Sky Sports' GAA - I love it!!

18.7% of population had access to sky sports 3 at weekend which isn't a whole lot. A lot of UPC subscribers don't get sky sports 3 or 4 which is why it would be better on Sky Sports 1 or 2. Sky sports 1 would also attract a bigger British audience flicking through the channel.

lukewalsh96 (Cork) - Posts: 252 - 10/06/2014 18:18:59    1601691

I'll post this again to see if there's any response:

http://www.irishtimes.com/debate/letters/sky-sports-and-gaa-fans-1.1826140

an tseabhac (Kerry) - Posts: 441 - 10/06/2014 18:19:36    1601692

Am I right in thinking Sky sports are going to televise one of these games? They have the rights to broadcast 8 qualifies so am guessing they would be obliged to show one first round game and I presume they won't want double headers on a Saturday evening either. Would expect them to do one game a round up to round 4 where they would broadcast two more then they are left with three hurling qualifiers. If this is the case what should they choose. Personally I would say Derry v Longford or Louth v Monaghan/Tyrone but have a sneaky feeling Sky would go for Limerick v London....

lukewalsh96 (Cork) - Posts: 252 - 10/06/2014 18:20:14    1601693

ill16no1man

"Do these guys realise anything about what the GAA was founded for and they want to hand the sport over to an organisation that is british"

Well maybe when you come out with statements like this can you blame others for assuming the obvius hill?

What i can't understand is why you or anyone else would be willing this to fail and taking pleasure in it if it does. Rather try to be constructive. I saw the match the other night terrible affair but sky did a decent professional job , lot better than rte with cameras and so on. That's what we should be talking about.

foreverroyal (Meath) - Posts: 349 - 10/06/2014 18:23:31    1601697

ormondbannerman

Who told you that most people in Ireland have either UPC or Sky? 'most people' seems like a pretty high estimate to me. Sky are market leader in multichannel tv networks and what do you think most people have if they don't have Sky/UPC etc?

Well Saorview I'd imagine considering RTE is the national broadcaster but anyway I was referring more to Skysports specifically than Sky and UPC because I know plenty of people who have either one but not skysports, which is all that actually matters when it comes to Sky's Gaa viewing figures for last saturday.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 10/06/2014 18:24:42    1601699

hill

i havent given constant stick about anything

Hahahahaha, I genuinely burst out laughing when I read that hill, it's a good one, fairplay :-) We'll leave it there for today so.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 10/06/2014 18:27:40    1601704

Htaem

hill

i havent given constant stick about anything

Hahahahaha, I genuinely burst out laughing when I read that hill, it's a good one, fairplay :-) We'll leave it there for today so.

exactly you form an opinion that if your not all for something
you have to be massively against it
because i havent lauded sky sports for gaa like yourself and others
does not mean im the big bad anti santa
i have never lauded rte coverage but amazingly i have never been lbleed anti rte or anit irish for that

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 10/06/2014 18:42:15    1601716

and also htaem
you say people have sky and upc but not sky sports
well then it would show that so far sky have done very poor in their attempts to gain more viewers
if people have not been willing to take up their sports packages to watch gaa
depsite their heavy publicity they have been recieving

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 10/06/2014 18:43:44    1601720

foreveroyal

how is that anti brit?
gaa is the national sport for ireland
so wanting the national sport for ireland to be available to you guessed it irish people up and down the country
is wrong is it?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 10/06/2014 18:51:07    1601726

So are you saying gaa is for irish only? Many clubs including my own have foreign nationals on teams which is great to see.
Also surely it can only be good for our games to be shown to a wider audiance. No matter what nationality. How can that be bad?

foreverroyal (Meath) - Posts: 349 - 10/06/2014 19:25:55    1601758

Just because they are the national games does not mean they should not be shown to a wider audience. There are millions of Irish or of Irish extraction in U.K.,many of whom had no choice but to leave our shores, I think it is important that they are also accommodated and there is also the opportunity to show our games to a wider audience. This is an opportunity for the GAA to obtain further revenue which will benefit the games and clubs throughout the country. We can hardly complain too much about the number of GAA games we see live on our screens i.e. 29 championship games,in contrast there were only the semi-finals and finals of the football and hurling championship some decades ago. We are also able to attend the games live and the people who attend the games live are the bread and butter of the games. The games are played in the U.K and there is now an opportunity to grow the games further. It is a welcome development for the Irish diaspora and a small price for the Irish at home.

fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 598 - 10/06/2014 19:44:12    1601768

foreverroyal

Where did hill say he only wanted the game available to Irish people? He said he wanted games to be available to people in Ireland, I don't see any mention of precluding non-nationals, or people in other countries, from watching it. No need to turn the discussion into something its not, happens too much. If Sky had rights to show all the games in Britain without exclusive rights to the Irish market, I'm sure no-one in Ireland woud have much of a problem. I'd personally love for the games to get wider exposure in Britain and the rest of Europe, not to mention get picked up by a network in the US.

Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 10/06/2014 19:57:30    1601773

Marlon jd
You are spot on with what you say, none of us anti sky posters would mind if sky had all the games football and hurling once rte got them all as well so we get to see them , now i know ye will say that rte have the same amount of games as before but we also had the qualifiers on Saturday evenings on tv3 which I guess we don't have now. So a little less of the anti Brit thing lads , even though I am anti Brit on every other issue :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 10/06/2014 20:29:45    1601790

Hill is more than entitled to his point of view.

I don't agree with him but I can see where he is coming from & it is an argument that has merit.

All I would say is wait till this plays itself out until passing judgement one way or the other.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 10/06/2014 21:02:47    1601809

Personally, everything belonging to or connected to Sky, News International, Fox News or any other branch of Murdoch's empire of dirt (apologies to Trent Reznor for the steal) are absolute anathema to me. I could bang on for hours (and often have done) about the perniciousness of Murdoch's influence on society and culture in general but in this context I prefer to post a link to a letter in today's Irish Times from a spectator at the Kilkenny/Offaly match, who writes more succinctly and with more restraint than I can on this topic and yet articulates his point beautifully.
http://www.irishtimes.com/debate/letters/sky-sports-and-gaa-fans-1.1826140
Well said, Sir.

doiregael2 (Derry) - Posts: 337 - 10/06/2014 21:55:25    1601871

There was clearly a good number of people out on the pitch after the match having a puck about and I dont recall the post match interviews even being on the pitch!

macattack (UK) - Posts: 584 - 11/06/2014 08:39:02    1601897

Doiregael. I'd have the same objections to a certain non resident Irish media mogul. But that doesn't mean I wouldn't watch game on tv3 when they had it. See what I'm getting at?
I don't see the problem. The game last weekend would not have been shown on rte. This is a wider scope of television games designed for audiences abroad. If we want to watch them we upgrade to sky sports. If we don't the status quo remains. We wouldn't have seen them anyway.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/06/2014 09:07:33    1601908

royaldunne
You can repeat that ad nauseum RD and some people just will not get it nor do they want to they are so entrenched in their positions, I mean this has nothing whatsoever to do with Rupert Murdoch, Sean Hannity or his evil empire.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 11/06/2014 09:47:25    1601923

foreverroyal

So are you saying gaa is for irish only? Many clubs including my own have foreign nationals on teams which is great to see.
Also surely it can only be good for our games to be shown to a wider audiance. No matter what nationality. How can that be bad?

show me where i said its only for irish people?
nobody has a problem with more people getting to enjoy gaa
the problem with sky sports is it comes at a cost of the irish people themselves
I mean would the english premier league give exclusive rights to games to an american tv network
and make the english public subscribe to that network to watch matches in england?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 11/06/2014 10:54:20    1601965

doiregael2

Personally, everything belonging to or connected to Sky, News International, Fox News or any other branch of Murdoch's empire of dirt (apologies to Trent Reznor for the steal) are absolute anathema to me. I could bang on for hours (and often have done)

Sweet love of jaysus don't tell me you're one of 'those people', I can just hear it now, one big perennial, jaw breaking yawn of a lecture......I've heard a few of them in the past, they put years on you!

Well said royaldunne and brend, at least you's are approaching this from a sensible balanced point of view, ie having patience instead of heaping constant praise or constant criticism. Anyway who cares who's over a network, I know Murdoch owns Sky because of a joke on the simpsons years back but I wouldn't of had a clue who's over TV3 unless you's pointed it out, why the does such silly things matter to people?

If someone like propaganda minister Joseph Goebbels was ahead of a network then yes I'd have a big issue with that but otherwise, just relax, people shouldn't be getting so worked up over these things.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 11/06/2014 11:12:08    1601978