Dublin v Meath

Jaysus it's getting closer, really looking forward to it now, we won't win obviously but hopefully it'll be a nice day, we'll have a brews maybe a bbq back at the local (even if it is raining), it's great to get a day out in Croker.

Hope you enjoy your day pal - Except the result of course. Don't want you enjoying that

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 14/07/2014 13:03:55    1618898

I'll probably take Meath on a handicap. I expect to win but not a landslide unless we click and score a lot of goals, Meath have goals in them as well though and we leak chances at the back.

I reckon and hope this could be a tight game. Coasting through Leinster won't do us much good with a potentially very difficult QF.

CaisleanCnucha (Dublin) - Posts: 1379 - 14/07/2014 13:09:44    1618904

wayno

Hope you enjoy your day pal - Except the result of course. Don't want you enjoying that

Cheers wayno, same to yourself, and believe me, I'll only enjoy the result if we win, being honest I don't know too many Meath fans who'd be happy just to see us 'put it up to the Dubs', personally I'm vehemently opposed to moral victories because they amount to nothing.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 14/07/2014 13:17:08    1618914

Hard to figure out where Dublin lads think their team are.

One the one hand we have posts loudly proclaiming the greatest team the GAA has ever seen, five in a row, the best 1-15 in Ireland and the rest. On the other hand we have fellas worrying about beating Meath, a Div 2 team, on their own home ground in front of an overwhelming home support.

What is the real story? Is it cute hoorism or are ye really not as confident of your team's abilities as some of the more verbose & bellicose Dublin posters would have us believe?

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 14/07/2014 13:19:13    1618917

Have to agree with you Waynol. I think Dublin will win easily. And I think (and hope) that either Donegal or Monaghan are best equipped to challenge Dublin this year. I'd love to see Dublin play one in the QF and If Dublin survives then play the other in the Semi final. Now what I saw so far this year with Kildare , Cork and again yesterday , Galway I'd question their game plans and how those teams defended for long periods of their games ( against Meath, Kerry , Mayo. It never would be good enough against Dublin and I could not see Cork Kildare or Galway coping with either Donegal/Monaghan at the end of it all idohope Meath produces one of their best displays but it will take it to even stay in the game against Dublin.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 14/07/2014 13:21:47    1618923

Muck not every Dub has the same opinion my man but I believe that we will win by 6+ after a good battle from the Royals. I still havent a clue how the draw works, so If we win or lose we still can't face Mayo or Kerry unless we reach the final?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 14/07/2014 13:26:02    1618929

I have a feeling that Meath will win this one

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 14/07/2014 13:39:17    1618947

I get that not every Dub supporter has the same opinion, it's the wide variance I don't get.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 14/07/2014 13:46:05    1618954

MuckrossHead

Hard to figure out where Dublin lads think their team are.

One the one hand we have posts loudly proclaiming the greatest team the GAA has ever seen, five in a row, the best 1-15 in Ireland and the rest. On the other hand we have fellas worrying about beating Meath, a Div 2 team, on their own home ground in front of an overwhelming home support.

What is the real story? Is it cute hoorism or are ye really not as confident of your team's abilities as some of the more verbose & bellicose Dublin posters would have us believe?

Look, we're not as amazing as some people seem to think, pundits, media and SOME Dubs etc. But we're definitely a better team than Meath, and if we perform to a decent standard, they don't stand much of a chance in my opinion, they'll keep it competitive for a good spell, not expecting a landslide here.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 14/07/2014 13:50:05    1618959

Muck not every Dub has the same opinion my man but I believe that we will win by 6+ after a good battle from the Royals. I still havent a clue how the draw works, so If we win or lose we still can't face Mayo or Kerry unless we reach the final?

Clondalkin, Correct!!

As it stands right now

If Dublin BEAT Meath, They will go into the All Ireland quarter final and will meet a round 4B qualifier. However should Meath get past their round 4 qualifier we will NOT be able to play them again, Cause we met in the provincial final. But as it stands right now, These are the teams that we could potentially play in the quarter final providing we beat Meath - Donegal/Monaghan, Clare/Kildare, Armagh/Roscommon.

If Dublin LOSE against Meath, They will go into round 4B of the qualifiers where they will meet either Armagh/Roscommon, Or Kildare/Clare. Should we then win that qualifier, We will then automatically play the team that wins Ulster, Because we wouldnt be able to meet Meath again having already played them in the Leinster final.

