Dublin v Meath

What's the weather forecast for Sunday ? Please tell me it's going to be roasting hot

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 15/07/2014 16:22:18    1619737

Keoghan is a great player but for me he's wasted out at chb, someone as good as him at the corner back position should be left there. I'm hearing Kevin Reilly is not going to be fit is this true?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 15/07/2014 16:24:49    1619742

Agreed Htaem. Spot on.

Reckon we will be lucky to see 50k there.
Should be a great atmosphere though.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3736 - 15/07/2014 16:35:57    1619750

hill

id say between 60-65 thousand it will be come sunday at the moment

I hope you're right hill.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 15/07/2014 16:37:45    1619754

Hill, are you sure about the Upper deck.

Ticketmaster had None for sale at all yet.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3736 - 15/07/2014 16:37:50    1619755

CKD, I also heard Newman is struggling.

Early yet though for these 2 to make it.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3736 - 15/07/2014 16:38:40    1619757

What's the weather forecast for Sunday ? Please tell me it's going to be roasting hot

Well I've worked outside all my life so I'm pretty qualified to answer that question, given that it's an Irish summer I'm happy to tell you clondalkin that it will indeed be a roasting day on sunday, BUT!!! also it's gonna rain, then it'll get cold, then some sleet, probably a bit of snow, then the wind will howl, then it will get calm, then the sun will come back out again and so on.

So basically rap up well but also bring your factor 50.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 15/07/2014 16:42:54    1619765

CKD, weather for Sunday is good.

20degrees.
90% Humidity.
Wind 11km/hr.
35% chance of showers.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3736 - 15/07/2014 16:45:28    1619769

Fionn

1619769 CKD, weather for Sunday is good.

20degrees.
90% Humidity.
Wind 11km/hr.
35% chance of showers.

It will still be f..king freezing in the Cusack.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 15/07/2014 17:09:31    1619792

Htaem

So basically rap up well but also bring your factor 50.

Don't you just love the Irish weather Htaem... :o)

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3736 - 15/07/2014 17:11:03    1619795

last night said weather to be bad the weekend heavy rain
but I wouldnt trust the weather forecast until the day before you need to know it

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 15/07/2014 17:30:43    1619808

Fionn

Hill, are you sure about the Upper deck.

Ticketmaster had None for sale at all yet.

yeah gaa.ie and supervalu and centra have them
ticketmaster only show the area where they have been given tickets for which tends to be one section
as they dont shift a lot of tickets for gaa games.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 15/07/2014 17:34:07    1619811

htaem

where you get your ticket for?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 15/07/2014 17:38:40    1619813

Ah fair play Hill. :o)

Anyway, the bigger the attendance the better.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3736 - 15/07/2014 17:39:28    1619814

Fionn

Don't you just love the Irish weather Htaem... :o)

Ye it's great, to me summer means a farmers tan and wet feet.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 15/07/2014 17:45:04    1619825

hill

where you get your ticket for?

Got them in supervalu for the lower hogan.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 15/07/2014 17:46:34    1619827

fionn

haha scrap that prediction of hill16 as I just looked there and the nally terrace is now on sale

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 15/07/2014 17:52:46    1619837

Kevin Reilly and Mickey Newman will play.

Even if they arent 100% in my opinion.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 15/07/2014 17:53:41    1619839

wayno

Kevin Reilly and Mickey Newman will play.

Even if they arent 100% in my opinion.

Jaysus I don't know wayno, if Newman starts and isn't fully fit then he'll probably be subbed off at some stage no damage done but if Reilly isn't fully fit and starts that could be a disaster. Him and the rest of the our FB line are going to be very busy on sunday no matter what way the teams set up and the Dubs create an incredible amount of chances so if our FB line isn't up to scratch then the game could be over by half time.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 15/07/2014 18:17:52    1619858

Clondalkindub. Carroll played in the forwards the last day and Tobin was in the backs. I would expect Tobin to mark Flynn. Flynn caused Meath a lot of hassle last year when marked by Menton and he's the most consistent performer in the Dublin forwards. Tobin is improving all the time and is one of those "unsung hero" type of players. He'll go about his business quietly but he gets the job done.

As regards Meath's tactic's, they'll be similar to Dublin's. Certainly nothing elaborate like sweeper systems or that. Meath will press Dublin high up the pitch when they can but the forwards will get back and defend when they have to.

Meath caused problems on the Dublin kickouts last year getting two men either side of the Dublin player and breaking it down to themselves. Hopefully more of the same.

I expect ROC will mark Newman if fit as he's the least lively of the Meath forwards and probably the least likely to cause the ROC speed problems. It's actually a blessing in a way if Newman doesn't start as it keeps Dublin guessing too.

I would also be interested to see if Dublin take a more conservative approach. While the focus is very much on the Meath backs in the build up to this game, the Dublin backs have plenty of questions to answer and looked very exposed for periods of the Laois and Wexford games.

A more conservative approach might negatively impact on the attacking threat from the half-back line but it also might restrict the Meath forwards. On the other hand, Dublin can bomb forward all day long and hope the FB line deal with what Meath have.

All things considered, I have a sneaking suspicion that Meath will edge this game. I've been saying all year Dublin haven't looked as impressive as last year and I'm sticking to my guns. Also some might laugh but I believe Meath have a more in-form set of forwards and they could prove very dangerous.

Former_Poster (Meath) - Posts: 394 - 15/07/2014 19:00:17    1619881