Dublin v Meath

Former_Poster

Dublin won't play conservative football, Gavin has used all action blitz the opposition style football since taking over 2 years ago and since then he's won 2 NFLs and both the Leinster and AI last season so he won't change that for us.

While a lot of the points you made are fair I don't think it's fair to say that Dublin aren't as impressive as last year, in their KO games this year they put up = 2-20 v Cork, 3-19 v Derry, 2-21 v Laois and 2-25 v Wexford, now that's bloody impressive.

More worrying for us is that the Dubs didn't have a great 1st half in most of those games and just got stronger and stronger right up to the 70min mark, helped largely by their excellent conditioning and very impressive bench so we have our work cut out for us.

Beating Dublin is possible of course but we need a combination of things to happen = 1. they start slowly, 2. we take full advantage with goals and good point taking, 3. our lads are going to have to play out of their skins for 70+mins and no less and finally 4. we get a bit of luck. If we fall short in any of those categories then we're in trouble, unfortunately 2 of them are out of our hands (Dublin's performance and luck) but I really hope our lads get right the things we can control.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 15/07/2014 20:03:34    1619929

Dublin change their tactics in every game they play. If there's one serious misconception about Dublin out there is they just do what they do and Gavin's contribution is just to pick the players he thinks are in form. He plays up, or probably more correctly down, to this but actually he's one of the most sophisticated tacticians out there. They don't send all these stats men and video cameras to other teams games for the craic. Mick O'Dowd likes to trot out this back to basics stuff as well but he has transformed Meath.

I'm sure the supporters like to think they just get on with the game and all that other tradition natural footballer style nonsense but put any 15 out there now for a couple of games and assume your ability will be enough and once everyone has caught on what you're at you'll be beat out the gate.

To say there'll be nothing 'elaborate' going on does a huge disservice to both managers. There's no man for man, 15 v 15 stuff going on anymore. It doesn't even happen in club games.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 15/07/2014 20:16:29    1619941

You won't find any midfielders or forwards standing idly in their half-back line on Sunday Doublehop. You won't find the players being moved around like chess pieces either.

Of course the players are coached in how to deal with certain game situations but that's not tactical. That's preparation. If you are saying the teams don't go out and play off-the-cuff then I would agree but as players they are let play a lot more intuitively whereas with other counties I would say it's a bit more robotic. That's what I would mean by elaborate.

Mick O'Dowd and Jim Gavin strengths are in how they prepare their teams. Games in Leinster are lot less tactical than you what you get in Ulster for example. Yes the football in Leinster is very free-flowing but I would agree even that's rehearsed.

As regards Jim Gavin being the tactician you claim him to be, why is he not addressing the blatant holes that exist in his defense? That's just one example but it's being exposed in a lot of games. He trusts his forwards will do the business but to me looking in the backs could do with some kind of work.

As regards Mick O'Dowd being a tactician, Meath have struggled when faced with Ulster sides / blanket defenses in the O'Dowd era. Is this a reason to say he's not able to cope tactically or is it that he's taking Meath in this direction anyway. Meath have not beat an Ulster side in championship football since 2007 although they've only lost once to them since. I would like to see Meath play a team from Ulster though and beat them.

Former_Poster (Meath) - Posts: 394 - 15/07/2014 21:14:27    1619987

Mick O Dowd is old school--he doesn't even where an ear piece. Whats Galvin listening to on his stereo?

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1792 - 15/07/2014 21:14:40    1619988

As regards Jim Gavin being the tactician you claim him to be, why is he not addressing the blatant holes that exist in his defense? That's just one example but it's being exposed in a lot of games. He trusts his forwards will do the business but to me looking in the backs could do with some kind of work.

Because his game plan involves a very attack minded half back line.

