Sky Sports' GAA - I love it!!

Yup. Wont be long before local English soccer teams are having to fold, what with all the kids over there deciding to play hurling instead.

Seriously though, Sky sports news hasn't so much as given the a mention yet, and Ive been keeping an eye out. If Rupert Murdoch is going to force me to pay money I don't have to watch my national game, the least he could do is pay some attention to it. (just joking lads)

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 07/06/2014 20:04:45    1599535

That post Mayotyroneman says more about your own insecurities than anything else.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 07/06/2014 20:12:03    1599537

Jesus .
OK everyone knows I dislike hurling. But wow wow wow. What a performance by sky. You couldn't ask for better. I do feel sorry though for the old guy living in Leitrim who never went to a match of hurling in his life but is been stopped from not watching this on rte (they wouldn't show it anyway) by those pesky Brits. How dare they show our games in such a professional manner_ showing up our stations as second rate. Shame on them.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 07/06/2014 20:15:31    1599540

On the game itself, dreadfully one sided.
Ger Loughnane, while he was harsh, was absolutely right in what he said about Offaly earlier this year.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 07/06/2014 20:15:47    1599541

AthCliath

That post Mayotyroneman says more about your own insecurities than anything else.

+1.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 07/06/2014 20:22:10    1599544

Havent been watching the game. As I said, I cant afford it ( that old guy in leitrim is not alone it seems).
Still though, what specifically is sky doing that is showing our station as second rate? Gimme some examples.
Joe Brolly, for me, is one of the most fascinating pundits in the world, in any sport. Jamsie O connor was a pundit on Tv3 for years, and I never heard anyone say anything good about him, now that hes on sky, the compliments are flying in.
The inferiority complex strikes again.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 07/06/2014 20:24:05    1599545

I have no difficulty with my identity and sense of pride in our games...I do not need to fawn to the comments of others who have little knowledge of our games...as far as the sky executives are concerned our games sit alongside hockey and darts...do not delude ourselves

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 07/06/2014 20:29:21    1599548

Have to agree JC...our inferiority complex is amazing

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 07/06/2014 20:33:22    1599551

mayotyroneman

Who cares about sky sports coverage...why are we fawning to the english ?...why do we care about what they think?...once again as a nation we cannot get over our post colonial past....this game is being shown on a their 3rd channel alongside hockey and darts. meanwhile on their premier channel Ireland are playing Argentina in rugby....guess what most sky sports viewers are tuned into this evening?..its not what's happening in nowlan Pk....time we realised this sham for what it is

That's en embarrassing post in fairness, shows incredible insecurity on your behalf.

as far as the sky executives are concerned our games sit alongside hockey and darts...

Jaysus I hope so, Sky have done wonders for those sports, especially Darts, that game was in a terrible way in the late 80s and early 90s until Sky got on board, they treated the game with respect and it's still growing today, that's a fact you can't deny.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 07/06/2014 20:49:39    1599569

Yes JC and mayonirdieman your insecurities are shining like a diamond.. Firstly for the anyone to say jamesie oc is a foreigner or knows nothing about a game by all accounts he excelled at is ignorance at its height. Sky production has let the gaa shine and excel_ even hurling a alien sport to many a Meath man. Their sheer professionalism has allowed a man like jamesie excell where tv3 suppressed it. That's what a top drawer company does. Oh BTW its sky Ireland who are in charge of this operation

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 07/06/2014 20:53:28    1599575

Thought the broadcast was ok, no major complaints. A little sanitised and clinical in my opinion. Gimme Ger Loughnane talking about constipated hurling anyday. Analysis was good, canning and jamsie were very good, but RTE analysis is on a par, if not better.

supermon (Monaghan) - Posts: 1073 - 07/06/2014 20:59:57    1599587

Im certainly not deluded Mayotyroneman. I don't have Sky, I couldn't care less what station its on, but another outlet for Gaa is fine by me , What I don't need is someone going on a condesending antibrit rant and using Sport as their vehicle.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 07/06/2014 21:03:58    1599600

Exactly.
Rte analysis involves emotion, passion, arguments, controversy. That beats cold, clinical, automaton analysis any day of the week ( I mean, stuff like heat maps, percentage rates of various kind, an ocean of statistics, gimme a break lads)

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 07/06/2014 21:05:14    1599601

07/06/2014 20:49:39
Htaem

mayotyroneman

Who cares about sky sports coverage...why are we fawning to the english ?...why do we care about what they think?...once again as a nation we cannot get over our post colonial past....this game is being shown on a the. 3rd channel alongside hockey and darts. meanwhile on their premier channel Ireland are playing Argentina in rugby....guess what most sky sports viewers are tuned into this evening?..its not what's happening in nowlan Pk....time we realised this sham for what it is

That's en embarrassing post in fairness, shows incredible insecurity on your behalf.

as far as the sky executives are concerned our games sit alongside hockey and darts...

Jaysus I hope so, Sky have done wonders for those sports, especially Darts, that game was in a terrible way in the late 80s and early 90s until Sky got on board, they treated the game with respect and it's still growing today, that's a fact you can't deny.

Yet again htaem you sum up perfectly

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 07/06/2014 21:05:28    1599603

whens their next match?

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 07/06/2014 21:07:14    1599604

I cannot believe that we now think that sky will work wonders for our sports....do you think our games are honestly going to be up there with premiership soccer....I can't believe you actually said we should aspire to be on the same level as darts....in case it escaped our notice sky are not about the promotion of sports....in the darts context they threw money at the major darts players to come over to a world championship they invented..now darts is watched by a fraction of the audience it enjoyed twenty years ago....I hope your comparison with darts does not come to pass...just imagine the world hurling championship exclusive to sky sports....

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 07/06/2014 21:13:31    1599610

While we would often disagree. This is excellent post.

07/06/2014 21:03:58
AthCliath

Im certainly not deluded Mayotyroneman. I don't have Sky, I couldn't care less what station its on, but another outlet for Gaa is fine by me , What I don't need is someone going on a condesending antibrit rant and using Sport as their vehicle.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 07/06/2014 21:16:49    1599617

Thought the broadcast was ok, no major complaints. A little sanitised and clinical in my opinion. Gimme Ger Loughnane talking about constipated hurling anyday. Analysis was good, canning and jamsie were very good, but RTE analysis is on a par, if not better.

RTE have decades of experience, Sky have one game.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 07/06/2014 21:17:11    1599618

supermon

I'm just happy they're showing the games, they are two brilliant spectacles when played at their best so why not try and get them out there. But as far as Sky's coverage goes I wasn't expecting anything unique, infact their analysis tends to be on the safe side, although the game itself didn't help matters. I ended up switching between the hurling, darts, rugby and Longford v Wexford game on newstalk which sounded very entertaining in fairness.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 07/06/2014 21:18:13    1599619

Mayotyroneman

Do ye need a hug ?

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 07/06/2014 21:18:31    1599620