Sky Sports' GAA - I love it!!

Goldrick I certainly wasn't having a go at you with my response and apologies if you read it that way. I just had to point out why Farneyfriends original post was almost certainly wrong, yet was presented as some sort of fact. I am actually undecided on the merits of Sky showing our games, but am happy to have the 3 year trial period. While some people prefer Skys analysis, I much prefer RTE's but have been unable to get that over here for the big games this year as Sky now have UK rights. However, if the end result is much greater exposure for our games and people over here getting interested in Irish sports then I am happy for Sky to continue. Signs are promising at the moment, and when non-Irish people I speak to say they watched a game and were enthralled I admit to being pleased for our organisation and country, but we should leave it another year at least before deciding if it is a success or not.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 19/09/2014 13:09:37    1653826

I have not seen one add for either the all-ireland football or hurling final replay, every other dogfight is advertised until we are sick looking at them but not a mention of our two most important games, sky have no interest in the gaa, they just wanted to hold our subscriptions for the summer season, so dont get too excited about what sky is going to do for our games, very little imo.

giveballaghback (Roscommon) - Posts: 296 - 20/09/2014 18:59:23    1654298

Totally agree. A few positive tweets from some English guys and all of a sudden our games are announced on the world stage? Gimme a break.
The GAA is an afterthought for Sky.
The annoying thing is Ill bet that tomorrows all Ireland final will be more entertaining, passionate, and have more action that anything else that SKY is showing.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 20/09/2014 19:06:48    1654301

I think you have seen it all before like myself joncarter.

giveballaghback (Roscommon) - Posts: 296 - 20/09/2014 19:14:46    1654302

giveballaghback joncarter

Ah lads, lads, I came on here whistling and now yous have me crying, talk about negativity purely just for the sake of it, head out for a few drinks tonight and try to get laid or something for jaysus sake, life's not all bad you know!!!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 20/09/2014 19:42:22    1654309

I guess I do get a bit grumpy sometimes but im only giving my opinion.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 20/09/2014 19:44:36    1654310

normally negative in nature though joncarter..sky been very good so far i think and hurling viewership was excellent..they gave more time to gaa then rte did for kerry mayo replay for instance

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 20/09/2014 19:47:58    1654314

joncarter

Ha fair enough, but sure look it if Sky aren't all that interested then the deal will be gone within 3 years anyway so I wouldn't worry too much about it.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 20/09/2014 19:48:02    1654315

Promotion is part of any package and sky have not ran one add for our showcase finals, look at the effort sky make on all other sports they broadcast and you soon show where gaelic games are in the pecking order, I for one would be in favour of the sky deal but when I see the lack of interest sky have shown I have changed my position on the matter, sky will always give programme time because they need to fill space on their channels in the summer when there is no soccer. Time for the gaa to move on, set up a gaa chanel , I for one would subscribe, I dont really care what other people think of our games, we know the value we all get from our gaa games in all codes, we dont need others to tell us what we know already, we dont realise just how lucky we are.

giveballaghback (Roscommon) - Posts: 296 - 20/09/2014 21:00:57    1654345

what happens if you change channell at half time?
are you counted in the average haha
as if not then im never counted as if there is a race on attheraces il flick over and watch it at half time

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 21/09/2014 10:39:37    1654401

SKY doesn't matter one little bit, the vast majority of people watching the game today will not be watching it on Sky, so we'll take Sky viewers word for it that its a life changing brilliant experience.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 21/09/2014 15:04:30    1654458

Have to agree with you about it being a life changing experience I nearly died with boredom

tinrylandman (Carlow) - Posts: 387 - 21/09/2014 18:23:59    1654588

so did anyone in this country watch the sky coverage yesterday.
what about all you people who said it was much better coverage than RTe. a breath of fresh air etc etc. tell us all about the SKY coverage.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 22/09/2014 11:58:38    1655168

They didn't bother to show winning speech. Good call

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1109 - 22/09/2014 12:02:45    1655177

watched it, sadly the were bigging up Durkan before the game!!! Coverage was fine as it has been all year, not a huge Paul Earley fan though. And they did show the winning speech. Believe it was RTE who cut of the ladies winning speech last week!

Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 22/09/2014 12:34:00    1655222

Goldrick as someone who has no option but to watch Sky because I am abroad, I can tell you that I really missed RTE. The 4 in the studio seemed a bit embarrassed about the type of game that was taking place (maybe because one of them was part of a team who set much of this negativity in motion) so generally we had to settle for Rachel telling us over and over again that there were more than 80000 people in Croke Park. Watching them try to dissect bits of the game in a cold, scientific manner just added to the dreariness of the whole day. The GAA is a celebration of Irish culture and RTE capture that well. Skys production was closer to a celebration of German engineering. That is why I am delighted today to get any snippet of RTE analysis there may be available on the internet. On the positive side the analysts suits were, once again, of a very high standard albeit over the top for the job being performed.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 22/09/2014 12:34:49    1655223

Rosineri1
County: UK
watched it, sadly the were bigging up Durkan before the game!!! Coverage was fine as it has been all year, not a huge Paul Earley fan though. And they did show the winning speech. Believe it was RTE who cut of the ladies winning speech last week!

How much of the ladies speech did Sky show?

Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 22/09/2014 14:31:59    1655364

sky had no coverage of the ladies match marlon..rte did..so why would sky show a speech from a match they didnt even show highlights from?

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 22/09/2014 15:10:12    1655405

At least SKY doesn't have Pat Spillane - that in itself is a good enough reason to turn to SKY

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1805 - 22/09/2014 15:34:55    1655444

zinny
County: Wexford

At least SKY doesn't have Pat Spillane - that in itself is a good enough reason to turn to SKY

right guys have you read what Soma has said. He didn't have a choice but to watch it on Sky and he wished he could have the RTE coverage. I think that says it all.. despite all our whinges and gripes I would say very few who have sky actually watched their programme and those that had no choice pined for the rte coverage. a lesson to be learned for all surely.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 22/09/2014 21:30:50    1655655