Dublin out of Croker

Indeed witnof, I'm sure that had something to do with it also, but my point remains relevant.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 05/06/2014 13:57:48    1598597

Damo, what u on about?

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 05/06/2014 14:12:17    1598606

i would be a big fan of moving Dublin outta Croker for league games but where is the alternative?

Dublin get 20k plus for league games (28k for the Kerry game this year) so they need a stadium that holds 30k

So the GAA go and build a 30k stadium in Dublin for 50+ million and what happens when there attendances increase again? They go back to Croker!

I would much rather the GAA pump 50 mill into coaching around the country.

The Leinster council should get Nowlan in Kilkenny up to about 40k and start using that as an alternative to hosting early Dublin championship games.

Dublin League games are gonna have to stay in Croker for the foreseeable future unless attendances drop dramatically

shea (Kerry) - Posts: 409 - 05/06/2014 14:16:33    1598610

Zinny, and I in turn asked has there been any real investigation into what the figures actually look like or is it just a sweeping assumption and then something 'that we have always done'. I have no doubt that the figures they get in croke parke for most games of the leinster championship, with a bit of forward thinking, could be replicated, or got very close to replicating as regards turnover, because frankly I doubt they are that big. Then you have to factor in spreading the gaa around the country and the effect on the livelihoods that would have on the people in towns that are not dublin, i.e. it's members. They seem to be forgotten totally, other than to pay their annual fees of course.

So you reckon that the 11 country county boards in Leinster are a bit stupid so?

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 05/06/2014 14:20:19    1598618

Liam, Damo reckons you have the master chained up in your cellar, only to release him now and then to reign terror on our heads :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 05/06/2014 14:26:08    1598626

Htaem

MesAmis

Ah come off it, since when did the Dubs start taking orders off cluchies?! Yiz are goin soft!

What can we do man?!

It is a democratic organisation and yous are in the majority. It is very simple.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 05/06/2014 14:28:10    1598627

its true real dub
every so often i pick a defenceless poster from HS and feed them to him

Anyone seem Breffni lately? :)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 05/06/2014 14:37:32    1598633

MesAmis, Im making no assertions at all as regards the Leinster council, and frankly I think it is poor form to try to push that meaning onto what I have said. Times change and decisions from year ago may not be best practice any longer. Processes can always be improved and I am simply suggesting we investigate to see if that can be done. I notice you don't actually try to take on what I am saying, but rather try to say that calling for genuine development is akin to insulting people.

As regards the several other response to me, they are not responding to the points I made, therefore I wont be answering them. If people want to debate the points I have made on this thread in an honest and forthright manner, like I am doing, then I am happy to do so, in fact I would challenge someone to do it. If I am wrong then this should be no problem, just point out where and that will be the end of it. Going off on tangents about votes in the leinster council isn't addressing the points though, that is probably worth pointing out.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 05/06/2014 15:21:36    1598671

MesAmis

What can we do man?!

It is a democratic organisation and yous are in the majority. It is very simple.

Here look I couldn't give a monkeys about Dublin playing in Croker, I don't see how it's a huge advantage anyway, the best team generally wins and Dublin are the best team at the minute, that's how I see it. But all I'm saying is that if Dublin fans genuinely want to travel for a game then get your county board to lodge a complaint with head office and let them know that you's really really want to get out of Croker at least once in the summer.

Ps, why is a vote necessary? can they not just fix the game for down the country without a vote being required, I thought that's how it works anyway, could be wrong.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 05/06/2014 15:31:53    1598680

Hahaha...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 05/06/2014 15:36:08    1598684

One of the best days craic I ever had at a game was when Dublin played Derry in a back door game in Clones. Were any of ye there lads?

Great bunch of fans around the town that day. Some poor lost soul even gave me a lift back to the house after the game in exchange for directions back to Dublin!! Often wondered where that lad ended up that night.

white.n.blue (Monaghan) - Posts: 249 - 05/06/2014 15:45:39    1598692

Across all sports, you will see sports/competitions that value fair and healthy competition prospering (the EPL for instance) while ones that sold out suffering (La liga, boxing).

I think holding the EPL up as a bastion of fairness and healthy competition is a bit of a stretch, he with the biggest bank account wins, or should we get oligarchs to bankroll county teams. Looking at the stats is a nonsense as has been pointed out but the thing which is probably overlooked is where would the majority of teams prefer to play Dublin. As was stated on another thread yesterday if you want to be considered a proper team you beat the big boys wherever and I'm sure that most teams raise there games by playing at the GAA's jewel in the crown.

This is begrudgery due to the Dubs period of success, it is cyclical as has always been and other teams will rise to the top over the coming years.

duckula20 (Antrim) - Posts: 175 - 05/06/2014 15:52:33    1598697

i was there white'n'blue
meself and holymoly/Navynblue
Bus up, bus back

the day in Longford was also mighty craic
Got lost looking for Holys car after and was scalded alive in the sun !!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 05/06/2014 15:55:56    1598699

As was stated on another thread yesterday if you want to be considered a proper team you beat the big boys wherever and I'm sure that most teams raise there games by playing at the GAA's jewel in the crown.

That wasn't stated on any thread. Where the games were played was not a factor in the seeding debate, how would it be? Care to address the point at hand?

Also, it isn't begrudgery at all. In fact we seem to be getting begrudged fair play - the most basic of entitlements in any sport.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 05/06/2014 16:34:09    1598724

In fact we seem to be getting begrudged fair play

The tag line for the Connacht Championship?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 05/06/2014 16:52:20    1598730

Ah come on jimbo, you know those stats are misleading. Surely the fact that Dublin play at home in all big games, while play a few dead ringers away from home would explain why they have lost more at home - croke park is where they play teams who can actually beat them. Please don't be insulting people's intelligence by pushing that crap. Obviously, the real question is how would the stats read if they weren't playing those big games at home.

There are multiple studies that have proven that home teams are favoured, so please spare everyone the routine. Interestingly, do you know what all these studies point to as regards the telling factor in playing at home? Across all sports they assessed, the home team got favourable treatment from the ref. Now that is probably down to many factors, including the crowd etc, but that is what the studies found, so there is no denying it. That is why, that if we beat Roscommon and galway advance also, I will be happy that we would get to play them in castlebar, because we will be at a proven advantage - nothing wrong with admitting the truth.

The thing I would like to know is, can anyone else think of a sport, where the money in the, lets face it, already swelled coffers, is put before the fairness of the game itself? Not just a once off in times of hardship, but every year. It is certainly a strange logic to have settled on.

Mayo got most of the 50/50 decisions from referee in last year final but didn't have ruthlessness to capitalise on their early advantage

HandyMoran (Roscommon) - Posts: 327 - 05/06/2014 17:20:01    1598744

One culchie lad has said "he is fed up of this argument"!!......Let me respond by saying 'dont worry, you will have about another 6 weeks of grace before the exact same argument/thread is posted up again'!!!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 05/06/2014 17:36:16    1598754