Dubs or Derry?

AthCliath that is the attitude that is more likely to see you succeed.

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 25/04/2014 21:26:13    1580098

Naysayer

I am highly amused reading these comments. I will be more amused re-posting a load of them in the summer.

I have said before that if you were to give me money to walk into the bookies I would put it on Dublin but if you give me evens on someone other than Dublin I would be all over that with my own money.

Dublin are the obvious favourites at this stage but I can see ways of stopping them especially when it comes to the intensity of Championship football - I am old enough to have saw this situation many times before when one team gets called unbeatable only to come a cropper.

It is hard enough to win back to back All-Irelands, it will be harder again for Dublin being totally over hyped.

Look should they succeed I will be the first on here to congratulate them but for me they are not far enough ahead for all this fanciful talk.

-------
Have you ever heard of the famous Dublin wit Naysayer? I wouldn't say so. We are the eternal pessimists having being burned badly so many times in the past. If a Dublin poster comes on here claiming that we will bury any team then you can almost be positive that the prediction is tongue in cheek. Posters from some other counties I would not be so sure about but that's another story.
The funny thing about this is that I don't know of any dub calling us unstoppable although I do see posters from other counties doing so. Similarly with the 'over hype' in the media, how many of these hacks will be Dubs? I guarantee you not one.

Have always had a bit of a soft spot for Derry and have only ever had good experiences up there. If they were playing any team other than Dublin then I would be behind them but they are up against the Jacks. So Dubs by 4. COYBIB :)

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 25/04/2014 21:35:33    1580105

KingdomBoy1

1580064 Naysayer
There is nothing or no team to stop Dublin this year or the next few years IMO they remind of the Kilkenny hurlers a few years back.

Kingdomboy1 rumour has it the Kerry lads are up in the Macgillycuddy reeks living like the Taliban to get the fight back in them and have pencilled in a date with the Dubs in the Summer and see nothing but only victory for them. For now ye have sent down the front line battalion which consists of the Kerry journos to write pieces about us to get us rattled .

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 25/04/2014 21:42:19    1580113

AthCliath

KingdomBoy1

1580064 Naysayer
There is nothing or no team to stop Dublin this year or the next few years IMO they remind of the Kilkenny hurlers a few years back.

Kingdomboy1 rumour has it the Kerry lads are up in the Macgillycuddy reeks living like the Taliban to get the fight back in them and have pencilled in a date with the Dubs in the Summer and see nothing but only victory for them. For now ye have sent down the front line battalion which consists of the Kerry journos to write pieces about us to get us rattled .
----
Doing laps of the ring of Kerry in their bare feet apparently while back in the capital Billy Keane is running out of biros slating the Dubs left right and centre, psychologically softening them up before the physical battle begins with the green wave arriving during the Summer. Jimmy has a plan though and Jimmy's still winning matches.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 26/04/2014 09:21:39    1580141

Naysayer

Man no need for the thesis

As if you could tell us something we don't know

Tongues firmly in cheek man... tis only banter

Nothing winds up the culchies like a confident Dub

Sure we're only in our 5th National final ( at senior level) since 2011... sure what have we to be cocky about

;)

Lighten up a wee bit... You've already shown a weakness

Easily wound up by a cocky Dub... wee bit of a chip aye,

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 26/04/2014 09:42:44    1580149

Derry for this one.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7888 - 26/04/2014 10:12:16    1580154

Why do you feel the need to show your hand jimbodub?

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 26/04/2014 10:34:01    1580169

With regard the League Final - do folk feel that it will be two teams aiming to peak and going all out for the prize or will one or both teams be using it more as another step in preparation for the Championship?

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 26/04/2014 10:39:42    1580172

God love Derry it's going to be a long afternoon for them with that Dublin team that's named.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 26/04/2014 10:50:05    1580175

I can't speak for Derry but for Dublin its another step toward peaking, although we aren't far away from our strongest right now. The u21s and Brennan aren't around, while guys like Bernard Brogan and Paul Flynn haven't played much football this season. We're getting there but aren't 100% yet (I hope).

CaisleanCnucha (Dublin) - Posts: 1379 - 26/04/2014 11:04:06    1580181

Good luck to all the teams tomorrow and safe driving for all the supporters. I have a nice little flutter on the dubs and the farney boys to wins.

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 26/04/2014 13:52:05    1580246

Athcliath and joxer
Nothing to see here lads seriously, I reckon we'll go far in the minor maybe even win it but we are only making up the numbers for the senior championship :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 26/04/2014 14:44:21    1580261

MuckrossHead

roundball
County: Tipperary

Dublin won't be beaten again this year I don't think. Unless either of the Jim's or Mickey Harte hatch a cunning plan...

Even while we speak Mickey Harte is somewhere in deepest Tyrone, sitting, brooding, staring into a dying coal fire as he plans...
While in Tir Conaill JMcG has the slide rule, compass & a copy of Machiavelli's "The Prince" open at the chapter that deals with parking buses.

No muck they will get a right Royal roasting in Leinster final. Bring them on I say:).
All together sing five past cluxton.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/04/2014 15:25:50    1580273

Derry, would expect something like this

http://youtu.be/z_EjyFFb9u0?t=9m54s

4KHDoneill (Derry) - Posts: 182 - 26/04/2014 16:46:16    1580297

Dublin team are completely over rated by its own media. Have stumbled through most of their league games so far. Derry to win

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 26/04/2014 18:03:54    1580334

Derry for the win; come on Derry.

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 26/04/2014 18:24:20    1580348

Mayotyroneman:

1) We do not have our "own media" - all Dublin papers are national.

2) No team that has won 9 of last ten Leinsters, two All Irelands and a National League could be described as "over-rated".

3) If you want an example of what over-rated is ...... nah, I won't go there :-)

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 26/04/2014 18:31:23    1580354

The Tyrone lads have it about right.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 26/04/2014 18:35:17    1580360

mayotyroneman

Dublin team are completely over rated by its own media. Have stumbled through most of their league games so far. Derry to win

Jesus god love ya man. Your from Mayo and Tyrone? It's like a love child if the master and ulsterman.

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 26/04/2014 19:02:46    1580373

Its like the film 300 tomorrow, up against it but these are the games you relish! Last year the team got a chance to walk around hq before the division 2 final and no one had a clue who they were, some even through they where a bunch of hurlers. Derry always had the footballers, now we have the discipline and the hunger. Great example to all the other counties and the irish media that there isn't just 4 teams in the whole country!

brolly_4_pres (Derry) - Posts: 356 - 26/04/2014 19:06:01    1580376