The semi final line up is

Ulster v Leinster
Connacht v Munster

So Dublin CANNOT meet Kerry or Mayo until the final.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 14/07/2014 13:54:35    1618969

Maybe some Meath posters won't like this but I see big parallels between themselves and Donegal. Very similar in style and how they tactically set themselves up. They've definitely changed how they played from last year. Really jam up the middle of the field between the two 45's and if they get it they stick it in quick. We've all wondered what would happen if Jim got a crack at the Dubs in the championship. I think we'll get a sneak peak here. Dublin have the bench to get themselves out of most tight spots but just maybe Meath have a better chance at Dublin than they've had in a good while.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 14/07/2014 13:58:55    1618973

Look, we're not as amazing as some people seem to think, pundits, media and SOME Dubs etc. But we're definitely a better team than Meath, and if we perform to a decent standard, they don't stand much of a chance in my opinion, they'll keep it competitive for a good spell, not expecting a landslide here.

Muckross, The above response by Realdub is basically 100% bang on.

Dublin are a very good side, But they have serious weaknesses especially at the back, My fear is that a team that attacks us with pace will get through our defence and create goal chances, And like Meath in 2010, If a team is clinical we could very well be beaten.

Individually, Dublin have some excellent defenders, Johnny Cooper and Rory O'Carroll are very good, Philly McMahon is good, We've had alot worse. The problem is that this Dublin side only have one way of playing and that is to attack, Even the half back line fly forward, Jack McCaffrey, James McCarthy, Nicky Devereux are all better attacking half bcks, Than defensive half backs, And when they get forward (which the inevitably will), It leaves the full back line very vulnerable and that is why i believe we are seeing so many teams cut through our defense at will.

That said, Our attacking options are THAT good, That we can afford to play this sort of Russian roulette type of game against any attacking side we come up against, And still concievably outscore the opposition, Thats what i think will happen on Sunday. But Meath will scare us.

I'm very confident that we can retain Sam, But that doesnt mean i feel we are unbeatable. We are very much beatable, But it will still take a very good team to stop us. For now though its about winning Leinster and thats the only focus. We will cross Donegal etc etc if/when we come up against them.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 14/07/2014 14:10:15    1618983

Cheers lads, I know it is a much used term, but this weekend will tell us all a lot!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 14/07/2014 14:18:11    1618986

Shhh dh we been truing to keep that quite:).
Waynol like htaem I don't do moral victories. Its been realistic if I take off the Royal goggles to say dubs will still win. But would I be surprised if Meath won? Not in the slightest. I think if we had everyone fit we have the best panel since 01 and one that will win Leinster and maybe just maybe win a all ire or at least challenge for one over next few years. The injuries have hit us hard. But I suspect many a eye opened at just how well we play on Sunday.
Bring it on.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 14/07/2014 14:54:15    1619021

Waynol like htaem I don't do moral victories. Its been realistic if I take off the Royal goggles to say dubs will still win. But would I be surprised if Meath won? Not in the slightest. I think if we had everyone fit we have the best panel since 01 and one that will win Leinster and maybe just maybe win a all ire or at least challenge for one over next few years. The injuries have hit us hard. But I suspect many a eye opened at just how well we play on Sunday.
Bring it on.

Personally dont think anyone will bat an eyelid if Meath play well and still lose.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 14/07/2014 15:16:17    1619050

Yeah waynol. But they will if we win :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 14/07/2014 15:23:36    1619057

Yeah waynol. But they will if we win :)

But ye wont!

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 14/07/2014 15:30:12    1619064

I'll wait and see.
Hon the Royal.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 14/07/2014 17:37:16    1619187

Tickets got . fantastic feeling. It doesn't get better than this, that is until Kev climbs the steps of Hogan to pick up Delaney cup.
Bring them on. :).

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 14/07/2014 17:58:51    1619211

MuckrossHead

1618917 Hard to figure out where Dublin lads think their team are.

One the one hand we have posts loudly proclaiming the greatest team the GAA has ever seen, five in a row, the best 1-15 in Ireland and the rest. On the other hand we have fellas worrying about beating Meath, a Div 2 team, on their own home ground in front of an overwhelming home support.What is the real story? Is it cute hoorism or are ye really not as confident of your team's abilities as some of the more verbose & bellicose Dublin posters would have us believe?

Its Dublin v Meath Muckross div 2 goes out the window. Do you think Meath are that far behing Donegal and Monaghan ,because they both played div 2 this year and a lot of Posters us your neck of the woods reckon for some reason that those two are the only ones that have a chance of beating us, if thats the case then Meath have the same chance, personally i think more .

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 14/07/2014 18:16:09    1619227