Do Meath fear the Dubs?

I suppose the point I'm making is HTAEM, the provincial championships have had their day.

I think a lot would like to see a group stage format which means every team gets at least 3 games in the championship.

Give the like of Leitrim or Fermanagh the chance to play the dubs in croker or cork or one of the other big guns.

Anyway a bit off topic!!

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 15/05/2014 16:46:58    1588184

Start winning again Meath...!!

Be bloody careful what you wish for jimbo!!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 15/05/2014 16:53:06    1588187

Htaem

Be bloody careful what you wish for jimbo!!

_______

Meh...!!

Get on with it so...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 15/05/2014 16:55:38    1588191

daytona11

I suppose the point I'm making is HTAEM, the provincial championships have had their day.

Maybe they are in the current format, but I don't know they still afford great local derbies and a chance of winning respectable silverware so I think they are worth retaining, but anyway you're right it is off topic so I'll leave it there.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 15/05/2014 16:56:01    1588192

Meh...!!

Get on with it so...

Ah jaysus give us time will ye jimbo, we're not out for another 30 days.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 15/05/2014 17:06:48    1588197

Liamwalkinstown

Anyone who says this rivalry is dead is not from Dublin or Meath
I cant begin to tell you how much I love playing Meath. Second only to Kerry in terms of a traditional rivalry and contest.
I am 34 and playing Meath means everything to me. 89, 91(x4), 95, 96 ...these games are engrained in my psyche
The famous "what is it about Dublin V Kerry" segment from the last few years on RTE, could just as easily say "what is it about Dublin V Meath"

I grew up fearing and loathing Meath, but also respecting the hell out of them. To the point where I have GENUINE affection for Meath as a result. No other Leinster county comes close in the rivalry stakes. And they never will.

When your in a pub pre match and the fella at the table opposite to you is in a Meath jersey....its a special feeling

I dont even know what Kepak do...but i wouldnt touch their product with a barge pole!!! :)

With respect a chara, I think that sentence in bold is almost a Freudian admission from you that the rivalry as we knew it (and as you eloquently phrased)is dead. What you have is a nostalgia for days of yore when they were more than a match for you. However, I believe admitting you have genuine affection for them is almost code for pity for fallen rivals (much like Alex Ferguson used to heap praise on Arsene Wenger when his team were beating Arsenal 8-2 - sorry if the soccer analogy upsets anybody). Dublin are miles better than Meath (and most others now). Dublin and Meath will not capture the nation as it used to.

Other rivalries will emerge - Dublin V Mayo perhaps (in the same way as we had Kerry v Tyrone in the 00's), Dublin V Donegal..Dublin v Meath is one to take out the scrapbooks..

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 15/05/2014 17:25:38    1588208

I have a mate who is fearless. Always tries to chat up the nicest looking girl in the bar. There was maybe a time a few years ago when they might have went home with him but not these days. He's not the looker he once I was I suppose. He has the belief but that still doesn't change the fact that the girls he does go home with now are not what they were and that's if he goes home with one at all. I'm sure Meath can relate.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 15/05/2014 17:31:31    1588211

Fear wrong expression , do they relish playing us yes , do they get themselves up for a game v the Dubs yes , unlike some counties I could mention Meath love an opportunity to get one over us , they don't have an inferiority complex , even when every stat says they've no chance they take to the field with a bit of belief , thats the reason I respect Meath .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 15/05/2014 17:34:00    1588214

Meath have been losing some amount of finals to Dublin at all age levels in the last number of years...

They may not fear us... but they'd want to start getting better at football and don't worry about showing up with their chests stuck out thinking they are something they are not.

Because that's all that matters... you can stick your huff n guff up your Royal bottom's

The Dubs are going for a treble of Leinster titles at the expense of Meath this year...

Our U-21s beat you in Leinster... our Minors beat you in an AI final not so long ago... the list goes on...

Dublin GAA has some amount of gold in their pockets at the expense of Meath GAA

The Dublin senior panel is looking very strong and is going to be around a fair amount of years

Unless Meath start to dramatically improve... the future is very much blue.

Hope we can find a good performance against Meath this year... because at full flow... you're not in our bracket

Calm yourself down there, we have beaten your minors already this year and beat your U21's as recently as 2011 and our seniors have consistently put it up to you even when considered vastly inferior on form as well as being the only county to beat ye in Leinster since 2004, I only see huff and guff coming from one direction and it ain't west of the M50!!!!

