Monaghan v Donegal Div 2 Final

Yes the penalty was wrongly awarded but Murphy was well inside the box in the first half and was not awarded!
First 45 was a wide ball.
Pulling and dragging the whole game.
Kavanaghs red was issued only because of the reaction of the Monaghan lad who you think was shot.
I think it will be appealed and resinded.
At the same time Monaghan totally deserved the win and best of luck to them...

letterkennyGuy (Donegal) - Posts: 153 - 27/04/2014 17:22:08    1580769

mchugh11, no harm but I'm also a bit puzzled why you keep beating the Cavan drum. I've nothing against Cavan, they're a young team with a lot of potential, but you seem fairly sure they'll make the Ulster final this year, from the tougher side of the draw. Not that they couldn't of course, but you're strangely adamant of this. I think it's just a bit soon for what is a young team, fair play to them if they do it though.

Also I'd hardly say Monaghan are afraid of meeting Cavan. We beat them last year in a tight game, and we're after winning a third trophy in the last year so this is a team confident in their own ability. That's not saying they wouldn't be beaten, just that I very much doubt they'd fear them. Ah well, I hope you're initial prediction is right and we meet them in the semi, a local derby is always good!

Hard luck today, maybe we'll meet again a bit later for a third final in 12 months!

P.S. letterkennyguy, I don't know what you're talking about "usual pull haul and drag when Monaghan are involved", it was your lads who lost the heads and their discipline at the start of the second half. In particular it was fairly brainless from an experienced player like Kavanagh to do what he did, so he only has himself to blame. Definite red card, you can't be at that craic on the football pitch, no matter how much contact.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 27/04/2014 17:23:08    1580770

Monaghan were a decent team. Donegal depend on Michael Murphy for everything.Otherwise they look lethargic. Dublin's slaughter of Derry puts everything into perspective.

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 27/04/2014 17:34:15    1580778

Ever since Donegal were proclaimed to be unbeatable after their 2012 season, they have lost many, many games. This places their status as unbeatable in a serious predicament. I really believed it too.

Dr.Proctor (Galway) - Posts: 25 - 27/04/2014 17:34:46    1580780

patk co Monaghan,yes i know what you mean,it s only a bit of crack, slagging,love the Cavan women,yes if Monaghan keep their game up like today, they will be hard stopped, good luck to Monaghan. Ulster will be very competitive this year.

mchugh11 (Donegal) - Posts: 242 - 27/04/2014 17:37:09    1580785

I really like Rory Kavanagh as a footballer. But he has to get 6 or 8 weeks for that red card. A wrong thing to do.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2553 - 27/04/2014 17:43:36    1580798

Divison 1 to Leinster, Division 2 to Ulster, Division 3 to Connacht and Division 4 to Munster.

Probably a fair reflection of the pecking order which exists between provinces.

Former_Poster (Meath) - Posts: 394 - 27/04/2014 17:43:49    1580799

Former_Poster

Divison 1 to Leinster, Division 2 to Ulster, Division 3 to Connacht and Division 4 to Munster.

Probably a fair reflection of the pecking order which exists between provinces

Next year there will be four ulster teams playing in division one so there is four ulster teams playing at the highest level

muckla (UK) - Posts: 366 - 27/04/2014 18:05:49    1580813

I though it was a poor enough game today, too much pulling and dragging from both teams that the ref just let go. Michael Murphy should have got a black card and the Monaghan back who did should have went a long time before that if not black two yellows as he was fouling all day and then mouthing. Interesting with Kavanagh, there is no rule in the book for striking with the boot, I suppose it was acting in a way that was dangerous to the other player!

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1805 - 27/04/2014 18:09:07    1580815

I think we should all remember that their will be 4 Ulter teams in Division 1 next year so lets stop this complaining about pulling and dragging.

