Brolly's "Baywatch Babe" comment

4KHDoneill
County: Derry

1591356 Maybe some of you would prefer the cringe fest of Mr Mulligan and McConville?

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/northern-ireland/27468874

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 21/05/2014 14:29:01    1591365

She's Irish, she a sports presenter and has competed for Ireland in the past (albeit in a different sport), She was a natural selection for the presenter role

She is far more qualified than Michael Lyster, Bill O'Herilhy and Tom McGuirk were when they landed plum roles in RTE

I think Brolly's comments are disgraceful to say she only got the job cause of her looks, I'm sure she will do a perfect job especially considering the the low standards of presenters/analysts on RTE

muscles (Sligo) - Posts: 444 - 21/05/2014 14:46:59    1591372

the only thing id be critical with rte when it comes to GAA is they dont cover it enough
when they do cover it they are very good at it
so I dont see all the hoo la baloo about sky going to be miles better at presenting the matches
a few extra cameras at the match hardly world wind
throw in the fact they will only have one analyst in comparison to rte who have three analysts
I dont think rte have anything to worry about the more sky reveal the less impressive it is becoming
take the add for GAA it was awful two guys just and mdma made do ridiculous soccer style thing with a ball that
would never be seen on a GAA pitch then they slap hands and it says see GAA diferantly well mdma is hardly the most skillfull
GAA player in the world never mind see him do something like that on a pitch was more his basketball style backround
come on 5 mins job and sky were back on the plane.
RTE sunday game ad is far more enticing.
judging by the officia poll done today 56% of people think the GAA getting into bed with sky is a bad idea
28% thinks its a good idea and 16% are undecided

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 21/05/2014 14:54:12    1591380

None of these issues on TG4 - if you don't speak or understand the language your spared the "analysis". As if analysis enhances anything other than the career of a minor celebrity. Turn the sound down, make a cup of tea or argue with a few friends.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 21/05/2014 15:01:14    1591389

hill16no1man

1591380 the only thing id be critical with rte when it comes to GAA is they dont cover it enough
when they do cover it they are very good at it
so I dont see all the hoo la baloo about sky going to be miles better at presenting the matches
a few extra cameras at the match hardly world wind
throw in the fact they will only have one analyst in comparison to rte who have three analysts
I dont think rte have anything to worry about the more sky reveal the less impressive it is becoming
take the add for GAA it was awful two guys just and mdma made do ridiculous soccer style thing with a ball that
would never be seen on a GAA pitch then they slap hands and it says see GAA diferantly well mdma is hardly the most skillfull
GAA player in the world never mind see him do something like that on a pitch was more his basketball style backround
come on 5 mins job and sky were back on the plane.
RTE sunday game ad is far more enticing.
judging by the officia poll done today 56% of people think the GAA getting into bed with sky is a bad idea
28% thinks its a good idea and 16% are undecided

Also, this 'poll', did they ask you, I wasn't asked, anyone else out there polled, I'd be interested to know.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 21/05/2014 15:02:36    1591390

Thats your opinion arock, I believe that major talking points should be addressed and discussed in an informative and preferrably non-partisan manner.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 21/05/2014 15:05:26    1591394

brend

of course there is people bigging sky up to be far better
we havent even had a match yet and theres a thread saying sky sports gaa i love it
there was plenty on here on threads stating how sky would transform analysis and coverage of GAA
and as far as I can see the only thing sky want from this so far is to keep the subscriptions in Ireland during the summer
and stop people leaving as soon as the epl ends.
having one analyst in the studio is going to be very backwards as you will only hear one persons opinion
you will only see talking points re shown that one person wants shown

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 21/05/2014 15:09:16    1591396

Htaem
I don't get the whole Brolly thing, I just don't find him that funny or interesting, don't get me wrong I love controversial figures, I generally always love the 'bad guys' like Mourinho, Fergie, Clough etc, they're entertaining but Brolly.....meh.

Fully agree Hteam. People say 'oh but you don't get it, he is supposed to be controversial'. I am fully aware of that, he just isn't much good at it from what I can see. There is nothing likeable or believable about the persona he presents, and for me, that makes it fall flat. I find him predictable to be honest with you, you know the angle he is going to take before he takes it. Everything is outrage, Im just sitting there thinking, do you have any other setting joe? He cant take a bit of ribbing either, always has to have a come back and creates a big uncomfortable silence, it is car-crash stuff, not entertainment.
Footballing-wise, he stands for nothing. At least spillane has his ethos, it is more believable because of it. Brolly about-faces every season. Entertainment-wise it is the equivalent of JR waking up from a dream every season...