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 15/05/2014 17:42:17    1588220

bennybunny

Dublin v Meath is one to take out the scrapbooks..

That's probably very true of the neutral supporter, I don't know what the country thinks about Meath v Dublin games these days, probably not much but it means a lot to most fans of both Meath and Dublin Gaa fans. It's a special game to a lot of us because for historical reasons but to be fair some of our recent games have been very good aswell, they haven't just been confined to history.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 15/05/2014 17:42:34    1588221

doublehop

I have a mate who is fearless. Always tries to chat up the nicest looking girl in the bar. There was maybe a time a few years ago when they might have went home with him but not these days. He's not the looker he once I was I suppose. He has the belief but that still doesn't change the fact that the girls he does go home with now are not what they were and that's if he goes home with one at all. I'm sure Meath can relate.

Ye but the thing is we can come again......and so can he I suppose if he takes a little blue pill!!!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 15/05/2014 17:45:10    1588222

doublehop

Ye but the thing is we can come again......and so can he I suppose if he takes a little blue pill!!!

Haaaa, good aul Pfizer

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 15/05/2014 17:55:06    1588227

They say they don't but come on...... :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 15/05/2014 18:14:20    1588234

Absolutely not. They will come into this game with no weight of expectation whatsoever but yet confident that they can put it up to the Dubs like they did last year while also expecting that the Dubs will underestimate them. If they meet then put your money on the Royal. This match is ripe for an ambush and potentially the upset of the year. One thing I respect about Meath is that if they are beaten then they won't blame Dubs home advantage, Dubs' vast player choice, Dublin training facilities or the referee. They'll blame themselves and hats off to them for it.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 15/05/2014 18:37:40    1588246

Htaem

Htaem

bennybunny

Dublin v Meath is one to take out the scrapbooks..

That's probably very true of the neutral supporter, I don't know what the country thinks about Meath v Dublin games these days, probably not much but it means a lot to most fans of both Meath and Dublin Gaa fans. It's a special game to a lot ofus because for historical reasons but to be fair some of our recent games have been very good aswell, they haven't just been confined to history.

Benny is right. The Dublin/Meath rivalry has lost the bitterness and genuine hostility it used to bring with it every summer whenever the two teams would meet. It might sound a bit extreme but people forget the absolute resentment us Meath folk had/have for all things Dublin.

The fact that we rarely beat Dublin now has declared us as non-threatening. When we could ruffle their feathers back in the day then you would have seen the real dislike both sets of supporters had for each other. The sooner Meath football gets back to where it was the better, for Leinster and the GAA as a whole.

RoyalClass (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 15/05/2014 18:54:48    1588256

Id say even some of the Meath cars start to sweat coming through Finglas in fear of the ensuing bloodbath.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 15/05/2014 19:20:44    1588263

RE Daytona: think everyone does.

They days of the Dubs v Meath being a big fixture are well and truly gone. Leinstet football championship is a non event these days.

Thats the good old Kildare never say die spirit there. Is there any point in holding it then.

hootervillian (Meath) - Posts: 308 - 15/05/2014 19:21:20    1588264

RoyalClass

The fact that we rarely beat Dublin now has declared us as non-threatening. When we could ruffle their feathers back in the day then you would have seen the real dislike both sets of supporters had for each other. The sooner Meath football gets back to where it was the better, for Leinster and the GAA as a whole.

Ye I suppose but I think our tragically over complacent County Board has to shoulder a lot of blame for the state of Meath football at the minute. I mean you just have to look at the awful state of Pairc Tailteann to understand the attitude of our past county boards when it comes to change and innovation. Hopefully we will emerge from the wilderness soon though, certainly Leinster would be a far more interesting competition if nothing else.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 15/05/2014 19:27:30    1588269

cuederocket

1588263 Id say even some of the Meath cars start to sweat coming through Finglas in fear of the ensuing bloodbath

Thats nothing to do with Football. Thats Cause we're coming through Finglas. Most Dublin lads sweat when driving through Finglas themselves

chriscart580 (Meath) - Posts: 376 - 16/05/2014 08:31:17    1588356

the rivalry is still alive in my head anyways!!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 16/05/2014 08:41:10    1588359