Dublin v Meath

Expect nothing more than the usual from a Dublin-Meath championship match. I'd like to see a greater conversion rate from Dublin particularly in the first half but its obvious at this stage instructions from the line are dictating shot selection. The Dublin forwards are told to go for goals in the first half and its a trend thats visible as in the second half as points are much more readily tagged on and that is dictated from the line too. At the moment its not executing well as an over eagerness to convert is evident but hopefully time will settle them down.

I think Bastic will be important again to Dublin this year as sooner or later O'Sullivan may be needed to fill in at six, particular during a game. Nicky is improving and is great going forward but has been loose from a defensive viewpoint. Hopefully he improves as Ger's prognosis doesn't look all too positive at this stage.

Difficult to select the forward line. Kev is much more effective from the line and Costello is thumping on the door for a start. I think Rock should get another chance to start but may not if Brogan is ready. Mannion to keep his place i would feel and perhaps Andrews could push the older Brogan. Meath did a number on Dublin's kickout last year so i wouldn't be surprised to see Cullen start in the same manner as he did against an imposing Cork centre 8 last year.

I think Dublin will win but i expect this game to be ultra competitive unless Dublin get a barrage of goals which cannot be ruled out with the amount of chances being currently created. The manner of Meath's demise against Kildare in the final 20 minutes would have to worry Meath fans particularly as this is Dublin's best period. Kildare could have and perhaps should have been much more closer in that second half but as usual conversion let them down.

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1658 - 12/07/2014 12:44:57    1617722

Seany don't think many Meath fans will read too much into the last 20 mins,'if the game was close at that time Meath wouldn't have took foot off the gas. Fact is game was over atthat stage.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 12/07/2014 13:05:23    1617729

royaldunne

1617729 Seany don't think many Meath fans will read too much into the last 20 mins,'if the game was close at that time Meath wouldn't have took foot off the gas. Fact is game was over atthat stage.

Royaldunne , ye put up enough of a score early in second half to see ye through but a few of your lads were flat out near the end, Meaths tactics and better footballers won the game ,but Kildares fitness nearly got them back in it near the end and a few bad decisions by Jason Ryan didnt help. Dublin will punish yous if this happens in the final. So id say it is a big area Meath are looking at.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 12/07/2014 13:21:44    1617731

Well those that were out on feet were Meade (not long back) O'Rourke same but 3 weeks on hopefully will have helped both. We had no Newman and McMahon had to go early. Both will hopefully play full game.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 12/07/2014 13:39:34    1617746

i wouldnt be of the opinion meath took foot of the gas
i think they tired mixed with complacency alright
but the lillies certainly upped it in the last 15 minutes
they got within 5 points and should have scored a goal when moolick blazed
a clear chance over the bar,then they went on a run of 4 or 5 wides before meath stopped the rot
so certainly kildare had their chances particularly in the first half where they kicked about 10 or 11 wides
now meath also had 3 or 4 good goal chances so that half was certainly cancelling each other out.
meath dont like to be ahead in games, they play better when they are behind so I dont think the semi finals
will have a bearing on this match for either team

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 12/07/2014 14:12:35    1617760

Hill,
Nowhere did I ever suggest that home advantage will cover up other frailties, if your team is crap, your team is crap.
But all other things being equal the home team will prevail more often than the away team.
Simples!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 12/07/2014 14:17:15    1617766

muckross

the best team on the day will prevail not the home team

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 12/07/2014 17:35:01    1617807

hill16no1man

muckross

the best team on the day will prevail not the home team

Agreed, but the best team will be the home team, all other things being equal.

I can keep this up all day, as i suspect can you. Let's call it a day & agree to disagree

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 12/07/2014 17:54:34    1617815

I muck there is something we both have to face. The best team in both finals are the home team. But sure Meath mightupset the oodds, can Donegal do same?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 13/07/2014 08:46:38    1618073

royal, you are a laugh a minute.

Meath are 7/1 against, i.e. no hope of any description
Donegal are even money, hardly the same.

It wouldn't matter if you were playing in Navan, the pitch had a slope of 45 degrees, and half the Dublin team didn't turn up, Meath would still be underdogs.

Still at 7/1 I can only assume that the royaldunne millions are on an historic win?

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 13/07/2014 10:29:04    1618111

7/1 id say is very strange odds on meath considering kildare hammered down today
thats 4 ulster sides knocked out by roscommon,limerick,kildare and laois
ulster isnt proving to be as strong as its believed to be so far this summer

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 13/07/2014 15:50:59    1618283

Kildare beating Down by ten points in Newry, asks the question, how good are Meath?

It should be an interesting Leinster final.

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 13/07/2014 16:48:26    1618341

Ok now that all the lesser provincial finals are out of the way lets bring on the main event #coybib

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 13/07/2014 18:19:33    1618431

Ok now that all the lesser provincial finals are out of the way lets bring on the main event.

Agreed clondalkin, I expect all the talk will now be about Donegal/Monaghan.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 13/07/2014 18:58:07    1618473

Jaysus Muck you follow me around like a rash on this forum. I reckon 3 all between Donegal Monaghan and Donegal to win the replay 4-3

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 13/07/2014 19:42:02    1618506

Only because your posts are so entertaining clondalkin.

Royal & yourself are in a class of your own when it comes to having a somewhat single minded view of all things GAA & I find it hard to resist trying to inject a note of reality to your wilder excesses.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 13/07/2014 21:15:37    1618572

Yes CD the only one that matters.
Kildare dismantling of Down in newry I think could be a accurate pointer of how far Meath have come, I unfortunately think Dublin might still do it but not without one hell of a battle.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 14/07/2014 09:48:51    1618690

royaldunne

1618690 Yes CD the only one that matters.
Kildare dismantling of Down in newry I think could be a accurate pointer of how far Meath have come, I unfortunately think Dublin might still do it but not without one hell of a battle.

I agree royaldunne , Kildare showed yesterday that they are well able to take their scores and a good team and it now puts in perspective the win by Meath.
Should be a cracker.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 14/07/2014 12:26:08    1618858

Jaysus it's getting closer, really looking forward to it now, we won't win obviously but hopefully it'll be a nice day, we'll have a brews maybe a bbq back at the local (even if it is raining), it's great to get a day out in Croker.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 14/07/2014 12:42:09    1618872

Yes CD the only one that matters.

RoyalDunne.

Top teams, Teams with high ambitions don't do "moral victories".

If Meath give us a battle and still lose, Your battling will mean NOTHING. You never hear Kerry or Donegal fans saying, Dublin might beat us but we will give them one hell of a battle. It just doesnt happen, And why ? Because second best is failure for those sides. Just look at Eamonn Fitzgeralds interview after we beat Kerry last year, It was put to him that Kerry where involved in possibly the greatest game ever, Rejected that as a positive straight away.

Like last year, I'd imagine you and alot of other Meath fans (Not all), Will hang your coats on the fact you put it up to the Dubs, While the Dubs (once again) are lifting the silverware. A one point defeat is, and always will be, the same as a 17 or 18 point defeat. A loss is a loss, And should never be seen as some sort of an achievement giving your local rivals "a battle". Pathetic mentality really.

If Dublin lose but give Meath a good game, There will be no moral victories as far as we are concerned, It will be failure. Simple as that. None of us will turn around and pat ourselves on the back for making it a good battle.

That mentality/attitude is the difference between a team like Dublin who are a top side, And a team like Meath who arent.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 14/07/2014 13:02:56    1618897