The RTE News and Man Utd

marlon

exactly great post hopefully some might get what you pointed out

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 25/04/2014 16:49:02    1579980

25/04/2014 16:05:34
hill16no1man
Htaem but htaem if that was the case wouldnt the limerick post have man utd as their sports news main topic each week?
or the meath chronicle shouldnt they be reporting on chelsea v wigan instead of navan o mahonys v dunshaughlin
seen as thats what you reckon most people want
Bringing up local papers doesn't back up your point. All local papers cover the local sports and teams and don't cover the market for premiership etc. RTE do though.

25/04/2014 16:07:54 Marlon_JD
No-ones asking for Irish news to always be at the top of a news bulletin. I'm sure no-one had any problem with the crises in the Ukraine kicking off the news, or the South Korean ferry disaster, or the massacre in South Sudan, or anything like that. But a sports manager losing his job, while no doubt of interest to many, is not important enough to be the lead story on the national news. It wasn't even the lead story on the British national news.
Hill is with the way he has been going on.
RTEs staff clearly felt it was the lead story and determined it was more viable as a headline story than others.
More unfortunately would care more and want to hear more about Moyes' sacking than a massacre in South Sudan, the crisis in Ukraine..

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 25/04/2014 16:49:09    1579981

brend

Oh, is that right now, well done you.

Calm down brend, calm down, I knew someone would get upset about that after I posted, I'm talking about people who live in the Republic who irrationally hate certain or even all things about the English. I'm NOT talking about ethnically Irish people living up North, many who've suffered serious violence and discrimination, yes many of you do have issues with the British and understandably so.

But anyway, I said "we've", referring to the 26 counties not the Island as a whole, sorry if I offended you brend.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 25/04/2014 16:51:06    1579982

Htaem

Listen my line of work takes me country wide on a regular basis and in particular it takes me to Dublin. I've worked every corner of it and I can honestly say in the 8 years I've been working around Dublin I've seen many more Man U and Liverpool jerseys than I've seen Dublin jerseys, hand on heart that's what I've seen.

Also I've over heard many more conversations about football than I've heard about any other sport and that's nationwide not just Dublin. But just for the record I actually prefer Gaa, I've never said otherwise, but I like football aswell so I'm happy to talk about it to.

cannot agree with that about the jerseys
dublin jerseys are in every household
most people that wouldnt even look at gaa have one even
as its an identity thing the same as having something irish to wear on st patricks day.
the reason conversations tend to be about english soccer is because its evrywhere you go in all aspects of media
so its like a conversation starter between two men like the weather is a conversation starter
do most people really have much interest when they start a conversation with the weather as the topic
you cannot get away from english soccer wherever you look unfortunatly
my wife has absolutly no interest whatsoever in soccer,she would watch gaa,horse racing,rugby and other sports if I have it on
but heres the thing she knows more soccer players names then probably all the other sports added together
simply down to the fact of its over exposure

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 25/04/2014 16:57:20    1579987

Marlon

Sorry I only got to read your post there and I agree with you, I'm all for interest and exposure of other cultures, diversity is a great thing and I'm by no means fascinated by all things English. Infact I prefer La Liga over the PL but the majority of Irish football fans would disagree with that so RTE doesn't show it. Also I'm a casual fan of foreigner film, particularly Asian cinema but most people couldn't be bothered reading subtitles, those are the reasons be they right or wrong that our national broadcaster doesn't bother with them.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 25/04/2014 17:03:14    1579991

ormandbannerman
Hill that's fine but a significant proportion of viewers will want the soccer results and RTE would get criticised like mad if they didn't put those results

yes and they dont always give the irish soccer results either
they give the english soccer results over it
a significant proportion of viewers want to see gaa news too but many times a week you turn on and dont see any
gaa news on both rte and tv3 so you can hardly suggest that they are giving them viewers what they want.
plus nearly every household in the country has bbc or utv so whats to stop them if they want to see english sports news
turning on either of them channels and getting that news that they want,is there a need for rte to be the middle men
theres a huge proportion of people in britian who have an interest in american football
but do you ever see them being catered for by the bbc or utv in the sports news ?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 25/04/2014 17:03:16    1579992

25/04/2014 16:17:06 hill16no1man
ok lets take it down a notch
IRISH means happening in IRELAND. ENGLISH means happening in ENGLAND
now when we add in the word soccer dont let sky sports run through your mind for just a moment and think if english is in england and soccer is a sport then surely english soccer is an english sport no where in the premier league do they play in IRELAND.
now I see your resorting to the old friend who has friends trick to suggest hundreds of thousands emigrate every weekend to england to watch soccer matches now that would surely make every flight or boat sold out wouldnt it?
the majority of people wearing ENGLISH soccer jerseys in IRELAND go to the pub to watch them play. does this make them real supporters? should we count them in attendance ? The IRISH national news is ment as news from IRELAND. Tipperary Star is a newspaper giving news for Tipperary. what do we not understand about this? do you not pick up that paper expecting to read about stuff in Tipperary
Hill you don't seem to understand how the media works. Yes noone in the premier league plays in Ireland but that doesn't mean that a huge number of irish people and people in Ireland don't want to hear about the premiership.
No im talking about my friends like everyone who here who have plenty of friends who travel regularly to England to support their favourite premiership/championship team. No trick but only you would try say that that doesn't occur.
The majority do go to the pub to watch games but a significant proportion of them will go to quite a few games as well.
The irish national news is meant to provide news that will cater to the demands of the public not just news from Ireland.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 25/04/2014 17:05:17    1579993