Ihatecavan13 (Monaghan) - Posts: 33 - 27/04/2014 18:42:41    1580842

Will people please stop believing the Donegal might be going somewhere!!......They are going nowhere 'fast'!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 27/04/2014 19:05:59    1580865

Dr.Proctor

Ever since Donegal were proclaimed to be unbeatable after their 2012 season, they have lost many, many games. This places their status as unbeatable in a serious predicament. I really believed it too.

Dont believe everything you read or every journalist that broadcasts. Anyone with any idea about gaelic football will realize that there is no team unbeatable, especially a smaller county.

Congrats to Monaghan, very impressed at some of their long range scores in the first half, they are good and direct and bypass a lot of hassle by doing this. Hard luck to our lads, they should take note of the long range efforts by monaghan, who conserved a lot of energy by doing this. We simply cant keep running the ball into tackles any more in the forward line, it is both energy sapping and demoralizing on players..

Having said all of this, I am sure that we will step it up for the Derry game. Very disappointed in Kavanaghs red, I will have to see the incident again on tv. Was he wearing one boot at the time? It was a bizarre incident.

The thing i took from todays game is that Monaghan have their house in order and will push strongly to retain their ulster crown. We have room for improvement, and can do this for the derry game.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 27/04/2014 20:19:20    1580944

Rockies

Monaghan were a decent team. Donegal depend on Michael Murphy for everything.Otherwise they look lethargic. Dublin's slaughter of Derry puts everything into perspective.

Short and sweet but your analysis of today is spot on!
Dublin look good for SAM but they will have to play someone in the final. Wouldn't agree with some that neither of these teams will make it. Think there is improvement in this Monaghan team (was a bit disappointed Jack McCarron didn't get a good run for last 20 or so). Donegal didn't want this game and will up for the championship more.

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 27/04/2014 21:06:43    1581023

mhunicean_abu
County: Monaghan

Donegal didn't want this game and will up for the championship more.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I couldn't disagree more. McGuinness started 11-12 of his first 15, and had two others sprung from the bench after just 20 minutes. I think that it's very obvious that Donegal wanted to win today, and the abject manner of their defeat should be very worrying for their fans.

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 27/04/2014 21:40:01    1581065

@letterkennyGuy
Kavanagh should have got a red for stamping on Owen Lennon at the start of the second half... he then went and pushed Daren Hughes 20 yards down the field while Darren called over to the Linesman to do something about it because he didn't want to engage with his BS.. 2 mins later, Kavanagh was provoked when a Monaghan player kicked his boot away..but as soon as he had the boot in his hand he started pushing Darren again.. this time the Linesman ran over to settle it down.. when he was 10 yards away from the 2 of them he hit Darren with the boot.. there was no option and I'm guessing if you got a knock in that region that you would go down like a sack of spuds as well.. There is no chance he will get rescinded for the red.

Farney (Monaghan) - Posts: 801 - 28/04/2014 10:40:58    1581188

A very unique sending off...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 28/04/2014 10:52:19    1581197

Congrats to Monaghan, look like a strong team again this year and will do damage in the summer.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 28/04/2014 10:56:25    1581206

Deserved red card in fairness and very little chance of getting it rescinded.

Cowardly strike imo and deserves a ban.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13717 - 28/04/2014 11:06:13    1581218

I think Donegal are going backwards from what I saw yesterday.
Monaghan had their measure, stood up to them and played the better football.

Donegal are so one dimensional. Long high ball to McFadden or Murphy.

Also think Monaghan proved last year was no flash in the pan.

Monaghan will be in the latter stages of the Championship, no sure if Donegal will though.
Jim has a hell of a lot of work to do.

Regarding the sending off - I agree, I thought he should have seen red earlier also.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 28/04/2014 11:16:46    1581228

Donegal are too dependant on Murphy and McFadden for sure, McFadden looks like he hasnt the legs

Game2Halves (Tyrone) - Posts: 265 - 28/04/2014 11:35:43    1581250