Hurling qualifiers

As for results:
Antrim v Offaly Antrim to win by 4 points
Waterford v Laois Waterford to win by 7 points
Tipperary v Kilkenny/Galway - Tip to beat Galway by 4 points
Clare v Wexford Wexford to win by 2 points

It is time that they looked at the whole bloody structure. Still think that they should combine the League and Championship into 1 competition with 2 groups of 6 teams (based on seedings distributed equally across both the groups). Each team to play eachother once with the 4 top teams out of each group to go into the All-Ireland QF. For provincials then just run it like an FA cup that just goes to the provincial finals (I.e. not All-Ireland). Then a second tier All-Ireland with a similar structure with the 2 finalists to go into the first tier the next year and the 2 bottom teams to go down to the 2 second tier groups as the top seeds.
It solves lots of problems:
Inclusion of more teams to get a run against the first tier teams
Schedules can be made up front and you would be guaranteed to get pretty decent crowds because they can plan in advanced
Think it would be fairer on teams across the board. All teams get a minimum of 5 games and you would be pretty guaranteed that the best teams get into the QF.
With no disrespect Wexford beat Antrim already and yet Antrim could end up going further than Wexford who on recent form you'd have to say are playing at a bit better level. Not really fair in my opinion. I think those teams in the middle of the pack actually are at the most disadvantage.

I still cannot see this day and age why the above hasn't happened yet. I am sure there would be very few people who would be against this just so long as the provincials finals are retained in some form or another.
Think aswell it would make the scheduling of club games a lot easier. There should be a new rule that prevents drawn games in the knockout stage. I know it's a big money puller for GAA but it's again hampering club schedules across the country.
We should now have a final buzzer sound (taking responsibility out of refs hands) and if it is level at the end of this in knockout they should have a next score wins type rule. I know it will be cruel on one of the sides but that's life and it would add to the excitement.

Nick (Wexford) - Posts: 1100 - 23/06/2014 11:30:58    1607538

Wexford brought Clare to extra time last year yet ye're already admitting defeat and calling for the structure to be changed because ye got Clare. Have a bit of faith, Clare aren't impossible to beat.
Tipp are after getting a dreadful draw again. I'd probably fancy both Galway and Kilkenny to beat them but the quick turnaround might be a problem. Think Laois might run Waterford close, if they're ever going to get the big scalp they're always talking about then it's going to be this game.

RebelCork (Cork) - Posts: 789 - 23/06/2014 11:50:26    1607553

Once again if we look at the logic

disillusiondfan (Limerick) - Posts: 4279 - 23/06/2014 11:59:10    1607560

We got the draw we wanted and Offaly got the draw they wanted. Hard to know how this one will go but with the game being at home - presumably Ballycastle then at least it takes away the travel aspect of the fixture from our point. We won the last game at home to Offaly but I have a feeling we can discount form (or lack of) for this fixture.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 23/06/2014 12:00:40    1607564

Win your matches and the draw and location is not an issue. Tipp have gotten a terrible draw two year in a row as they have lost first day out. If we lose to Cork we will end up with a tough quarter no doubt.

Hoover78 (Limerick) - Posts: 865 - 23/06/2014 12:20:41    1607584

Stupid logic behind this draw in general per usual. From a Galway point of view we beat Laois in lst round but still enter the same section of the draw as Laois if we fail to beat the cats in the replay. Where is the benefit of winning the pronvincial quarter final for anyone if you lose the semi and end up in the same position as teams you beat in previous round (without Laois playing another game). Some might say the first round losers have the benefit of been more rested. The loser of KK/Galway will be playing third weekend in row against Tipp in Thurles.

EGGFEELEY (Galway) - Posts: 8 - 23/06/2014 12:23:00    1607591

Poor Laois must be gutted. This would have been the perfect time for them to have a crack at Offaly. A win against their neighbours would bring Laois hurling on in leaps and bounds and this year would've been the best chance of that happening in a long time. Clare, Antrim, Waterford and Tipp to come through

ceefarr (Mayo) - Posts: 39 - 23/06/2014 13:20:16    1607631

Right here we go..........

