Sports Council Grants

19/04/2014 15:53:50
MesAmis
It's mad Hill.

Ormo thinks that having four clubs fold (well Mons didn't quite fold but got out before they did) in seven years equals stability!

You can only laugh really. All his supposed education and yet can think something stupid like that!
Hey I don't follow the league that much and am going on what I hear from friends who follow the league(support Limerick fc and go to all their games especially with nenagh lad playing with them...) They say league has got much better on all aspects and I would trust them ahead of you

Try not troll with the ormo shit. There isn't a poster called ormo just Ormond..

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 19/04/2014 16:01:38    1577005

Ormo

There is no poster called Ormond either bud - hate to break that to you.

What have for Limerick buddies told you about the league and the wonderful effect FAI have had on it? C'mon what did they tell you?

Do they think (and you) that having 4 clubs essentially fold in the space of seven years is stable?

What policies have the FAI brought into the LoI that has impressed you and your great buddies?

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 19/04/2014 16:08:11    1577007

mesmais

your wasting your time ormond always has somebody as a friend family member ,milkman or local shopkeeper
that informs him on all matters when his evidence is questionable.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 19/04/2014 19:27:42    1577226

hill16no1man

1577226 mesmais

your wasting your time ormond always has somebody as a friend family member ,milkman or local shopkeeper

Haha, very true . its usually "ill have you know that my friend whos involved with ....... told me"

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 20/04/2014 08:42:32    1577415

hill16no1man

mesmais

His cousin's friend's uncle's boss's, bes friend's dog is usually in the know on all things alright!

As you know I'm a Bohs man myself so as a LoI supporte I couldn't let him away with spouting complete rubbish!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 20/04/2014 10:10:36    1577448

mesamis

haha the owl bohs
not much mention all week in the papers about the liverpool supporters
defacing the liam whelan bridge in phibsboro
the same day they were getting a lot of credit over the hillsborough disaster
the wording these supporters sprayed on the bridge was disgusting
but fair play to the bohs supporters who got out and cleaned the bridge up

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 20/04/2014 10:24:42    1577459

hill16no1man

mesamis

haha the owl bohs
not much mention all week in the papers about the liverpool supporters
defacing the liam whelan bridge in phibsboro
the same day they were getting a lot of credit over the hillsborough disaster
the wording these supporters sprayed on the bridge was disgusting
but fair play to the bohs supporters who got out and cleaned the bridge up

Yeah the call went out about after. Disgusting behaviour from the barstool "Scousers". Some of Whelan's family still live in the area and I know that they were very upset. The mind boggles sometimes at people's stupidity.

In fairness to Liverpool fans those that did that are no Liverpool fans. Barstoolers who might go to Anfield once a year or whatever. Childish idiots.

I was delighted that the club went up and sorted it out.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 20/04/2014 10:29:43    1577465

This thread went a little off topic as threads are wont to do. There is a popular misconception that the GAA is getting the lions share of public money. The facts say otherwise. There is a need to document this gerrymandering. Gaelic Football and Hurling together getting €2.4M while a much smaller rugby is getting pretty much the same amount flies in the face of all logic. I expect an analysis of Lottery Grants will produce a similar result. You have the tax breaks to professional sport benefiting rugby to the tune of at least €40M p.a. In an era of austerity/water charges etc this bonus remains untouched. The next step is to find out why this is happening.

mod (Mayo) - Posts: 859 - 21/04/2014 14:18:35    1578041

21/04/2014 14:18:35 mod
This thread went a little off topic as threads are wont to do. There is a popular misconception that the GAA is getting the lions share of public money. The facts say otherwise. There is a need to document this gerrymandering. Gaelic Football and Hurling together getting €2.4M while a much smaller rugby is getting pretty much the same amount flies in the face of all logic. I expect an analysis of Lottery Grants will produce a similar result. You have the tax breaks to professional sport benefiting rugby to the tune of at least €40M p.a. In an era of austerity/water charges etc this bonus remains untouched. The next step is to find out why this is happening.
Tax break benefits multiple other sports and their athletes just rugby players tend to be in most cases the highest profile. professional golfers based here in Ireland, runners, boxers, jockeys and League of Ireland soccer players all can get their tax back at end of their careers.
Those players who receive the tax break pay large sums in tax to the exchequer and as their careers are so short they deserve the tax break as do all professional sports people considering by early to mid thirties most are finished and have to start a new career then in most cases.
GAA does get a large proportion of public money.
The sports all get much more than those figures you are quoting through all manners of different funding etc. Nearly all local clubs to me(GAA) have FAS schemes for people to work in doing work in clubs and they have 4/5 people employed through them while my local rugby club has 1 person employed and there would be cases like that all over.
The tax breaks remain in place as the exchequer benefits so much more from these athletes staying and training/competing in Ireland and supporters/followers pumping in millions then if those players/athletes trained/competed elsewhere. that's simple economic sense

