Comortas Peil Na Gaeltachta

True muckrosshead , good grass this year and plenty of thank god, there is only 2 things I love as much as football and silage is one of them ;-) .and sky can take our allireland championship but they can never take our freedom to cut grass , aaagh .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 02/06/2014 21:08:28    1597045

Just saw the crack about Naomah Columba giving the Farmer a hand to foot the turf. Reminds me of the Ireland of yesterday. Fair play to them and even though they did not qualify for the finals I bet they enjoyed themselves. You won't see anything like that in Brazil, come this World Cup.
Also having a little thought Muck, do you think that the Dublin team would be any good in the bog. ????

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 03/06/2014 21:33:54    1597628

KingdomBoy1

1597013 Kingdomboy has been at silage all day
but I'm pretty sure my uncles would have been watching tg4, they might as well enjoy it while they can I suppose.

Jaysus when I first read that Kingdomboy I thought you were after having a little accident :)

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 03/06/2014 21:44:26    1597639

A great weekend had by all in Moycullen . Top class facilities from a great club and the rain when it came did not dampen anyones spirit .

galwayhero (USA) - Posts: 36 - 03/06/2014 21:54:10    1597643

Bought the Irish Independent yesterday and not a word about the peile gaeltachta finals. Very disappointed as the could have given it a little bit of coverage.
The thing about these finals is , whoever hosts them have to put in a massive ammount of work getting ready for these finals. So great credit to the community around Moycullen as I'm sure it was a fantastic weekend.
Was great to see thr pipers lead the teams around the pitch before the start of both games. It's something for the players to look back on when they have retired. So all roads lead to Ardara next year , all we want is plenty of sunshine and I'm sure that there will be a big welcome to the Hills of Donegal to teams and supporters and visitors who head up to the finals next year.
Now Kingdomboy get your silage early next year and take those Uncles with you and head up to the far Northwest.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 04/06/2014 09:36:34    1597674

SamOnErrigal

Also having a little thought Muck, do you think that the Dublin team would be any good in the bog. ????

Can't see it Sam, first sign of a midge & the concrete warriors would be on their toes.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 04/06/2014 10:24:13    1597699

Athcliath
Sorry for giving you a fright kiddo , I was watching a bit of braveheart the weekend on RTE and it kinda affected me I'd say :-) and Sam I can't get the uncles out of the house to go to mass they are afraid of their lives that they will come home and the houses will be broken in to , but it sounds like a savage weekend in fairness so i might pack up my bag and head up my self next year :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 04/06/2014 10:41:56    1597712

I agree about the poor coverage, but I wonder if that is not more down to the organisers than the media.

The weekend is about more than football, it is also a great weekend of music & craic. If it was marketed to the papers as a cultural/tourism/sports event as Gaelige then I'm sure a feature writer or two could be persuaded along.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 04/06/2014 11:13:57    1597736

Dhá leathanach scríobhtha faoin chomórtas, 'sgan focal Gaeilge le feiceáil fós

Is oiriúnach an siomból sin faoi thábhacht na teanga ann

Iontach láidir is ea caighdeán na Gaeilge i Maigh Cuilinn agus Cill Chartha

an tseabhac (Kerry) - Posts: 441 - 04/06/2014 11:50:55    1597774

Absolutely fantastic weekend down in Moycullen again...Organisationally, everything was first class..

The only real problem the competition has and will have in the next few years is the utter domination by the Donegal teams..Between junior senior and ladies in the last 4 years 11 of the 12 winners have been from Donegal..
Between Cork, Kerry and Waterford the standard of teams has been very poor lately..Galway teams will be competitive but are not at the same level as the Donegal teams..

In Mayo where there used to be 4 reasonably strong Gaeltacht teams this has dropped to only one, Cill tSeadhna, who would be able to compete..While we were hoping to give the comortas a right go this year, we ony were able to travel with 7 of our starting 15 for a variety of reasons and lost in extra time to na breathnaigh

With 3 strong Donegal teams in the senior competition next year it will be very hard to stop the domination by the Tir Conaill teams

jibber (Mayo) - Posts: 117 - 04/06/2014 12:12:06    1597792

an tseabhac

Tá tú mícheart ar an pointe seo Tseabhac.

Thiocadh liom an thread seo a dhéanamh i nGaelige ach níl go leor Gaelige ag a cuid is mó de na daoine ar HS é a thuigint.

Don cúis sin agus an cúis sin amháin chuir mé an post suas i mBéarla.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 04/06/2014 12:38:14    1597825

Jibber
Truth is I think we have 16 senior teams competing in our County championship I could be wrong but I am sure around 10 of those clubs are Gaeltach teams. We run off our own championship between Paddy 's day and the finals are around May bank holiday. Now I think Kilcar beat Glenswilly in our county final and don't forget they were beat in the Ulster club final last year by Ballinderry. Really fancy Kilcar to win the Donegal senior final this year. When did Kilcar last win Muck ?????
Leaving aside that Donegal clubs do well I stil think it must be great to participate in those games and there 's lots of other things happening , like picking Cailin Gael plus singing and dancing. Well done to every around Ireland who help keep our culture alive and long May it last.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 04/06/2014 14:46:43    1597963

an tseabhac

Níl caighdeán Gaeilge maith ag Comórtas Peile na Gaeltachta. Ní as Gaeltachtaí láidir iad an-chuid de na foirne a bhíonn ann.

