The RTE News and Man Utd

Culann

Secondaly, I used to post on this site as Gaeilge (county names etc) and I started a few threads as Gaeilge but stopped due to posters complaining. In fact (and I hope they allow this point to go through) Hogan Stand asked me to cut back on the amount of Irish only threads I started due to people complaining.

That is truly disappointing. I do not understand the motivations of those that would complain.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 23/04/2014 21:42:31    1579296

23/04/2014 20:56:57
flack
America is, ormo. Britain isn't, not even close
how is Britain not even close? Music beatles, one direction
sport - created cricket, soccer, rugby. I could go on

23/04/2014 21:13:09
Marlon_JD
ormondbannerman Stamp collecting is a pastime, inter-county management is a commitment. And its not about the employment status, its about the importance of what they do. 82,000 don't pack into Croke Park to indulge in someone else's pastime.
inter county management is still a pastime. Nothing more. It is a commitment but that doesn't mean it isn't a pastime. If inter county level was professional it would be different but its not

23/04/2014 21:33:50
bad.monkey
English is the global language, their sports are the most widely played in the world, music, politics, media institutions ...etc
+1
But when the opportunity arises too many here want to stick a boot into England, its culture etc..

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 23/04/2014 21:51:31    1579303

How would you describe Katie Taylor Ormo? An unemployed lady who does boxing as a pastime? After all, she is not professional either? Its a pitiful attempt you are making at trying to wind people up.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 23/04/2014 21:56:40    1579306

Sad part is no matter what way you dress it up ,their is a massive amount of English premiership supporters in Ireland and people who only want to talk about Liverpool ,Chelsea, Man utd etc. Ive no problem with people watching what ever sport they want. It just sickens me seeing Irish lads going beserk with celebrations watching probably a south American on 250,000 a week scoring a goal for a club in a different country and calling them "us" and "we". But short of rounding all these lads up and shooting them what can we do :)

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 23/04/2014 21:57:06    1579309

For God sake, this is a forum for those of us who love and support Gaelic games, will the lot of ye cop on. Let those who want to follow a group of pre-madonas (who get paid obscene amounts of money) off....Ye wouldnt catch the English adoring our players and following our games. Its no wonder they class us as go**hits.....Yea its everyone's perogative what sport they follow but some people never cease to amaze me. Our lads goin out there, playn club, intercounty, colleges , etc..then gettn up and goin into work on a Monday morning , no payment. They are what you call real SPORTSMEN so Im at odds to know why Irish people spend money following soccar players who are paid obscene salaries and how they spend their time glorifying them.....

Mollymalone (Dublin) - Posts: 1137 - 24/04/2014 09:00:25    1579318

A lot of inter-county managers are making a serious profit out of their 'pastime'.

RebelCork (Cork) - Posts: 789 - 24/04/2014 09:38:14    1579326

24/04/2014 09:00:25
Mollymalone
For God sake, this is a forum for those of us who love and support Gaelic games, will the lot of ye cop on. Let those who want to follow a group of pre-madonas (who get paid obscene amounts of money) off....Ye wouldnt catch the English adoring our players and following our games. Its no wonder they class us as go**hits.....Yea its everyone's perogative what sport they follow but some people never cease to amaze me. Our lads goin out there, playn club, intercounty, colleges , etc..then gettn up and goin into work on a Monday morning , no payment. They are what you call real SPORTSMEN so Im at odds to know why Irish people spend money following soccar players who are paid obscene salaries and how they spend their time glorifying them.....
Nice generalisations there. Sure there's no prima donna's playing hurling, gaelic, rugby.
England is a much bigger country, with its own huge sports so why would they follow sports that are only really played in Ireland.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 24/04/2014 10:07:34    1579340

The grand narrative of Irish culture has had numerous shifts since the foundation of the state and the movement to independence. The public school (British style) elite that led the movement toward independence sought to define us as the anti-thesis of Britishness - we were gaelic-speaking, rural, peasant, agrarian, catholics that sought a simple life.

Revisionism followed where anything nationalistic or republican was seen at best as uncouth, at worse nefarious. We moved from an inward-looking nation to one that looked abroad (mainly at the US and later Europe) for inspiration or for acceptance.

The modernism and post-modernism of the Celtic Tiger era followed. We were wealthy, consumerist and brash. We could become more comfortable with ourselves and start to pick elements of gaelic culture that we could now afford as we were wealthy but would not contradict our global image.

This period has ended and the recession has returned. The biggest two events that have happened in this period is the visit of the Queen here (after many invites) and our presidents visit there. Our relationship with Britain is now better than ever before.

It is hard to say what is going to happen next. The above is very general. The point here is that culture evolves and shifts over time and no one individual can do anything to stop the shift (by themselves). However, the argument that I have read here over the last couple of days seems to be between people on different metaphorical 'sides' (when in reality there are no sides) saying that people are being brainwashed by British media while others retorting using words like xenophobia to describe opinions that do not suit their own opinion.