I also echo what brend says about him, I find him to be totally over-rated.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 21/05/2014 15:11:38    1591397

hill, you are assuming that sky make McAuley do that thing with the ball. This is the mentality I have referred to in the past; anything bad must have come from sky. As you said, mcauley has a basketball background, well that is a basketball move, I'd be fairly confident they asked him to do something with the ball and that is what he did of his own accord. Stop assuming sky are responsible for everything you don't like.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 21/05/2014 15:16:48    1591405

I believe Skys coverage will be streets ahead of RTEs. Who said there was only going to be one pundit? Their match coverage & analysis is going to be 3 hours long per game and they will add guest pundits for each game.
Games will be in proper HD. Games that they broadcast will be promoted to the nth degree. They will have a weekly highlights show that includes RTEs matches. Most importantly both commentators are very good.

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 21/05/2014 15:24:37    1591411

When Brolly said sorry that's when he lost all credibility.

sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2897 - 21/05/2014 15:33:46    1591420

I think people are willing it to fail without even giving it a chance. People just seem to be trying to find faults with any little thing that Sky does, whether that be the "baywatch babe" anchor (no pun intended) to the advertisement on tv. People need to give it a chance instead of branding it a failure before even one game has been broadcast.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 21/05/2014 15:38:44    1591425

You are correct Dubsfan28. It is totally ridiculous. If the English viewers took this same attitude towards the gaa the game would be dead in the water over there. Is it fear? Insecurity? We need to snap out of it.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 21/05/2014 15:52:05    1591435

Richieq

I would have thought being referred to as a baywatch babe would have delighted manys a woman, might as well bring in a vow of silence the way things are going

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Yeah, she must be very odd, because usually well-educated women who have worked hard to reach the top of their profession love to hear bitter old men attribute that success to how they look.

Brolly must be getting well used to apologising. Sean Cavanagh and Swatragh GAA last year, Rachel Wyse today - can't be long before he steps too far over the line.

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 21/05/2014 15:54:42    1591437

I wonder if Joe and the rest of them are getting nervous now that they might have to up their game. I mean when you have been saying the same thing for years it might be hard for some of the lads to come up with an original analysis.

Spillane: that was puke football (generally delivered as a ruling on any team thats not Kerry or Dublin and in particular teams from Ulster), look at all the handpassing, it was never like that in the golden years when i played followed by some worn out cliche.

Brolly: no your wrong Pat and heres why (the why is generally because the team might be from Ulster, if there are from somewhere else Joe might agree)

Followed by a back and forth conversation that basically goes like, Now Joe your wrong, no Pat your wrong or else we are both right and the team playing are the greatest blight ever on the game of football.

What a stupid comment from Brolly to start with, RTE need to learn that there is more to analysing a game than just been controversial and thats not just GAA, look at the other sports also.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1350 - 21/05/2014 16:01:31    1591442

I find RTE's panel interesting. BBC are very bland. TV3 were awful.

And I think Brollys tweet was a bit of craic. If people wanna talk about sexism and suppression of females tune into the news, and the horrific kidnappings in Nigeria.

Brolly was trying to be funny. I'm sure most women think Michael Lyster is a fine thing! But they won't apologise for saying it.

I think Joe doesn't have much to apologise about. Joes in the entertainment business. He gives good value.

At least he has something to say and a bit of personality!

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 21/05/2014 16:15:19    1591454

RTE now know they will have to up their game as regards GAA, Some of what they do is brilliant ,some is very lazy because they have never been challenged before for the hearts and minds of the GAA viewer (I wouldn't say tv3 bothered them too much) Sky might be a breathe of fresh air or be very poor we will only find out as the championship unfolds , one thing is for sure the stakes have been raised and hopefully the viewer will get more GAA information because of it.
But sure only time will tell.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 21/05/2014 16:19:35    1591459

They have Joe very badly rattled alright, you'd nearly feel sorry for him at times.

RebelCork (Cork) - Posts: 789 - 21/05/2014 16:29:29    1591468

The class of RTE really shining lately! Fair play to Rachel for keeping professional and not getting involved in these childish antics. RTE are running scared. And rightly so. I've never seen such a bad attempt at a highlights show when they were doing the national league this year. To them only the top 3 matches in div 1 existed. A joke.

I live Joe because he does a lot of great donor work but this is a step too far.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 21/05/2014 16:32:32    1591469

Can we please not get Joe the organ donor and Joe the great bloke mixed in with Joe the TV personality, they are not linked and it clouds the discussion.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 21/05/2014 16:48:41    1591477