Sky Sports' GAA - I love it!!

Curlew66
County: Roscommon
Sky seem to focus on tactical analysis of the game and highlight positives without the personal criticism that has crept into the RTE coverage. Amateur players bring thousands to our matches, boost TV ratings and dont deserve to be insulted/offended in any way.. My fear is that more players and managers will talk exclusively to Sky if RTE persists with the personal stuff ... #respectheplayers

To be fair, even on RTE there is a big difference on how hurling and football is analyzed. RTE's hurling panels usually highlight and celebrate the positives in the games (sometimes too much so). The football panels on the other hand seem to concentrate too much on the negatives of games, tend to be over personal, and go for the sensational a bit too easily.

Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 08/06/2014 17:05:43    1599926

Yes, I agree with you Marlon . Good point and very accurate.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 506 - 08/06/2014 17:20:08    1599937

No KingdomBoy, I dont want a sanitised presentation. What I object to is how for example Colm Cooper was labelled by a panelist - Im sure many in Kerry would agree with me...Criticize tacticts, cynical/negative play etc but be fair to the players..... #respectheplayers

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 506 - 08/06/2014 17:36:00    1599948

Curlew
The panelists are just speaking their minds which is what they are paid to do, they are there to give their opinion and that's all it is is their opinion we don't have to agree with it but it is what it is, everybody is free to make up their own minds ,and you didn't see Colm cooper going mad when joe made those comments he just took it on the chin and drove on.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 08/06/2014 18:04:55    1599973

Speaks volumes for "Gooch the man" - wishing him a full and speedy recovery.
Of course Kerry fans gave Brolly his answer when he waked by them in the vicinity of Croker afterwards but as you say it was only their opinion like ...

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 506 - 08/06/2014 18:35:32    1600005

Nah panellists are there just as fillers, deep down nobody really cares what they're saying because you've already made your own mind up on the game. But I can see why they're there, it wouldn't make sense to start the coverage just at throw in, no introduction nor nothing, then show static at half time while you're waiting for the second half and cut the coverage off straight away after the game, wouldn't be great for ratings.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 08/06/2014 18:56:17    1600030

For a first time out, I thought Sky did a good job with great camerawork, no obvious bloopers & a panel that discussed the game as opposed to the RTE bun fight yesterday, which was as predictable & it was annoying.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 09/06/2014 14:47:53    1600746

didnt see the game lads was in tullamore at a wedding
thaught would have got to see it in the hotel but when heard scorelines knew why haha
cannot comment on the sky factor
but viewing figures released today would surely be very poor
with skys figures only getting 32 thousand average viewers
compared to dublin v laois 402 thousand avergae viewers

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 10/06/2014 13:26:56    1601420

32,000 tuned in for the Kilkenny v Offaly game. Not a lot when you think 402,000 tuned in for the Dublin game and 221,000 watched the Kilkenny v offaly game last year. I suppose these are the sacrifices the GAA is making. It will be interesting to see what kind of viewership is there for the Dublin Wexford game next week.

lukewalsh96 (Cork) - Posts: 252 - 10/06/2014 13:53:26    1601445

Here's the link
http://m.independent.ie/entertainment/television/tv-news/exclusive-32000-viewers-in-ireland-tune-into-skys-gaa-debut-30339999.html#comments

lukewalsh96 (Cork) - Posts: 252 - 10/06/2014 13:54:35    1601446

Will be very interesting when the UK Numbers are released

chriscart580 (Meath) - Posts: 376 - 10/06/2014 14:24:28    1601464

Sure look it I wouldn't worry about the low viewing figures in Ireland, they were to be expected really, it was Sky's first game and the the game itself wouldn't attract much attention because it was so lopsided. Anyway Sky being a subscription broadcaster will always find it very hard to beat the free to air RTE over here, that's a no brainer.

Be interesting to see what the overall viewing figures were though, nevermind the Irish figures, I wouldn't imagine many foreigners bothered watching, certainly not yet anyway, the games need time to grow. I mean you wouldn't sow a field one day and arrive back with the harvester the very next day! but anyway there are plenty of Irish people living abroad so I wonder how many of them tuned in.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 10/06/2014 14:40:42    1601481

htaem

yeah but we have been told most households in ireland have sky sports already
thats for ireland so how would the game need time to grow ?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 10/06/2014 14:45:56    1601485

10/06/2014 13:54:35
lukewalsh96

Here's the link
http://m.independent.ie/entertainment/television/tv-news/exclusive-32000-viewers-in-ireland-tune-into-skys-gaa-debut-30339999.html#comments

That's great! I hope it's worth this:

http://www.irishtimes.com/debate/letters/sky-sports-and-gaa-fans-1.1826140

an tseabhac (Kerry) - Posts: 441 - 10/06/2014 14:50:35    1601489

After this season watch SKY pick and choose the games they want more carefully and it won't be along the lines of Saturday's fiasco. SKY will want teams that can compete against each other and they will not want a repeat of Kilkenny/Offaly or they will muscle in on Dublin's success and interest. I also predict that SKY will eventually wrap up sole rights to broadcast the GAA in Britain AND the North and RTE on satellite will be blanked out like the Republic's soccer games.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 10/06/2014 15:05:03    1601500

Sorry I thought that said 320,000; didn't mean to be ironic

an tseabhac (Kerry) - Posts: 441 - 10/06/2014 15:11:37    1601513

So that oul fella in Leitrim never got to see it then!

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 10/06/2014 15:13:21    1601517

hill

No they need time to grow abroad not here, jaysus I didn't think most households in Ireland had Sky, certainly not Skysports anyway!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 10/06/2014 15:16:39    1601520

htaem

those figures were for ireland
32 thousand would be quite poor whatever way you look at it
we were told for the last month that most people in ireland in this day and age have sky or upc

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 10/06/2014 15:23:58    1601528

I didn't think that Ireland was the target audience for Sky coverage, mostly the Irish diaspora and the uninitiated in the UK, would I be right in thinking that?

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 10/06/2014 15:30:17    1601536