ormondbannerman
County: Clare

25/04/2014 16:05:34
hill16no1man
Htaem but htaem if that was the case wouldnt the limerick post have man utd as their sports news main topic each week?
or the meath chronicle shouldnt they be reporting on chelsea v wigan instead of navan o mahonys v dunshaughlin
seen as thats what you reckon most people want

Bringing up local papers doesn't back up your point. All local papers cover the local sports and teams and don't cover the market for premiership etc. RTE do though.

thats the point if your only reaso for rte showing english sport is because irish people want to see it
should that logic not be applied to regional newspapers too seen as they are the same people after all
you agree that regional should do regional news
but for the life of me you seem to not be able to see that national news should cover national news

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 25/04/2014 17:06:42    1579995

Hill is with the way he has been going on.
RTEs staff clearly felt it was the lead story and determined it was more viable as a headline story than others.
More unfortunately would care more and want to hear more about Moyes' sacking than a massacre in South Sudan, the crisis in Ukraine..

your deluded my friend
you must think the rte six one news viewers are all your friends at this stage
a large majority of the rte news viewers would be married family people or elderly people
where on earth do you get the thinking these people would rather see the main news headline
of a soccer manager getting sacked
over a massacre or the possible beggining of world war 3

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 25/04/2014 17:10:20    1580000

Htaem

Marlon

Sorry I only got to read your post there and I agree with you, I'm all for interest and exposure of other cultures, diversity is a great thing and I'm by no means fascinated by all things English. Infact I prefer La Liga over the PL but the majority of Irish football fans would disagree with that so RTE doesn't show it. Also I'm a casual fan of foreigner film, particularly Asian cinema but most people couldn't be bothered reading subtitles, those are the reasons be they right or wrong that our national broadcaster doesn't bother with them.

amazing how you will watch spanish and asian
but complained about tg4 showing the matches in irish haha

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 25/04/2014 17:12:36    1580003

25/04/2014 16:22:13
flack
I don't know what it's like in your bog htaem, but most people I talk to would discuss gaa way more than soccer. Except for the nerds, and the people who don't play sports, who are generally more into the premierwhatever (and the champions league).
don't be throwing insults about htaem and his place of abode...
Really? English premiership will dominate most conversations on sport..

25/04/2014 16:25:25 Marlon_JD
True, but hasn't the time to drop the obsession passed too? I mean, there are other cultures, sports, media's out there, do we have to be open to just one. For instance, when people complain about the over exposure of British culture, English soccer etc in Ireland, they're told to move on, stop being narrow-minded, stop being insular, and move on from the past. And deservedly so in some cases. But if someone suggest 'why don't we mix things up, have more exposure to Bundesliga, Spanish football etc, and not just EPL?', as someone did above, they get told 'because of our shared past with Britain'. So much for moving on. If someone suggests 'why don't we have a wider representation of European media in Ireland, more French and Spanish movies on or TV etc', they get told 'oh the language barrier, sure we're an English speaking country'. So much for not being insular. The rest of Europe cross pollinates their media, using sub-titles, dubbing, or in some cases, just improving their language skills. We can't? We can, but we won't, because the people who bang on about being insular the most (and I'm not necessarily referring to anyone here), seem to just want to replace one type of insularity with another. So if people want to move on from the past, and want other people to do the same, then great. But taking an a la carte approach to what we should move on from is not the best way to do it.
Why should the time for the obsession with English soccer have passed? Yes there is other cultures, sports and we are not open to just one. Irish culture is most affected by british/English culture do to simple history/georgraphy. Its the truh though. People wont change in mass to Spanish/german leagues do to language issues in part of travel etc. Ease of access to Britain over spain, Germany
We don't have much more European media etc do to language barriers. we can but we choose not to as its more difficult/expensive.