Is cuimhne liom a bheith ann uair nó dhó agus is iontach an deireadh seachtaine é ach is beagán Gaeilge a chuala mé ann chun an fhirinne a insint.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 04/06/2014 14:54:15    1597972

SamOnErrigal

When did Kilcar last win Muck ?????

1993 was the last county championship to come "down the trough" We beat Killybeg, joy of joys, who were going for 3 in a row.

As for the Comortas, it is a fantastic weekend all round. I remember well the last time it was in Kilcar, dancing the "Siege of Ennis" on the Main Street @ 3.00 in the morning with about 200 others. I can't vouch for the accuracy of some of the steps but a great time was had by all.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 04/06/2014 15:04:28    1597984

Now you have it Kingdom boy you won't be worried about silage and you doing the Seige in the middle of the night. If God spares me think I'll head there next year. But you do look to have a really nice looking team there in Kilcar Muck

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 04/06/2014 15:17:31    1598003

Absolutely fantastic weekend down in Moycullen again...Organisationally, everything was first class..

The only real problem the competition has and will have in the next few years is the utter domination by the Donegal teams..Between junior senior and ladies in the last 4 years 11 of the 12 winners have been from Donegal..
Between Cork, Kerry and Waterford the standard of teams has been very poor lately..Galway teams will be competitive but are not at the same level as the Donegal teams..

In Mayo where there used to be 4 reasonably strong Gaeltacht teams this has dropped to only one, Cill tSeadhna, who would be able to compete..While we were hoping to give the comortas a right go this year, we ony were able to travel with 7 of our starting 15 for a variety of reasons and lost in extra time to na breathnaigh

With 3 strong Donegal teams in the senior competition next year it will be very hard to stop the domination by the Tir Conaill teams

Not sure if there much that can be done about that to be honest. The senior Gaeltacht clubs have often been very strong within Donegal itself. You couldn't really same the same about anywhere else. Galway has quite a few Gaeltacht clubs but none of them ever make much of an impact in the Galway senior championship. The last Gaeltacht winners in Galway were An Cheathrú Rua back in 1996.

Donegal clubs have certainly taken over the senior championship at the Comortas but in fairness the junior is much more spread out with mainly Galway/Kerry winners over the past decade or so.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2222 - 04/06/2014 17:00:18    1598119

Samon
Granted there is more Donegal teams but the standard has gone way way up lately..Like compared to the Kilcar team that won in 2008 and the Ardara team that was in the final in 2010 the current batch of teams competing seem way ahead..I wouldnt be as bullish on Kilcar winning Donegal though..As impressed as I was with them, a tired Breathnachs team got through them relatively easy for a number of goal chances..I'd imagine being so physically light they would struggle against the more physical Donegal teams??

The lads mentioning the lack of Irish being spoken at the weekend its very hard to pinpoint why..I'd a number of conversations both in Irish and english with people from all over the country and the only teams that I saw consistently talking in Irish were Laochra Laoch Lao and na gaeil oga..Nearly all the young peole from other clubs were either talking in English or a mixture of both..To be honest I think its so much more than just making sure everyone is regimentally speaking as gaeilge..its about celebrating the culture and sport in a really special environment and atmosphere which this weekend definitely was

jibber (Mayo) - Posts: 117 - 04/06/2014 19:09:47    1598224

jibber

The lads mentioning the lack of Irish being spoken at the weekend its very hard to pinpoint why..I'd a number of conversations both in Irish and english with people from all over the country and the only teams that I saw consistently talking in Irish were Laochra Laoch Lao and na gaeil oga..Nearly all the young peole from other clubs were either talking in English or a mixture of both..To be honest I think its so much more than just making sure everyone is regimentally speaking as gaeilge..its about celebrating the culture and sport in a really special environment and atmosphere which this weekend definitely was

Fair play to the Dublin and Belfast boys for keeping the Gaeilge in the Comórtas!

But if it isn't about Gaeilge why can't anyone enter?! D'ya know what I mean!

It's a strange one in that it is a competition that is restricted to clubs that fall inside outdated Gaeltacht borders that do not reflect the amount of (if any at all) Gaeilge in the area.

Great weekend though by all accounts!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 04/06/2014 19:26:30    1598232

jibber

Samon
Granted there is more Donegal teams but the standard has gone way way up lately..Like compared to the Kilcar team that won in 2008 and the Ardara team that was in the final in 2010 the current batch of teams competing seem way ahead..I wouldnt be as bullish on Kilcar winning Donegal though..As impressed as I was with them, a tired Breathnachs team got through them relatively easy for a number of goal chances..I'd imagine being so physically light they would struggle against the more physical Donegal teams??

Jaysus jibber, for a Mayo man you are on the ball about club football in Donegal.
Kilcar will be there or thereabouts in the championship but as you say a lot of their players are very young & some of them are a touch on the light side as well. Teams like St Eunan's & Glenswilley, who reached last year's Ulster club final, are bigger & more seasoned. However when it comes to ability they are right up there & we have great hopes for them over the next year or two.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 04/06/2014 19:44:04    1598241

Mes Amis
It was nearly all Irish being spoken at the pitches but in the pubs and marquee there was definitely less..It should also be mentioned that the majority of the crowd at the finals on Monday for example were neutrals from outside gaeltacht areas so it was to be expected that less would be heard

If you just include teams in the competition from fior gaeltacht areas the quality and competitiveness would be greatly reduced hence the inclusion of all teams from all gaeltacht areas
There was talk a few years ago for example of including county teams with solely irish but taking away the club element would have been hugely detrimental to the competition

jibber (Mayo) - Posts: 117 - 04/06/2014 19:49:48    1598247