Hurling qualifiers

Waterford v Laois Waterford by 5 points

Antrim v Offaly Offaly by 2 points

Clare v Wexford Clare by 5 points

Tipperary v Galway/Kilkenny Galway OR KK by 3 points.

WoodlawnPat (Galway) - Posts: 288 - 23/06/2014 18:56:00    1607941

Waterford v Laois - Waterford by 7.
Clare v Wexford - Clare by 10.
Antrim v Offaly - Antrim by 2.
Tipp v Galway - Tipp by 2.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 23/06/2014 19:13:52    1607951

Tipp v Galway on SKY Sports.Fantastic.Really feel my subscription is worth it now.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 23/06/2014 19:24:14    1607961

Any Dubs who dont have SKY are more than welcome in Cue,s humble abode.I wudnt deprive any fellow city slicker gaels viewing their beloved games.I consider a 10e entrance fee more than fair.Look forward to it lads.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 23/06/2014 19:40:23    1607974

Haven't read through this thread but I would say Waterford is a great draw for a team like Laois. A victory over one of the established counties is exactly what Laois hurling is ready for. They've had a few cracks at Galway and they are getting closer. What they need now is to be wrote off against one of the bigger counties who themselves are going through a transitional period. Waterford are ideal as they look vulnerable. VERDICT - LAOIS

Offaly and Antrim are probably the two counties everyone else wanted yet both ended up getting each other. I don't think either are a serious threat and the winner will provide someone else with a handy tie in the next round. VERDICT - ANTRIM

Clare and Wexford was a draw last year. I would say a similar result or anything close to it would be decent outcome for Wexford. This is a good draw for Clare to get the show back on the road but a bad draw for Wexford who had have fancied their chances against Waterford or even a shaky looking Tipperary. Their wait for a game in Croke Park will stretch into it's seventh year I imagine. VERDICT - CLARE

Tipperary are probably one of two Munster counties everyone in Leinster wanted to avoid and Kilkenny/Galway is the tie everyone in Munster did not want. Surprise, surprise like the Offaly-Antrim fixture, they got each other. I have no idea who'll win the replay for Kilkenny/Galway but the loser will not want to face a Tipperary side who have not won a championship match since the semi-final in 2012. This is a huge game for Eamonn O'Shea but nothing like it to focus the minds. This could be last game for someone like Lar Corbett - indeed it could be the swansong of a lot of Kilkenny players too - it would be sad to see these players bow out like that. VERDICT - KILKENNY/GALWAY

Former_Poster (Meath) - Posts: 394 - 23/06/2014 19:42:23    1607975

Ok we may not win but an increasing number of posters seem to be expecting us to.be hammered. We have yet to be hammered in the championship under liam Dunne. This is very unlikely. 3-5 point losing margin for Wexford if I was put. On the spot. I very much doubt Wexford will lose by the biggest margin out of these fixtures

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2709 - 24/06/2014 11:26:57    1608164

RebelCork

1607553 Wexford brought Clare to extra time last year yet ye're already admitting defeat and calling for the structure to be changed because ye got Clare. Have a bit of faith, Clare aren't impossible to beat.
Tipp are after getting a dreadful draw again. I'd probably fancy both Galway and Kilkenny to beat them but the quick turnaround might be a problem. Think Laois might run Waterford close, if they're ever going to get the big scalp they're always talking about then it's going to be this game.

Think you only read the second part of my post. I have faith I tipped Wexford to win by 2 points. The structure has nothing to do with anything. The structure I suggested makes sense for everybody and not the elite few.

Nick (Wexford) - Posts: 1100 - 24/06/2014 11:52:36    1608181

Lads there's a replay on Sat evening to decide who plays Tipp. I wouldnt right off Galway just yet...

GerMan (Limerick) - Posts: 38 - 24/06/2014 11:59:47    1608188

Tipperary are probably one of two Munster counties everyone in Leinster wanted to avoid and Kilkenny/Galway is the tie everyone in Munster did not want. Surprise, surprise like the Offaly-Antrim fixture, they got each other. I have no idea who'll win the replay for Kilkenny/Galway but the loser will not want to face a Tipperary side who have not won a championship match since the semi-final in 2012. This is a huge game for Eamonn O'Shea but nothing like it to focus the minds. This could be last game for someone like Lar Corbett - indeed it could be the swansong of a lot of Kilkenny players too - it would be sad to see these players bow out like that. VERDICT - KILKENNY/GALWAY

Formerposter our last victory in championship was 2012 Munster Final just a slight correction there!!! Hard to call though about the Kilkenny lads should we end up playing them and more importantly beat them. Tipp have little or no motivaton to beat anyone anymore. I would have thought this year we would be more prepared but it has got worse and our summer is practically over before it began.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 24/06/2014 14:14:43    1608284

Logic of this is simple. Wexford have improved more on last year than Clare have.

If this game was being played anywhere other than Ennis I would back wexford. The gap between the teams is not as big as many in here think IMO.

Most Clare posters see wexford as a stepping stone to launch their season. If dunne can't motivate them after that I'd give up if I were him.

Anyone's game in my view with home advantage to count by point or two.

disillusiondfan (Limerick) - Posts: 4279 - 24/06/2014 15:12:29    1608327

disillusiondfan, if Liam Dunne is looking for motivation on here I give up if I were him!!

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 24/06/2014 16:06:42    1608364

Carlow, Westmeath and the two Ring finalists should have entered to a round 1 draw against the 4 losing provincial quarter-finalists. There'd have been no harm entering the two qualifiers that missed out and also no harm allowing the Ring finalists involved in the qualifiers. Something worth consideration?

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7876 - 24/06/2014 16:26:35    1608377

U r right pinkie but I bet u anything dunne will be telling his lads that they need to teach these guys to respect them. Wherever it comes from wexford will fight n that might be enough.

Just can't understand y so many write wexford off.

disillusiondfan (Limerick) - Posts: 4279 - 24/06/2014 17:00:54    1608396

You might understand a bit better come saturday week at 5pm.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 24/06/2014 17:09:15    1608403

Can someone explain the formula for the Quarter final draw - is it an open draw between all eight teams or are the Muster and Leinster winners seeded.

Isolatedantrim (Antrim) - Posts: 31 - 24/06/2014 17:10:41    1608404

Cuederocket ur confidence is amazing given u haven't gotten one call right yet.
Tipp to beat limerick by 8 I think u said. Did u back Clare to beat cork n kk to beat Galway easily( I could be wrong there no doubt u will point that out)

U predict Clare will win by 10???? Think u have a bit more to learn than most but it doesn't stop u making snide remarks.

Maybe bit more reading n bit less typing would serve u well at least till u get one right.

disillusiondfan (Limerick) - Posts: 4279 - 24/06/2014 17:42:09    1608428

cuederocket

1608403 You might understand a bit better come saturday week at 5pm

I wouldn't put money on that. :-) (-:

Westfester (Limerick) - Posts: 944 - 24/06/2014 17:44:01    1608429

Isolatedantrim
Can someone explain the formula for the Quarter final draw - is it an open draw between all eight teams or are the Muster and Leinster winners seeded.

There's only 2 quarter finals. Munster/Leinster winners go straight into semi's. Qaurter finals match the Munster/Leinster runners up against the 2 teams that got through the qualifiers.

Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 24/06/2014 17:47:12    1608433

I have already.With Waterford to beat Laois by a few also.Gotta strike early to take Paddy for a few bob.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 24/06/2014 17:50:12    1608435

Easy cash lads.Fill yere boots.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 24/06/2014 18:01:33    1608439