25/04/2014 16:32:57
Htaem
Regional newspapers tend to discuss regional news, which makes sense because otherwise they wouldn't be regional, national news ie RTE & TV3 etc mainly focus on national news, as they should do. But national news also has an extra responsibility which is to report international news, if they didn't we'd an awful shower of ignorant fools.
+1'000'000'000'000

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 25/04/2014 17:13:33    1580004

Jaysus

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 25/04/2014 17:15:50    1580006

25/04/2014 16:57:20 hill16no1man
cannot agree with that about the jerseys. dublin jerseys are in every household. most people that wouldnt even look at gaa have one even
as its an identity thing the same as having something irish to wear on st patricks day. the reason conversations tend to be about english soccer is because its evrywhere you go in all aspects of media so its like a conversation starter between two men like the weather is a conversation starter. do most people really have much interest when they start a conversation with the weather as the topic
you cannot get away from english soccer wherever you look unfortunatly
my wife has absolutly no interest whatsoever in soccer,she would watch gaa,horse racing,rugby and other sports if I have it on
but heres the thing she knows more soccer players names then probably all the other sports added together
simply down to the fact of its over exposure
there is not Dublin jerseys in every household. don't be so naïve. Yes its part of an identity and many who don't play/watch much gaa have a Dublin jersey but don't think its so widespread to have one/

25/04/2014 17:06:42
hill16no1man
thats the point if your only reaso for rte showing english sport is because irish people want to see it
should that logic not be applied to regional newspapers too seen as they are the same people after all
you agree that regional should do regional news
but for the life of me you seem to not be able to see that national news should cover national news
Its not a well made point. Regional newspapers tend to be once/twice weekly and ive never said national news should not cover national news. You seem to think that national news shouldn't cover international news especially relating to some sporting events.
News broadcasts cover what they feel is what is wanted by the public.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 25/04/2014 17:18:09    1580008

ormanbannerman
Hill you don't seem to understand how the media works. Yes noone in the premier league plays in Ireland but that doesn't mean that a huge number of irish people and people in Ireland don't want to hear about the premiership.
No im talking about my friends like everyone who here who have plenty of friends who travel regularly to England to support their favourite premiership/championship team. No trick but only you would try say that that doesn't occur.
The majority do go to the pub to watch games but a significant proportion of them will go to quite a few games as well.
The irish national news is meant to provide news that will cater to the demands of the public not just news from Ireland.

for every one person I know who went to england once or twice a year
I know ten more who go to croker to see dublin nearly every time they play there.
so if the irish news is ment to cater to demands of the public and not just news from ireland
shouldnt the meath chronicle have reports from dublins match against derry this weekend as im sure
a huge proportion of meath people will be tuned into their tv set to watch that match
should they not be catring for them people by your logic?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 25/04/2014 17:18:13    1580009

Jaysus

ah here jimbo dont you start with the blasphemy on me

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 25/04/2014 17:19:29    1580010

hill

You're right, football is over exposed in this country, or marketed far better would be the way to say it, the Gaa doesn't do marketing very well and that is certainly a reason why people in general talk more about football. But regarding the jerseys, I can only tell you what I've seen and it's not just Dublin, across the country you'll generally always see more PL jerseys than Gaa jerseys, that's not always the case of course but in general over time and I'm speaking from experience here, that's what you will see.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 25/04/2014 17:19:30    1580011

hill16no1man

amazing how you will watch spanish and asian
but complained about tg4 showing the matches in irish haha

Ah but here's the thing, Spanish football is presented on Sky in English and Asian films are subtitled in English, TG4 doesn't subtitle me Gaa!!!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 25/04/2014 17:21:55    1580013

Htaem,

"Also I've over heard many more conversations about football than I've heard about any other sport and that's nationwide not just Dublin. But just for the record I actually prefer Gaa, I've never said otherwise, but I like football aswell so I'm happy to talk about it to."

It's almost endearing the way you constantly avoid calling it "soccer" even when it would be simpler & clearer to do so.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 25/04/2014 17:26:58    1580019

keeper7

It's almost endearing the way you constantly avoid calling it "soccer" even when it would be simpler & clearer to do so.

Haha what is it that difficult? you seem to have understood what I was saying so don't be pedantic, I wasn't making a point of calling it football instead of soccer, you can call it toe-sphere for all I care keeper7, these things aren't important to me.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 25/04/2014 17:36:53    1580021

Htaem
Infact I prefer La Liga over the PL but the majority of Irish football fans would disagree with that so RTE doesn't show it. Also I'm a casual fan of foreigner film, particularly Asian cinema but most people couldn't be bothered reading subtitles, those are the reasons be they right or wrong that our national broadcaster doesn't bother with them.

Ah, but it wasn't always the way. People of a particular vintage may remember RTE in the 80's were a bit more adventurous, oddly enough. I remember in the early/mid 80's you'd have have language instruction programming on RTE 2 on Sunday mornings, like 'Bongiorno Italiano', or some such. You had cineclub on Saturday nights that showed non-English language films (which I used try to sneak a peak at, although for less noble reasons that learning the language...). You even had a German soap opera on RTE for a while, The Blackforest Clinic (anyone remember that?). Granted, it was dubbed into English, but my soap mad mother loved it. I hated them all equally, a typical day for me back then was:
"A Country Practice? NOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!"
"Coronation Street? NOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!"
"Falcon Crest? NOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!"
"Die Black Forest Clinic? NEINNNNNNNNNNNN!!!!!!!!!!"

So, while a publicly funded national broadcaster needs to indulge us in what we want, it also has to have an eye on what we need. Our license fee should pay for more than the lowest common denominator.

Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 25/04/2014 17:45:28    1580028