Is there any dark horses for the football championship?

Gents ye will see it on Sunday week against my own Lovely Laois, Dublin will steamroll us by 20 odd points.
Out team are a fit and well drilled bunch of lads but this Dublin team is like nothing the GAA world has ever seen before.
They are almost half cyborg.
Unfortunately for us, the Dubs only have to turn up.

Horse (Laois) - Posts: 1146 - 29/05/2014 11:59:35    1595120

Holy God Horse, what sort of additives are they puttin' in the water these days around your part of the world. Bit harsh on Longford I'd say. They'll be lookin' forward to playin' de Dubs in Croker once they get over Wexford. For the record, I expect Laois to have a right go at Dublin and hope they do well. Last thing Leinster football needs is another snooze fest with Dublin winnin' by 10-20 points. Taking off my Green and Gold tinted glasses, we'll be doin' well to get to Leinster final. Kildare are a new look side with lots of U21's so are a bit of an unknown quantity at this stage. On current form neither Kildare or Meath will be within 5 points of Dublin. Quarter finals at best for either. Would expect Laois to come through the back door and make the last 12, outside chance of QF's.

moylagh (Meath) - Posts: 484 - 29/05/2014 12:09:00    1595125

Horse
County: Laois

1595120 Gents ye will see it on Sunday week against my own Lovely Laois, Dublin will steamroll us by 20 odd points.
Out team are a fit and well drilled bunch of lads but this Dublin team is like nothing the GAA world has ever seen before.
Unfortunately for us, the Dubs only have to turn up.

True words. This Dublin squad have such talented brilliant footballers, that any fifteen players from iy, would beat any team from the past or present without breaking into a sweat.

Micko's Kerry would be beaten out the gate by half time, never mind the likes of Laois or Donegal.

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 29/05/2014 12:11:27    1595129

THANKS ATHCLIATH for letting us know about the new groups as I did not know until last Sunday that things had changed. So once again thank you and enjoy your games through the summer

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 29/05/2014 12:42:42    1595146

No doubt about it. Galway will do very well this year.

mod (Mayo) - Posts: 859 - 29/05/2014 12:48:23    1595150

Floops
Could have the second Rugby league fixture in CP this Summer ( Donegal vDublin) with the dubs getting beat again. Come September I could post something like, ::::::
One manager
Two All Ireland's
And ONESystem.
Anyway we have this poster in your province called Horse , really fancies the Dubs and is expecting his County, LAOIS , who he describes as a Fit and WELL DRILLED team to get beat by 20points. Now I would have thought a well drilled, fit team should not get beat by that much Of course if they think like that they will of course get beat by that.
This is where our SUPREME LEADER. (JMcG) would come into play IF both Dublin and Donegal overcome all the teams they play during the summer. Getting the team mentally right, getting tactics right and our defensive system spot on . Bring doubts into the opposing team's head Never know what could happen. Lots of hard games you know Look at us , if we beat Antrim/Fermanagh then could be Mon/Tyrone /Armagh/Cavan No easy games but it would be nice to meet the Dubs again and see how we compare to them.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 29/05/2014 12:59:36    1595156

They do look pretty similar actually. Tall, dark and handsome.

MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 29/05/2014 13:45:08    1595200

That's no problem, SamOnErrigal,, I done it a bit long winded but I hope you get the idea :-)

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 29/05/2014 19:41:19    1595407

Seeing R Keane is going to CELTIC , wonder will he come to the All Ireland post reception to congratulate JMcG. Just wondering as Neill Lennon was there in 2012. Nothing like having the CELTIC manager celebrate Donegal winning Sam.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 29/05/2014 19:49:45    1595409

Kildare in both the Ring and Maguire championships are dark horses.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7871 - 29/05/2014 20:41:49    1595438

Sam Keane is a Staunch Cork man so you have a better chance of the queen been there.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 29/05/2014 20:42:50    1595441

Donegal are not the team they were in 2012, they will not get close to dublin, yea there more less in an ulster final but i would not fear thematal, i still think armagh will be stiff opponents for cavan, i reckon it will be a monaghan donegal ulster final.

