17/07/2014 17:23:51    1620754

Just looking at the game itself, do people really think that Meath are wasting their time turning up? Dublin are the best team in the country no doubt but we've all put them up on a pedestal (helped by the media of course) and it's generally accepted now that they can't be beaten. That's the wrong attitude to have, respect them yes but don't give up on your own team for jaysus sake, that takes all the joy out of competition.

But one thing is for sure in sport (and life), there are no certainties, Tipp in 2010 weren't given much of a chance of stopping Kilkenny winning the 5 in a row yet they did it (I actually had Tipp back that day to win by 6-8pts only for Lar to ruin by bet in added time, thanks Lar!). The best example of for me remains Superbowl 42 when the invincible NE Patriots came up against no hopers the NY Giants and the only question before the game was 'how much the Patriots were going to win by' = they were beaten 17-14!

So while I fully accept that Dublin deserve to be favourites and could well win by 10+ if they fire, there's always the chance that our lads could pull it off to, you just never know and if you're that confident that we can't beat Dublin then put everything you own on them.....sure it's a guarantee isn't it? :-)

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 17/07/2014 17:43:38    1620774

(I actually had Tipp back that day to win by 6-8pts only for Lar to ruin by bet in added time, thanks Lar!)

Sorry that should say 4-6pts, think they actually won by 8 in the end, that's why Lar's last minute goal ruined me!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 17/07/2014 17:49:09    1620778

Tiobraid im only agreeing with the Seal. Anyway you should pop up to the Wee County. You would enjoy it. If your lucky you might even get yourself a woman.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 17/07/2014 17:58:54    1620784

Tiobraid im only agreeing with the Seal. Anyway you should pop up to the Wee County. You would enjoy it. If your lucky you might even get yourself a woman.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 17/07/2014 18:09:53    1620788

Clondalkin of course I'm going to predict a Meath win. What's the point in turning up if you expect to get beat. I was out home today and there is quite confidence around the place. We are better prepared this year than last, mod talks about 72 minutes so I'll place my faith in him that the players will last the match. Kev is said to be completely recovered , Newman came through training perfect. All in all things can't be any better with the panel at our disposal. So yes confidence is building, and rightly so. Of course its a mammoth task , but that never stopped us before.
Hon the Royal.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 17/07/2014 19:31:47    1620822

I suspect the game will go very similar to last year with Meath running Dublin hard for an hour but losing over the final 10 minutes when Dublin empty the subs bench. Dublin to win by seven points.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 17/07/2014 20:01:19    1620844

Thinking of the bench . Meath have a stronger one than years past. I'd expect to see mcdonagh, d Bray , flanagan, Wallace, Kenny. Or maybe mcentee make impact.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 17/07/2014 20:24:24    1620856

royaldunne

Ye we have a better bench than we've had in a while in fairness royaldunne, hats off to MOD and who gave the younger lads more of a chance since coming in and fairplay to them for taking it. I don't want to be too harsh on the likes of Sheridan, Farrell and Ward because they all served us well over the years but dropping them off the panel sends out the right message to young player ie if you're good enough and want it enough you'll get a fair chance, it also lights a fire under more experienced players and stops them getting complacent.

Dublin have the best bench in Ireland we all know that but even though we're short Gillespe, Wallace, O'Sullivan and Dalton for the year I'm still happy enough that we have a better bench than last year, certainly better than 2012!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 17/07/2014 20:35:50    1620860

Htaem

Just looking at the game itself, do people really think that Meath are wasting their time turning up? Dublin are the best team in the country no doubt but we've all put them up on a pedestal (helped by the media of course) and it's generally accepted now that they can't be beaten. That's the wrong attitude to have, respect them yes but don't give up on your own team for jaysus sake, that takes all the joy out of competition.

But one thing is for sure in sport (and life), there are no certainties, Tipp in 2010 weren't given much of a chance of stopping Kilkenny winning the 5 in a row yet they did it (I actually had Tipp back that day to win by 6-8pts only for Lar to ruin by bet in added time, thanks Lar!). The best example of for me remains Superbowl 42 when the invincible NE Patriots came up against no hopers the NY Giants and the only question before the game was 'how much the Patriots were going to win by' = they were beaten 17-14!

So while I fully accept that Dublin deserve to be favourites and could well win by 10+ if they fire, there's always the chance that our lads could pull it off to, you just never know and if you're that confident that we can't beat Dublin then put everything you own on them.....sure it's a guarantee isn't it? :-)

keep the faith we all have a dream,

D5dub (Dublin) - Posts: 283 - 17/07/2014 20:57:40    1620875

What do you do with it? And you hardly get a taxi from town back to north East Meath ?

Depends, Usually one of the lads will take it home, Save me carryin it around all day.

And I get the bus home.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 17/07/2014 21:14:16    1620880

Well said doublehop.Its ridiculous any poster sledging another because of what county he/she comes from.Or because of the lack of success a county has.Pathetic really.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 17/07/2014 21:34:32    1620887

Meath (Leinster SFC final v Dublin) - P O'Rourke; E Harrington, K Reilly, B Menton; P Harnan, D Keogan, D Tobin; B Meade, S O'Rourke; D Carroll, B McMahon, A Tormey; G Reilly, S Bray, M Newman.

Team named no surprise's. Newman fit dispite a worry a couple of weeks ago. Carroll moved to HF line. Tobin returns to HB line.
Cmon the Royal.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/07/2014 09:04:40    1620909

proevo

1620717 doublehop

Dublin are the best team around but anybody from Meath and Dublin know games between ourselves take on a life of their own

I think it's fair to say that this is the type of guff that annoys people from other counties. Such rubbish. In the 90's both teams were both at the top of the pyramid jousting for top spot and yes at stages little things made a huge difference due to the fine margins involved. Since then, when has the form book been thrown out the window?

You talk a lot of rubbish considering you're from a county that has little to shout about. Counties with little aspirations and weak mentalities don't understand major rivalries and the atmosphere,intensity and spirt involved in these games.I never said both counties are jousting for top spot, I simply said that the game takes on a life of its own and the form books goes out the window with a desire, particularly on the Meath side to win. My point is we could lose to Kerry or Monagahan by 10 points one day but the next day, no matter what, a performance of a respectful standard is demanded against Dublin. That has led to poor to average Meath teams competing with the Dubs in the last decade. Since 2000 Meath and Dublin have met 8 times in the Leinster Championship. We have won twice, Dublin 5 times and 1 draw. 2001 we won by 3, 05 Dublin by 2, 07 draw and Dubs by 4 in replay, 09 Dubs by 2, 2010 Us by 11, 2012 Dubs by 3, last year Dubs by 7. All closely contested games due to our desire to put up a fight which I expect this weekend. No matter what levels either team are at it will be a tight one due to the resilience expected of Meath players.

You forgot to mention 2002, so it's 2 wins for Meath from 9 since 2000. Or 1 win in 13 years....whichever makes you feel better ;-)

bubba83 (Dublin) - Posts: 333 - 18/07/2014 09:50:02    1620928