Its a risky business but his plan is to go out and attack. I'm sure if Jim Gavin needed to/wanted to shore up the defence, He would play a system to do so, Fact of the matter is, The way this side play, It does leave us exposed defensively. Thats just how it is.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 15/07/2014 21:28:29    1620000

bert09

Mick O Dowd is old school--he doesn't even where an ear piece. Whats Galvin listening to on his stereo?

He's listening to that new Meath song, even JG thinks it's class :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 15/07/2014 21:35:53    1620005

I'm presuming you mean GAVIN bert09 !!???

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 15/07/2014 21:40:48    1620011

Ahh jasus that Meath song is class.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 16/07/2014 09:46:16    1620067

moylagh

clondalkindub: You've summed up it up pretty well. My main fitness concerns are for S. O'Rourke, B. Meade, K. Reilly and G. Reilly. Don't see any of them lasting 70 mins without some serious game management work being done with them. Meade and K. Reilly (another injury) were substituted last day, O'Rourke and G. Reilly were out on their feet for the last 15mins. They weren't the only ones but the most obvious. The most serious of them is K. Reilly as he holds the backs together. If he goes we're in serious bother. Harrington wasn't fit the last day either and I can't see him being fully up to it this Sunday. Basically we have serious defensive problems that are being compensated for by bringing bodies back, to form a defensive shield.

If even the half of what moylagh says is true then there can only be one result here.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 16/07/2014 11:03:02    1620103

If even the half of what moylagh says is true then there can only be one result here.

If all of what Moylagh says, isn't true, There will still only be one result - Dublin win.

Meath arent good enough to beat us. Good enough to stay in it for long periods yes, But not beat us.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 16/07/2014 11:29:13    1620118

There will be goals.

At least 5

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 16/07/2014 13:07:26    1620188

Agree Jim

Meath will bury at least two.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 16/07/2014 13:27:54    1620199

All this talk about Meath needing goals,from a Meath perspective,I would be worried we go for them for the sake of it,rather than actually getting REAL goal chances..

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 16/07/2014 13:55:33    1620217

Where's does everyone go before and after the match for pints?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 16/07/2014 15:04:46    1620256

Clondalkin now ur talkin pal.I stay away from the likes of Quinns,The Big Tree,The Hogan Stand.Way too packed and no comfort.Usually have a few around O Connell St/Marlborough St/Talbot St before game.Grand Central,Sean O Caseys,The Confession Box,Mother Kellys(a little gem).After game i like to celebrate in Lowrys Ballybough andThe Bridge Inn.Know few lads that run these pubs so always drop in.Its good to move around.Ill have one or two max in each.See ya Sunday city slickers!!And Meathmen and woman too!!

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 16/07/2014 15:16:59    1620271

cuederocket

Clondalkin now ur talkin pal.I stay away from the likes of Quinns,The Big Tree,The Hogan Stand.Way too packed and no comfort.Usually have a few around O Connell St/Marlborough St/Talbot St before game.Grand Central,Sean O Caseys,The Confession Box,Mother Kellys(a little gem).After game i like to celebrate in Lowrys Ballybough andThe Bridge Inn.Know few lads that run these pubs so always drop in.Its good to move around.Ill have one or two max in each.See ya Sunday city slickers!!And Meathmen and woman too!!

Cuede,
I'm very impressed. Eight pints before the game & four more afterwards. Respect!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 16/07/2014 15:57:47    1620298

1620256 Where's does everyone go before and after the match for pints?

Ashbourne house or Kellys. If we win we might nip over to the Fox or Gormleys in Garristown for the shneer.

Greenfield (Meath) - Posts: 522 - 16/07/2014 16:36:27    1620316

Ha muckross i have one in most so approx 8 pints.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 16/07/2014 16:38:24    1620319

Quinns just for the match build up and atmosphere around the ground for a pint before hand, Afterwards i go for the ballad session in Cassidys on Camden street.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 16/07/2014 16:39:44    1620322

Waynol I've never seen you in Cassidy's after a Dublin game

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 16/07/2014 16:50:40    1620327