The RTE News and Man Utd

25/04/2014 14:57:55
hill16no1man
yeah exactly haha and its the same with soccer on the news its there to gnerate revenue
not getting peeved just debating it haha
wasnt a slow news day at all though
several tragic stories and a burgulary at an apartment complex that left a woman fighting for her life
surely anybody can see how thats more relevant as a main news headline on the irish news then a soccer manager from another country
being sacked
Burglary in an apartment complex leaving a women fighting for her life is not nice at all but isn't headline new stuff. How is it more relevant though? Unless its one of several similar attacks and they fear there is a serial burglar committing attacks like that or the women is famous I don't see how that should go ahead in the priority list to stories ahead of a story that a large number of people in the country will be interested in.
The soccer manager getting sacked will interest a lot more people. Is a serious assault a headline news story in majority of cases? No it isnt

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 25/04/2014 15:19:24    1579909

hill

yeah exactly haha and its the same with soccer on the news its there to gnerate revenue
not getting peeved just debating it haha

Haha no, just no, ads which people general hate and football which (and I'm going out on a limb here) a lot more people tend to love are not the same thing. Ok they generate revenue so they are the same in that sense, but then many things generate revenue = shoes, books, wine gums, car tax, mighty munch, phones etc etc etc but we can't just lump them all into one super massive blackhole of a category.

Anyway listen, RTE will choose the biggest story possible to lead with on the day, on that particular day it was the sacking of David Moyes and that's the way it goes, take it up with the Irish majority not RTE.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 25/04/2014 15:21:16    1579911

Hill it depends on how you look at the sports. Soccer as its so easy to play jumpers for posts etc and if you include them in your analysis of the sport etc soccer is bigger. Maybe not through official numbers ec
You keep mentioning house of commons and comparing it to the dail and comparing them to English soccer being covered on the news but that's a totally invalid point. The premiership is where the best irish players play, the vast vast majority of irish soccer supporters follow premiership teams.
English soccer is irish sports news and is covered in the detail it is because of the demand of the irish public.

ENGLISH SOCCER IS NOT IRISH SPORTS NEWS!!!
thats exactly what the marketing stragtegys are looking to create
and it seems people like you are clearly eating up what they are feeding you.
official numbers is the only way to judge and not just through playing numbers other aspects which I already mentioned.
its not an invalid point at all
as politics,law,weather,tragedy and sport are the main genres of the news bulletin
now all of them with the exception of sport
show irish stories above other countries regardless of if its bigger on a world scale or popular
so its very relevant when discussing a news brodcast

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 25/04/2014 15:22:38    1579912

Burglary in an apartment complex leaving a women fighting for her life is not nice at all but isn't headline new stuff. How is it more relevant though? Unless its one of several similar attacks and they fear there is a serial burglar committing attacks like that or the women is famous I don't see how that should go ahead in the priority list to stories ahead of a story that a large number of people in the country will be interested in.
The soccer manager getting sacked will interest a lot more people. Is a serious assault a headline news story in majority of cases? No it isnt

ah here man you have to be taking the p***
a burgurlary that left a woman fighting for her life isnt headline news stuff?
you actually believe a soccer manager being scaked in a differant country is more relevant as a news headline?
oh it gets worse now the woman has to be famous for it to be a headline!
its not top of the pops you are watching you do realize that
they dont have a chart list for the most wanted storys haha
if that was the case would bad news ever make the news bulletin?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 25/04/2014 15:28:17    1579916

25/04/2014 15:22:38 hill16no1man
ENGLISH SOCCER IS NOT IRISH SPORTS NEWS!!!
thats exactly what the marketing stragtegys are looking to create
and it seems people like you are clearly eating up what they are feeding you.
official numbers is the only way to judge and not just through playing numbers other aspects which I already mentioned.
its not an invalid point at all
as politics,law,weather,tragedy and sport are the main genres of the news bulletin
now all of them with the exception of sport
show irish stories above other countries regardless of if its bigger on a world scale or popular
so its very relevant when discussing a news brodcast
English soccer is irish sports news bue to the irish people having such an interest and following of the premiership. You keep on repeating it isn't doesn't change the fact that it is.
This was the case a long time before big marketing people were involved in English soccer to extent they are now.
A load of my mates(and plenty on this site will be the same) have plenty of friends who will travel to England to watch premiership will watc their side on tv every game, will totally follow their team yet don't play in an official team here.
Offical numbers are not the only way to judge.
Irish stories don't always go to the top of a news bulletin just because they are irish that is not how it works in the media. Go to any journalism course and you will see that that is not the case.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 25/04/2014 15:37:26    1579922

