Dublin out of Croker

Themaster

Not trying to push anything

It was more the point regarding the reasons behind why Dublin play in Croke Park

There was a recent vote and Leinster CB's had the opportunity to remove Dublin from CP for their opening game

It only received 2 votes in favour... so there you have it.

I'd be in favour of having the opening game taken out of CP... but I understand the reasons behind Dublin playing in CP

There are far reaching beneficial factors involved

But it looks like it's here to stay... Dublin will continue to play in CP until we're told otherwise

We're not in charge... we'll do as we're told.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 05/06/2014 12:15:35    1598506

Spot on Jimbo!

The Dubs have to play where the culchies tell us to. Simple as that but we don't mind although culchies seem to enjoy complaining about their own decisions!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 05/06/2014 12:24:10    1598512

Exactly Jimbo and Mesamis.

Why don't they see when it is crystal clear, Dublin don't make the decisions on this.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3736 - 05/06/2014 12:32:40    1598517

MesAmis

Ah come off it, since when did the Dubs start taking orders off cluchies?! Yiz are goin soft!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 05/06/2014 12:38:00    1598523

The thing I would like to know is, can anyone else think of a sport, where the money in the, lets face it, already swelled coffers, is put before the fairness of the game itself? Not just a once off in times of hardship, but every year. It is certainly a strange logic to have settled on.

Through its history the GAA has had very strong links to the Catholic Church;
a corporation that has always put money before its members. The 'grass-roots'
ethos of the GAA is altruism; this is obviously not the ethos of those in power!

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 05/06/2014 12:41:38    1598528

The thing I would like to know is, can anyone else think of a sport, where the money in the, lets face it, already swelled coffers, is put before the fairness of the game itself? Not just a once off in times of hardship, but every year. It is certainly a strange logic to have settled on.

Very naïve statement. But really do you not think other counties in Leinster should be asked to explain why they wont go for the Dubs outside croker. Representatives from counties in Leinster sit quietly and say nothing as journalists ad nauseum go on about the Dubs unfair advantage , knowing they had the power to change this but didn't. Why was their not an outcry from other counties about this situation.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 05/06/2014 12:45:28    1598533

If you weren't trying to push it then why did you quote it and present it as a fact? Do you now accept that the stats you supplied are in fact misleading?

As regards votes, Im not debating that, I never questioned how many votes were cast and in what direction, so I don't know why you are quoting that point to me. I took issue with the part I quoted, you have in turn ignored that and made a different point. Please explain the part I quoted.

On the topic of financial gains. Has anyone ever seen the extra sums they are making? I imagine there are bigger financial burdens involved with opening croke park than another ground for a start, plus I would say that it is only a fraction of Dublin fans that will only go and see their team if it is in their back garden, most Im sure would travel to see their team in the championship, plus you would get more opposing fans if Dublin were away, so really, are they making that much more money when you factor it all in? What is it? A few thousand? If this is the reason behind their wilful ignoring of fair play, then surely some decent research should go into it, and if it were found to be only a couple of thousand, is that the price the gaa are willing to put on selling the fairness of their games? Sport thrives on fair play. Across all sports, you will see sports/competitions that value fair and healthy competition prospering (the EPL for instance) while ones that sold out suffering (La liga, boxing). It is for the good of the game that these matters should be examined thoroughly with thoughtful resolutions found. I would suggest anything up to a semi final could be played outside croke park, if feasible, and when Dublin are in croke park, a system of selling tickets more evenly should be in place to try to add as much balance as possible. The AI final last year is a good example, which was a result of mayo playing their semi first, or a pure fluke in other words. I know many dubs didn't like it, but objectively, a final with 2 large groups of fans in attendance is good for the game. Two very simple things that could help our game massively.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 05/06/2014 12:57:37    1598544

Lads this whole argument is almost pointless...

Simple reason why...

Even if Dublin are scheduled to play their opening game outside of CP...

It's still only ONE game!

The Semi-final / Final of Leinster will still be played in CP as will all the All Ireland Championship games involving Dublin

The Spring Series looks to be going nowhere and looks set to stay so that's more game time on the big pitch

So ONE game outside of Croker is not going to make any difference in regards to advantages

BUT

The opportunity WAS there to make it happen and Leinster County boards chose to overwhelmingly ignore it... two votes in favour says it all.

As Mes Amis very correctly pointed out.... Culchies seem to love moaning about their own decisions.

Dublin will do as we're told and we're being told to play in CP by our fellow Leinster County Boards and the GAA in general

We will do as we're told... SEE YOU ALL IN CROKER!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 05/06/2014 13:00:01    1598546

AthCliath, I never debated what the leinster counties have to say, I simply asked a question. Can you answer it?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 05/06/2014 13:00:17    1598547

Very naïve statement. But really do you not think other counties in Leinster should be asked to explain why they wont go for the Dubs outside croker. Representatives from counties in Leinster sit quietly and say nothing as journalists ad nauseum go on about the Dubs unfair advantage , knowing they had the power to change this but didn't. Why was their not an outcry from other counties about this situation.