MonMan97 (Monaghan) - Posts: 33 - 29/05/2014 21:20:54    1595464

MonMan97
County: Monaghan

Donegal are not the team they were in 2012, they will not get close to dublin, yea there more less in an ulster final but i would not fear thematal, i still think armagh will be stiff opponents for cavan, i reckon it will be a monaghan donegal ulster final.

Monaghan will do remarkably well to get passed tyrone, who i think are looking very strong this year. Dark horses this year would have to include galway, they are due a good run, and have a pedigree of u21s starting to break thru to senior rank now.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 29/05/2014 21:39:39    1595476

Mon man how do you know that Donegal won't perform this year. After all we have players who have been through it all before , done that , have this sort of thing As regards meeting Dublin ,well I'm sure JMcG won't be taking your view that we won't trouble Dublin That's what happens to a lot of teams going into Croke park in Championship matches, no belief in their selves, no proper game plan to execute against a team like Dublin. In other words these teams are beat even before they board the bus to head to Dublin. A Laois poster on today expecting Dublin to hammer them by 20 points. What a way to think. Looking at posters on here you would think we should hand the Sam to Dublin as they are going to hammer everybody out the gate.
You say a Monaghan /Donegal Ulster final, could be alright. I think if I were a lot of teams I'd try avoid Donegal. I can defiantly see our defensive setup back in place and I don't think Derry will be the only team that will end up going backwards and sideways when in possession of the ball If we get to a meeting with Dublin I am happy to leave it in Jim McGuinness 's hands I'd be fully confident he would have a game plan, be Competitive as He says himself and give our best we might not win but but Dublin might be glad to see the final whistle.
For yourself Monaghan might be better off not meeting Donegal in the championship.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 29/05/2014 21:51:09    1595484

Galway dark horse , didnt that show quite high in the GAA myth thread sometime back , every year some has a sneaking sense , not going to happen id have Mayo obviously and Roscommon ahead of them for Sam

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 29/05/2014 21:54:25    1595486

Dublin, Cork and Mayo are the only teams capable of bringing home Sam this year.
Its a sign of the way the Gaa has gone that you can bring it down to three teams
even before a ball is kicked in the champ'ship. The only ingredient which prevents
boredom is luck and a possible mistake by a referee....

michael (Cork) - Posts: 381 - 30/05/2014 10:01:16    1595516

michael

Dublin, Cork and Mayo are the only teams capable of bringing home Sam this year.
Its a sign of the way the Gaa has gone that you can bring it down to three teams
even before a ball is kicked in the champ'ship. The only ingredient which prevents
boredom is luck and a possible mistake by a referee....

Mayo havent won sam in over 50years, and if they win it this year it would constitute a shock. Cork have won one all irealnd in recent years, and will certainly be in the shake up, but I wouldnt say they would win it. Dublin yes, they are the team that all will be gunning for, they are the favorites and rightly so.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 30/05/2014 10:18:33    1595521

Damothedub, the thing with galway is they have a lot of confidence players. When they get that swagger going they can be dangerous. I would have liked to see them meet Roscommon on the back of that london game instead of Sligo, as I think it would be a very interesting game.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 30/05/2014 10:22:54    1595523

Would not be too worried about meeting Cork as I don't see them even getting to the semi Final. Mayo could win it and that would not surprise me but how many shots are they going to get at it(in final last two years) Dublin look like the team all right but every team is beatable. In my book nothing between Cork,Derry ,Tyrone,Monaghan,Mayo,Donegal and possible Kerry. The games between the beaten provincial finalists and the last of the qualifiers plus the quarter finals are bound to have a shock or too
Saw Galway on Sunday but it was a walkover They have to improve a lot to even win Connaught. London 's not near up to that class, they find it difficult in Div four. In saying that they have had some good performances over the last few years but Icould not class Galway as dark horses.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 30/05/2014 11:38:07    1595549

Of course Galway are dark horses. Any cursory analysis of their recent championship history would lead one to the conclusion that it would be a major surprise if they won Connacht or even got to a quarterfinal this year. And by the way Errigal I wouldn't be so dismissive of Cork.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2991 - 30/05/2014 12:03:34    1595563