It is sad.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 24/04/2014 10:37:08    1579348

ormond

I was not picking any one person out when writing that post.
you may have your opinion similar but there is another 7 or 8 posters also along them lines.
so no I wasnt having a dig at you.
yes they are huge for the simple wrong reasons of their past dominance of terror towards most countries.
the british empire used terror and violance to take over most countries therefore gained the wealth and standing
that has allowed them so much influence in this present day.
America used violance and slavery of africa to gain also aswell as flexing its military power
but both run the worlds media today. therefore the icons and images are self created and imposed on the rest of the world
as they have the platform to do so.They are controlling what news is allowed become world news and dictating
them stories to make sure its the angle they want people to believe.
lastly "I ment claim to live in the present" it was a typo.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 24/04/2014 11:34:55    1579377

ormondbannerman
County: Clare
If Jim Galvin or Mickey Harte resigned or sacked etc, would it be the main point of the RTE news, I don't think so!! You cant really compare Jim Gavin or Mickey Harte losing their position as manager of their county to David Moyes losing his job. A pastime compared to a full time job in one of the largest clubs in the worlds biggest sport.

on the worldwide stage that may be true
but the rte news is not a worldwide news station
its the irish national news station
and however much it bugs you the gaa is not just a pastime
its actually the biggest sport in Ireland.
therefore jim gavin or mickey harte has more standing along sports news in Ireland then david moyes
as both jim gavin and mickey harte are managers based in Ireland and are part of the biggest sport in Ireland
The house of commons is bigger on the world stage then the dail im sure you agree
but do rte cover the news from the house of commons every day as their main politics news?
answer is no they cover the dail as its the irish national news and the dail is the house of the irish government

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 24/04/2014 11:41:27    1579383

ormondbannerman
inter county management is still a pastime. Nothing more. It is a commitment but that doesn't mean it isn't a pastime. If inter county level was professional it would be different but its not

so you believe gaa is not a sport because none of the players or managers get paid is that what your saying?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 24/04/2014 11:46:16    1579388

ormondbannerman
England is a much bigger country, with its own huge sports so why would they follow sports that are only really played in Ireland.

that is spoken by someone with a serious inferiority complex.
and your contradicting yourself by saying
why would people follow something only played in Ireland
yet you are trumping the same IRISH peoples decision to watch something only played in ENGLAND
the premier league is not played outside england you do realize this?
so what if england is a bigger country what has that got to do with anything?
china is a bigger country then england should the english not be following everything in china by your thinking
you follow the rabo league yet the english rugby league is bigger why dont you follow it?
even better why do you follow the AIL league sure thats only played in ireland isnt it?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 24/04/2014 11:59:16    1579399

Hill, Sorry man but I have to disagree with you on a few things.

For sheer popularity, playing numbers and just basic general interest in Ireland, GAA is not the No.1 sport, Soccer is, and thats just a simple fact. You know this, we all know this, even if we dont like it. Soccer is more popular with the man on the street than GAA is, it just is.

Jim Gavin losing his job or Mickey Hart would not be anywhere near as big a story in Ireland as Moyes simply because, outside of Dublin hardly anyone would care about Jim losing his job and similarly outside of Tyrone hardly anyone would care about Mickey losing his, bar the die hard fans like those of us on Hoganstand, But the general man and woman on the street....wouldnt care less.

Moyes losing his job is a global story and thats just a simple fact
It might not be idea Hill, but its just the simple truth, and I think to be fair you would agree with this?

Thats why its such a big story.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 24/04/2014 12:18:03    1579408

liamo

globally yes I have stated that numerous times
but we are talking about ireland here
rte is the irish national news
not a world news station
therefore it has an obligation to report irish news would you not agree
english soccer is not irish national news
you state soccers poularity again you are referring to english soccer not irish soccer
I again point out to you the house of commons is globally a bigger interest then the dail
but do rte cover the house of commons as its main political news every day?
no again is the answer as they cover the dail as it is irish poilitcs
the same should apply regarding sport

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 24/04/2014 13:05:30    1579434

Gaa is a spectator sport only in the summer when the big matches are on. Of course the likes of rugby and soccer will be getting coverage now when there's European semi finals on as opposed to the semi finals of the Allianz league which has no real significance to the average Irishman. Come summer time the championship will get the most coverage after the warlord cup of course

Victorious87 (Wicklow) - Posts: 597 - 24/04/2014 13:50:37    1579453

Hill, the goings on of the House of Commons mean little or nothing to the average Joe in Ireland so they get little or no coverage on Irish News
The goings on of Manchester United is a huge story to millions in this country, hence it gets huge coverage on the news
Now as I said, i think it was ridiculous that it was the main story on a six one bulletin, but my core point is that some are saying would a GAA manager losing his job get the same attention and I am saying no, because way more people in ireland care about what happens the manchester united manager than what happens any GAA manager
Do u know what i mean?

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 24/04/2014 14:11:09    1579458

hill16no1man

I again point out to you the house of commons is globally a bigger interest then the dail
but do rte cover the house of commons as its main political news every day?
no again is the answer as they cover the dail as it is irish poilitcs
the same should apply regarding sport

Ah but it doesn't you see, that's the simple fact of the matter, idealist views just aren't reasonable hill.

So for example drink shouldn't give you a hangover, weed shouldn't be illegal, burgers and chips shouldn't make you fat, women shouldn't nag ye when you come home full to the gills (I joke, I joke), there should never be work on a Monday, you should never have to pay tax etc etc etc, it'd be a great world if idealist views held any value.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 24/04/2014 14:22:16    1579470

Moyles being sacked was only the biggest story on Irish news because RTE decided it was! The vast majority of people in the country could not have cared less. RTE decided that they ought to care!

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 24/04/2014 14:43:24    1579483

The core general point here is this

Irish people IN GENERAL care more about premiership soccer than they do about the GAA.

this may be scandalous, and we may not like it, but essentially, its true.
More people out there care what happens to a premiership manager than care what happens an inter county manager

And essentially, thats the bottom line when it comes to reporting these things.

Sad, but true.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 24/04/2014 14:44:32    1579486

I reckon people paying for a TV license in Ireland have just as much interest or even more in the Premiership than the GAA.

People on this site are obviously going to find that hard to understand but just think about friends and folk.. There's more interest in the fight to win the premier league than the National League final this weekend! Most of the county probably wouldnt even be able to tell you who is in the league final..

Were rte right - they do that stuff for a living and are thinking a little bigger than the GAA pocket. So yes

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 24/04/2014 14:53:02    1579493