This is the LC therefore the bigger the gate the bigger the amount of money available to go back to the counties via the LC. CB's want it in Dublin because they know Dublin will bring a bigger crowd than their own county would if it was staged in their own county. In a way its a transfer of money from the Dubs back to the culchies!
Nobody has mentioned here that most players also want to play in CP. Even if its a LC QF its still a big day in Croker and one that all players look forward to.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1805 - 05/06/2014 13:00:56    1598548

Dubs taking orders from culchies, I love it :-)

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 05/06/2014 13:07:28    1598553

Fair play Zinny, a bit of sense at last from non Dub posters on this issue.... :o)

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3736 - 05/06/2014 13:11:28    1598555

Zinny, and I in turn asked has there been any real investigation into what the figures actually look like or is it just a sweeping assumption and then something 'that we have always done'. I have no doubt that the figures they get in croke parke for most games of the leinster championship, with a bit of forward thinking, could be replicated, or got very close to replicating as regards turnover, because frankly I doubt they are that big. Then you have to factor in spreading the gaa around the country and the effect on the livelihoods that would have on the people in towns that are not dublin, i.e. it's members. They seem to be forgotten totally, other than to pay their annual fees of course.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 05/06/2014 13:16:48    1598560

Thanks Liamo for releasing the Master on us Yet again , rant , indignation and self righteous posts galore .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 05/06/2014 13:17:58    1598561

We all enjoy various advantages

Not many in Connacht can afford to spend €650,000 on their senior county football panel, while at the same time playing their big Connacht championship games at home in McHale Park in front of their large home support (As if you didn't already have enough advantages over your Connacht counterparts, sure you even have a far bigger population compared to most in Connacht)

All of the above = Mayo 2013

So please... you are starting to talk about other counties advantages again and bringing fairness into the argument AGAIN

Your idea of fairness is IMO highly disingenuous. If you were that interested in fairness then you should be speaking about the lob sided Connacht Championship first and foremost.

As I've said to you several times... the GAA was not founded on fairness, sport like life is unfair and someone always sits on top

Too bad it's not you... but hey... you're still right up there man!

There are many counties that would love to have all the advantages that Mayo enjoy...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 05/06/2014 13:22:23    1598564

Mes Amis has it bang on
Dublin play all our games because our Leinster Cousins dictate it
The Leinster counties were asked to vote on this and the respective counties all bar came back to keep it as it is
So, if you have a problem with it lads, dont ask Dublin fans to sort it out, ask the Co Boards of the other 11 counties why THEY want all our games at Croke Park

I am on record as saying I think we SHOULD have to travel and I would only love it, but....so long as the other Leinster counties want us to stay here, we will stay here
So to Kildare, Meath etc etc....if ye want it changed, ask ye're own county boards, not us.
This is ye're call, not ours

Simples

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 05/06/2014 13:28:59    1598567

Master that chip on your shoulder is called a head. Try and use it for a change.

1. I am all for the GAA making money as they plough in it straight back into the game and grass roots like no other sport. Because they mange things well do not make them wrong. Begrudgery will get you no where!

2. Makes no odds were Dublin will play as they will still walk through Leinster.

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 05/06/2014 13:29:01    1598568

Maybe if Dublin played the QF outside of Croker the buzz and race for tickets the atmosphere etc.. Would actually increase attendance for there next game in Croker...So maybe it would make financial sense to send the Dubs on the road every once and a while

shea (Kerry) - Posts: 409 - 05/06/2014 13:51:59    1598589

I am fed up of reading this argument. It's not the Dubs fault. Is it an advantage to play all your games in the same stadium at home? Of course it is but its the Leinster Council/GAA that set the fixtures. As already mentioned one, possibily two games only could be accodmated outside croke park for Dublin's huge support base.

I think most teams prefer playing in Croke Park. Hell even Mayo have played more championship games in Croke Park than at home in Castlebar over the past three years.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 05/06/2014 13:54:20    1598591

the master

ah the old home advanatge myth again i see
well tyrone couldnt win at home to down but went away to down and won well
westmeath were beaten at home to louth
antrim who were given barely any chance went to brewster park and beat fermanagh who were at home
derry had home advantage against donegal didnt do much for the scoreline.
london had the fortress rusilip home advantage yet galway hammered them
wicklow had another fortress aughrim home advantage yet laois went there and kicked 21 points on their way to victory
last weekend in the hurling tipp had home advantage in thurles against limerick yet it was limerick who came out on top
so far there has barely been a HOME WIN NEVER MIND ADVANTAGE
the best team wins on the day regardless of if the match is on the moon

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 05/06/2014 13:54:24    1598592