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 21/04/2014 20:50:20    1578211

I'm pretty sure the GAA doesn't get it's fair allocation of funds when you take the size of the organization and compare it to others. Why should |Rugby get double what hurling gets for example despite a lot more playing hurling.

Anyway my main gripe is all these sports starts get their big tax breaks because they do a lot for the Irish economy. Why can't GAA players who play for counties get the same tax breaks but on their earnings from their daily job. And if we were to do it right all the earnings from tax breaks would be pooled and divided equally between all inter county players.

The GAA gets so much abuse and being labelled as greedy when the reality is they don't get enough.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 22/04/2014 13:11:04    1578416

ormondbannerman
County: Clare
Those players who receive the tax break pay large sums in tax to the exchequer and as their careers are so short they deserve the tax break as do all professional sports people considering by early to mid thirties most are finished and have to start a new career then in most cases.

Listen, I don't begrudge anyone capitalizing on an opportunity to play professional sports, and if someone can make a lot of money doing it, then good luck to them, its the dream for most of us.
But if they pay a decent amount of tax, its because they earn a decent amount of money. Sure, they're playing career may be relatively short, and they may have to start a new career in their mid thirties. But lots of people have to do that, I've had to change career myself a few years ago. I'm not sure that's a good enough reason for a tax break.
Now I know that'll prompt the usual "begrudgery" response, but tax breaks should be reserved for those who need them most. That's not being harsh, its being fair, the more privileged in Irish society need to contribute more, not less.

Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 22/04/2014 16:21:13    1578588

And Marlon, a Rugby player who had a career with Leinster and/or Ireland for example will have a huge advantage starting off a new career. I still don't get why GAA players get squat for their efforts and they don't get to sit around recovering between matches and training.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 22/04/2014 16:27:06    1578593

22/04/2014 13:11:04 Jack_Goff
I'm pretty sure the GAA doesn't get it's fair allocation of funds when you take the size of the organization and compare it to others. Why should |Rugby get double what hurling gets for example despite a lot more playing hurling.
Anyway my main gripe is all these sports starts get their big tax breaks because they do a lot for the Irish economy. Why can't GAA players who play for counties get the same tax breaks but on their earnings from their daily job. And if we were to do it right all the earnings from tax breaks would be pooled and divided equally between all inter county players.
The GAA gets so much abuse and being labelled as greedy when the reality is they don't get enough.
Because the GAA players are amatuers and there would be a multitude of employers etc and its not like with other sports the top hurlers/gaelic players are not at risk of going abroad to play.
These figures are not the only funding for each sport. Complain to any elected official canvassing for the upcoming elections if you feel GAA players should get tax breaks and see what happens.
There is 200 odd rugby players as pros in Ireland and all are fully professional athletes not teachers, guards, civil servants etc like the top hurlers/gaelic players. Their job is to play sport. Very different cases. Inter county players should receive some BIK from government but the scheme that has benefited rugby so much should not be extended to hurlers/gaelic players as situations are very different
22/04/2014 16:21:13
Marlon_JD
Listen, I don't begrudge anyone capitalizing on an opportunity to play professional sports, and if someone can make a lot of money doing it, then good luck to them, its the dream for most of us.
But if they pay a decent amount of tax, its because they earn a decent amount of money. Sure, they're playing career may be relatively short, and they may have to start a new career in their mid thirties. But lots of people have to do that, I've had to change career myself a few years ago. I'm not sure that's a good enough reason for a tax break.
Now I know that'll prompt the usual "begrudgery" response, but tax breaks should be reserved for those who need them most. That's not being harsh, its being fair, the more privileged in Irish society need to contribute more, not less.
You say lots of people do that but most people who do are in very different cases to professional sportspeople who physically cant beyond the time they do finish up.
tax breaks for professional sportspeople has brought a lot of income into coffers and been great aid to irish sport and government as more top irish sportspeople have stayed in the country and competed primarily here and brought income through that.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 22/04/2014 16:37:26    1578607