Does anyone else think that soccer is the most over-hyped & "not very entertaining" thing this side of the Atlantic? Just thought I'd throw that out there! ;)

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 25/04/2014 15:37:59    1579924

Lads, will ye go back and look at what i said in the first place
I said RTE leading with it as the main story on six one was embarrassing and ridiculous

my only gripe here is i think some of the rhetoric here is xenophobic and anti english at its core and I think anyone who says GAA stories are bigger news stories than premiership stories in 21st Century Ireland, is deluded...unfortunately

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 25/04/2014 15:38:24    1579925

Liam

I agree, PL stories are bigger than Gaa stories in Ireland, that's obvious to those who are willing to admit it, football is everywhere, Gaa is more seasonal for most people. Also if you're talking sport to your family, mates or even just people you happen to meet, which sport are you by far most likely to be talking about? = it's PL football, plain and simple.

Also the anti-English thing I find very petty, I never understood it, we've been a free state for over 90 years now, the time to drop the hate has long since passed.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 25/04/2014 15:52:33    1579933

lads I pressume your suggesting its me thats anti english or whatever you like to call it without coming out of the closet and saying it.
but if turning on the irish sports news and expecting to see you guessed it irish sports news is anti something I give up

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 25/04/2014 16:02:17    1579937

Htaem

but htaem if that was the case wouldnt the limerick post have man utd as their sports news main topic each week?
or the meath chronicle shouldnt they be reporting on chelsea v wigan instead of navan o mahonys v dunshaughlin
seen as thats what you reckon most people want

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 25/04/2014 16:05:34    1579941

ormondbannerman
County: Clare
Irish stories don't always go to the top of a news bulletin just because they are irish that is not how it works in the media. Go to any journalism course and you will see that that is not the case.

No-ones asking for Irish news to always be at the top of a news bulletin. I'm sure no-one had any problem with the crises in the Ukraine kicking off the news, or the South Korean ferry disaster, or the massacre in South Sudan, or anything like that. But a sports manager losing his job, while no doubt of interest to many, is not important enough to be the lead story on the national news. It wasn't even the lead story on the British national news.

Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 25/04/2014 16:07:54    1579947

English soccer is irish sports news bue to the irish people having such an interest and following of the premiership. You keep on repeating it isn't doesn't change the fact that it is.
This was the case a long time before big marketing people were involved in English soccer to extent they are now.
A load of my mates(and plenty on this site will be the same) have plenty of friends who will travel to England to watch premiership will watc their side on tv every game, will totally follow their team yet don't play in an official team here.
Offical numbers are not the only way to judge.

ok lets take it down a notch
IRISH means happening in IRELAND
ENGLISH means happening in ENGLAND
now when we add in the word soccer dont let sky sports run through your mind for just a moment
and think if english is in england and soccer is a sport then surely english soccer is an english sport
no where in the premier league do they play in IRELAND.
now I see your resorting to the old friend who has friends trick to suggest hundreds of thousands
emigrate every weekend to england to watch soccer matches
now that would surely make every flight or boat sold out wouldnt it?
the majority of people wearing ENGLISH soccer jerseys in IRELAND go to the pub to watch them play
does this make them real supporters? should we count them in attendance ?
The IRISH national news is ment as news from IRELAND
Tipperary Star is a newspaper giving news for Tipperary
what do we not understand about this?
do you not pick up that paper expecting to read about stuff in Tipperary

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 25/04/2014 16:17:06    1579956

I don't know what it's like in your bog htaem, but most people I talk to would discuss gaa way more than soccer. Except for the nerds, and the people who don't play sports, who are generally more into the premierwhatever (and the champions league).

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 25/04/2014 16:22:13    1579960

Htaem
Also the anti-English thing I find very petty, I never understood it, we've been a free state for over 90 years now, the time to drop the hate has long since passed.