Antrim by 4
Laois by 1
Wexford by 2
Tipp by 3 v a fatigued Galway

some odds on that Id say

Brianmac78 (Dublin) - Posts: 1168 - 23/06/2014 13:22:07    1607634

The draw is made and we got Clare in Ennis simple as that. Our championship is probably over and it really disappointing as I taught we take a big scalp this year(all I was asking for). However as some of lads on the Wexford forum has said there always hope and our captain after the Dublin match was asked who they like to get in the qualifier and he said I hope it a big team because that the only way were going to develop as a team, well he got one now. We keep dreaming, Up Wexford.

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 952 - 23/06/2014 13:29:20    1607643

Offaly by 4
Waterford by 4
Clare by 6
Kilkenny by 2 ;)

Hurling1Guru1 (Galway) - Posts: 244 - 23/06/2014 13:31:53    1607644

As

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 23/06/2014 13:43:55    1607655

Still fancy Kilkenny to beat Galway in replay so that would set up a Tipp v Galway game in Thurles.Harde to call but id give the nod to Tipp.Reluctantly.If its Tipp v Kilkenny again,surely on the law of averages Tipp will come out on the right side of a close game with the cats sometime.Maybre this will be that time.Again a very reluctant vote to the home side.
Waterford should have too much for Laois at home.Not an easy place for any county to go and win.If Laois had home advantage theyd have a great chance.
Brutal draw for Wexford.After nearly beating Clare in Thurles last summer and running Dublin so close last week,any element of surprise is now gone,added to the inevitable Clare backlash after losing to Cork,i would expect a comfortable,maybe even big home win for the Clare men.
Antrim v Offaly is a hard one to call-with Antrim already having beaten Offaly up north few weeks ago.How Offaly react,or dont react,to the cats mauling will be interesting.At least SKY wont be showing this.Antrim just to scrape through.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 23/06/2014 13:57:30    1607672

I predict Wexford to beat Clare.

gaillimh73 (Galway) - Posts: 669 - 23/06/2014 13:57:44    1607673

slayer
County: Limerick

Can't believe Wexford are being written off so badly. Given the success of their underage teams and the obvious growth in coaching and skill levels in the county I think in that game Wexford could provide an upset.

Previously I thought it a nailed on Kilkenny v Clare all Ireland final but given how the games have gone to date Wexford knocking Clare out would not surprise me.

Finally somebody with a bit of positivity about this draw and I think you are right slayer! I personally am confident that if we can improve our shooting on our outing v Dublin we can give the AI champions a right old rattle. It is a pity it's in Ennis even if not from an away trip point of view, but merely from a supporters point of view. It's a long long way from Clare to here.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 23/06/2014 14:00:21    1607678

Please don't big us up.lads. Look what happened the other week

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2709 - 23/06/2014 14:15:37    1607693

Please don't big us up.lads. Look what happened the other week

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2709 - 23/06/2014 14:15:53    1607694

Looking forward to a good "old battle" with your lads Pinkie. And you and your fellow Wexford supporters are welcome to the banner county. I agree with you and slayer I can't believe anyone would say Wexford are out already. No one in Clare will certainly be saying that, we will be expecting a very hard game with Wexford. Having said that, I respect Wexford and have watched them closely for a good while, your U21s this year and last. I was very disappointed when you lost against Antrim last year. Wanted to play you in the final very much. I am not writing Wexford off at all, but if Clare perform to their max, and Wexford perform to their max, Clare will win. If Clare under perform and Wexford hurl well then quite right their could be a serious shock on the cards. I would not have minded playing in Wexford, but as a Clare supporter we have to be happy with a home draw and Wexford. No game will be easy but it could have been worse. Wexford will provide the All Ireland champions with just the kind of challenge they need to kick start their Championship.

BannerBoy2013 (Clare) - Posts: 325 - 23/06/2014 14:33:47    1607711

Saturday, June 28

Waterford v Laois, Walsh Park, 7pm

Sunday, June 29

Antrim v Offaly, Ballycastle, 2pm

Saturday, July 5

Clare v Wexford, Cusack Park, 3.30pm (RTÉ)

Tipperary v Galway/Kilkenny, Semple Stadium, Thurles, 7pm (Sky Sports)

jpcampion (Laois) - Posts: 194 - 23/06/2014 14:59:09    1607735

Tipperary v Galway/Kilkenny, Semple Stadium, Thurles, 7pm (Sky Sports)

Feck it.

RebelCork (Cork) - Posts: 789 - 23/06/2014 15:01:31    1607736

Laois and Antrim have both great chances

preddan (Kildare) - Posts: 740 - 23/06/2014 18:03:13    1607914