What about all the GAA inter county players who've had to retire due to work commitments or emigrate? The fact is GAA players entertain more Irish people a year than Rugby players yet they give them all the tax breaks.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 22/04/2014 16:45:57    1578612

22/04/2014 16:45:57
Jack_Goff
What about all the GAA inter county players who've had to retire due to work commitments or emigrate? The fact is GAA players entertain more Irish people a year than Rugby players yet they give them all the tax breaks.
GAA players work across all kinds of industries and are amateur athletes. They are not full time sportspeople. They cannot be compared to the sportspeople who receive these tax breaks. They earn their income away from their chosen sports unlike hurlers/gaelic footballers.
That more people attend games played by GAA players is irrelevant. If hurling/gaelic went professional then yes the tax breaks should come in for players but when the inter county players work in banks, as teachers/engineers or are still students no they shouldn't get tax breaks..

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 22/04/2014 16:56:42    1578621

to anything near what the pro rugby players get at the end of their (relatively) short careers

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 22/04/2014 16:57:29    1578622

Just because they are pro's doesn't make them more entitled than GAA players who train just as hard but for nothing. There is no equality in the current set up.

A) You have a for example Rugby players who make a tidy sum but get huge tax breaks to make even more.

B) You have a GAA player who has to work to make a living on top of the professional standard training / match standard he's already competing at. Yet he has to pay his full taxes.

Even you with your Rugby tainted glasses can see this is not fair. ANd to say they have a short career means nothing. Being a pro Rugby player will give you a huge advantage when trying to start up a new career if you have to in your thirties. Keep in mind many GAA players career prospects will be hampered by their GAA career.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 22/04/2014 17:04:58    1578629

ormondbannerman
County: Clare
You say lots of people do that but most people who do are in very different cases to professional sportspeople who physically cant beyond the time they do finish up.

Who physically can't do what? Go into marketing? Open an advertising agency? I'm sure there alot of good opportunities open for former pro-rugby players that aren't open to other people, if anything they have an advantage (like Jack said above). Everyone's individual case is different, it may not be something that needs to be legislated for.

tax breaks for professional sportspeople has brought a lot of income into coffers and been great aid to irish sport and government as more top irish sportspeople have stayed in the country and competed primarily here and brought income through that.

They've brought in income, and they've gotten paid for that. They're professional. They get paid a decent wage, and they need to pay the appropriate amount of tax. Its great that they can ply their trade in Ireland, but ultimately what they do is not more important to the country than what nurses, emergency service providers, teachers etc do, so its important to keep perspective. I stand by what I said about tax breaks being reserved for those who need it most. I don't mean any of that as a slight against pro-rugby players, or pro sports people in general, good luck to them. But in general, we need to get over our deference for the privileged.

Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 22/04/2014 17:12:25    1578635

22/04/2014 17:04:58 Jack_Goff
Just because they are pro's doesn't make them more entitled than GAA players who train just as hard but for nothing. There is no equality in the current set up.
A) You have a for example Rugby players who make a tidy sum but get huge tax breaks to make even more.
B) You have a GAA player who has to work to make a living on top of the professional standard training / match standard he's already competing at. Yet he has to pay his full taxes.
Even you with your Rugby tainted glasses can see this is not fair. ANd to say they have a short career means nothing. Being a pro Rugby player will give you a huge advantage when trying to start up a new career if you have to in your thirties. Keep in mind many GAA players career prospects will be hampered by their GAA career.
A professional rugby career is only for a very short period and the levels of training are completely different. An injury for a professional athlete totally affects their income levels much more than an amtuer athlete. The top hurlers/footballers do train as hard but their income comes away from the sport and they shouldn't get the tax breaks.
The rugby players and other athletes in other sports who benefit from this pay their full taxes but receive 10% of the tax they paid in the 10 years they were paid the most.
It is fair as the circumstances are totally different for hurlers/gaelic footballers who play hurling/gaelic as a pastime and their sport is not their profession which is the case for rugby players.
Some GAA players careers may be hampered by their GAA career but that is their choice and shouldn't mean they should be in line for a tax rebate

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 22/04/2014 17:20:20    1578642

All professional athletes are entitled to the tax breaks , if GAA players want it they need to talk to the GAA about getting paid for playing. At the moment they are amateurs and can not get these tax breaks. It seems that some want the GAA to get all the benefits of being a professional sport but none of the obligations ie paying the players!

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 22/04/2014 17:25:00    1578648