True, but hasn't the time to drop the obsession passed too? I mean, there are other cultures, sports, media's out there, do we have to be open to just one. For instance, when people complain about the over exposure of British culture, English soccer etc in Ireland, they're told to move on, stop being narrow-minded, stop being insular, and move on from the past. And deservedly so in some cases.
But if someone suggest 'why don't we mix things up, have more exposure to Bundesliga, Spanish football etc, and not just EPL?', as someone did above, they get told 'because of our shared past with Britain'. So much for moving on.
If someone suggests 'why don't we have a wider representation of European media in Ireland, more French and Spanish movies on or TV etc', they get told 'oh the language barrier, sure we're an English speaking country'. So much for not being insular. The rest of Europe cross pollinates their media, using sub-titles, dubbing, or in some cases, just improving their language skills. We can't? We can, but we won't, because the people who bang on about being insular the most (and I'm not necessarily referring to anyone here), seem to just want to replace one type of insularity with another.

So if people want to move on from the past, and want other people to do the same, then great. But taking an a la carte approach to what we should move on from is not the best way to do it.

Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 25/04/2014 16:25:25    1579963

Gone are the days (thankfully) where being pro-Irish meant you had to feel anti-English/British. The bottom line is it's in everyone's interest to have an appreciation of your own culture. This invariably helps you get an appreciation of other cultures without feeling your own is somehow inadequate. I think The problem is many Irish people don't really understand this til they find themselves somewhere outside of their comfort zone where English isn't commonly spoken.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 25/04/2014 16:31:21    1579965

hill16no1man

but htaem if that was the case wouldnt the limerick post have man utd as their sports news main topic each week?
or the meath chronicle shouldnt they be reporting on chelsea v wigan instead of navan o mahonys v dunshaughlin

Regional newspapers tend to discuss regional news, which makes sense because otherwise they wouldn't be regional, national news ie RTE & TV3 etc mainly focus on national news, as they should do. But national news also has an extra responsibility which is to report international news, if they didn't we'd an awful shower of ignorant fools.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 25/04/2014 16:32:57    1579966

Htaem

1579933 Liam

I agree, PL stories are bigger than Gaa stories in Ireland, that's obvious to those who are willing to admit it, football is everywhere, Gaa is more seasonal for most people. Also if you're talking sport to your family, mates or even just people you happen to meet, which sport are you by far most likely to be talking about? = it's PL football, plain and simple.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 25/04/2014 16:38:13    1579970

flack

I don't know what it's like in your bog htaem, but most people I talk to would discuss gaa way more than soccer. Except for the nerds, and the people who don't play sports, who are generally more into the premierwhatever (and the champions league).

Listen my line of work takes me country wide on a regular basis and in particular it takes me to Dublin. I've worked every corner of it and I can honestly say in the 8 years I've been working around Dublin I've seen many more Man U and Liverpool jerseys than I've seen Dublin jerseys, hand on heart that's what I've seen.

Also I've over heard many more conversations about football than I've heard about any other sport and that's nationwide not just Dublin. But just for the record I actually prefer Gaa, I've never said otherwise, but I like football aswell so I'm happy to talk about it to.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 25/04/2014 16:43:18    1579973

25/04/2014 15:38:24 Liamwalkinstown
Lads, will ye go back and look at what i said in the first place
I said RTE leading with it as the main story on six one was embarrassing and ridiculous

my only gripe here is i think some of the rhetoric here is xenophobic and anti english at its core and I think anyone who says GAA storiesare bigger news stories than premiership stories in 21st Century Ireland, is deluded...unfortunately
I don't think it was embarrassing or ridiculous to lead with the united story on the news. RTE want to put the big news of the day first and did so.
Agree on your second paragraph

25/04/2014 16:02:17
hill16no1man
lads I pressume your suggesting its me thats anti english or whatever you like to call it without coming out of the closet and saying it.
but if turning on the irish sports news and expecting to see you guessed it irish sports news is anti something I give up
Hill that's fine but a significant proportion of viewers will want the soccer results and RTE would get criticised like mad if they didn't put those results

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 25/04/2014 16:45:20    1579975

Htaem

hill16no1man

Regional newspapers tend to discuss regional news, which makes sense because otherwise they wouldn't be regional, national news ie RTE & TV3 etc mainly focus on national news, as they should do. But national news also has an extra responsibility which is to report international news, if they didn't we'd an awful shower of ignorant fools.

regional newspapers discuss regional news
national newspapers should discuss national news isnt that what makes them national too?
now we are getting somewhere
you say rte and tv3 mainly focus on national news
yes exactly mainly focus meaning in every genre expect sport
which I have been trying to point out to the masses
so does that not show the point I am making
why can they not apply the same logic to sport as they do every other genre on the news

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 25/04/2014 16:48:03    1579978